Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Usurper of The Sun by Housuke Nojiri

Usurper of the sun

From Goodreads:

The mysterious Builders have brought humanity to the edge of extinction; can they be reasoned with, or must they be destroyed? Aki Shiraishi is a high school student working in the astronomy club and one of the few witnesses to an amazing event—someone is building a tower on the planet Mercury. Soon, the Builders have constructed a ring around the sun, threatening the ecology of Earth with an immense shadow. Aki is inspired to pursue a career in science, and the truth. She must determine the purpose of the ring and the plans of its creators, as the survival of both species—humanity and the alien Builders—hang in the balance.

This is a new book in Japan Foundation Library. Knowing nothing at all about the book was not an excuse for me to not borrow it…in fact, being new book as the main reason I borrowed it. It looks like a good book and I haven’t yet read sci-fi by Japanese author.

Usurper of The Sun had interesting story but has a VERY slow pace. The incredibly slow pace almost made me abandon the book…but my curiosity got the better of me. I continued reading with a lot of skimming.

Aki Shiraishi was a high school student when she first spotted a tower on Mercury. Her discovery made a lot of scientist interested with it and the tower made Aki became obsesses with it. Over the years, the tower grew into a massive ring around Mercury. Being so close to the sun, the ring caused sun blocking. The earth with its lack of sunlight was facing human extinction.

The scientist tried a lot of method to destroy the ring but the ring had its own defend mechanism. The world created UNSDF (United Nation Space Defend Force) which then sent a ship with four crews to figure out a way to destroy the ring. Aki was chosen as the Ringologist. But destroying the ring didn’t solve the problem because the Builders (the alien who made the ring) were coming to our solar system.

Like I have said above, the story is very interesting but Housuke Nojiri wrote it in a boring way with too many scientific phrases. I like detailed sci-fi story like Crichton often wrote, but Crichton has a way to make science interesting… Kousuke Nojiri lacks of ability to keep the science interesting. Although I skimmed more than half of the book, but I still managed to follow the story. He needs to learn to make a more gripping story where each page is important to be read.

The characters are also thin. The story stretch from year 2006 to 2014 and yet I still couldn’t grasp Aki as a human being. I have no attachment at all toward the characters in the book. A book where there are no interesting characters makes it a bit boring.

The power of the book lied solely on its interesting idea of Alien Invasion. It was very fresh. The Aliens had no concept of presence, they were not bad at all. If only the pace of the story was a bit faster, it would make a wonderful book.

My favorite quote (page 270)

Aki felt certain that humanity would never choose such a lonely existence, especially after having seen what a relentless quest for pure intellect had done to the Builder.

Book Detail:

Title: Usurper of The Sun
Author: Housuke Nojiri
Language : English (original: Japanese)
Pages: 320 pages
Rating: 2 books

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

18 comments on “Usurper of The Sun by Housuke Nojiri

  1. Gray Dawster
    March 25, 2013

    A very good posting for such a poor example,
    but your thoughts are welcomed Miss. Novia🙂
    Have a very nice Monday and be well my great
    friend🙂 Here it has snowed again and is very
    cold and windy too😦 lol xxx

    • Novroz
      March 25, 2013

      Thank you Gray🙂
      Yeah…it’s a shame that the book was written in a slow pace but I really like the basic idea of it.

      Thank you and I wish you a great day too…just enjoy the snow as I am trying to enjoy the heat here😉

  2. Dennis the Vizsla
    March 25, 2013

    I wonder if the Builder was responsible for Ringworld, too …

    • Novroz
      March 25, 2013

      Ringworld? I have to look that up😉

  3. TBM
    March 25, 2013

    I’m not sure I would have finished this one. I like science, but it there is so much science and it slows it down that makes it difficult for me. Glad you got through it.

    • Novroz
      March 25, 2013

      I know I wouldn’t finished it either if not for my curiosity toward the Builders. I want to know what kind of alien Housuke Nojiri has created. I am glad I got through the boring part (by skimming) because the Builder is an interesting alien.

  4. Alice Audrey
    March 26, 2013

    Bummer that the characters aren’t well developed. That makes a bigger difference in SF than most people realize. I like the concept of this one. Thanks for the intro.

    • Novroz
      March 28, 2013

      I haven’t read much sci-fi and most that I have read are by Chricton, he is really good in creating well developed charater. The concept on this book is already great, too bad the whole package is not that great.
      Thank you for reading my review, Audrey🙂

      • Alice Audrey
        March 29, 2013

        I grew up reading SF/F. It was in the time period when I went from illiterate to hard-core reader that I discovered SF. I have no idea how many authors I’ve read. Probably only in the hundreds. When I started writing Romance I cut way back on my SF reading, but I still love it.

        • Novroz
          March 30, 2013

          Why do you turn into a romance writer?

          • Alice Audrey
            April 3, 2013

            Right after I moved from Wisconsin to Montana, I was desperate for something to read and went down to the local bookstore to pick something up. Since the house was full of boxes, many of which had plenty of books already, I didn’t want to get a lot, just one book to tide me over until we got unpacked. When I left the store, I had a Romance novel. I’d been reading a few here and there for years, but this was the point where I crossed the line and started reading more of them than I read of SF/F. I still told myself it wasn’t my genre, but I started thinking I might be able to write something along those lines. This was the beginning of August 1999. At the end of November of the same year, I woke up with two books in my head. One was Lord Dunraven’s Kiss – an historical romance. The other was When the Strong Winds Come – SF. I started on the SF, got bogged down in world building and switched to the romance. In the next three days I wrote nearly 50 pages on the romance. It all took off from there. I finished Lord Dunraven’s Kiss by the next summer. I finished When the Strong Winds Come three years later. Well, finished the rough drafts, anyway.

          • Novroz
            April 4, 2013

            Thank you for sharing it ,Audrey🙂
            I like how you woke up and came up with two books. Both are published, I supposed.

          • Alice Audrey
            April 7, 2013

            I wish. No, they are both still in revision. I did send out query letters for both, and got a couple of nibbles on Lord Dunraven’s Kiss, but no takers.

          • Novroz
            April 7, 2013

            You can self publish them, right?

          • Alice Audrey
            April 12, 2013

            I probably will in the end. But first I intend to self-publish a bunch of Suzie’s House books.

          • Novroz
            April 17, 2013

            Good luck with that🙂
            I am planning to do a self-publish to when I finally able to organize my time better.

  5. kdkh
    April 9, 2013

    Looks good; I’m going to check it out! Thanks for letting me know that skimming will get me to the good part. I’m always interested in a well-developed alien society.

    • Novroz
      April 10, 2013

      Some books are worth the skimming some are just better to left infinished…that’s my motto for reading slow pace books😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2013 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads