Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Richard Ayoade’s Connection: The Watch & Bunny and The Bull.

Richard Ayoade

Richard Ayoade

I was hoping for another back to back comedy like last week’s double reviews…but what I got was NOT comedy at all. Fortunately one has good story while the other one sucks.

I watch The Watch and Bunny and The Bull recently…I watched both of them because of a man by the name of Richard Ayoade. I like him since The IT Crowd and like him more since The Mighty Boosh. Richard is a multi talented man, he is a comedian, actor, writer and director. I watched Submarine because he directed it (I like the directing but bored with the plot…sorry Rich!).

Before anyone goes on and writes a comment saying … ah no wonder you like the second one, it has people you like more than the first one…let me shout it out first I like the second movie  because it has far better plot and visual than the first one!! NOT BECAUSE OF THE PEOPLE IN IT.

Now that it’s off my chest…let’s move on with the review 😉

The_watch_movie_poster

The Watch

Director: Akiva Schaffer
Starring: Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, Jonah Hill, Richard Ayoade, Rosemarie DeWitt
Rating: 1 star

Seriously…after seeing the trailer…I WOULDN’T WATCH THIS MOVIE IF RICHARD IS NOT IN IT. This is the kind of movie I know I will not enjoy it…but I still watch it because of the actor (just like what happened with In Time).

The Watch is about a man played by Ben Stiller who formed a neighborhood watch because one of his employees was murdered in a horrible way…here come the forced comedy that didn’t make me laugh at all…when the man asked people to form a neighborhood watch, everyone laughed as if the murder was a joke and who care if someone died with his skin being ripped-off of him<<< I find it NOT FUNNY AT ALL!!

He finally managed to have a watch group consisted of 4 men: himself (Ben Stiller), a man who failed the test to become a police, a man who loved to party, and a black Englishman (Richard Ayoade). Although this might sound like a spoiler…but I can assure it’s not a spoiler…it’s written all over the trailer!! Instead of facing murderer, they found out that Alien had landed on earth.

The only part where I laughed the most while watching this movie is when Richard told everyone why he joined in the group and everyone had the same blank face. Apart from that, I also got a kick of Matrix-Style Ayoade!! (too bad I can’t upload the clip on youtub, so I made a simple gif)

Matrix-Style-Ayoade

I always saw Richard in comedy with his trade mark flat expression…seeing him acted so cool with guns on his hands was a great surprise. I repeated that scene over and over again .

I got a feeling that Richard is in this movie because of Ben Stiller. Stiller was the producer of Richard’s debut movie, Submarine.

Overall…The Watch was a dull movie. Trying to be funny but failed badly (or maybe because I have different taste of comedy)…fortunately the sci-fi part is quite enjoyable. I looked it up in IMDB and Rotten Tomatoes…no surprise at all to see the ratings, 5,7 and 17% respectively.

Bunny-bull-poster

Bunny and The Bull (2009)

Director: Paul King
Writer: Paul King
Starring: Edward Hogg, Simon Farnaby, Veronica Echegui, Richard Ayoade, Julian Barratt, Noel Fielding, Sylvia Sims
Rating: 3,5 stars

Before I moved on with the plot, let’s look at why this movie is sometimes wrongly considered as The Mighty Boosh movie.

  • Paul King is the director of The Mighty Boosh.
  • The cast, mostly cameos, is full of people from The Mighty Boosh. Julian Barratt as a dog loving tramp, Noel Fielding as a retired matador, Rich Fulcher as the voice of the King Crab and a passerby, and Richard Ayoade as a bored museum curator.
  • The movie has that surreal and animated background like The Mighty Boosh.

Although it is heavily connected to The Mighty Boosh but Bunny and The Bull is NOT The Mighty Boosh movie!! Paul mentioned (jokingly) that the cast was on his speed dial 😉 … But, knowing the Brits, they sort of enjoy working with the same people over and over again…it makes them feel comfortable.

Bunny and The Bull was meant to be a comedy but it isn’t funny! There are parts that make me giggle but not as a big laugh…however, Bunny and The Bull has a great storyline and interesting directing method. I can see a bit similarity with the way Richard directed Submarine.

Stephen and Bunny

Stephen and Bunny

The story focused on Stephen Turnbull (Edward Hogg) who was afraid to leave his flat. Something triggered him to try stepping out of his front door but the image of him running in the field from something made him locked his door again. From then on, Stephen was caught in between two worlds, his current world where the walls of his flat are his protection and his world before he locked himself inside his flat. The flashback took us to his journey around Europe with his best friend, Bunny (Simon Farnaby).

Stephen and Bunny were the kind of odd couple who were so different and yet so relied on each other. Stephen’s dream woman just told him that she only thinks of him as friend. Bunny tried to cheer him up by asking him to go around Europe. They could do it because they won a bet. Stephen was the boring type who always played it safe while Bunny was the easy type who enjoys gambling and sex.

On their road trip, they met a Spanish woman named Eloisa (Veronica Echegui). They went to Spain together. Their journey to Spain and what happened on Spain could be considered as the main idea of the story. I can’t say more than that because of not wanting to spoil the best part on this movie.

Paul King took us to present and past, somewhere in between you’ll find out why Stephen didn’t want to leave his home anymore. I can imagine Bunny and The Bull as a book…in fact, I felt that I was reading a book rather than watching a movie. The surreal view around the main characters is not something you’ll find on common movies. The snow is made of shredded paper, the pillars of the bridges are made of stacks of books, the amusement park is made of clockwork (see the image below), and many more bizarre surrounding.

Clockwork park

Basically, Bunny and The Bull is a road trip of three people mixed with a love triangle in a surreal world. Bunny and The Bull is not a comedy that will make you laugh but the plot and the visual are very interesting. And it’s a hate it or love it kind of movie.

The Cameos: Richard Ayoade, Julian Barratt, Noel Fielding

The Cameos: Richard Ayoade, Julian Barratt, Noel Fielding

Here’s the trailer:

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

22 comments on “Richard Ayoade’s Connection: The Watch & Bunny and The Bull.

  1. TBM
    January 15, 2013

    Haven’t heard of either, but I think I would like the second one the most out of the two. Ben Stiller is funny, but some of his movies are just horrible. This sounds like one of them.

    • Novroz
      January 16, 2013

      If you like surreal image, I think you will like Bunny and The Bull. I also like its ending.
      I agree with you about Stiller. I really like Night at The Museum..I think that one is his best.

  2. Caroline
    January 15, 2013

    I hadn’t heard of them either and like TBm, I’d rather watch the second. Ben Stiller can be hilarious but really not always. I even find the poster annoying.

    • Novroz
      January 16, 2013

      Yeah…I agree, the poster is quite annoying and too simple. Bunny and The Bull has interesting poster. I haven’t seen much Stiller but the ones I saw are funny.

  3. Genki Jason
    January 15, 2013

    I did not go to see either film because the clips for both looked dull and did not make me laugh. Your reviews pretty much confirms those impressions.

    • Novroz
      January 16, 2013

      I think you shouldn’t watch both if you are not a fan of any of the actors or the director.
      I do like Bunny and The Bull but I will not recommend it to anyone because it’s a bit weird.

  4. ruth
    January 15, 2013

    I had never heard of Richard Ayoade before, I didn’t know he was a Brit. Yeah, I heard The Watch is just excruciatingly bad, well hopefully Richard would get more roles that are worthy of his talent!

    • Novroz
      January 16, 2013

      Richard is a multi-talented man, he has directed Submarine and several music videos for Arctic Monkey. I love his accent and his way of telling a joke with his flat face.

      I haven’t seen him in serious role, always comedy, but I think he can play serious role easily.

      • ruth
        January 16, 2013

        He’s quite good looking too. I hope he gets more roles in Hollywood, comedic or not. I’d think that some comedians can indeed pull off serious roles.

        • Novroz
          January 16, 2013

          I never thought he was good looking till I saw him in comedy panel show…how odd is that? I saw him in 24 episodes of The IT Crowd and never once I thought he was handsome…but then I saw him with Noel in 2 Comedy panel shows and started thinking…he is quite handsome…maybe because when I watched IT Crowd I was laughing too much and sort of ignoring his face 😉

          I hope so too…but I also hope he won’t leave London. All his crazy mates are in London.

  5. Alice Audrey
    January 15, 2013

    That’s funny. From the trailers I would have picked The Watch over Bunny and the Bull.

    • Novroz
      January 16, 2013

      Really? even from the trailer I would pick Bunny. When I saw The Watch, just to know what’s the movie about…I instantly knew I will not like the movie…but Richard made me see it.

      • Alice Audrey
        January 20, 2013

        Mind you, I wouldn’t take it seriously. I’d watch it when I was in the mood for fluff.

  6. dhitzunako
    January 15, 2013

    I remember watching this on the cinema with my friends… The first murder scene shocked me because my friend told me that this is a comedy movie, not a gruesome monster movie and alike. Most of the funny scene of The Watch were making me… eng… ketawa2 stress alias bukannya jadi rileks, malah capek nontonnya. Haha.

    • dhitzunako
      January 15, 2013

      this = The Watch. I forgot to mention it at the first sentence ;p

    • Novroz
      January 16, 2013

      Huahaha ketawa2 stress! Nice term 😉
      At first, I was thinking of watching it in cinema but I changed my mind after seeing the trailer. I love Richard but not that much…I can still wait for it in DVD.

  7. The Focused Filmographer
    January 16, 2013

    I really did not like The Watch at all. and it looks like you didn’t either. Nice to see some of the other stuff that Richard is in. I may check out the Bunny.

    • Novroz
      January 16, 2013

      *High Five* I saw comments in youtube saying they really like The Watch, I thought I was the wrong one for not liking it…RT convinces me that I am OK 😉 … now, knowing you also didn’t like it makes me even happier.

      Richard is only a cameo in the Bunny…if you really want to check him, go find The IT Crowd …him as Moss is his best role EVER. That TV series is the one that turns me into a fan 😉

  8. LOL one star for The Watch. I saw the poster and already dislike it. I liked Submarine’s atmosphere but also a bit bored with it.

    • Novroz
      January 19, 2013

      Trust me, I wouldn’t watch The Watch if Richard isn’t in it!
      Ah…if you like Submarine’s atmosphere, maybe you could enjoy Bunny and The Bull too 😉

  9. pulsa
    March 5, 2013

    comedy, isn’t it? i’ll watch later, nice one 🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads