Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Indonesia Banget #32 : Recipe – Balado Eggplant

Click the button to see more post on Indonesia Banget

Click the button to see more post on Indonesia Banget

This month is Ramadan Month where all Muslims around the world are fasting. Related to this holy month, I think a recipe of one of my favorite food is a perfect post. Although fasting is about not eating when the sun is still showing her face, but everyone look forward to eat their favorite food as the sun finally set.

Back in 2011, I have shared a recipe to make Kolak (sweet soup made of coconut milk)…I didn’t write the recipe, I was transferring it from another blog. Today is my first time writing a recipe….and trust me, I am terrible at this department!!

My cooking skill comes from my mom who had cooked almost all her life. She never had a ‘real’ recipe, it is always based on hunch…and that passed on to me. So, this recipe I am about to share will have no real measurement….sorry!

What is Balado?

Balado is daily food for Padangenese (people of West Sumatra).  WE, Padangnese, use chilli almost everyday. We use it on fried fish, fried potato, fried chicken liver, basically everything that we fry. When we apply this chilly, we call it Balado.

Balado is Padang’s traditional language (Not Indonesian language which is our national language), Lado means chilli, Balado means using chilli.

One of my favorite Balado food is Terong (English translation is Eggplant). I usually made Balado egg Plant without any additional, but someone told me that adding small salted small fishes makes it more delicious…she was right! I like it more with those fishes🙂

Okay…enough talking, here’s the recipe (mind you, I am not good with writing recipe)

DSC09684

What you need:

  • Eggplants (cut it to the size you like)
  • Chilli (depends on how spicy you want it to be)
  • Shallot
  • Salted Teri (I think teri is close to anchovy)
  • Salt

Steps:

  • Fry the eggplants with the white part facing upward, once the purple part becomes a bit brownish, you can turn it.
  • Put all the chilli and shallot in a blender to make a puree. Don’t overdo it, we still want to see small pieces of the chilli.
  • Put aside all the fried eggplants.
  • Fry the small fishes I call teri.
  • Fry the chilli (be careful with this! over cook will make the chilli very spicy, not fully cook will also make the chilli very spicy. Well cook is when you see foam around the fried puree.
  • Put the fried eggplants and teri into the chilli
  • Ready to eat with rice🙂

DSC09692

All balado basically have the same recipe, all you need to do is change the content. Here are another example of Balado:

Photo belongs to

Balado Egg – Photo belongs to Dapoer Imoet

Photo belongs to IndonesiaEat.com

Balado Fish -Photo belongs to IndonesiaEat.com

Photo belongs to TraditionalTaste.Blogspot

Balado Shrimp – Photo belongs to TraditionalTaste.Blogspot

See you next month on another edition of Indonesia Banget … next month is August 17, my country’s independence day🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

29 comments on “Indonesia Banget #32 : Recipe – Balado Eggplant

  1. fitri
    July 17, 2013

    jd laaperr..duehh..aplg balado ne nampak g trll brminyak..thanks for sharing the recipe mb nov

    • Novroz
      July 18, 2013

      Hahaha…ayo tahan nafsunya😉 lagi puasa nih!
      Makasih fit

  2. TBM
    July 17, 2013

    That looks tasty. The better half loves spicy so I would have to use a ton of chillis.

    • Novroz
      July 18, 2013

      It is tasty…well at least to most Indonesian😉
      If he likes spicy food, you guys really need to come to Manado (one of Indonesia cities), they have so many spicy food and quite a killer too. The first time I ate one of their food, I was really surprise and had a bit of stomachache.

  3. London Caller
    July 17, 2013

    Everything looks so yummy!
    I would love to try them all.

    • Novroz
      July 18, 2013

      So…come to Indonesia and you’ll find them everywhere😉

      • London Caller
        July 18, 2013

        I have been to Medan.🙂
        I miss kuih bingka ambon, kuih lapis.🙂
        Of course, nasi padang🙂

        • Novroz
          July 18, 2013

          Wow … you came all the way from London to Medan?
          We usually call it kue not kuih…and yes Bika Ambon is delicious #drool😉

          Nasi Padang is really famous😉

          • London Caller
            July 19, 2013

            Bukan, masa tu saya masih berada di Malaysia.
            Ya, saya masih warganegara Malaysia, tapi kini tinggal di England.

          • Novroz
            July 20, 2013

            Oh! Saya kenal 1 lagi blogger asal Malaysia yang tinggal di London🙂
            What a coincidence🙂

  4. Alice Audrey
    July 18, 2013

    You’ve got my mouth watering. Now where did I put that eggplant.

    • Novroz
      July 18, 2013

      🙂
      Is shallot quite common there? Because everytime I see cooking show from US, they always use that big onion (we call it Bombay onion)

      • Alice Audrey
        July 21, 2013

        Shallots are always in the grocery stores, but often only a tiny section of it. Generally we just use big onions – which come in two or three varieties and are called such scintillating names as “yellow onion” or “white onion”.

        • Novroz
          July 21, 2013

          I only know one variety of big onion here. I think it is the yellow one.

  5. sungin
    July 19, 2013

    Hi, hi…
    I couldn’t come here recently but now I come with good news(sorry but it isn’t actually related about your post). After Ramadan we (my husband and me) think having a 6 day trip and one of our vacation option is Indonesia :)) If I have not met you before, Indonesia would not be an option in my mind… By the way I couldn’t find your email address, can you contact me via, cumbavlu @yahoo.com

    • Novroz
      July 20, 2013

      That’s a great news🙂
      I am happy that I inspired you to come here…hope we can meet🙂
      I will send you an email soon.

  6. Nekoneko
    July 19, 2013

    Mmmmm!! Nice recipe Novia!!😉
    I’m liking this one…. it’s simple and I can actually find all of the ingredients locally!! Don’t worry about the vagueness of your measurements… all cooks do things like that.. I’m notorious for “winging it” at work….😉
    The anchovies ought to work well… I use them sometimes to substitute for things like Thai nam pla sauce or Chinese Oyster sauce when I don’t have any handy.

    I’m thinking a little apple cider vinegar might be nice too…. Mmmm!!😉

    • Novroz
      July 20, 2013

      Thank you Miyuki🙂
      The ingredient is very simple and that’s why I share it here. I know how to cook Gulai but that needs a lot of seasoning and I am afraid I mislead people with my vague recipe😉

      Apple cider vinegar? hmmm I wonder how the taste would be…plus I never seen such vinegar here.

      • Nekoneko
        July 21, 2013

        Mmmm!! It’s a sweet dark vinegar… not like rice wine vinegar, less dry and a bit sweet along with the sour. Really good.😉

        • Novroz
          July 22, 2013

          You’ve made curious.
          I rarely use vinegar, I use small orange to make things sour.

          • Nekoneko
            July 26, 2013

            I have all the ingredients now and I’m making it for Carolyn and I tonight! The neat thing was that the Chinese owner of our Asian food store knew what this was all for when I was buying it…. so cool!😉

          • Novroz
            July 27, 2013

            Wow!! Really??? That’s so cool, I never have thought so.
            Remember to eat it with rice😉

  7. Caroline
    July 20, 2013

    This looks delicious. I eat chillies almost every day but I think I couldn’t as as many as you do. I didn’t know that cooking them too long or not enough wlll make them spicier. That’s interesting.
    A great post. Thanks a lot for sharing this recipe.

    • Novroz
      July 21, 2013

      We don’t eat it like that…it’s what we call as lauk, we it this with rice. It’s more like a side dish (I think that’s the right word). When mix with rice, the chilli is no longer that much.
      Yeah, I have been there so I know the theory is right…when I cooked for the first time, everyone always complained that my cooking was too hot, I learned little by little to know when is the perfect time for a chilli to fully cook.
      Thank you, Caroline🙂

  8. Binky
    July 23, 2013

    That was interesting, but I don’t really like eggplant much. Or anchovies. Maybe I’ll just have the chillies.

    • Novroz
      July 23, 2013

      Hahaha…well some people here like to eat with rice and chilli. The mix them together (I am one of them but I eat the eggplant too).

      • Binky
        July 25, 2013

        Hot chilli rice with might be good.

        • Novroz
          July 26, 2013

          We have something like that here…we call it nasi goreng or fried rice. It’s one of Japanese tourist fav food🙂

  9. Pingback: Indonesia Banget #0 | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2013 by in Indonesia Banget and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads