Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Murphy News: Updates on Peaky Blinders & Cry/Fly, New Upcoming Movie

Click this image to see more post on Monthly Murphy

Click this image to see more post on Monthly Murphy

It’s time for another Cillian Murphy News🙂

It’s a bit late for my Monthly Murphy but I have other fandom to attend last week and decided to delay all posting for at least a week.

Did you know that my Monthly Murphy is the most consistent monthly post in my blog? Even Indonesia Banget (posts about my country) has its month off for few times…Monthly Murphy hasn’t had one month off yet🙂

Anyway, Here are the news🙂

Peaky Blinders

Peaky Blinders, episode 1 and 2 were premiered on June 25 in Edinburgh International Film Festival. Quite unusual for a TV series to be featured there. Here’s a quote from an interview with Otto Bathurst from Film3sixtymagazine.com

It is not often that we hear of TV shows being showcased at the Edinburgh International Film Festival, or any film festival for that matter. Yet with Otto Bathurst’s Peaky Blinders, a new BBC drama that will screen this autumn on BBC2, that is exactly what is happening. Set in the lawless streets of post-war Birmingham on the cusp of the 1920s, Peaky Blinders shows a Britain that is a tumultuous mix of despair and hedonism, a nation cleaned out by the extravagances of the Great War.

We caught up with Otto to discuss the TV series, what it means to be a director in the ever merging world of film and tv, and what the attracts him to a script.

Unusually Peaky Blinders is previewing at the EIFF tonight. How do you feel about the show screening at  a film festival?

Well, from the outset I was deeply committed to making this series as cinematic and epic as possible. And, truth be told, I think we nailed it! We have had a couple of small industry screenings on the big screen, and the response has been universal. It feels like cinema. It is cinema.

Responds from people who have seen the premiere:

“Peaky Blinders premiere last night, this will be a massive hit, it was excellent! Cillian Murphy superb!” Said Magiplug

“Attended the premiere of the insanely cool #PeakyBlinders at the @edfilmfest this eve. Hooked on absolutely everything about it.” Said Joy Parkinson.

Cry/Fly

It is already on post-production stage…waiting for it to be released🙂

Cillian at Cry/Fly set

Cillian at Cry/Fly set

Oona Chaplin said that: “Yup, I can now say the lovely Cillian Murphy has been my husband… What??” from her twit we got a glimpse of one of Cry/Fly scenes

BMfVs8cCUAAdZrX.jpg large

Transcendence

Not much on Transcendence even though it is currently filming…still have no clue about his character.

The Heart Of The Sea

NEW MOVIE!!! Yeaaaaa \(^_^)/

According to Independent.ie, Cillian will play alongside Chris Hemsworth in an adaptation of Nathaniel Philbrick book (I need to read this book before the movie is being released).

Cillian will play as Mathew Joy, second mate on the whale ship Essex. Joy and first mate Owen Chase (Chris) convince first time Captain Pollard (Benjamin Walker) to sail to South America after an enraged sperm whale rams and sinks the Essex, leaving 21 crew members adrift in small boats.

The film will start shooting around London in mid-September.

************************************

Can’t wait to see all of those upcoming projects by one of the most talented (and most underrated) actors alive🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

12 comments on “Murphy News: Updates on Peaky Blinders & Cry/Fly, New Upcoming Movie

  1. Genki Jason
    June 30, 2013

    Peaky Blinders sounds pretty ambitious. I might tune into it when it hits TV screens.

    • Novroz
      July 1, 2013

      I know!! I hope it’ll be as good as it sounds. Good movies with my favorite actor is always a great treat

  2. Gray Dawster
    July 1, 2013

    There is no doubt about it Miss. Novia you are his
    number one fan but what another great posting to read🙂🙂
    I hope that your weekend has been an excellent one
    my sweet and great friend🙂

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      July 1, 2013

      Thank you, Andro🙂
      Hahaha Lucky Cillian is in another continent or else he might have a stalker😆

      Have a nice week to you too🙂

      • Gray Dawster
        July 1, 2013

        Yours would be happy stalking if
        seeing him in person were a possibility🙂🙂

        Happy Monday Miss. Novia🙂

        Andro xxxx

        • Novroz
          July 1, 2013

          Hahaha, I was just joking. I have so much respect toward him and degrading myself to a stalker will cost the respect. He is my favorite actor and I respect his privacy.

  3. TBM
    July 1, 2013

    I need to remember to watch the BBC2 show. This summer has been so slow since not many shows are on.

    • Novroz
      July 1, 2013

      Don’t worry…once I know the date, I’ll shout it out on my widget and I’ll be reviewing the series per episode🙂 you won’t miss it.

  4. dirtywithclass
    July 2, 2013

    You truly are a dutiful fan😉

    • Novroz
      July 2, 2013

      hehehe….someone has to do it, he is so underrated. I have to tell the world that he is amazing🙂

  5. whida
    July 2, 2013

    “Peaky Blinders, episode 1 and 2 were premiered on June 25 in Edinburgh International Film Festival.” << WOW!!🙂

    terus itu udah tayang di tv blm mbak? autumn kpn sih? sekarang kan summer, musim depan yak? ' 'a

    om nya lakuuuu~ ihiy!!😄

  6. Pingback: Monthly Murphy 3rd Anniversary | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2013 by in Cillian Murphy and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads