Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto

DaidokoroI have seen so many review of this book, many said it was good and few said it wasn’t that good.  I am curious with this book since a couple of years ago but something always distracted me and ended up picking other book from the shelf. Last week, I was in the mood for light reading from thin book and my hand finally picked Kitchen.

I think Kitchen is really good, it mainly talks about how we deal with death. There are two stories in one book, one deals with the lost of close relative while other deals with the lost of lover.

Kitchen is a 102 page story about a woman named Mikage Sakurai. She had been living with her grandma since childhood. Her grandma was her only living relative. The story began when her grandma passed away leaving her all alone. In her lonely days, a man younger than her who had once worked with her grandma asked her to live with him and his mother. Yuichi Tanabe and his mother, Eriko, are very nice to her…but she soon found out that Yuichi’s family was not an ordinary family. His mom was actually his father. His father loved his mother so much and when she passed away, she decided she wanted to be a woman and named himself after his wife. Both are very genuine people. She had wonderful time there but when she moved from the house to live independently, bad news reached to her ear. Both Yuichi and Mikage dealt with another lost in their own way.

Not only the story was about dealing with death, I also felt that it was a kind of love story. And you know how I never read romance. This kind of love story was something I didn’t mind at all. It was a love that grew slowly through live, it’s not focusing much on the love affair. The live of Tanabe family was rather bizarre but somehow I can feel how that kind of finally can exist in our community (well, not in Indonesia but it could happen in another part of the world).  I really like the interaction between all three main characters in this story, Mikage, Yuichi and Eriko. Eriko was my favorite characters of all, just reading about her made my heart brighten…I can imagine how it feels to meet someone like her. I know I would make her or him my best friend.

My favorite quote: (page 41)

“Yes. But if a person hasn’t ever experienced true despair, she grows old never knowing how to evaluate where she is in life; never understanding what joy really is. I’m grateful for that.”

Beautiful Eriko said that sentences🙂

The second story is called Moonlight Shadow. Moonlight Shadow is so Japanese!! I grew up with stories from the land of the rising sun…I am so used with this kind of supernatural story. This story was written through ONLY 41 pages and somehow it felt longer. I like how it covered pass present and what to expect in the future after the one man you loved the most passed away.

Satsuki lost her high school sweet heart and felt like her world stopped moving. She was in despair and unable to move on. At the same time, Hiiragi, her boyfriend’s little brother, lost his girlfriend. They both died together. Satsuki tried to forget the pain by jogging while Hiiragi by going to school wearing his girlfriend’s sailor uniform. Both were unable to let go of the people the love. But then something happened that made them able to let go their loved ones.

I really like both stories and I know I will read more by this author.

Book Detail:

Title: Kitchen
Author: Banana Yoshimoto (Translator: Megan Backus)
Language: English (Original: Japan)
Pages: 150
Rating4 books

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

19 comments on “Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto

  1. felis catus
    April 2, 2013

    Detailnya bagus yah? Banana Yoshimoto kayaknya hobinya nulis tentang kematian, bukunya yg lain (hardboiled & hard luck) juga itu temanya.

    • Novroz
      April 2, 2013

      Iya🙂 walaupun bukunya tipis tapi mendetail dan berasa kayak buku tebal aja.
      Sebenernya saya tertarik sama Lizard. Udah baca belum?

      • felis catus
        April 2, 2013

        Belum, kalau bagus kasih tahu yah!

        • Novroz
          April 4, 2013

          Apapun yg sy baca pst sy review🙂

  2. TBM
    April 2, 2013

    That is a good quote. Sad but true. I haven’t heard of this author. Thanks for the introduction.

    • Novroz
      April 2, 2013

      She is quite famous among Japanese literature readers, I hope you’ll give her a try one day😉
      I am glad I finally read her works

  3. Tony
    April 2, 2013

    It’s a nice book to read, and probably one of her better works. One of the problems with her writing is that it is all pretty similar – and sometimes forgettable…

    • Novroz
      April 2, 2013

      Really? This is my first book so I can’t judge her writing yet. I really like this one.

  4. Alice Audrey
    April 3, 2013

    Your comment about the love story made me think some more about why I write Romance. I think a lot of people assume the genre isn’t very big, or that most of it is unrealistically focused on the romance. Seems to me that most of the stories I really liked in the SF/F field had a romance in it somewhere. The Anne McCaffrey books, for example. Almost all of them have a love interest in them somewhere, though in most it’s not the driving force. There are some remarkably realistic romance writers out there. Others are totally off the wall. The only thing that has to happen is that the couple must be happy to be a couple at the end.

    • Novroz
      April 4, 2013

      I have never minded the romance in a story as long as it’s not the main focus of the story. Just like you said, some sci-fi you like has romance in it. Most books I’ve read also have a bit of romance. Even King’s books still have romance. Pure romance where the story only focus on how the man and the woman finally end up together (the ones you’ve mentioned last) is the one I consider as not my cup of tea😉

      • Alice Audrey
        April 7, 2013

        Good point. Seems like most of the Romance novels I really don’t like have nothing but the romance thread in them. It gets annoying.

  5. Caroline
    April 4, 2013

    I love this book. Did you know the second story was based on the song Moonlight Shadow? I like it very much, especially the lyrics. Tony is right, all of her books are similar. I don’t mind that. Some are as good as this, some a bit less. I didn’t like Tsugumi so much but NP is very good, so are her short stories.

    • Novroz
      April 4, 2013

      I have never heard of the song before…who sings it?

      You and Tony’s comments make me cueious abot her other works….wondering what do you too mean about being the similar.

      • Tony
        April 4, 2013

        Once you’ve read a few, you can see the similarities: young twenty-something women, mental illness, supernatural themes, lesbian undertones, not fitting into Japanese society…

        Many readers like the way her style feels comfortable, but for others it can get a little repetitive.

        • Novroz
          April 5, 2013

          Mental illness? I think Migake has no mental illness.
          But I get what you mean. It’s like Mitch Albom, I read 3 books and decided that it’s enough.

          I haven’t rooted her as fav author yet, will see what happen after another 2 or 3 books…will I see the similar pattern or not. But it wont be anytime soon because I like to give space between books by same author.

          Thank you Tony🙂

      • Caroline
        April 4, 2013

        Similar mood and atmosphere.
        It’s an 80s song, Mike Oldfield. The lyrics are bit corny but gothic as well.

        • Novroz
          April 6, 2013

          The song is quite fun.
          Thank you for the video🙂

  6. JoV
    April 5, 2013

    Welcome to the world of Banana Yoshimoto. Yes Tony is right, it tends to be repetitive. Goodbye Tsugumi is her full length novel, so I prefer it than her others. But Kitchen is good too. I would still pick her books up if it is published, I think I just wouldn’t buy it.

    • Novroz
      April 6, 2013

      I think I saw goodbye Tsugumi in the library. But I am interested with Lizard tho.

      Same as you, I like to read more of hers but it’s not something I want to buy

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2013 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads