Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Small Roles…Big Perfomances: The British and The Japanese

Ruth @ Flixchatter comes up with an interesting blogathon.

The idea of this blog-a-thon is to shine a spotlight on the ‘unsung heroes’ if you will, the overlooked performers who add so much richness/entertainment value to the film no matter how brief their appearance is, but yet they don’t get the credit they so deserve.

So here are the general rules:

  • Highlight a performance from an actor [classics or contemporary] in a supporting role or cameo, it can be as short as five-minutes, as long as that particular scene is memorable and/or makes an impression on you.
  • I’d ask that you choose a performance that was NOT nominated for major awards and as much as possible choose an actor that isn’t generally well-known, the more obscure the better!
  • You could choose to do a write-up of ONE or several (up to three to keep things from being too long) performances. It’s up to you how long you’d like it to be, I don’t want to restrict you if you are passionate about a particular scene, but I think 150 – 400 words is ideal. Write why you love that particular scene and how it’s touched you, be as specific as you’d like to be and you could even elaborate on the actor or share some trivia about the movie in relation to that performance.
  • I recommend using clips/photos/quotes as you see fit. I LOVE what Sati does with her weekly scene spotlight, but feel free to add your own spin to it 😀
  • To see more post on this blogathon you can go here.

For this blogathon, I will not share about my darling Cillian Murphy because he has been getting more lead role than ever…beside that, I am sure you all had gone tired of me including Cillian in every movie blogathon I joined in 😉

At first, I was thinking of sharing Benedict Cumberbatch…but someone else will take over his place. I want to share a small role that made me became a fan of that particular actor. I like Benedict when he became Sherlock and he didn’t have small role back then 😉

Let’s just stop with the introduction and move to the main topic 😉

Here are the actors who had delivered big performance from their small role.

Paul Bettany as Silas (The DaVinci Code)

The Davinci Code was not a great book, enjoyable but not great. However, I love one of the characters in that book. Silas was a pure hearted man who was being misguided by an irresponsible man. He was angelic heart but act so devilish. The uniqueness of his character captured my heart. When I heard it was about to be made into movie, I never heard of Paul Bettany. I wondered can he be Silas?

And to my delight surprise, he was FLAWLESS!! He was brilliant…he was even more brilliant than my favorite actor who also played in that movie, Tom Hanks. He was so convincing and I felt like seeing the character walk out of the book and get inside the movie. I am a harsh person when judging a movie from a book…especially one I like or character I like. Paul had captured every part of Silas and delivered it perfectly. Simply said, HE WAS SILAS!! 

After seeing him as Silas, he made a fan out of me. I try to watch ALL Paul’s movies since then…he is one of my  7 actors I will watch no matter how crappy the movie and Silas has made it into my top5 best adapted characters.

Too bad the only scene I can find is this torturing scene:

and this last scene where he died. I think this second one is better as it shows the emotions on his face.

Hiroyuki Sanada as Ujio (Last Samurai)

I think we all know that Tom Cruise is not the one to be seen in The Last Samurai…I went to the cinema (and bought its VCD) simply because of the Kendo Master, Hiroyuki Sanada. For this second actor, I had to admit that I have liked him before seeing his small role in The Last Samurai.

In this movie, we got a chance to see his skill in dealing with sword as he is a real life black belt kendo master.  Sanada’s role was as Ujio. He was one of the most dedicated, loyal and fierce samurai under Katsumoto. At first, he despised Cruise’s character but then grew respect on him.

His present was truly felt because his character has strong aura. He was very charismatic, he shown huge amount of charisma that swallowed Cruise’s completely. You can clearly seen from his face how he started respecting Cruise’s character. You don’t need to understand Japanese to understand him as his body language showed it all.

I really think he deserved more role in Hollywood (we will see him again in 27 Ronin).

This is the only scene I can find in youtube. Actually, I want to share one with him talking but this one is okay, you can see his expression.

*************************

Paul Bettany and Hiroyuki Sanada are my choice for this fun blogathon, What do you think of them? and I would love to know who you have chosen 🙂

Thank you for hosting this blogathon, Ruth 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

29 comments on “Small Roles…Big Perfomances: The British and The Japanese

  1. le0pard13
    October 1, 2012

    Great picks, Novroz.

  2. Caroline
    October 1, 2012

    I like your choices, especially number 2. I’ve seen Bettany in a few biggers roles by now.
    I’m not sure whom to choose.

    • Novroz
      October 1, 2012

      Have you seen Hiroyuki Sanada before The Last Samurai? I am glad you seem to like him too 🙂

      Unfortunately, when he is in bigger role, his movie tends to be an awful movie like that movie when he became an angel (I have already forgotten the title as the movie was very bad).

      Come and join the blogathon, Caroline 😉

      • Caroline
        October 1, 2012

        I haven’t seen him before.
        I would join but I can’t think of other actors who are not well known right now. 😦

        • Novroz
          October 3, 2012

          you can think of a European actor in Holywood..it’s like Sanada, he is already famous in Japan but not in Holywood.

  3. JoV
    October 1, 2012

    I agree with Hiroyuki Sanada. He has presence and was one of the actor who draw attention more than Ken Watanabe and Tom Cruise!

    • Novroz
      October 1, 2012

      I was expecting to see Wtanabe shines in that movie but somehow, just like you’ve just said, Sanada-san drawn my attention to him…his charisma was oozing more than Watanabe.

      • JoV
        October 2, 2012

        I know. Sanada-san should have chopped off Cruise there and then, and have Sanada-san be the Last Sumarai instead! lol 😀

        • Novroz
          October 3, 2012

          AGREE!!! I wish that’s how the movie ends 😉

  4. dirtywithclass
    October 1, 2012

    Good picks

  5. TBM
    October 1, 2012

    Great choices. I’ve only seen The DaVinci code and I completely agree. He was perfect in that role.

    • Novroz
      October 3, 2012

      It’s always a treat to see someone did a perfect book character

  6. DEZMOND
    October 2, 2012

    Paul Bettany is always a true delight, I think I loved him best in WIMBLEDON because he had such warmth in it. When it comes to Asian guys, my fave has always been Takeshi Kaneshiro. Adore him to bits 🙂

    • Novroz
      October 3, 2012

      But Paul was in leading role in Wimbledon, I can’t choose that for this blogathon.

      ah…Kaneshiro is also great but has he ever played in Holywood movie, Dezz?? I don’t follow his career, I might miss his Holywood movie.

  7. Anna
    October 2, 2012

    I personally liked Bettany in A Beautiful Mind and Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World. I really hope he gets a legit leading role in the near future. I hate seeing good actors go to waste.

    (Also, darling, if you were looking for a particular performance from Benedict, you could have gone with Atonement. I mean, that’s what I would have done had I participated in the blogathon.)

    • Novroz
      October 3, 2012

      I still haven’t seen A Beautiful Mind and as for Master and Commander, I saw it after I saw him in DaVinci Code. I totally agree with you, I hope he stops playing in those awful movies like Legion. Fortunately he was did great in Margin Call.

      I haven’t seen Atonement yet because I am afraid I would get bored…every time I read the review of Atonement, I always have this feeling that it isn’t my cup of tea. Anyway, I didn’t choose Benny’s movie because he is getting more famous now.

      Why didn’t you join the blogathon, Anna?

  8. ruth
    October 2, 2012

    I quite like Bettany in A Knight’s Tale and Margin Call but I have no interest in seeing Da Vinci Code, Nov. Anyway, thanks for taking part and I hope it wasn’t too hard that you couldn’t feature Cillian or Benedict, ahah. Both of them are quite famous now, so not exactly ‘underrated’ anymore 🙂

    • Novroz
      October 3, 2012

      I can understand why you don’t want to see DaVinci Code, Ruth…honestly, the only thing that kept me reading was Silas, not the story.
      Margin Call really showed his real talent…he needs more movies like that.

      No worry Ruth 😉 I can twist thing a little…Just like Sanada there, he is very famous in Japan but not in Hollywood.

  9. Tim The Film Guy
    October 3, 2012

    Gotta love Hiroyuki Sanada, was a fun one. Seen him in some Japanese films 😀

    • Novroz
      October 3, 2012

      Yeaaa for Sanada-san 🙂
      He has been in many Japanese films as the leading role, he is very famous there. I like how he always steals people’s attention with his charisma.

  10. Castor
    October 3, 2012

    Love Sanada and it was great to watch him in his own Samurai movie, Twilight Samurai!!! Nice picks Novia 😀

    • Novroz
      October 3, 2012

      Twilight Samurai is on my list to watch 😉
      Thank you Cas.

  11. Alice Audrey
    October 4, 2012

    Now I want to see The Last Samurai. I thought I’d already seen it, but I don’t recognize that scene.

    • Novroz
      October 4, 2012

      Yaaiii…if you do see it again, pay attention on Hiroyuki Sanada!! 😉

  12. momto3feistykids
    October 10, 2012

    I haven’t seen either of these movies, but these sound like excellent choices. 🙂

    http://eclecticbooksandmovies.blogspot.com

    • Novroz
      October 11, 2012

      Thank you Jen 🙂 you must see Hiroyuki 😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2012 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,527 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads