Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Quickening Field – A Poem Collection by Hachikai Mimi

The Quickening FieldThis is my first time reading a book featuring nothing but poem. I thought I give it a try as so many often said that a book full poem is nice to read.

The Quickening Field won the 5th Nakahara Chuya Prize.

I enjoyed reading her poems because they felt like a very short story but I honestly don’t know how to write a review of a poetry book. I know I should have said that her poems are powerful or have depth or something. All I can say is that some of her poems are easy to understand while some of them are very difficult.

There are 15 poems in the book, but I only liked few of them because I could understand them.

My favorite of all is Morning Glory. The poem is like a story seen from 4 points of view. Someone was taking the cat for a walk and saw a girl crying.

The path through bamboo ending at a shrine
appealed to the cat too. Just as
we started down it,
a little girl in a uniform
darted out of the groove,
her name-card and skirt flying,
and ran off in tears.

At the same time, an old man also saw the little girl.

I brought a hatchet, and as I went in
the bamboo crackled.
Next thing I know, right beside me
a little girl jumps up and runs off in tears
Well, well.

The other witnesses were Sparrow and Vines. I like how Hachikai-sensei inserted thoughts of the other beings in her poem. The main person, the old man in the shrine and even a sparrow and vines.

My other favorite is Jumping Over Raindrop Stones. The first few lines straight away grabbed my attention.

When I was young, each night I touched
many hands.
Not as metaphor, but directly
I like the hands of old people.
They connect to arms and shoulders in a series of hills.
They match the face formed through the years.
The entire body takes on a colonial tinge,
once in a while the hands alone flying
a flag of independence

What do you think? Those lines sound lovely, don’t they?

I am glad I decided to try reading poem collection…it gives new perspective in my reading. I know I will try another collection one of these days and maybe I can write a better review than this😉

I will close this not-so-good review with a quote from Hachikai-sensei’s words:

Whatever happens to us, we must not cap sensation. Listen carefully: the fruit of your soul will tell you its inimitable rhythm, and you will be sure to know your next direction.

Book details:

Title: Ima ni mo uruotte iku jinchi (The Quickening Field)
Author: Hachikai Mimi
Language: English (translated from Japanese by Juliet Winters Carpenter)
Pages: 93 pages
Rating: 3 books

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

12 comments on “The Quickening Field – A Poem Collection by Hachikai Mimi

  1. Alice Audrey
    April 12, 2013

    LOL re: depth in poetry. I think the vast majority of us don’t really feel the depth so much as whether or not we can understand it at all. I’ve long since decided that most of the poetry I don’t understand isn’t deep at all. It’s just muddy.

    Used to be the only way to find poetry was in printed books. I managed to read a bit here and there along the way. Many modern poets considered big names did nothing for me. Now I find the best poetry online.

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2013

      🙂 I honestly don’t know what to say about Poetry. Muddy is quite a good describing word😉

      I don’t know who are the big names of poetry. I even chose this book randomly out of so many books in the library, all I think about when I picked he book was simply because I wanted to give it a try…you know broaden my reading genre.

      Online poetry sounds fun, I have read some, Many bloggers can make good poems

      • Alice Audrey
        April 17, 2013

        I ended up taking a handful of classes on poetry when I was in college, but I still don’t get a lot of it. When I go back over some of my own poetry from ages ago, a lot of it is muddy. I can’t even remember what I was trying to get across.

        • Novroz
          April 18, 2013

          You took classes on poetry? would love to know what you think of mine🙂
          I haven’t made much because poems is the most difficult form of writing..for me.
          Do you still write poems now?

          This is my first poem in this blog: https://bokunosekai.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/forgotten-memory/

          • Alice Audrey
            April 23, 2013

            I have a fine art’s degree in Creative Writing. I took classes on how to write stories, poetry, and plays.

          • Novroz
            April 23, 2013

            Oh…no wonder you are really good in writing! I have a lot to learn from you

          • Alice Audrey
            April 26, 2013

            I like to think I know what I’m talking about, but I might just be fooling myself. 🙂

          • Novroz
            April 26, 2013

            Well, at least you’ve written few books and I am still stuck in short story…so I think you know what you’re talking about😉

  2. TBM
    April 13, 2013

    For me, it would be hard to review a poetry collection since I’m not good at deciphering poems. But maybe I should give it a go. Good job

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2013

      Thank you TBM…yeah it was a difficult job. I really didn’t know what to write. This is the best I can come up with and I am aware of how terrible this review is😉

  3. Caroline
    April 22, 2013

    It’s hard to review any kind of collection but poems are the hardest. I feel it’s good to share few examples and let people geta feel, tell them whether and why you liked them.
    It’s always a problem with poetry, a lot is hard to understand.
    I liked the lines you shared.

    • Novroz
      April 23, 2013

      I am glad many find it difficult. I often peek into Parish’s blog and he often review poem collection, he is good with the review…unlike me😉

      Thank you, those are my favorite lines.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2013 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads