Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Hobbit – The Adventure of a Big Hearted Little Creature

I have promised myself to reread The Hobbit before the movie comes out. Actually, I have read the book three times, this is my fourth time…so I basically I know well what’s going on in the book…but still, I need to refresh my memory.

The Hobbit is the prequel of The Lord of The Rings. The language and the plot in The Hobbit is not as complicated as The Lord of The rings. I love how beautiful the sentences in The Lord of The Rings, but here in the Hobbit the language is quite simple and not as beautiful as The Lord of The Rings. The Hobbit is more like children book that anyone can enjoy. It’s not as dark as TLOTR.

I find it a bit disappointed when Peter Jackson decided to turn the movie into a trilogy…it isn’t as long as TLOTR and I can’t imagine what sort of stuff they will push into the plot. I love The Hobbit so much and it will break my heart if the movie has TOO much additional scenes. I want it just as it is…just like when they did TLOTR.

Anyway, let’s not talk about the movie (yet), let’s focus on the book.

The Hobbit focused on a small rabbit-like creature who thought that adventure is a shameful story. The Hobbits were smaller than Dwarf and they could walk so swift that no one noticed them. Bilbo Baggins is the center of the story that will soon determined the course of the middle earth history when he passed on his ring to his nephew, Frodo Baggins. This book is about Bilbo’s journey to the Lonely Mountain and how he found the ring.

Bilbo who was half Baggins and half Took (Took was the most adventurous Hobbit amongst Hobbit race). For years he had been more Baggins than Took, he enjoyed his leisure time and didn’t want to involve in any kind of adventure. Out of the blue, he met Gandalf and Gandalf could see there was more than meets the eye on Bilbo. He then set Bilbo’s house to be the meeting point of thirteen Dwarves. They are Thorin, Balin, Dwalin, Kili, Fili, Óin, Glóin, Bombur, Bofur, Bifur, Nori, Ori, and Dori. You can see who played them in this post> My MOST anticipated movie of 2012: The Hobbit

The Dwarves wanted to go to the Lonely Mountain to claim back their home from Smaug, a vicious dragon who robbed them off their land. Bilbo was dragged into their adventure as the fourteenth person to avoid unlucky number and also as their burglar. Even though, at first he thought he won’t be any use to the group but he finally proved that he was one lucky Hobbit and the dwarves owned their life to the little Hobbit.

Somewhere in the journey, Bilbo got separated from the Dwarves and met Gollum. Bilbo, either by the will of the treacherous ring or simply by luck, found the ring that will save him so many times.

There is so much fun in The Hobbit. I enjoy it as much as when I first read it and no doubt I will read it again one day…in fact, after I finished The Hobbit, I had to fight the strong urge to start rereading The Lord of The Ring for either the 4th or 5th time (I forgot how many times I have read TLOTR). Bilbo is a very fun character (you won’t see that in TLOTR), he is more fun than Frodo. I think choosing Martin Freeman as Bilbo is perfect!

To be honest, the dwarves aren’t my favorite as they are a bit tricky and sometimes ungrateful. But I don’t hate them either as they still have good side. However, you’ll soon learn that the smaller creature has bigger heart. Thorin is my least favorite because he is a bit unwise to be a king…fortunately he shows a change of heart in the end.

I am not going to say much and risk giving spoilers to those who haven’t read the book (although I can’t understand why they are skipping one of the best fantasy book ever written – better than Harry Potter in my opinion) and eager to see the movie. I can’t wait for December 14 to come and hoping that Indonesia will have the movie at the same date too🙂

Book Details:

Title: The Hobbit
Author: J.R.R Tolkien
Language: English
Pages: 276 pages
Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers
Rating: 5 books

The Hobbit Poster

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

20 comments on “The Hobbit – The Adventure of a Big Hearted Little Creature

  1. Bikramjit Singh Mann
    December 5, 2012

    I wil never get time to read the book so for me its going ot be the movie…

    • Novroz
      December 5, 2012

      The time is getting closer…maybe after the movie, you’ll read the book😉

  2. Nekoneko
    December 5, 2012

    You are right… this one was originally written as a juvenile novel, and as simple a story as it is, there really isn’t any reason to stretch it out to three films. Except of course that the filmmakers get to sell tickets three times that way….😦

    That’s been a trend ever since they decided to milk out the “Harry Potter” fans with the same trick and it actually worked for them money-wise. Considering they were able to make the “Rings” trilogy in just three films, one for each book in the Trilogy…. a much deeper and more involved story… this is just pure greed. If you think you need to, just make it a single longer film, say running 3 hours instead of 1½ to 2.

    I’ll still want to see it too, but I’ll probably wait till it goes to DVD.

    • Novroz
      December 6, 2012

      Hear hear!! I was so disappointed when they announced it to be a trilogy!! What a waste!
      But I am still going to see it in the cinema because I love seeing the beautiful middle earth on the biggest screen possible. The land is just TOO beautiful…and one of my favorite British – although only in Honorable Mention(you can see my list here) is the main cast, I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

      I stopped watching Harry Potter after feeling so disappointed with the book’s ending.

  3. Caroline
    December 6, 2012

    I read this as child and loved it but later discovered The Lord of the Rings which is so much better, still you’re right, this is lovely too although the language is simpler.
    I didn’t know the movie will be a trilogy.😦

    • Novroz
      December 6, 2012

      Although I admit TLOTR is much better but it doesn’t lessen my joy in reading The Hobbit🙂

      Yeah…it’s sad how they just want to make more money by making this simple story into a trilogy…shame on them!

  4. Alice Audrey
    December 6, 2012

    I read it the first time when I was 14, and again fifteen years ago. It’s been long enough I should probably read it again, but I think I’ll settle for watching the movie. Hopefully they will do a good job as there have been so many failed attempts before.

    • Novroz
      December 6, 2012

      I hope so too. They did amazing with The Lord of The Rings, so let’s just hope they will not overdo it with The Hobbit.

  5. ruth
    December 6, 2012

    I might see if the book is available on Kindle so I can read it on the plane. Well I already saw The Hobbit last night and I loved it!😀

    • Novroz
      December 6, 2012

      I bet you can find it easily on Kindle😉
      Whaaaatttt?? ah not fair!! I still have to wait for it😦

  6. DEZMOND
    December 7, 2012

    I haven’t read the book, but I don’t think I’d enjoy it since Hobbits and Dwarves are my least fave creatures from the saga, I prefer Elves🙂

    • Novroz
      December 7, 2012

      ah…on contrary to you, hobbits are my fav creature…they are so carefree and yet still down to earth and simple.

  7. Dan
    December 11, 2012

    Think I might give this a read before seeing the new film. However, given that there’s to be three films instead of one I’m guessing Peter Jackson is going to have to take every last detail out of the book he can.

    • Novroz
      December 12, 2012

      I will appreciate it better if he really goes into detail…but if he made up his own scenes to add up and make it long enough to be a 3 movie part…I will hate him for that.

  8. Loren Forney
    December 12, 2012

    great post, thanks

  9. TBM
    December 12, 2012

    For me it’s hard to compare The Hobbit with LOTR. I know this may be confusing. But I read the Hobbit when I was a kid and fell in love with the magic. when I read it now, I feel like a little kid. The series is so much darker (I think it’s fantastic) and different from the whimsical feel of The Hobbit. I put them in separate categories I guess. Can’t wait to see the movie!

    • Novroz
      December 13, 2012

      I completely agree with you!
      it’s amazing how Tolkien managed to write a different dimension of story with similar characters. the Hobbit is very light while LOTR is very complicated. Even so, I love them both.

      It should be out this week🙂

  10. Androgoth
    December 13, 2012

    You are right, a great film
    and definitely one to watch🙂

    Have a lovely rest of evening
    Miss. Novia and be good too😉

    Andro xxx

    • Novroz
      December 14, 2012

      I will watch it next Monday🙂
      Hope I will like it as much as I like LOTR

      Have a nice holiday Andro🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2012 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads