Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

How I Met Another King’s Fan & 2 Videos of King’s Adaptation

If you have been to my blog so many times, I am sure you know that I am a huge fan of the great Mr. Stephen King. I love his works and I honestly think he is one of the best writers of this century … even though many will contradict my opinion

Being a fan of Stephen King is not easy in Indonesia. People might have heard his name but most never read his works. I introduced him to my best friend, she likes him but not quite a fan like me. She told me that she introduced King to his work mate and said that he likes it and wants to read more by him🙂

I think it’s a bit unfair when someone said that King is bla bla bla (all the bad words) without even trying to read his works. He doesn’t only write horror, he writes many things…hope is one of them. His aim is not only to scare people meaningless. Anyway, I am not here to talk about his greatness and why I love his works…I want to share about another huge fan in Indonesia.

I was chatting through Whatsapps with a fellow blogger, Aditya @ Kutu Baca Buku I told him that I want to meet another King’s fans from Indonesia. I joined a group in Goodreads.com called Goodreads Indonesia. Adit told me that I should make a group to find another fans.

I made a thread called Searching For Stephen King Fans. And to no surprise, it’s a quiet thread😉 However, I am glad I made that thread because someone pointed me to an amazing man who knows more about King than me. Not only he is a huge fan of King like me, he is also a young director who is going to direct a movie based on one of Stephen King’s short stories.

You all know how I tend to have different hobby/admired people to other people (in my country). Finding fans of Doctor Who is more difficult than finding fans of Twilight, I have only met 1 Indonesian in twitter who loves Doctor Who as much as I am. And I still haven’t found The Mighty Boosh fans except for my friend who lent me the series. So, to finally found someone with the same admiration toward someone is wonderful🙂

His name is Marky Yahya Ali

Our tweets:

Marky: What do you like about King’s works?

Me: So many, in short: the way he told the story, the way he built the characters and the way he ended the story. How about you?

Marky: His characterization, so alive. His approach on realism techniques to create the fantasy aspect is perfect.

This post is an opening post to what I will publish soona special interview with the man who will direct The Woman in The Room – Indonesian Version.  It’ll be my second interview with creative people, first was with Daniel Clay who wrote a book called Broken and the movie adaptation was played by Cillian Murphy…soon, I have an exclusive interview with a young Indonesian Director who got the right to do an adaptation of King’s short.

Here’s his one minute short film which becomes top 10 in South Africa 1 minute-movie competition

Here are 2 videos related to Stephen King’s books

Stephen King’s over 1000 page book called Under The Dome will soon be in CBS🙂 … well of course NOT the book but the adaptation of it. The series will have 13 episodes and will start playing on June.

From what I see in the first look video, the series looks promising. I hope they don’t change much from the book. I really like the book even though the ending is a bit off.

Next is the remake of Carrie which will be released on October. To be honest, I am more eager to see Under The Dome than this one because the classic is already awesome.

Looking at the trailer, I think Chloe is more like popular kid rather than the bullied one (Spacek did awesome job in the old movie). And the trailer is TERRIBLE You can see the whole movie just by seeing the trailer!!  They need to learn to make intriguing trailer!

Even though you are not a fan….will you watch The Series or The Movie?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

24 comments on “How I Met Another King’s Fan & 2 Videos of King’s Adaptation

  1. Tim The Film Guy
    April 7, 2013

    Super fan! Gonna watch both and have nearly seen all adaptations😀

    • Novroz
      April 7, 2013

      ((hug)) I wish I have seen all his adaptations too but I think I have only seen half of them.

  2. le0pard13
    April 7, 2013

    I’ll catch both, for sure. But I agree with your point about Chloe’s version of Carrie (at least what’s shown in the trailer, which I caught yesterday when I went to see EVIL DEAD). She is picked on by the mean girls, no doubt. But she does seem far from the desperate, quietly despairing outsider of Sissy Spacek’s from De Palma’s film. Good SK post, Novroz.

    • Novroz
      April 7, 2013

      I am glad you think so too! I still try to keep my mind open for the remake, don’t want to judge it before I see it…but the trailer sort of makes me expect less. I honestly think that Saorse Ronan would be a better pick. But let’s just keep our fingers cross😉

      Thank you Mike🙂

  3. Nekoneko
    April 7, 2013

    I think that they did that Trailer for “Carrie” that way because… at least here on the US… the story is so well known from the earlier versions that there would be no surprises anyway.

    It’s nice to hear you have found fellow fans in Indonesia for something that you love. I have much the same problem as you… but in reverse. Here in the US, I love the strange and crazy films from your country and other Asian places (even if most of them are sooooo silly and trashy…😉 ) and there are very few people here that know about any of them either. Even Carolyn wonders why I like them so much…. but at least she will watch them with me and laugh.

    Now you need to get more Indonesian friends hooked on “Dr Who”….😉

    Oooohh!! And I just heard! Your favorite Doctor, David Tennant, is coming back to play the Doctor one more time along with Billie Piper for a special 50th anniversary episode this season!!😉

    http://uk.tv.yahoo.com/doctor-david-tennant-return-tardis-164100686.html

    • Novroz
      April 7, 2013

      Nah…I have seen a lot of nowadays trailer (especially from US) that shows things TOO much. It’s like we have seen the whole movie just through the trailer. And even though many have known Carrie, I still think it’s best to make an intriguing trailer for new generation who has never heard of Carrie before. Many people here in Indonesia never heard of Carrie and I know for sure the movie will be played here.

      Hahaha we are two peas in the same pot, Miyuki😉 we both love movies that no other seems to know.

      It’s difficult…many who loves movie have heard of Doctor Who but only few wants to give it a try…they are really missing one of the best series ever made, IMO.

      Huahaha…I have been twiting about it like maniac and even share it in my tumblr and instagram…the only reason I haven’t shared the good news is because I haven’t finished writing my review of Doctor Who series 6. My favorite Doctor is coming back!! I am ecstatic🙂

  4. adityahadi
    April 7, 2013

    Thanks for mention my name in this blog … however, you have full responsibility if i become more famous than now, hee, just kidding😀

    So glad that Goodreads Indonesia can help you find someone that has same interest with you. Maybe you can join our book club sometimes, so you can meet my friends that also have a huge interest in book.

    So, when we can meet? :p

    • Novroz
      April 7, 2013

      You are more than welcome🙂 Thank you for the idea ((hug))
      I am planning to…and it’ll be nice to finally meet you🙂

  5. shadow
    April 8, 2013

    itu under the dome nya dibuat jadi serial ? sayangnya saya ga langganan tv kabel jadi ga bisa nonton dah..hehe

    • Novroz
      April 8, 2013

      Iya🙂
      Hehehe sy juga ga punya cable kok…sy mengandalkan torrent😉

  6. Gray Dawster
    April 8, 2013

    Yes you have a fine talent for adding such excellent postings and why not about someone that you clearly enjoy🙂 He is a legend in horror writing, and his novels are many🙂 Have a wondrously enjoyable Monday evening Miss. Novia🙂🙂 xxxx

    • Novroz
      April 9, 2013

      Thank you Andro🙂
      King has been talked quite a lot in my blog. I really love his works

      • Gray Dawster
        April 9, 2013

        You always add interesting postings Miss. Novia and that is just one of the things I like about your Space🙂 Have a sweet Tuesday my great friend🙂 xxx

        • Novroz
          April 9, 2013

          Thank you so much Andro🙂
          I sure hope you’ll read my interview with him which I have just posted🙂
          Have a wonderfull half week to you too xx

  7. TBM
    April 9, 2013

    I didn’t know you were a King fan. Just Kidding! After reading a couple of his works I’m jumping into the fan category as well. I haven’t reached your level yet, but you never know. I may.

    • Novroz
      April 9, 2013

      Lol😉
      Yaaaiii…so happy to see someone turns into a fan. I sure hope you’ll discover his more of his works as time goes🙂

  8. Pingback: An Interview With Marky Yahya Ali – Indonesian Director Who Will Direct A Stephen King Adaptation Movie | Polychrome Interest

  9. Alice Audrey
    April 10, 2013

    You have some of the best connections around. But then, you clearly make an effort. Cool.

    • Novroz
      April 10, 2013

      Thank you Audrey🙂
      I kinda like to think of it as I got lucky, I have met the best people through the net…and that includes you🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2013 by in Excessive Reader, Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,507 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads