Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Flash In The Pan – Book 1

TAKE A QUICK TRIP WITH THIRTEEN AUTHORS THROUGH FIFTEEN TOPICS IN LESS THAN 150 WORDS AT A TIME

Few weeks ago, I won a giveaway contest held by Redmund Pro. I came second, so I received 3 Flash in The Pan books, the conventional one – paperback edition. I have Flash in The Pan 1 in epub but reading from ebook reader is not my favorite way of reading, so the epub version is still in my ebook reader…untouched (shame on me!!)

I am glad I won the contest and have the book in conventional way. I read it the moment I have time to read.

I have mentioned it several times in my blog that I don’t like reading an anthology. Book with short story collection of one author has never given me any problem, in fact I really love that kind of book. One of my all time favorite books is called The Square Persimmon and it’s a book contains short stories by Atoda Takashi. However, I always find it difficult to finish a collection of short stories by many authors. I think the problem lies in the writing style. I can’t cope with different writing style in one books. I have trouble finishing Birthday anthology by Haruki Murakami and Dark House by Gary Crew (I still haven’t finished this book and I started reading it 3 years ago).

Considering my previous experience…I was a bit reluctant to start reading Flash in The Pan. It has stories from 15 authors, all with different writing style.

However…Flash in The Pan surprised me. I finished it in one day.

I think the different between anthology of flash fiction and of short story is in the length of the story. When I read short story collection, it took time to get used to one story and the writer’s writing style and just when I finally get use to it, I have to move on and try to get used to the next story and the writing style. I find that a bit tiring. It’s like engaging a long conversation with one person than suddenly someone else tried to grab my attention with another long conversation. With Flash Fiction, it’s more like having small talk with many people, this kind of small talk is not tiring at all…in fact, it’s really fun.

As said above, there are 13 authors in this collection, they are: Red Dwyer, Ian Shaw, Raymond Alexander Kukkee, Wendy Reid, Laurie Childree, Teresa Karlinski, Lizzie Campbell, Valentine Logar, Androgoth, Debbie Adams, MJ Logan, Lorre Lyons, and Novia Rozet.

Red @ M3 provided 15 words to be turned into flash fictions. Those 13 authors took the challenge and poured their creative minds into several flash fictions. Some of them wrote more than 10 flashes while some other wrote less than 5 flashes. Each has different writing style and different take on the word.

All the stories in this anthology are interesting in their own way. I really like the ones with the twist on its end. There are some that I can’t quite understand but I think it’s more to my limitation in word play, I am after all not an English native. But as a whole, Flash in The Pan is full of talented writers (you can easily exclude me from them). Reading the flashes here made me view my own writing and I know I have much to learn.

My favorite author in this book is Raymond, he has great talent to twist his story. His flash often made me smile because I wasn’t expected the story to turn like that. Here’s one of his stories at Incoming Bytes.

Even though I mentioned Raymond as my favorite, it doesn’t mean like the other any less. Just like I have mentioned above, they are all talented writers.

You can actually read each story in Red’s blog but the feeling is different when you read it in a book.

This first Flash In The Pan is still available on Redmund Pro for free, you can download the kindle, pdf or epub version by clicking on Redmud Pro logo below.

RPlogohdrslv

I will read the second book after I finished my current book🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

17 comments on “Flash In The Pan – Book 1

  1. Alice Audrey
    July 14, 2013

    I see a whole new literary field opening up with the flash stuff. Reminds me of reading a friend’s flash book recently. He put together a bunch of horror flash he’d posted on his blog. I’ve been thinking maybe I should put together a flash book with a combination of my FF55’s and some photos. It would have to be ebook, though, because I can’t afford color print.

    • Novroz
      July 14, 2013

      I am also in the middle of doing the same book and self publish it. I am planning to write 99 flashes.
      But flash is not quite famous yet, I mean in my country.

      • Alice Audrey
        July 18, 2013

        It’s not exactly famous here either. Seems to be an online thing.

        • Novroz
          July 18, 2013

          I see. Since online books are quite a lot now, I guess flash will have its place in reader’s shelf one day🙂

  2. ruth
    July 15, 2013

    Congrats on winning the contest Nov. It’s awesome that you’re such a voracious reader!🙂

    • Novroz
      July 15, 2013

      Thanks🙂
      Compared to other book bloggers, I am not that Voracious. Right now, I am rereading a 1000page book instead of reading a new book

  3. Red Dwyer
    July 16, 2013

    I am so very glad you are enjoying your prize! Thank you for the wonderful review, Novi.❤ xxx

    • Novroz
      July 16, 2013

      You are more than welcome Red🙂
      Can’t wait to read the second book but it has to wait because my reread is very important now.
      Reading it makes me want to write more for the 5th compilation🙂

  4. TBM
    July 16, 2013

    I really like this description: it’s more like having small talk with many people. Never thought of it that way

    • Novroz
      July 16, 2013

      Thanks🙂
      It does feel like that…I can easily enjoy the small talk rather than the long talk with so many people.

  5. BuddhaKat
    July 16, 2013

    Great review of a series I am already a big fan of! I love your perception of it as small talk!
    🙂

  6. gailthornton
    July 16, 2013

    Novroz, I’m so happy to know you came away from reading this book with a new perception of anthologies of flash fiction! I look forward to your contributions in the future quarterly editions. Shame for saying you aren’t a talented writer, too. Flash is fun!

    • Novroz
      July 18, 2013

      Hi Gail🙂
      I am also glad I finally like an anthology🙂
      Thank you for saying that but as a new writer in learning process, calling myself talented doesn’t feel right.
      …and I agree!! Flash is challenging and FUN🙂

  7. Caroline
    July 20, 2013

    This sounds like an interesting book. I’m like you, I often struggle when it’s a collection with many writers and all the styles are very different.

    • Novroz
      July 21, 2013

      That’s why I hardly ever pick an anthology…but I’ll pick flash anthology anytime😉

  8. Pingback: Hot Flash | The M3 Blog

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 13, 2013 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,507 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads