Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Ones I will Miss

I finally quit my job after trying hard to keep my emotion toned down all the time in that office.

I work in two places (used to be 2 places), one is in Pharmacy Vocational School and the other was in this place where I taught Science Experiments to primary kids (it’s a non-formal school, that’s why I call it office). I am not going to say the name here nor the many reasons why I left. There are too many management errors there…here’s a statistic, within almost 3 years I worked there, there were 30 employes who had left the office. Some even left in less than a month after seeing the condition. So, you figure!!

Let’s not talk about it…I just want to share the ones I am going to miss from leaving that place.

I really like all my friends there. They were what keeping me happy…but one by one had left 😦 I still see them once in a while, we try to keep in touch even though we were no longer working there.

The ones I will miss the most, and it’s a bit impossible to keep in touch with them, are the students!!

Not all of them are the best students in the world. Not all of them are the smartest kids I have ever taught. Not all of them are the type who can sit nicely during the lesson…but each and every one of them are special.

I like how they slowly changed from a very active kids to kids who become curious and curiouser with science. Primary students are different with high school students, I think every teacher knows that, they are adorable sometimes, but also a test to our patience sometimes 😉

I wish I can write about them individually, revealing the things I remember the most about them (like I did with my high school students> here) … but for one and many reasons, I couldn’t do that. I will keep the memory of them in my heart 🙂

My Little Students

You can see how tiny I am…even some primary students are taller than me 😉

I was very happy to see their reaction when I told them that that day was my last day as their teacher…some of them (mostly the girls) wouldn’t stop hugging me, some of them said ‘please stay and be our teacher forever’. It’s sad leaving them…REALLY!!! I am going to miss them a lot.

Although it was a non-formal school, I hope everything I have taught can help them be a smarter and better person.

I really love teaching 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

31 comments on “The Ones I will Miss

  1. fitri
    February 21, 2013

    moga kdepannya mkin skses mb nov..smangat..sll kagum ma guru,profesi yg mulia

  2. Caroline
    February 21, 2013

    Good for you anyway, I mean, sure you will miss your students but the job and the organozation must be good as well and if that is not the case, if mismanagement is a daily thing – you have to leave. I hope they will start looking into things. 30 people leaving…
    They look like really cute kids. I think I would find oit easier to teach bigger children but it’s also nice when you know you could make the little ones love to learn things.
    Have you found something else or will you be teaching just in one school?

    • Novroz
      February 21, 2013

      Thank you Caroline 🙂
      Since the owner is only one person and so blind to see her own mistakes….I doubt the place will get any better in the future. It has such good potential. Maybe when I finally can manage my time properly, I want to make something like that school in smaller scale.

      Agreed! Older students are easier, but primary students are also fun. The ones I avoid to teach are junior highschool students…they are in their most unstable emotions and so not fun to teach.

      I am looking for another place to teach…but the truth is I kinda like tge idea of only working outside the house for 3days (in my school) and another 2days at home…so I am in the process of promoting myself as freelance translator now 🙂

      • Caroline
        February 23, 2013

        That’s wonderful. Good luck with that.

        • Novroz
          February 24, 2013

          Thank you 🙂
          it’s a long way to go but I am promoting the service now.

  3. Nekoneko
    February 21, 2013

    Even though it was a bad place to be employed, I’m glad to hear you will still be able to carry away good memories of you and the kids. They will miss you and I know that you will miss them too… you have a soft heart that feels these things deeply. 🙂

    • Novroz
      February 21, 2013

      Thank you Miyuki 🙂
      My students always have special place in my heart…they might have forgotten me and I might forgot their names too as the years gone by, but the joy of ever teaching them will stay. It’s really nice working with children.

  4. Binky
    February 21, 2013

    That’s rather sad that the conditions at the school/office were so bad that you felt you had to quit. Hopefully you will be able to find a better place to teach where there is a good working environment, and where they’ll appreciate you.

    • Novroz
      February 21, 2013

      Thank you for the concern Peter 🙂
      I already have a place where I am appreciated. I really like my Vocational School where I teach chemistry. But I only teach there for 3 days. I need to spend my other 2 days with another job.

      • Binky
        February 22, 2013

        I don’t suppose you teach them how to make solid rocket propellant in chemistry. . .

        • Novroz
          February 22, 2013

          Fortunately I didn’t teach them how to make such rocket, Binky 😉
          I only taught them how to make a lemon-baking powder rocket…I can teach you if you’re interested 😉

          • Binky
            February 23, 2013

            I think that wouldn’t have enough thrust to get me to the moon. Maybe you could teach me how to make one of those erupting volcano projects.

          • Novroz
            February 24, 2013

            True!! That acid-baking powder rocket can only get you as high as 4-6 meters 😉

            That one’s very easy 😉 same with the rocket…just dont close it and add soap water.

  5. Mel u
    February 21, 2013

    Best of luck-and if your busy schedule permits-I invite your participation and that of your readers in Irish Short Story Month Year III March 1 to 31

    • Novroz
      February 21, 2013

      Thank you Mel 🙂
      Oh…it’s about to start again? count me in 😉

  6. mywordlyobsessions
    February 21, 2013

    They look like lovely kids and I’m sure you have many memories with them. I also had a similar experience and it can be hard to leave. You feel like you are letting them down, but it has to be done.

    I still see my students around and its great when they remember you. You must be a fabulous teacher for them to miss you so much!

    • Novroz
      February 21, 2013

      That’s exactly how I felt, Zee!! I felt sorry to have left them but there are things that I couldn’t take anymore and leaving is the only choice.

      I still see my high school students (not sure about students from this non-formal school) some of my students have turned into friends. Fabulous teacher or not depends on them to judge, I only try to do my best.

  7. TBM
    February 21, 2013

    I’m sorry that you had to leave, but from the sounds of it, you had to. Keep the memories close to your heart–it’s never easy saying goodbye.

    • Novroz
      February 24, 2013

      Thank you TBM 🙂
      yeah…I wish I didn’t have to leave but the situation was getting worst rather than getting better *sigh*
      They will be another colorful page of my memory book 🙂

  8. ruth
    February 22, 2013

    Oh bummer! Sorry to hear about this Nov. Do you have anything else lined up then? I could see you’d miss your students, I’m sure they’ll miss you terribly too. Lovely pics btw, thanks for sharing and best of luck with everything. I’ll be prayin’ for you.

    • Novroz
      February 22, 2013

      Thank you Ruth 🙂

      Fortinately I still have private students and am trying to open a small translating bussiness now…I think I won’t work in any company/office ever again, I am just not an office person. If I only came to that place to teach (without any office work) I might have worked there longer. So, for now it’s finding a new school or not at all.

  9. Genki Jason
    February 22, 2013

    Sorry to hear about you leaving but as others have said, focus on the positives. You sound like you made a real difference to the students!

    • Novroz
      February 22, 2013

      Thank you Jason 🙂
      I sure you they will remember everything I have taught them even though I am not their formal teacher. Some of them will return back to their countries (Japan, Korea and India) … it would be lovely if by then they still remember my class and all the knowledge given there.

  10. Steph
    February 22, 2013

    It sounds like you have a real gift for teaching and connecting with children, Novia. I’m sorry this didn’t turn out to be a good situation, but as others have said, it really sounds like your presence was a gift to your students.

    • Novroz
      February 22, 2013

      I think the fact that I love teaching (I choose to be a teacher not because I have to be a teacher) makes a different in how students accept me.

      Thank you Steph 🙂 I am really happy with how the children reacted on my leaving…children rarely fake their emotion and what they said really touched my heart.

  11. Alice Audrey
    February 25, 2013

    Hugs on the separation from your students. That’s hard, but maybe you’ll be able to get a teaching position at another place and meet a whole other bunch of great kids.

    • Novroz
      February 25, 2013

      Thank you Audrey ((hug))
      I hope so too…there’s always a bunch of kids out there to be taught

  12. Pingback: Unexpected Tears | Polychrome Interest

  13. JoV
    May 11, 2013

    I don’t know how I would have missed this but your students are adorable and I haven’t got a doubt that it is hard to leave them!

    • Novroz
      May 12, 2013

      It’s always hard leaving students, I always wished I didn’t have to.
      Thank you Jo 🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2013 by in Teacher's Note, Things I Need to Say and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads