Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Christmas Carol Special

First of all…NO NEED to wish me Merry Christmas as I am not Christian and therefore don’t celebrate Christmas …but Merry Christmas to all who celebrate it 🙂

Now…if I don’t celebrate Christmas, why do I make a Christmas Carol special? Well, the answer is because of Caroline @ Beauty Is A Sleeping Cat. She and Delia @ Postcard From Asia are hosting a Dickens in December. The idea is to read books by Dickens or watch movies based on his books. Well I am now reading A Tale of Two Cities, I hope I can finish it as I gave up with Oliver Twist years ago.

 dickens-button-01-resized

Today, December 21, is a Christmas Carol readalong event…unfortunately I couldn’t read one so I just shared two Christmas Carol specials…One is very funny while the other is very sentimental…and funny thing is both are Doctor Who related!! One played by the ninth Doctor and his companion while the other one is Doctor Who special.

Catherine Tate – Nan’s Christmas Carol

 Nan's Christmas Carol

 This Christmas Carol special is taken from The Catherine Tate Show (2009).

Catherine is playing as Nan, a bitter and foul mouth old woman. Nan has no compassion at all toward other people, even one of her own relatives. Just like all Christmas Carol movies, Nan is visited by 3 ghosts; Ghost of Christmas Past (Ben Miller), the Ghost of Christmas Present (David Tennant), the Ghost of Christmas Future (Roger Lloyd-Pack). There’s nothing much to say about the story as we all know how it all goes. Nan is only touched by the Ghost of Christmas Future and decides to change her behavior.

What’s interesting about this Christmas Carol special is the comedy…it’s really funny without mocking the idea of Christmas itself. I was laughing so hard even on my second viewing. Nan keeps making fun at the ghost. She is a difficult person to convince. The ghosts also appear in a funny way. I love the way the ghosts appear, each has their own funny way.

I like Catherine ever since I saw her as Donna in Doctor Who (2008 series). She was the companion of the Tenth Doctor, who was played by the Ghost of Christmas present – David Tennant. Seeing Catherine as a bitter old woman is really fun and seeing David Tennant add extra fun. I love how David turns into a character who is obsessed with trendy clothes. He sort of reminds me of Noel Fielding with his tight jeans and outlandish outfit. David is soooo different to his Doctor Who character.

Nan (Cath Tate) and the Ghost of Christmas Present (Tennant)

Nan (Cath Tate) and the Ghost of Christmas Present (Tennant)

I can easily say this is one of my favorite Christmas Carol adaptations…hilarious and still delivers the message. Fortunately I found the full video in youtube for you to enjoy 😉

 

Doctor Who – A Christmas Carol

 Doctor Who - Carol

What can the Doctor do to save Christmas in the cold heart of Kazran Sardick?

I have promised that I will not touch Doctor Who till 2013 in order to give myself a chance to see other TVseries and movies. Once I see Doctor Who, I might find myself in difficult position to stop it…fortunately I managed to control myself last night 😉

Steven Moffat is a GENIUS!!! He always fascinates me with his stories. When I know that this Christmas Carol special is written by Moffat, I straight away know that the show is going to be something unexpected and great. Moffat touched the emotional part of the corrupted character.

The Eleventh Doctor (Matt Smith) has to help a spaceship caught in a strange cloud belt. The cloud is controlled by Kazran Sardick (Michael Gambon). Sardick is a cold hearted rich man who doesn’t care with other people. He lends money to people and as guarantee he keeps one member of the family in cryogenic state. The Doctor asked him to steady the cloud so that the ship with its 4000 passengers can land safely…but he doesn’t care if they all die.

Inspired by Christmas Carol by Dickens, the Doctor tries to change Sardick into a nicer man. He acts as the Ghost of Christmas Past. He visits the young Kazran and unintentionally makes him fall in love with one of the girls whom his father puts in cryogenic. But his love can’t change his decision to save the ship. As we all know, the Ghost of Christmas Future is the one who can change his heart…but it’s not Moffat if it all ends that simple. I love the way he presents the Ghost of Christmas Future…very unpredictable!!!

I can’t find the full episode in youtube, here’s the trailer:

Both TV specials are really good and I enjoy every bit of it. To be honest, out of all Christmas Carol movies I have seen…these two are my most favorite as they present it differently.

Have anyone else seen these two TV special?

Ps. Sorry I couldn’t join the readalong, Caroline. I hope these two specials can be a good excuse 🙂

********************************

Update on my A Tale of Two Cities reading:

Unfortunately…I failed reading Charles Dickens for the second time. Language seems to be the barrier (again). I am the kind of reader who easily gets bored when the words do not transform into a kind of movie in my head. After 50 pages, all I had was words and those words wouldn’t stay together to create scenes in my head. They were like loose words on school text book. I think I am not cut out to read books from century where I haven’t been born yet.

So sorry Mr. Dickens…I guess it’s time for me to give up trying to read your book. But I still enjoy movies based by your books.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

22 comments on “Christmas Carol Special

  1. Pingback: Dickens in December – A Christmas Carol – Readalong « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

  2. Caroline
    December 21, 2012

    Thanks for these contributions, they really are quite different. I think it’s a great choice to have a woman as Scrooge for once. I couldn’t watch all of it, I’m a bit in a hurry. I wonder how you will get along with A Tale of Two Cities. I think it’s quite different from his other books.
    I’m gla I’ve read A Christmas Carol again, he writes so well.

    • Novroz
      December 22, 2012

      Thank you for linking my non-reading post in your readalong post 😉
      I hope you can warch it…it’s really funny but not in the mocking way.

      Ah….unfortunately, I couldn’t finish a tale of two cities 😦
      Just like Oliver Twist, I couldn’t get the sentences. I think I am just going to enjoy his movies from now on.

  3. TBM
    December 21, 2012

    How are you liking A Tale of Two Cities? I can’t wait to find out what you think of it.

    • Novroz
      December 22, 2012

      So sorry TBM 😦
      I failed again. I just couldn’t understand the sentences well. I think I am not the kind of person who can reads books from the 19th century.

      • TBM
        December 24, 2012

        No apologies needed–some writing styles are hard to get into. Reading should be fun, not a chore.

  4. Delia (Postcards from Asia)
    December 21, 2012

    Interesting versions of the story, I haven’t seen either (yet). Thanks for the link, I will bookmark and try to watch it later.
    Can I at least wish you happy holidays? 🙂

    • Novroz
      December 22, 2012

      Thank you Delia 🙂
      Happy holidays and merry Christmas to you 🙂

  5. Trish
    December 22, 2012

    I’m not a big fan of Dr. Who (probably shouldn’t admit that to you) but my husband is so I’ll have to see if he’s seen the Christmas special. Yes, A Christmas Carol is set during Christmas but I don’t think that one needs to be a Christian or celebrate Christmas to appreciate the message of ACC.

    Best wishes for A Tale of Two Cities. I haven’t read that one yet. I’m about halfway through Bleak House right now and wondering if I’ll be able to finish this year…cutting it close!

    • Novroz
      December 22, 2012

      Hi Trish…don’t worry, I love Doctor Who a lot but that doesn’t mind hate everyone who doesn’t like it. In fact, I haven’t met other Doctor who fans here in my country (me and my odd fandoms).

      Agree!! I don’t celebrate Christmas but I always enjoy A Christmas Carol (in every version I have seen)…and not only that, I enjoy ALL good Christmas related movies my local TVStations play on Christmas.

      Unfortunately, I am out of luck with a tale of Two Cities 😦

  6. lynnsbooks
    December 22, 2012

    I love your contributions. I hope you live Tale of Two Cities – I haven’t read it and I’m not sure whether I’m tempted or not. Reading Great Expectations but it’s a bit of a cheat because I’ve already read it and so know I like it!
    Lynn 😀

    • Novroz
      December 22, 2012

      Thank you Lynn 🙂
      I was hoping I can digest A Tale of Two Cities…unfortunately I can’t 😦

  7. Leeswammes
    December 22, 2012

    What a great contribution to the readalong, Novia! The second Christmas story I must have seen (we always watch Dr Who at Christmas) but it didn’t make a lasting impression on me. The first one I’ll watch when I have a bit more time, it sounds great fun.

    I gave up on The Tale of Two Cities (yesterday, at page 120 or so). I didn’t find it interesting enough. Too much intrigue for me. I watched Great Expectations earlier this week and LOVED it. Also watched Oliver Twist which was also brilliant.

    (BTW I’m not a Christian, but Christmas is (also) a cultural thing- the whole of my country celebrates it even though many are no longer believers or church-goers. We celebrate the non-religious aspects of it).

    • Novroz
      December 22, 2012

      Thank you Judith 🙂 …it’s more a watchalong for me 😉
      Well, I kinda cheat on that Doctor Who special. I didn’t series 5 in order, I just watch the special (going to watch the whole series next year) special for this event.

      I gave up on A Tale of Two Cities too for different reason from you. It just didn’t work for me, language barrier I supposed. I love Oliver Twist, I have watched two or three version of it.

      Ah…that’s the thing Judith! I live in Indonesia (not in the cities where most people celebrate Christmas)…so it’s never been a cultural thing here. I think the only cultural thing celebration (despite the religion) here in the city I lived in is New Year’s eve 😉

  8. DEZMOND
    December 22, 2012

    I’ve always loved Catherine Tate, she’s crazy as hell 🙂
    Happy Christmas to all. I’m also not celebrating but enjoying the festive atmosphere.

    • Novroz
      December 22, 2012

      Hear hear!! she is one of my favorite British entertainers. More people should know her, in my opinion.
      You’re not celebrating? why?
      The festive of Christmas is not that merry here in Jakarta. I live in the city where most people are Muslim, therefore Eid Fitr and Eid Adha are merrier than Christmas here.

  9. Alice Audrey
    December 23, 2012

    I like A Tale of Two Cities better than Oliver Twist, but any Dickens is going to be tough going. He likes to make you cry.

    • Novroz
      December 23, 2012

      I don’t mind crying…I often read books that make me cry, but being non-native makes me difficult to get into his style of writing 😦

      • Alice Audrey
        December 26, 2012

        That’s true. Well, they did pay him by the word. I guess the fancy language is to be expected.

  10. Red
    December 24, 2012

    I do not blame you with ATOTC. I think it was my least favorite of all of his books 😉 And I love Dr. Who. xxx

    • Novroz
      December 24, 2012

      Well then maybe I should try his other books again…but not anytime soon.

      *high five* fellow Doctor Who fans 🙂

  11. Pingback: Dickens in December – Wrap up « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,555 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads