Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Aqeela and Me – Chapter 3 : The Girl In The Photograph

Previous Chapter: The Photograph.

Image belongs to cool-tery.deviantart.com

Image belongs to cool-tery.deviantart.com

************************

It’s been a week since I found that photograph of a girl with a lantern in her hand. I kept it in my drawer and had forgotten about it due to all the chores and schoolwork I had to do. Not having mom around was no fun at all. I missed the days when she was always at home working in front of her computer yet she still managed to keep the house clean and cooked for us. She always said that her job was a perfect job for housewives as she was a translator. But now, mom had to do two jobs to support us. She insisted that all the money from our dad’s books were put safely away for our college.

In my opinion Dad was a great writer and not only because he was my Dad. Unfortunately that wasn’t what the world thought of my dad’s books. They didn’t sell as well as Harry Potter and Twilight. The publisher told my dad that his books were too surreal. Fortunately he still had small group of fans who kept buying his books. And that would help us later.

I was rereading one of my dad’s books when mom knocked on my door.

“Mia, I am going to the store, Andy needs something for his school’s assignment. Would you like to come or want me to buy something for you?” asked mom.

“I think I’ll stay here as I don’t need to buy anything. Is Andy tagging along with you, mom?”

“Yes, you know how he is! He wants to make sure I buy the right thing.” Mom rolled her eyes and smiled.

I found something in my table’s drawer to use it as a book mark and put the book on my bed then I followed my mom downstairs to lock the door. Mom always made sure I didn’t open the door to anyone but her. Even though I was already in high school mom still worried about strangers at night. I guess all moms were like that.

I went back to my room to continue reading my dad’s book. Funny I didn’t realize that I used the photograph as my bookmark. I couldn’t believe I had forgotten about it as I looked at it again. Something was wrong. It was no longer the same. The girl in the picture had moved.

I could have sworn that she was facing the other way around with her back facing me when I first found it. She was now facing me and held the lantern in front of her. Her eyes were closed.

Then…I saw her opening her eyes slowly and looking straight at me. I yelled and dropped the photograph out of fright.

It fell to the floor. Then the floor turned brighter. I was scared but also curious. I look down and saw that the lantern in the picture had been lit. I had to get rid the photograph was my first thought. I took a ruler and a piece of paper from my table. I wasn’t planning to touch the cursed thing. Despite my fear, I extended my arms and tried to shift the photograph on to the paper by using the ruler. I had to burn it or dispose of it somehow.

“Don’t do that!” spoke a voice in my head. Someone was talking to me but I didn’t hear it with my ears; it was inside my head. It was like a telepathic message.

“Who’s there?” I looked around my room and saw no one.

“Don’t burn the photograph!”

I looked at the photograph; it was still on the floor. The girl in the photograph was still looking at me with her bright green eyes. At that moment, I knew she was the one talking to me. My curiosity got the better of me; a telepathic photograph? It started to feel like some of my dad’s writing.

“Are you the one who talks to me?” I asked her. I felt stupid talking to a photograph.

“Yes. You found the key. Anyone who found the key destined to come to our world,” she said.

“What key? What world? Who are you? How come you can talk to me? You’re just a picture, a non living creature! It’s impossible…” my curiosity had definitely taken over the fear.

“I can’t explain it all now. Later, I promise. You have to enter the gate now; you were supposed to come earlier, much earlier than now. It had been a year since you found the key. So we have no time to waste.”

“What key?” my voice was starting to rise.

“You are looking at the key!” she answered me calmly.

“The photograph but I found it a week ago not a year ago?”

“Your time and my time are different! I will show you the gate now and…”

“What if I don’t want to go?” I cut her in because I was beginning to worry. I could sum up everything easily, she wanted to show me the gate to another world and for me to cross over it and leave this world of mine. Anyone who read fantasy book could figure it out easily. It would lead to a world of uncertainty, a world full of danger; a world where you might end up dead; or if you were lucky enough, you might meet Prince Charming. I wasn’t sure I want to take that risk.

“I’m so sorry. It’s not a matter of choice anymore, once you’ve picked up the key you are bound to come to my world.” Her sincerity was real when she said she was sorry. “I am merely a gatekeeper; I cannot change destiny…your destiny!”

“But my mom, my brother, I CAN’T LEAVE THEM!” I shouted at her, but it was all in vain because the gate had opened.

*********************

Since I am not a native, feel free to correct my grammar :) I need all the correction I can get. And I am also open to all the critic you can give me. This is my learning process.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

12 comments on “Aqeela and Me – Chapter 3 : The Girl In The Photograph

  1. Alice Audrey
    June 25, 2013

    I love the cliff hanger ending to this episode. I can’t wait to see what the gate is like and what’s on the other side.

    You’d think with time running faster in the photo side that the image would move faster than her, instead of slower. But that might be because the girl with the lantern is the gate keeper.

    • Novroz
      June 25, 2013

      Thank you Audrey🙂
      I can’t wait to write the next chapter, hope I can write a detail description of the other world…language can be a barrier for me.

      The Gate Keeper’s job was to wait for the key holder.

  2. Caroline
    June 27, 2013

    That really is a cliff-hanger.
    It will be really interesting to see how the wordl on the other side will look. Since the girl in the photo sounds sad, it will not be such a good thing.

    • Novroz
      June 27, 2013

      Oh! I am so glad you notice that! Yup, it’s not gonna be pretty.
      Thank you for reading, Caroline🙂

  3. oldegg
    June 28, 2013

    Hello, I took the liberty of editing your piece as a proof reader may do to make it more readable in everyday English. Please do not be offended as every language has its own peculiarities. English being the worst as it has picked up so much from others. I am thoroughly enjoying the story.

    Edited version:

    It’s been a week since I found that photograph of a girl with a lantern in her hand. I kept it in my drawer and had forgotten about it due to all the chores and schoolwork I had to do. Not having mom around was no fun at all. I missed the days when she was always at home working in front of her computer yet she still managed to keep the house clean and cooked for us. She always said that her job was a perfect job for housewives as she was a translator. But now, mom had to do two jobs to support us. She insisted that all the money from our dad’s books were put safely away for our college.
    In my opinion Dad was a great writer and not only because he was my Dad. Unfortunately that wasn’t what the world thought of my dad’s books. They didn’t sell as well as Harry Potter and Twilight. The publisher told my dad that his books were too surreal. Fortunately he still had small group of fans who kept buying his books. And that would help us later.
    I was rereading one of my dad’s books when mom knocked on my door.
    “Mia, I am going to the store, Andy needs something for his school’s assignment. Would you like to come or want me to buy something for you?” asked mom.
    “I think I’ll stay here as I don’t need to buy anything. Is Andy tagging along with you, mom?”
    “Yes, you know how he is! He wants to make sure I buy the right thing.” Mom rolled her eyes and smiled.
    I found something in my table’s drawer to use it as a book mark and put the book on my bed then I followed my mom downstairs to lock the door. Mom always made sure I didn’t open the door to anyone but her. Even though I was already in high school mom still worried about strangers at night. I guess all moms were like that.
    I went back to my room to continue reading my dad’s book. Funny I didn’t realize that I used the photograph as my bookmark. I couldn’t believe I had forgotten about it as I looked at it again. Something was wrong. It was no longer the same. The girl in the picture had moved.
    I could have sworn that she was facing the other way around with her back facing me when I first found it. She was now facing me and held the lantern in front of her. Her eyes were closed.
    Then…I saw her opening her eyes slowly and looking straight at me.
    I yelled and dropped the photograph out of fright.
    It fell to the floor. Then the floor turned brighter. I was scared but also curious. I look down and saw that the lantern in the picture had been lit. I had to get rid the photograph was my first thought. I took a ruler and a piece of paper from my table. I wasn’t planning to touch the cursed thing. Despite my fear, I extended my arms and tried to shift the photograph on to the paper by using the ruler. I had to burn it or dispose of it somehow.
    “Don’t do that!” spoke a voice in my head. Someone was talking to me but I didn’t hear it with my ears; it was inside my head. It was like a telepathic message.
    “Who’s there?” I looked around my room and saw no one.
    “Don’t burn the photograph!”
    I looked at the photograph; it was still on the floor. The girl in the photograph was still looking at me with her bright green eyes. At that moment, I knew she was the one talking to me. My curiosity got the better of me; a telepathic photograph? It started to feel like some of my dad’s writing.
    “Are you the one who talks to me?” I asked her. I felt stupid talking to a photograph.
    “Yes. You found the key. Anyone who found the key destined to come to our world,” she said.
    “What key? What world? Who are you? How come you can talk to me? You’re just a picture, a non living creature! It’s impossible…” my curiosity had definitely taken over the fear.
    “I can’t explain it all now. Later, I promise. You have to enter the gate now; you were supposed to come earlier, much earlier than now. It had been a year since you found the key. So we have no time to waste.”
    “What key?” my voice was starting to rise.
    “You are looking at the key!” she answered me calmly.
    “The photograph but I found it a week ago not a year ago?”
    “Your time and my time are different! I will show you the gate now and…”
    “What if I don’t want to go?” I cut her in because I was beginning to worry. I could sum up everything easily, she wanted to show me the gate to another world and for me to cross over it and leave this world of mine. Anyone who read fantasy book could figure it out easily. It would lead to a world of uncertainty, a world full of danger; a world where you might end up dead, or if you were lucky meet Prince Charming. I wasn’t sure I want to take that risk.
    “I’m so sorry. It’s not a matter of choice anymore, once you’ve picked up the key you are bound to come to my world.” Her sincerity was real when she said she was sorry. “I am merely a gatekeeper; I cannot change destiny…your destiny!”
    “But my mom, my brother, I can’t just leave them!” I shouted at her, but it was all in vain because the gate had opened.

    • Novroz
      June 29, 2013

      Thank you so much for taking your time to correct my English, Robin🙂 I really appreciate it.
      Will change it with your revision as soon as I have time to turn on my PC (I am using mobile app now)

  4. TBM
    June 28, 2013

    This is a great hook to the rest of the story. I do wonder about the other world and why the girl is sad.

    • Novroz
      June 29, 2013

      Thank you TBM🙂
      I wonder myself😉 I have the draft but not the detail…it always comes afterward. Thank you for reading.

  5. Pingback: Aqeela and Me – Chapter 4 : The Gate | Polychrome Interest

  6. Kitten
    November 1, 2013

    Oh man, what a twist! Absolutely love it!
    Wow, Mia’s smart, I like that. Usually in most fantasy stories, characters, especially the protagonists, would enter an entirely unknown world without any hesitation. Too bad Mia’s forced to enter this one.
    Also, might I point out that “are you the one who talks to me?” should be “the one who’s talking to me?” and “or if you were lucky meet Prince Charming” should be “if you were lucky enough, you might meet Prince Charming.”?

    • Novroz
      November 1, 2013

      You have good eyes! Even my proofreader, Old Egg missed that prince charming part! Thank you🙂

      Enetreing a new world without hesitation is plain silly and inhuman, IMO

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2013 by in Aqeela and Me and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads