Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Monday Movies : Broadchurch and Shingeki no Kyojin

Monday Movies

It’s more like Monday TVSeries than Monday Movies😉

I have been drifting away from 2 hour (or less) movies lately and been enjoying TV Series A LOT! I know I will return to movies soon but at the meantime there are just TOO many great shows waiting to be watched🙂

I have shared the amazing Doctor Who last week (I have another Doctor Who post soon because the eleventh Doctor will soon be leaving the show *hiks*) and now I will share another series. I have finished one of them while the other is an on-going series. One is from UK and the other is from Japan (I will have US series – finally – on June 24, Under The Dome will start and I am so eager to see it). The one from UK is called Broadchurch and the one from Japan is called Shingeki no Kyojin or Attack on Titans, these two are SO different.

Let’s talk about them one by one.

Broadchurch (2013)

Broadchurch.PosterWriter: Chris Chibnall
Staring: David Tennant, Olivia Colman, Jodie Whittaker, Andrew Buchan, Vicky McClure, Arthur Darvill, David Bradley, Pauline Quirke, Jonathan Bailey, Matthew Gravelle, Carolyn Pickles, Will Mellor
Episode: 8
Airing period: 4 March – 22 April 2013
Rating: 4 stars

I have to admit that my first reason to watch this series is because of the appearance of 2 Doctor Who’s actors, David Tennant and Arthur Darvill. I am glad that the show was brilliant!!

In a quiet town called Broadchurch, nothing much happened. People lived in peace. But their peace was broken when the body of 11 year old Danny Latimer was found on the beach. The body was made as if it was a suicide but the police knew better. New assigned Detective Inspector Alec Hardy (David Tennant) had to investigate the case. We learned that he was considered as an incompetent police because of his failure in his previous case (but we found out the truth about that case later). D.I Hardy was helped by Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller (Olivia Colman). Miller, at first, disliked Hardy because he took the job which was promised to her. But she soon became the one closest to Hardy than anyone else in town. Miller knew the Latimer family very well. She was determined to find the murderer of Latimer’s boy.

The two of them interrogated the people who had no alibis at the time of Danny’s death. Their suspect spanned from people close to Danny, like his father and his father’s best friend, to people who didn’t have much interaction with Danny.

Basically…Broadchurch is a crime drama that keeps you guessing who the perpetrator is.

I really like this drama because I couldn’t guess who did it till the last few episodes…and when I finally had my suspicion, I was still unable to figure out the motif. And for me, a not so easy to guess mystery is very enjoyable! It was a thrilling ride to see whether that person or this person was the murderer…and to those who rarely seen mystery, the ending might be a bit “WHAT??” moment.

Apart from its good plot, Broadchurch is also a nice treat in acting department. Everyone acted so naturally, the only one I mind was Oskar McNamara (Danny) but I could understand because he is a young actor and he doesn’t have much screening time. The interaction between Tennant and Colman was great, they were a bit awkward as they just knew each other but trust slowly built between them.

Overall…I think this is a must watch series! Great plot and great acting. So happy to know that series 2 is already approved and will start shooting soon.

Check out this 10 reasons Why Broadchurch is a MUST watch TVshow

Shingeki no Kyojin – Attack on Titan (2013)

Shingeki No Kyojin

Director: Tetsurou Araki
Manga: Hajime  Isayama
Seiyuu: Yuuki Kaji, Yui Ishikawa, Marina Inoue, Kishô Taniyama, Yu Shimamura, Yu Kobayashi, Shiori Mikami, Hiro Shimono, Ryota Ohsaka, Yoshimasa Hosoya, Tomohisa Hashizume.
Episode: 25
Airing period: 6 April – on going
Rating: not yet

I have to thank Jason @ Genkinahito’s blog for introducing me to this anime. I haven’t been watching anime (series) in many years. My last anime was Moribito, one anime in many years…shame on me! The reason is quite simple…Local TV doesn’t play much anime anymore😦 Fortunately I met Jason…he is a great source for all things Japanese even thought he is British😉

This is my first impression of Shingeki no Kyojin. The series is still being aired and I will make my final review once the series is over. When I saw the first episode…I was mesmerized! It is so awesome! The story is thrilling and the animation is very well done.

Shingeki no Kyojin or Attack on Titan is set on another time where mankind was cornered by giants.

Over a century ago, mankind faced a new enemy. The difference of power between mankind and their new found enemy was overwhelming. Soon, mankind was driven to the brink of extinction. The surviving humans built three walls: the Maria, the Rose and the Sina. They lived the next century in peace, under their protection. However, ….

It won’t be a story if mankind still lived peacefully. The walls was over 50 meters high and that kept the giants outside…but one day, a giant bigger than the others came and destroyed the gate of the front wall. The smaller giants could easily entered wall Maria and started killing human. They ATE the human!!

Eren Yeager had always been fascinated with the world outside the wall, his dream was to kill all the giants. His dream became an obsession when he saw one of the giant ate his mother in front of his eyes. He had an adopted sister named Mikasa Ackerman, there was something peculiar about Mikasa. He, Mikasa and his best friend, Armin Arlert joined the army to fight the giants.

So far…each episode brings new excitement and surprise…I REALLY like it. Secret was revealed little by little. The fighting scene was marvelous (you can see a glimpse of it in the video). I love their gear.

I can’t say much because it’s still going on…but till episode 9 (the last episode when I wrote this post) I like it a lot and can’t wait to see the next episode.

However…there is one big flaw that I couldn’t ignore. It’s the fact that everyone else except for the army seemed to have no will at all to fight back…I mean if we think about it, like when Dutch and Japan came to invade my country, even the peasant was trying to fight back…How come in this series, common people just run away. And I think the army should also be bigger than what is shown in the series, the government should put a notice that ALL young people HAVE to join the army. BUT since I haven’t seen it till the end…I will keep an open mind and see what they will deliver to overcome the flaw.

You can read a better first impression at Jason’s blog> here.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

30 comments on “Monday Movies : Broadchurch and Shingeki no Kyojin

  1. Genki Jason
    June 3, 2013

    Your first impression is finally here🙂

    Wow, you like Broadchurch. I pretty much ignored it when it came out in the UK because crime dramas like that are quite common. Some of my co-workers really loved it and would talk about it so I know who the killer is😛

    Attack on Titan is awesome. Episode 9 was a calmer episode than the last 4… UNTIL THE END!!! This show is fantastic at creating shocks and cliff-hangers! The animation is gorgeous and the music is awesome and every episode is a must-watch.

    Just to give my take on your question about why people don’t fight back: 100 years of peace, religion, and power-politics have made people complacent. Why fight when the walls will protect them? Leave it to the soldiers. Being faced with an onslaught of titans is waking people up to the fact that there is a wider existential threat still out there but people used to not thinking for themselves or without the will to fight won’t question the status-quo let alone fight back.

    • Novroz
      June 3, 2013

      I like crime dramas…BUT only when I can’t guess the perpetrator. If I already guessed whodunit in just one episode, I stopped watching it right away. I like crime stories that can keep me guessing.

      AAAARRRGGGHHHH…I have just watched the ninth episode, My God!! I knew his father is behind that but they way they revealed it was just mind-blowing. Suddenly, Sunday feels so far away. I think I am going to rewatch them all when the final episode is about to be aired.

      In a way, I am glad I haven’t read the manga, it keeps the suspense alive.

      Replying your take: That is possible for the first attack! But I think every sane mind should have prepared themselves afterward because the giants finally knew how to get it…so, after Maria was down they should have create what we, Indonesian called Wamil, I am not sure what the English term is, it’s a law that force their youngters to join army whether they like it or not. Leave farming to the elderly. When the first attack happened, I understand completely why they all did nothing but run, but after that attack is what I consider as a flaw.

      • Genki Jason
        June 3, 2013

        The English term is conscription. People will try and ignore a threat until it’s right on their doorstep. Remember that the defences get progressively more elaborate and that people were willing to sacrifice parts of the city and the populace to lead the Titans away from them. Those in the heart of the city behind the tallest walls and the army are sheltered from reality and have become complacent. News of the giant Titan might seem fictitious for some.

        One of the points of the story is to show a diverse range of characters some of whom are happy to sit back and let the army do the fighting, some who just break down against the overwhelming odds and others who are prepared to take up arms and risk their lives to save mankind. It’s asking those age old existential questions: what are you living your life for and can you overcome your circumstances?

        • Novroz
          June 5, 2013

          I see…You have a good argument there😉
          I will see the series that way now…at least the plot has been great so far and it keeps wondering about how it’ll end.

  2. TBM
    June 3, 2013

    More shows I haven’t seen. How is that possible? I watched the Sherlock episode last night and really enjoyed it. Now I need to get the DVDs for season 1 and 2.

    • Novroz
      June 3, 2013

      Hahah…don’t sweat it😉 I know more show because I like reading about actors I like and news of which are the best show in BBC.

      Yaiii \(^_^)/ I knew it!! So far, I haven’t met anyone who said Sherlock is not interesting. Go get it before season three is released🙂

      • TBM
        June 3, 2013

        How much time do I have? When is Season 3 out?

        • Novroz
          June 3, 2013

          They are still filming. Rumour said that it would be the end of this year or early next year. No confirmation yet.

          The last episode of series 2 needs to be watched before series 3 starts because the first episode of series 3 will be a HUGE spoiler for episode 3 series 2

          • TBM
            June 3, 2013

            I wonder where they are filming. I recognized many of the places they filmed that one episode. didn’t look like they were always on a set, but who knows these days.

          • Novroz
            June 3, 2013

            I saw an article about that but didn’t read it because it’s a bit useless for me…you know living so far away from London😉
            I am sure it’s still outdoor most of the time.

  3. Stephanie
    June 4, 2013

    I’m really looking forward to seeing Broadchurch. For me, seeing both David Tennant and Arthur Darville in one sitting is Nirvana.🙂 I really like Olivia Colman too. After reading your excellent write-up, I can tell this is a program I’d love.

    • Novroz
      June 5, 2013

      I know all Whovian would love to see broadchurch😉
      Unfortunately, they didn’t interact much.

      Hope you’ll enjoy it too Steph🙂

  4. ruth
    June 5, 2013

    Don’t kill me Nov, but I think I’d like this show more than Dr. Who, I mean the one w/ David Tennant in it. I like the premise and I’m glad it lives up to your expectations. I quite like his look here too w/ his native Scottish brogue to boot, oh la la!😉

    • Novroz
      June 5, 2013

      I think this one is your cup of tea😉 ….and the accent, David’s accent makes it even better😉

      Hahaha you like his look here? I like his cheerful character more.

      • ruth
        June 5, 2013

        I like guys who are more serious I guess, I mean I LOVE Richard Armitage and his ‘tortured soul’ persona. I think he’s far too happy as Dr. Who, so I don’t think of him as sexy. But when I saw him w/ the beard and more solemn look in Broadchurch (esp w/ that accent), I was like He-llo Mr. Tenant😉

        • Novroz
          June 6, 2013

          Huahaha I guess that’s why we don’t have many same celeb crushes😉
          I like the happy man more…man with boyish face, like David as the Doctor.

          • ruth
            June 6, 2013

            Yeah, a lot of Indo girls somehow like the boyish type😀 I used to like Leo too when I was younger but not so much anymore as he just isn’t manly enough. I do think Henry Cavill (my current crush) has a perfect combo of being rather boyish looking but also extremely manly. I like his personality too, he’s humble & earnest despite his Superman-y good looks😀 In a way like Cillian who’s also down to earth without any movie star arrogance.

          • Novroz
            June 6, 2013

            Actually…for me, it’s always the eyes😉 I dont like Leo, I like Keanu till Cillian pushed him away.
            Aha..so he has taken Gerry’s place😉

          • ruth
            June 6, 2013

            No, not really. I don’t think I could be a zealot fan like I used to w/ GB. I think my fangirl-ing has calmed down a lot these days, I just don’t have as much energy, ahah.

  5. Caroline
    June 6, 2013

    Broadchurch looks very promising. Like you i watch more TV series than movies these days. I’m just not in the mood for movies over two hours but most series are 45 minutes and if I really want to I watch a 2nd episode.

    • Novroz
      June 6, 2013

      Hehehe my TV series watching time is ALWAYS more than 45minutes. I finished 13 episode of Doctor Who in 3 days.

      Broadchurch is like reading a book while Shingeki no Kyojin is like reading a manga😉

  6. Alice Audrey
    June 6, 2013

    Now I want to see both series, even thought people who don’t fight back is one of my pet peeves.

    • Novroz
      June 6, 2013

      So far, that part can be covered by the awesomeness of the whole plot. So many surprises…can’t wait to series episode 10

      • Alice Audrey
        June 10, 2013

        I meant to say “though” instead of “thought”. Seems like I’m catching my own typos all over the place.

        Seeing you enjoy the show, I’m beginning to understand why it is so long running.

        • Alice Audrey
          June 10, 2013

          Gah! I got turned around and thought we were talking about Dr. Who. Doy! *clunking self on side of head*

          • Novroz
            June 10, 2013

            Hahaha I was just about to reply that 25episode is very short for an anime, can’t be considered as long run…then I read your second comment and laugh😄

          • Alice Audrey
            June 18, 2013

            *blush* If I could have deleted the stupid comment before you saw it I would have.

          • Novroz
            June 18, 2013

            Hahaha don’t worry🙂

  7. Pingback: Shingeki No Kyojin (Attack on Titan) – When Human is Nothing but a Cattle | Polychrome Interest

  8. Pingback: British Invasion: The Escape Artist & Being Human | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,507 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads