Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

World Cinema Series 2013

images

Across the world in search for amazing movies

Last year, Caroline @ Beauty is a Sleeping cat hosted World Cinema Series, sort of like a blog challenge. I often joined book challenge and never done any movie challenge till last year. There are so many movie blogathon but a movie challenge is quite rare. So, I jumped in on the challenge straight away.

I had great time watching movies from several countries, they were:

  1. Låt den rätte komma in – Let The Right One In (Sweden)
  2. 十三人の刺客 – 13 Assassins (Japan)
  3. Amazing Grace  (England)
  4. The Wind That Shakes The Barley & Perrier’s Bounty (Ireland)
  5. The Raid : Redemption (Indonesia)
  6. Prometheus (US)
  7. Pintu Terlarang (Indonesia)
  8. Napola – Elite für den Führer (Germany)

This year, Caroline hosted the same event again…yaaiiii \(^_^)/

I hope I have more countries to cover now. And unlike last year, this year I will do a lot of double review (not only for World Cinema Series…you’ll find most my movie review this year as double review which means two movies in one post).

I have begun my first movies last week, they were from England (the second country I would love to visit if lady luck visited me one day). I actually have tons of British movies ready to be watched…if only I can share them all😉

Just like last year, I will use my map to show where the country is (with a bit of editing)

Here are the movies I have watched:

Movies I will watch:

  • From Indonesia: Not yet decided.
  • From Iran: Separation (I have to watch it this year!!)
  • From Ireland : When Harry Becomes a Tree (part of my Monthly Murphy)
  • From Sweden: The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet Nest & The Girl Who Played With fire
  • From Thailand: Chocolate & Raging Phoenix
  • From USA: Warrior & The Perk Of Being A Wallflower

Note: Some of them might end one as a one movie review if I think the movie is TOO amazing to be reviewed alongside another movie😉

Go Check Caroline’s page to read more about World Cinema Series and come and join us🙂 Caroline promises to give a DVD or a voucher to everyone who reviewed the most country.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

31 comments on “World Cinema Series 2013

  1. Genki Jason
    January 19, 2013

    Ah, I’m going to watch The Twilight Samurai and review it next month!

    K-horror… The Whispering Corridor series and A Tale of Two Sisters provide great stories. If you want an tough blood and guts horror film from Korea you could try I Saw the Devil – excruciating in parts.

    • Novroz
      January 19, 2013

      What a nice coincidence, Jason!! Let’s do a double review…if you don’t mind😉
      We post our review at the same time….I think it would be fun, I never done it before but eager to try it.

      Yaaaiii…thank you for the recommendation ((hug)) I one of your reviews from your recommendation and already planning to find it.
      I actually want to see something like Mother too, do you know any that as good as that movie?

      • Genki Jason
        January 19, 2013

        Mother is meant to be good. I mean really, really good. I’m going to review it as soon as I get my hands on a copy.

        A double review sounds great. Let me know when you plan on reviewing The Twilight Samurai and I’ll get something down at the same time. I haven’t got any seasons planned yet so I can be a bit random with reviews😉

        • Novroz
          January 19, 2013

          Well…I have just finished Ranma1/2 live action and then will continue with Rurouni Kenshin, I am planning to review both as from Anime to Live Action. I will try to post that early February…So I am guessing Twillight samurai will be near the end of February, is that time okay? I will email you when the time gets near.

          Yeah, Mother is REALLY good! I was surprise to see Won Bin has that ability to act (although the mother totally steals the show) and the ending was just wow…the ending is perfect.

          • Genki Jason
            January 19, 2013

            End of February sounds great!

            I’ll really have to watch Mother now.

          • Novroz
            January 21, 2013

            Looking forward to know what you think of Mother🙂

  2. Fariz
    January 19, 2013

    I’m intrigued to join this event, miss, but I’m still a bit confused how to and the procedures :s do I have to register first? and can I submit reviews at a random time throughout the year (I mean not making a list of films you’re planning to watch beforehand)?

    • Novroz
      January 19, 2013

      You don’t have to make an introduction post like mine…better to make one so that others can find out and join too, but it’s not a must.

      Then, you review a movie and put the link on Caroline’s page. You use blogspot, so you have to put the link there…I use wordpress so it’ll pingback automatically.

      Submit it anytime in 2013 and no advance list needed. I make this list because I am planning to watch it but it can also change in the process.

    • Caroline
      January 19, 2013

      Hi Fariz,

      There are not many rules, the idea is just to watch as many moviex from as man different countries as possible and leave a link, just like Novia explained. At the end of te year I count the reviews and the perosn who has reviewed movie from the most countries will receive a DVD or a voucher .
      Sign up is not needed, all works via comments (WordPress and Mr Linky still don’t work well.)

      • Novroz
        January 20, 2013

        Ah…I forgot about that bit again!
        I will edit my post to add it…maybe it’ll make more people want to join it🙂

      • Fariz
        January 20, 2013

        Okay, thank you for the explanation🙂 it’s an interesting event and I’ve already had a couple of foreign films (non-US films) in mind that I’d like to watch and review. Hope I have the time :p

        • Novroz
          January 21, 2013

          Hehe I consider US as foreign as the rest of the world😉
          I even include Indonesia Movies simply because I want to share it with non-Indonesian people.

          I hope you have the time and looking forward to read your review in full English🙂

  3. Caroline
    January 19, 2013

    Thanks for mentioing the event, Novia. You have some interestinf plans. I’m looking forward to your choices.

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2013

      No prob Caroline…I enjoy doing this…a lot!🙂

  4. Alice Audrey
    January 20, 2013

    Looks like this will be an interesting year.

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2013

      I hope so🙂
      I know some of them will be great movies but some are a bit gambling as I am not sure how I will feel about them.

  5. sidekickreviews
    January 20, 2013

    I just happened to watch Raid Redemption today – great action movie! Perks of being a Wallflower is one of my Faves from last year – I watched it a few weeks ago, I’d be interested in what you think of it after you watch it.

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2013

      Hi SKR.
      Yeah The Raid is a great action movie, the best I have seen in ages.
      Perks has been getting amazing reviews and I am really curious about it…but not sure when I will see it, probably next month or March.
      Thank you for stopping by🙂

  6. Steph
    January 21, 2013

    What a great blog series! I really like Let the Right One in and Amazing Grace. The Wind That Shakes the Barley, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, A Separation, and Napola are on my to-see list. I am taking a closer look at The Raid and Pintu Terlarang as I have never seen an Indonesian film and don’t know very much about Indonesian culture.

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2013

      I know! Come and join the fun Steph🙂
      I love to know what you think of The Wind That Shakes The Barley, it’s one of my favorite Cillian’s movies.

      The Raid is easier to find that Pintu Terlarang…I think. You can’t see culture in any of those movies…but at least in The Raid, you can see Indonesian Martial Art.

      If you want to know about Indonesian culture, you are welcome to come here every 17 of each month, I share things related to Indonesia🙂

  7. ruth
    January 21, 2013

    Great post, Nov, looking forward to your reviews. I will head over to Caroline’s post now, I’d love to take part again like last year.

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2013

      Thank you Ruth🙂
      Looking forward to see what you have in stored for WCS😉

  8. TBM
    January 22, 2013

    I’m hoping to watch more movies this year. My contributions last year were pathetic. Happy movie watching!

    • Novroz
      January 22, 2013

      It only takes 2hours for one movie😉
      I sure hope you watch more movies this year🙂

  9. Pingback: Twilight Samurai -たそがれ清兵衛 (Tasogare Seibei) « Polychrome Interest

  10. Pingback: The Flowers of War – 金陵十三钗 (Jīnlíng Shísān Chāi) | Polychrome Interest

  11. Pingback: Detroit Metal City – One Funny Live Action Movie | Polychrome Interest

  12. Pingback: Funny Games (1997) – One Creepy and Sick Movie | Polychrome Interest

  13. Pingback: Based on True Story: The Intouchable & 127 Hours | Polychrome Interest

  14. Pingback: 용의자X – Yonguija X (Perfect Number) | Polychrome Interest

  15. Pingback: World Cinema Series 2013 – Wrap up and Winner Announcement | Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2013 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,507 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads