Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

6 Short Reviews : 5 Movies 1 TV Series

It’s been a while since I wrote a new post here, the last post was on Thursday.

I was actually planning to write a birthday post for Julian Barratt on May 2nd but I got soooo busy and unable to do it. So I am just going to say it today 🙂

Birthday Barratt

Hope you have A healthy and long life…and start writing Boosh again 😉

Today, I want to share 5 movies and 1 TV series…like I said above, I was/am a bit busy so I choose to write these interesting viewings in short review.

Run_fat_boy_run

Run Fat Boy Run (2007)

Director: David Schwimmer
Cast: Simon Pegg, Thandie Newton, Hank Azaria, Dylan Moran, Harish Patel, Matthew Fenton
Rating: 3 stars

Run Fat Boy Run is a fun movie about a man trying to show the woman he loves that he can change. Dennis Doyle (Simon Pegg) ran away on his wedding day because he felt that he was unworthy for her. He came to regret that but she had already had new boyfriend now. Doyle wanted to prove to her that he had changed and willing to do charity marathon to show his determination.

RFBR is really funny but the story is rather typical. There are many movies like this and that makes the movie a bit forgettable. I really like the comedy in this one, I had great fun watching it…but I wouldn’t call it great movie.

The Boat That Rocked

The Boat That Rocked (2009)

Director: Richard Curtis
Cast: Tom Sturridge, Bill Nighy, Rhys Ifans, Nick Frost, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Talulah Riley, Chris O’Dowd, Rhys Darby, Ralph Brown, Jack Davenport, Kenneth Branagh
Rating: 4 stars

This is a rewatch! I watched it years ago and I miss watching it again. I always find it surprising that the movie didn’t do well in the box office. I think TBTR is really interesting and fun. Good comedy with great music.

The story is basically about pirate radio called Radio Rock. It story starts when a young boy named Carl comes into the boat and joins the crew of Radio Rock. This Radio is operated on a boat. The owner is a flamboyant man named Quentin. There are 6 DJs, The Count (an American man), Dr.Dave, Breakfast DJ simple Simon Swafford, Midnight’ Mark (who looks so much like Keanu Reeves), Angus ‘The Nut’ Nutsford, and Bob ‘the Dawn Treader’. Somewhere in the middle of the movie, another DJ comes along, Gavin, he isn’t actually new…he was the star DJ of Radio Rock and then he left and now he comes back. Other crews are Felicity, Thick’ Kevin, Harold and the Boss, Quentin. Meanwhile, the governments are trying so hard to close down this radio. They try everything to stop the radio.

ThirdManUSPoster

The Third Man (1949)

Director: Carol Reed
Cast: Joseph Cotton, Alida Valli, Orson Welles, Trevor Howard
Rating: 3 stars

I have to thank Andina @ Inspired Ground for this one. She asked us to watch movies together. Unfortunately (or fortunately) the DVD was not good and the movie stopped before it reached the last scene. We changed it with Funny Games. Seeing the cover of the DVD made us think that the movie would be very serious and thrilling. It turned out the movie was a bit funny, well the funny part was mostly because of the music…the music stuck on our head and made us laugh every time it showed up.

A writer came to Vienna under his friend’s invitation but he found out that his friend died from accident. His death was full of mystery so he decided to stick around and tried to solve the mystery. He also fell in love with his friend’s girlfriend.

Cloudy

Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs (2009)

Director: Phil Lord, Chris Miller
Cast: Bill Hader, Anna Faris, Neil Patrick Harris, James Caan, Bruce Campbell, Andy Samberg, Mr. T, Bobb’e J. Thompson, Benjamin Bratt, Al Roker, Lauren Graham, Will Forte
Rating: 2 stars

I watched this because it’s based on a book and I always give movies based on book a chance…plus the title sounds interesting. But it turned out to be another not so memorable animation and easily predictable.

Flint Lockwood was an inventor but his inventions often failed epicly. He decided to create a machine that could turn water into food. Everyone praised him but something went wrong.

One thing I don’t like about this movie is how smart women always being labeled as ugly! Is that a culture thing? I’m honestly getting bored with that kind of stereotype. If you are smart then you are a geek and not attractive!! Enough with that kind of theme already! That’s why I can’t give the movie more than two stars.

Confettiposter

Confetti (2006)

Director: Debbie Isitt
Cast: Jimmy Carr, Felicity Montagu, Jessica Stevenson, Martin Freeman, Olivia Colman, Meredith MacNeill, Stephen Mangan, Robert Webb
Rating: 3 stars

I watched this because of the cast…it has so many people I like. Despite the nudity shown here, I still like the movie. It has a fresh theme.

Confetti was a name of a wedding magazine. They were planning to make an original wedding theme. Out of so many applicants, they chose 3 couples; Matt and Sam wanted a musical wedding, Isabelles and Josef wanted a tennis themed wedding, and Joanna and Michael wanted a naturist wedding where both couple and guests were naked. The movie was made as mockumentary. It was fun watching how different the three couples were…although I kept wondering how much they paid Olivia Colman and Robert Webb to go frontal naked most of the time.

How_Not_to_Live_Your_Life

How Not To Live Your Life (2007 – 2011)

Writter : Dan Clark
Cast: Dan Clark, David Armand, Leila Hoffman, Laura Haddock
Characters: Don Danbury, Eddie Singh, Samantha Parker, “Dot” Treacher, Brien, Abby, Jason.
Rating: 3 stars

I really like this show!!

Don Danbury is a dickhead, well that’s what his late grandma called him. Can’t blame his grandma because he really is an annoying man. Don is a selfish, manipulative, thinks nothing but sex when he sees attractive woman, lazy, and other bad things. However, all his bad habits sort of make us enjoy watching his life. In a way, he often gets lucky.

I usually dislike comedy with sex-joke but somehow I can tolerate HNTLYL because Dan Clark can still make it enjoyable. The characters, apart from him, are also fun to watch, especially Eddie Singh. Eddie and Don are a bit like platonic gay couple where Eddie is the patience wife and Don is the bitchy husband. I like seeing them both. Dot’s bitter comment and flat face are also interesting. The show is fully narrated by Don and there are often list of things Don shouldn’t do in certain situation. It’s a fresh comedy and I really like it.

Dan Clark was part of The Mighty Boosh for 1 episode as Two Hats, and Dan invited the two Boosh to play in one episode of HNTLYL. Julian appeared in Series 2 and Noel in series 3. Julian looks great but Noel looks weird 😉

Julian as Jackson and Noel as Marcus (guest in How not to live your life)

Julian as Jackson and Noel as Marcus (guest in How not to live your life)

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

19 comments on “6 Short Reviews : 5 Movies 1 TV Series

  1. Caroline
    May 7, 2013

    A lot of choice here. I think I’d like to watch The Boat That Rocked and The Third Man. It’s amazing actually but I haven’t seen any of the movies you review in this post.

    • Novroz
      May 7, 2013

      Lately, I tend to watch movies not many people watch 😉
      I don’t know why but the current box office has lost its charm on me. You know, I haven’t watched any 2013 movies….not a single one. Even though many have been screaming how great The Iron Man is, I still have no desire to walk to the cinema to see it.

  2. Genki Jason
    May 8, 2013

    I really like The Third Man, it’s one of the best British films ever!

    • Novroz
      May 9, 2013

      I like it too…but not one I want to see again. Good old movie.
      You know, at first I thought it was made by US…I was surprised it was made by British since the main actor is American

      • Genki Jason
        May 9, 2013

        Two Americans – Orson Welles and Joseph Cotten. I’ve read the original story and I have the radio play. The two are a perfect fit. The sets and locations are pitch perfect. The tone is black and cynical. I love it!

        • Novroz
          May 9, 2013

          The sets are great. I like the sewer scene the most, it amazed me how huge the sewer was. It’s ironic that they had such huge sewer 5 years after my country’s independence and now after over 60years, we still don’t that kind of sewer yet 😦

  3. I love Third Man more than you do. Ahah the hilarious music 🙂 It’s quite a stylish movie too. And I love the ending, so not cliche

    • Novroz
      May 9, 2013

      Hahaha yeah…probably because of the ‘macet-macet’ thing…it made me like it less 😉
      I do like it but I don’t think I will watch it again unless it is on TV.

      Plus….we watched Funny Game afterward and let’s face it, that movie steal the glory away from The Third Man…at least for me.

  4. Binky
    May 9, 2013

    I saw the Meatballs one, and would rate The Third Man much higher than you did. BTW that “zither music” from the Third Man is quite famous, and they still play it on the classical radio station I listen to. I actually like it.

    Julian is almost as old as me!

    • Novroz
      May 9, 2013

      Well my rate is always based on whether I like it, really like it or it was amazing…you know personal rate. And I like The Third Man but not up to the level I really like it.

      Ah…so that’s what it’s called! The music kinda stuck in my head…good tune. I’m not surprise if the music becomes famous, it’s really catchy.

      Is that sentence means you are older than Julian? Wow, I honestly thought you are much younger, peter.

      • Binky
        May 10, 2013

        You have to rate things based on how you liked them. I just like The Third Man much more than you.

        I called it zither music because it’s played on a zither, a unusual musical instrument. I don’t know of any other popular composition played on a zither.

        Yes, I’m older than Julian! I’m not sure if it’s good or bad you though I was much younger!

        • Novroz
          May 10, 2013

          Glad you said that, Peter 🙂 I know some movie blogger who rate the movies based on quality and stuff and I read somewhere, a rate based on whether you should watch it or not.

          I have never heard of Zither before you mentioned it…hmm That makes me curious about Bassoon (The Boosh often mentioned it), I will look for it in youtube after this.

          Take it as a compliment Peter 🙂 You always have fun comic so I assumed you’re younger than Julian…probably around my age 😉

          • Binky
            May 12, 2013

            Okay, I will. Half the time I feel like I’m 90.

          • Novroz
            May 14, 2013

            Why 90? 90 is quite ancient 😉

  5. Alice Audrey
    May 9, 2013

    I like the rebel nature of Radio Rock. It’s the crew of kids against the government that appeals to me.

    It amazes me they can make an entire movie out of such a short book. Even for a kid’s book it was a bit thin. Then again, it doesn’t look like they followed it all that close. 🙂

    Confetti looks pretty tasteless, but I could see getting into it if I’m in the mood. Generally I steer clear of the kinds of shows that include a cast of horrified looks.

    • Novroz
      May 10, 2013

      It’s a comedy so don’t expect many rebellious thing in it 😉 But it’s a really fun movie.

      Now you make me wonder about the book…could the book be better than the so typical movie. The movie is just sooo cliche.

      Horrified look? what do you mean? I quite like confetti but I agree with you, not the kind of movie I will look for if it didn’t have actors/tress I like.

      • Alice Audrey
        May 14, 2013

        I think the book is a total of a thousand words long. Maybe. It’s a kids book, and not even my favorite.

        On the horrified look, I mean when the characters within the movie/play actually give another character a horrified look more than once during the performance. As in, at least one of the characters is over the top in a socially unacceptable way.

  6. Fariz
    May 14, 2013

    I’m so interested in watching The Third Man! It’s already on my must-watch list for quite sometime but I haven’t been able to find the time to watch it 😦

    I also kinda like Run Fat Boy Run. I agree with you, though, Miss. It’s not *that* great of a movie, but it’s enjoyable and the ending was so sweet 🙂

    • Novroz
      May 16, 2013

      I hope you can see it soon … fun movie, some many loved it.

      Indeed! I like the ending, sweet and not schmaltzy 🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads