Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Monday Movie: Movies From The Great Britain – Billy Elliot and Submarine

It’s been quite a while since my last Monday Movies…When I first wrote Monday Movie, I was planning to do it every week but it turns out I don’t watch movies every week or I don’t have the will to write it every week…somehow Monday Movie becomes more like a monthly post😉

I recently watched three movies from the Great Britain…I have been watching more movies from England and Scotland and Ireland than I have ever been before. None of these movies are action movies…I used to love action movies even though the movies tend to be brainless. I guess I get old and only fancy action with good story. Anyway, for this month’s Monday Movie I will be reviewing the wonderful Billy Elliot and the quirky Submarine.

I look for those movies because of the people involved in the movies. I look for Billy Elliot because of Jamie Bell and Submarine because I really like Richard Ayoade.

Let’s just move on to the review🙂

Billy Elliot (2000)

Director: Stephen Daldry
Starring: Jamie Bell, Julie Walters, Gary Lewis, Jamie Draven
Rating:

I have heard about Billy Elliot like ages ago but somehow it never occurred to be to look for it…I don’t know why…Well maybe because they said it was a family movie about a kid wanting to do ballet. Where’s the fun in that kind of story? But now that my movie preference has shifted, I regret not searching this movie when it first came out.

Summarizing the story is very easy, it’s about a boy named Billy Elliot (Jamie Bell) who has great passion toward dancing. He attends ballet lesson without his father knowing about it. His teacher sees his talent and wants him to do an audition to study at Royal Ballet. His father and brother, who are in the middle of mine strike, reject the idea of sending Billy to ballet school. I guess it’s easy to guess what happens next, it’s not a movie with twist ending.

Billy Elliot has a very common family theme about passion but somehow I find it very enjoyable and heartwarming. I really like this movie and ended watching it twice within the same week. There are so many things to like about this movie. Jamie Bell was amazing, with that amount of talent I wonder why he is not as famous as other young actors. The story is simple but is being delivered very well. We can see their emotion clearly, how different they are and yet very close as a family. The dancing is also enjoyable, not to mention the great soundtrack throughout the movie. I know for sure I will watch this movie again.

Submarine (2010)

Director: Richard Ayoade
Starring: Craig Roberts, Noah Taylor, Paddy Considine, Yasmin Paige, Sally Hawkins
Rating:

First of all…I am sorry Richard, I REALLY like you but I find it hard to like your movie! I watched Submarine because one of my favorite comedians directed the movie. I honestly thought the movie is going to be funny because Richard can be very hilarious but I was completely wrong!

The reason that I only give this movie 2 stars is not because it’s a bad movie, Rotten Tomatoes give it a high rating of 87%. To be honest, I quite like the way the movie is directed, it was quirky and odd (much like Richard himself). I think that is the reason why he was nominated as Richard Ayoade was nominated for a BAFTA for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer…it was a great achievement for first directorial debut…well done Mr. Ayoade \(^_^)/ I look forward for your next movie (maybe with Noel or Julian in it😉 )

I only give it 2 stars because I don’t like the story…it was utterly boring! Mind you that this isn’t my cup of tea which means that other people might think this is a great story. There are movies that I judge as bad (like Legion), this movie isn’t one of them, it’s just not the kin d of story I like…I rarely find teenager love problem as something interesting top watch.

Here’s the story (copied from imdb.com):

15-year-old Oliver Tate has two objectives: To lose his virginity before his next birthday, and to extinguish the flame between his mother and an ex-lover who has resurfaced in her life.

**************

Both movies are well accepted by critics…you can see I like Billy Elliot way more than submarine despite the fact I like Richard Ayoade more than Jamie Bell (sorry again Richard!)…but others may think differently.

By the way…this is Richard Ayoade🙂

Have you watch Billy Elliot and Submarine? What do you think?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

26 comments on “Monday Movie: Movies From The Great Britain – Billy Elliot and Submarine

  1. Stephanie
    November 12, 2012

    What an adorable baby! I could look at that smile all day.🙂 Billy Elliot is one of my favorite movies.

    • Novroz
      November 12, 2012

      Thank you Stephanie🙂 he is my nephew.
      I am also putting Billy Elliot as one of my favorites.

  2. ruth
    November 12, 2012

    Oh I quite like Billy Elliot! Jamie Bell is one talented young actor. I’m not that interested in Submarine though, not surprised that you didn’t like it Nov.

    • Novroz
      November 12, 2012

      Hear hear!! he should play in more movies than .. say.. R-patz. Jamie is great but hasn’t got his big break yet (I mean apart from Billy Elliot).

      To be honest, if not because of Ayoade, I wouldn’t watch Submarine. My respect for him made me try to watch his first debut.

      • ruth
        November 12, 2012

        Yeah I think Billy should get more roles, I mean he won a BAFTA already, that’s equivalent to an Oscar! He’s still young though, I think the best is yet to come for him.

        • Novroz
          November 12, 2012

          Amien to that!! He deserves more recognition!

  3. TBM
    November 12, 2012

    I haven’t even heard of Submarine and I still have seen Billy Elliot. A lot of the taxi cabs here have promotions for the stage production and each time I see one I think I should watch it. By the time I get home, I forget.

    • Novroz
      November 12, 2012

      Do watch it TBM🙂
      I’d love to see the stage production as well…but I am too far from London.

      If I am not mistaken, Submarine won many awards…but still the story is not my type. Maybe you could enjoy it more than me.

  4. The Focused Filmographer
    November 14, 2012

    I’ve had Billy Elliot recommended to me more than once and it’s one I’ve had in my list of movies to see but admittedly I am not overly enthused to run out and rent it. Perhaps one of these days. It is always nice to expand your film watching though. Props to you, Nov!🙂

    • Novroz
      November 14, 2012

      I am not sure it’s your kind of film T😉 but I can guarantee it’s really good!!

      Hahaha I expand my genre but also narrow it in other genres…you know, like superhero movies, I used to like them but not anymore now😉

  5. Caroline
    November 15, 2012

    I LOVE Billy Elliott, absolutely love it. I caught it on TV once, had never heard of it thought it was so touching, moving…
    But I haven’t heard of Submarine. I’m not so sure I would like it.

    • Novroz
      November 15, 2012

      I guess no one can hate Billy Elliot…it’s a very wonderful piece, easily loved by anyone.

      Submarine isn’t that bad, it was nominated for several awards…it was just not my kind of story

  6. Alice Audrey
    November 15, 2012

    I’m definitely adding Billy Elliot to my To Be Watched list. It’s not so much the family drama that interests me about it as the struggle to follow one’s passion. That gets me every time. 🙂

    You won’t see a critique of Adelle’s book on my blog. It’s one of those minefields because she is a writer at my level, or maybe slightly above. If I do hers, then it will re-open pandora’s box, and I had a hard enough time getting the box closed the first time.

    • Novroz
      November 15, 2012

      That’s also my reason for liking Billy Elliot…the struggle is not made too over the top, simply how normal family has it.

      Ah…I can’t guess what had happened but at least now I know why you never write book review😉

  7. Val
    November 15, 2012

    Despite being British, I’m not great fan of British movies… there is something in most of them that is just lacking, either the plot is missing or the whole experience feels unnatural. But one I love is Dear Frankie. Have you seen that?

    • Novroz
      November 15, 2012

      On contrary to you, I find the things you said in most nowadays Hollywood movies…that’s why I don’t watch many Hollywood lately, too much sequel and predictable stories.

      I kinda like unnatural and odd stories…which explain why I love Japanese movies too.

      I haven’t watched Dear Frankie yet…I’ll put it on my to watch list🙂

      I understand why you don’t like your own country’s movies….neighbour’s grass is always greener😉 I don’t watch much Indonesian movies too.

  8. AndyWatchesMovies
    November 16, 2012

    I just watched Submarine too (review should be up today or tomorrow) and I was pretty nonplussed by it too. Parts I really liked and parts I really didn’t.

    • Novroz
      November 16, 2012

      what a coincidence!
      I will read your review later🙂

      all I can say about Submarine is I hope Richard get another chance to direct another movie.

      • AndyWatchesMovies
        November 16, 2012

        I think he will now that he is starting to make a name for himself. It’s not like Submarine was bad, it was just kind of uninteresting after a time.

        • Novroz
          November 17, 2012

          He is already famous in UK, not sure about US tho…but lately he is busy directing music videos.

          I’d love to see him make surreal movie with his long term mates.

          He is in the movie called The Watch, not sure if I want to see the movie if he isn’t in it. I am still looking for the DVD.

          • AndyWatchesMovies
            November 17, 2012

            Yeah, he was in the IT Crowd too, right?

          • Novroz
            November 17, 2012

            Yup…and then in The Mighty Boosh and Luxury Comedy. I really like his serious face when doing comedy

  9. Genki Jason
    November 16, 2012

    I really liked Submarine but I can see that it is the kind of film that will split audiences. When I watched it at a cinema most of the audience was laughing but some were silent.

    • Novroz
      November 16, 2012

      I agree with you Jason…that’s why I didn’t say Submarine is bad, it’s just not my cup of tea. There are movies I immediately claim as bad movie, but not Submarine.

  10. Pingback: Richard Ayoade’s Connection: The Watch & Bunny and The Bull. « Polychrome Interest

  11. Pingback: Five Favorite Fictional Biopic | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2012 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads