Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

5 Super Addictive Slow Music

Click this button to see my other top-5 list

Click this button to see my other top-5 list

I didn’t do Top 5 post last month because I didn’t have time to do it…I almost didn’t make it this month as well. But there are still few days before March is over…so here’s this month top 5 🙂

Once in a while, there are music that somehow becomes very addictive. Have you ever had that experience?

This month’s Top 5 is about addictive slow music…it can be pop or rock (and because I am not in to pop that much, my list consist of songs from Rock bands…mostly Britpop)

These five songs have some kind of magic that I can’t quite explain, one thing I do know is that these songs enchanted me and made me listen to them over and over and over and over again.

These five songs are in no particular order.

Yuki no ashiato by L’Arc~en~Ciel

It’s hard to describe how I felt the first time I heard this song. It’s the 11th track in KISS (Laruku’s 11th album). When Hyde started singing with his beautiful voice, so slow and so deep…his voice went straight to my heart and then the violin added the beauty of this song. as he started singing in a high and low tone, it captured my heart wholly. I repeated the song so often that I might grew bored at it…but It never made me bored. When I  saw the live video of this song, I literally shed a small tear because the song is really beautiful. It felt so sad but the lyric is not sad at all.


Street spirit by Radiohead

When people said the fell in love with Radiohead because of Creep…then I told them, Street Spirit was the song that made me fell in love with Radiohead (I have mentioned it in my top 5 Radiohead songs) The song is so mysterious and Yorke’s voice is mesmerizing. Everything in the song is perfect. I have lost count of how many time I have repeated this song. I have heard the acoustic version and it was amazing.

La Fee Verte by Kasabian

Just like Street Spirit, La Fee Verte is the song that makes me Kasabian’s fans. It stand up to its title, La Fee Verte (green fairy) is an alcoholic beverage…though I never drink alcoholic beverage but I have heard of the addiction, and La Fee Verte is highly addictive. Even till this day, I can’t listen to it only once….I always repeat the song. Serge’s voice is beautiful and the music is captivating. I played this song when my students were doing Chemistry practice and voila, some of them became addictive too.

Tender by BLUR

I remembered it as clear as daylight. I was still in college when Tender was released. I was so excited to hear new song by BLUR…and the moment I listen to Tender, the song sips inside my heart deeper than any slow songs by BLUR. I can’t really put my finger why Tender is so addictive. Every time the radio played it, I instantly turned the volume higher than before. My friends often said, what’s so good about this song? I can’t say what, something in the way Damon sings and the simple music behind it had captured me.

Everything Will Flow by Suede

Suede always sings beautiful songs but when I heard Everything Will Flow, I couldn’t just listen to it once. Brett’s voice with the violin mixed really well. The way the song flow is so beautiful and makes my hear sing. It feels like every problem will just flow away when listening to this song.

Well…those are 5 songs that I considered as highly addictive because the first time I heard them, I couldn’t listen to them just once. I repeat it more than 10 times in a day…I am sure it was close to 50 times a day. At that time, I fell like other songs weren’t that interesting to hear, I just wanted to hear those songs. Even till this day, when my mp3 shuffle plays one of these songs, I would repeat it at least once before I let the player plays the next song.

Do you have slow songs (be it pop or rock) that you consider as addictive? do share it with me in the comment :)

ps. Don’t forgot to stop by on April 3rd for my Top 5 with Tim @ Tim’s Film Review as we both are going to do Alien based top 5 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

30 comments on “5 Super Addictive Slow Music

  1. Pingback: Top 5 of EVERYTHING | Polychrome Interest

  2. Archiel
    March 28, 2013

    I’ll add mine 🙂
    It isn’t in the right order since I love it all

    1. Satoshi Bandoh – Farewelll
    2. Marion Meadows – The Child in me
    3. Cindy Bradley – Lifted
    4. Gackt – No Ni Saku Hana No You Ni
    5. Suede – Simon

    The first 3 songs are instrumental jazz, Years and years ago, I never thought I’d be into jazz, but.. Now I’m sold. Those are gorgeous piece of tunes. Very sophisticated and modern.
    No. 4, I had to pick between this or Love letters from Gackt, but every time I saw Gackt video singing this in a school (a very lucky school) graduation events.. It made me envious. And I love the theme of this song.
    No. 5 I think this is a very unique and a sad song from Suede, or Brett to more specific. Since it about his friend, Simon Holdbrook.

    there you go 🙂

    • Novroz
      March 28, 2013

      Thank you for sharing Archiel 🙂
      I absolutely have no idea you like Jazz…this is new info 🙂

      I also like Simon, I almost put it there but I like everything will flow more.

      • Archiel
        March 29, 2013

        Yeah, I love instrumental jazz since this last few years. Maybe I’m just getting older (but absolutely not more mature nor wiser haha)
        I didn’t bother putting L’Arc on the list because I know it’ll take me too long to choose and maybe ending up writing L’Arc mellow songs on all 5 spots or putting “Bless” on all 5 spots haha.

        • Novroz
          March 29, 2013

          Whuaha if you are getting older, I am getting ancient 😉
          As I am getting older, I still like rock hehe

          I put one Laruku’s song because that one is the most powerful compare to their other slow song…I like Bless, Sekai Mirai etc…but only Yuki No Ashiato which can my eyes teary even just by listening it on CD

  3. reva virgio
    March 28, 2013

    I’m a big fan of slow music !! Hahaha

    1. Butterfly in my tummy (mocca)
    2. Stand by me (Sara Niemietz version)
    3. On the night like this (mocca)
    4. On my own (samantha barks)
    5. I dreamed a dream (susan boyle/anne hathaway)

    • Novroz
      March 28, 2013

      Short and to the point 😉
      Thank you Rev.

      I have only heard two from your list…will see if I can find the rest 😉

      • reva virgio
        March 28, 2013

        Hahaha….

        I replied it when I was studying in the class, so I didn’t have time to search the link.

        Well, if you wanna listen slow jazz, you have to listen these !

        Something’s wrong (bali lounge)

        m.youtube.com/watch?client=mv-google&hl=en-GB&gl=US&v=nlXscm9oN9Y

        Apa (bali lounge)

        m.youtube.com/watch?client=mv-google&hl=en-GB&gl=US&v=-PTx1SBHLbc

        • reva virgio
          March 28, 2013

          Oya !

          In my opinion, slow music is good if the song only use one or two instruments.

          If the music had many instruments, it lost the essential of the slow music.

          • Novroz
            March 28, 2013

            We sure have different opinion regarding Slow Music 😉

            For me, slow music has meaning when it touches my heart deeply…like all those five I have mentioned above.

        • Novroz
          March 28, 2013

          I am not really into Jazz…but thank you for the link, I will listen to it now 🙂

  4. felis catus
    March 28, 2013

    Ah, slow rock and slow pop (ballad?) For slow rock, I love old songs, for example these songs:
    1. Have you ever seen the rain (Creedence Clearwater Revival) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnuB_DjhC0M
    2. As tears go by (Rolling Stones) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WezmIpKWDcI
    3. Fall on me (REM) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lf6vCjtaV1k

    As for ballad, I love Japanese ballads 🙂 :
    1. Ashita / Tommorow (Ayaka Hirahara) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lw7L1PblHM8
    2. Everything (MISIA) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A217X5MwObI

    These songs are almost permanent in my playlist.

    • Novroz
      March 28, 2013

      Whoa…I love your list!!!
      I like the songs you have chosen. And you provided the links for those who haven’t heard them…very cool 🙂

      I like Lady Jane more than as tears…well to be honest, The Stones has many great slow songs.

      Thank you for joining in Felis 🙂

  5. wulanastari
    March 28, 2013

    Why does it have to be slow songs?? And why does it have to be only five ???? Trying to pick my most favourite ones is a torture! -_-

    To make it easier (for me), I’ve decided to browse the songs in my BlackBerry only. If I had to browse through my laptop, I wouldn’t get it done, ever.

    So, in no particular order, here are my top 5 favourite slow songs:

    – Andrew Belle: In My Veins
    I have Grey’s Anatomy to thank for introducing me to this talented man and beautiful song. This song is so heart-wrenching and definitely 1 of the most bittersweet songs I’ve ever heard. And his voice is so distinctive!

    – Iron & Wine: Naked As We Came
    I know Iron & Wine from Twilight soundtrack (guilty!), but I actually stumble upon this particular song when I was watching a season of American Idol. This was played in the background during 1 of the sad audition stories, and I fell in love ever since. This song is really touching. Even just from reading the lyrics, I get teary…

    – Sarah Bareilles: Gravity
    I’ve always loved Sarah Bareilles catchy, happy-tuned first single Love Songs. And I’m a huge fan of all her works. But this one definitely takes the cake. I love how her voice sounds so fragile and vulnerable in this song. I actually have the Live version on my phone because it’s so much better than the recorded one.

    – Rosi Golan ft William Fitzsimmons: Hazy
    There’s only a few lines for the lyrics of this song. The two singers just sang it over and over. But man, I seriously love this song so much! This is my ultimate lullaby song with the simplicity of the lyrics and the soft sound of the singers.

    – Joshua Radin: They Bring Me to You
    Joshua Radin is on my top 5 fav musician list, and this song is my ultimate favourite of all his songs. I love everything about this song: the lyrics, the guitar chord, his voice, the reff. Everything! I listened to this song over and over as I wrote 1 of my novels because it brought out the romantic side of me 😀

    Well, there you go. Great topic, btw! Now I can add a lot of songs to my playlist from everyone’s comments 🙂

    • Novroz
      March 28, 2013

      As expected, I have never heard any of your songs 😉

      I like the fact that you also wrote reasons why you like them, like what I did in my post 😉

      I will try to search the songs on youtube later on.

      Thank you for sharing, Lan 🙂

  6. Caroline
    March 28, 2013

    I love your Top 5 posts and always discover something. I knew all the bands but I’ve never heard that Suede song. Love it. I really like the Radiohead song too but I knew it.
    Hmm…my favourite five slow songs? I’m not so good with slow song these days but 1 comes to mind:
    The Lake by Antony and the Johnsons

    • Novroz
      March 29, 2013

      Thank you Caroline 🙂
      When I wrote the list and tried to dig into my memory, I was quite surprise to see my own list…those bands are very famous…but their slow songs are the ones that captured my heart more than songs from the not so wellknown bands.

      Thank you for the recommendation, will look it up later 🙂

  7. Nekoneko
    March 29, 2013

    Hahaha!! It’s always fun to see what things you really like Novia… it’s like getting a peek inside you!! 😉
    My favorite slow songs? Hmmmm… I like lots of odd ones the same way I like movies. I don’t have to understand them to like them, but they have to touch me somehow in the way they sound.If I had to pick only five……

    1) Taebin – “The Reason I Close My Eyes” from Taebin’s 1st album “Taebin Of 1TYM” (2004) This Korean one… I can’t understand a single word of it, but it always makes me cry when I hear it… isn’t that silly? I don’t know why, but something about it really makes my heart hurt when I hear it. That was even before I saw the video for it… and the video is sooooo sad it makes it even worse for me. (I’m tearing up just thinking about it…. sniff, sniff!!)

    2)Emilia – “Celuvaj Me” from her “Best Ballads” album. A Bulgarian singer… and this song, with it’s slow cello driven melody. Again… another one that makes me shiver to hear it. Now this one I kind of understand… “Celuvaj Me” means “Kiss me” in Bulgarian, and basically it is Emilia begging her lover to come to her before night passes away and leaves her lonely.

    3)Andreea Balan – “O Straina” from her album “Asa Sunt Eu”. A Romanian ballad which means “A Stranger” in that language. Another sad one…. (Wonder what that says about this wee kitten? 😉 ) I just love the sound of her voice and the way the video tells a story of lost love….

    4)Alison Krauss – “Tonight I’ll Be Lonely Too” from her album “I’ve Got That Old Feeling”. Hehehe…. an actual honest-to-goodness English language song. An old bluegrass ballad by a singer I was introduced to back in college. Ended up making me a real fan of acoustic country music.

    5)MakSim – “Santimetry Dyhan’ja” from her album “Trudnyj Vozrast” A Russian pop song…. it translates to mean “Centimeters of Breath”, but I’m not certain exactly what it’s about… still it’s really pretty and soothing and I always like hearing it.

    Yeah….. I’m a goofy lady with truly weird tastes….. 😉

    • Novroz
      March 29, 2013

      Thank you, Miyuki 🙂
      You and I have similar blog…it reflects who we are 😉

      Thank you for the link and your comment on each song. I listened to them all except Maksim because it won’t play on mobile…will listen to it again later on PC.

      I like the one by Amelia the most. We sure have different music preference 😉
      All yours are pop while all mine are rock…butvwe do have the same way of liking a music, it had to touch our heart 🙂

      • Nekoneko
        March 30, 2013

        Ooops!! I didn’t think about the Russian letters in the video title…. sorry.
        Yes… the music has to make me feel that special something… whether it be sad or happy, that’s what tells me the song is good. 😉

        • Novroz
          March 30, 2013

          No…not the Russian, the uploader of the video won’t allow mobile access. It happened in some youtube videos.

  8. Alice Audrey
    March 29, 2013

    Where to begin? I love everything on your list. You already know how I feel about Kasabian.

    Lately I’ve been getting into How To Destroy Angels. Just bought their album. They tend to have a disturbing undercurrent, but I like that. Slow would be Ice Age and How Long.

    Gorillaz – On Melancholy Hill, though Dare is the one I listen to over and over. (I don’t think Dare counts as a slow song)

    OneRepublic – Made For You (even though I’m not a piano fan. Probably doesn’t count as slow, though, so maybe Good Life.)

    • Novroz
      March 30, 2013

      Thank you Audrey 🙂
      How to destroy angels is a cool name, I will look it up later.

      Although I love BLUR, but I didn’t listen much of The Gorillaz. But I am sure I can track those songs easily on youtube.

      I like One Republic too. Haven’t listened to the latest album tho. They have cool album cover.

  9. Nuzul
    March 31, 2013

    1.Sore – Pergi Tanpa Pesan
    To me this is one of the best indonesian slow songs of the 20th century. Great lyrics, and the music sounds like it’s recorded in the 60s

    2.Bonnie Raitt – I Can’t Make You Love Me

    3.Payung Teduh – Untuk Perempuan Yang Sedang Ada Di Pelukan
    Payung Teduh is a new indie band who plays (well to me) acoustic keroncong kind of music. But they’re sounds nothing like Sabrina or Boyce Avenue. I reallyyy recommended you to check out this band. There’s some of their songs that has been uploaded on youtube.

    4.Nine Inch Nails – Hurt
    A lot of people prefer Johnny Cash’s version but to me nothing sounds better than the original. Trent Reznor’s voice really captures the song’s theme about desperation and anger.

    5.Radiohead – Fake Plastic Trees
    Radiohead have a lot of addictive slow songs such as All I Need, Nude, How To Disappear Completely, True Love Waits, High And Dry, Exit Music, Pyramid Song, and off course, Street Spirit. But my pick goes to Fake Plastic Trees. “If i could be who you wanted…all the time” that’s all i have to say about this song.

    • Novroz
      April 1, 2013

      Thank you for sharing your list Nuzul 🙂

      So nice to see Indonesian songs in your list. I wish I can come up with some songs too.

      Fake plastic tree is also one of my candidates but street spirit is too deep for me. Gla we both have radio head on our list 🙂

  10. Nina
    April 7, 2013

    You know, I really like your taste in music!

    • Novroz
      April 7, 2013

      Aaaw…Thank you Nina ((hug))
      I thought I have a non-mainstream music taste (at least in my country), glad if you said so.

      • Nina
        April 8, 2013

        ((BIG HUG)) Lol it is! But to me, it’s a reaaallllyyy good taste in music! It’s definitely stuff I like :))

        • Novroz
          April 9, 2013

          Thank you again 🙂
          You know, I am easily drawn to British music and then Japan…I can’t quite put it what makes those music sound better than others

          • Nina
            April 9, 2013

            Lol well, they do have good music! :))))))))

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2013 by in Excessive Listener and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,555 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads