Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

13 Authors I Often Read or Wanting to Read More

It’s been a while since my last Thursday Thirteen. I think I am going to do this list once a month…just for fun 🙂

It won’t have long explanation like my Top-5 list.

Caroline @ Beauty is a Sleeping Cat told me once that I tend to repeat same author and I have to admit that she spoke the truth 😉 I have tendency to repeat the same author because reading a book is not like watching a movie. We can choose random movies as we pleased and ditch it when it wasn’t our cup of tea, but to choose random book is like high class gambling…and it’s not fun spending lots of hours just to finally ditch the book.

I only chose authors I don’t know when I have strong feeling from the book’s blurb and when I am in the mood for gambling…but when I want to enjoy my self, I avoid gambling and pick the authors I always enjoy.

In no particular order, here are 13 authors I often read or wish to read more by them.

(Click their names to see reviews of their books)

1. Stephen King

He is my favorite authors and I always try to read at least 3 books by him each year. You can see all the books I have read in this post called Counting Down Stephen King Books

2. Eiichiro Oda

I re-read his manga, One Piece, EVERY year for over 5 years now.

3. Haruki Murakami

I wish to read ALL his books, but all in good time

4. Miyuki Miyabe

I have only read 2 books and 1 manga by her, … and …, but I am eager to read more from her.

5. Chie Watari

She can be considered as the Female Stephen King of Manga world. I love his thriller and Horror manga so much.

6. Michael Crichton

Just like Murakami, I am trying to read his entire book. One waiting to be read from my shelf is State of Fear

7. J.R.R Tolkien

Actually, I have only read The Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit, but each book has been reread at least three times.

8. Akira Toriyama

Toriyama-sensei is one of Manga genius. He had inspired many shonen-mangaka (manga artist for boys). His Dragon Ball has spread throughout the world. And his Dr.Slump manga is also fun to read.

9. Kyoko Hikawa

She is the only Shoujo Mangaka (manga artist for girls) I like. I am not really into girls manga or shoujo manga but Hikawa has a nice way to share her story

10. Andrea Hirata

He is my favorite Indonesian author. I really enjoy his writing style and his light but meaningful story.

11. Trinity

She is an Indonesian backpacker who had visited a lot of countries. I like the way she tells her backpacking experience

12. Natsuo Kirino

Her book called Out had captured my attention and how I wish to read her other work

13. J.K Rowling

Well, she deserved to be in this list despite the fact that I probably won’t read her books anymore because the way she ended Harry Potter. Book 6 and 7 were too disappointing.

Happy Thursday Thirteen 🙂 I am going to close this post with the poster of my most anticipated movie of 2012

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

33 comments on “13 Authors I Often Read or Wanting to Read More

  1. CountryDew
    September 27, 2012

    I am looking forward to The Hobbit movie. I thought Harry Potter’s ending was disappointing, too.

    • Novroz
      September 27, 2012

      Horaaayyy…it’s always nice to meet others with same opinion on Harry Potter’s ending. It was like a great journey with terrible ending.

      Let’s hope The Hobbit will be as great as The Lord of The Rings movie.

  2. Colleen@LooseLeafNotes
    September 27, 2012

    One of my highest accomplishments was reading all the Hobbit, Narnia, Borrowers and Earthsea books to my sons when they were young.

    Thanks for that Stephen King correction on my blog.

    • Novroz
      September 27, 2012

      I want to read Earthsea book. The animation made by Ghibli was the worst animation by Ghibli and I want to see how it is in book.

      You’re welcome 🙂

  3. kimmenozzi
    September 27, 2012

    I’m looking forward to the Hobbbit film, too – I’ve loved Martin Freeman since I first saw him on The Office, years ago!

    And I’m glad that you’re a Stephen King and a J. K. Rowling fan. At least we have that in common. 😉

    • Novroz
      September 27, 2012

      I like Freeman since Sherlock 🙂
      Ummm…Kimme, I am a huge fan of Stephen King but not J.K, she made me disappointed.

      thank you for stopping by 🙂

  4. Alice Audrey
    September 27, 2012

    Some names I don’t recognize here along with some i love.

    Don’t we all tend to gravitate to the authors we enjoy?

    • Novroz
      September 29, 2012

      It because I included Japanese and Indonesian authors 😉
      Which ones are the ones you love, Audrey?

      • Alice Audrey
        October 4, 2012

        Rowling and Tolkien , of course. My dh has been trying to get me to read Crichton.

        • Novroz
          October 4, 2012

          Do read Crichton Audrey!! He is a smart writer.

  5. DEZMOND
    September 28, 2012

    Haven’t heard of most of them 😛 but Chricton’s KONGO was the fastest read book in my life (three hours for the whole book) 🙂 Adore Tolkien, and I read a number of King’s books, but always forget them ten minutes after I close the last page. Murakami is popular in my country too.

    • Novroz
      September 29, 2012

      I like Congo…but Jurassic Park is better. I love reading all the scientific info from his books.

  6. Nekoneko
    September 28, 2012

    I can understand your way of picking books… I tend to do the same thing for movies. I’ll be more likely to watch one done by a director or actor that I enjoyed in an earlier film than one featuring nobody I recognize. I don’t think it’s unusual at all to do it that way. 😉

    • Novroz
      September 29, 2012

      For movie…I can still gamble because it only takes 3 minutes for me to push the stop button 😉
      But I do tend to watch movies by my favorite actors more than random actors

  7. harrietb (@harrietb)
    September 28, 2012

    Indonesia Backpacking really sounds interesting.

    Have a great t-13!
    http://harrietandfriends.com/2012/09/50-most-powerful-women-in-business/

    • Novroz
      September 29, 2012

      It is interesting! too bad the book hasn’t been translated to English yet

      Thank you for stopping by hariet

  8. TBM
    September 28, 2012

    I started a Stephen King novel the other night and I thought of you. I’m reading ‘salem’s Lot and so far I’m loving it. I’m about 150 pages in. I think you said this wasn’t a favorite of yours, I’m not positive you said that, but I think you did. J. K. Rowling’s first adult novel was released in the UK yesterday. I’m tempted to buy it to see if she can continue her success. I don’t know though, there was something so special about the Potter books.

    • Novroz
      September 30, 2012

      Yaaiii…looking forward to your review, TBM 🙂
      Yes, Salem’s Lot was not one of my favorites maybe because I didn’t like vampire thingy that much.

      I will read reviews first before deciding to read JK’s news book.

  9. Chinoiseries
    September 28, 2012

    I agree: finding a new author to read takes some thorough investigating first 😉 I don’t dare to plunge into the deep without a few good (and trustworthy) reviews and ratings.

    Stephen King yay! And I also like Haruki Murakami & Michael Crichton. We’ll probably never agree on One Piece, but I just prefer a different manga drawing and story style.

    • Novroz
      September 30, 2012

      Hahaha…well One Piece is not easy to love, I admit that. I was a bit of mocking it the first time I saw it (anime) but then it grew into me and I unashamedly shouting to everyone that One Piece is the best manga ever written 🙂 …but I can understand why some people can’t enjoy it.

  10. JoV
    September 29, 2012

    I’m the same. If i like an author I tend to look for their backlist. In that way, I’m risk adverse, but if I look back at my reading list, I fear that I sacrifice the diversity! 😦 but I have got no regrets. 😉

    • Novroz
      September 30, 2012

      Same here Jo 😉
      No regret for having less diversity in my reading list…For me, reading in for fun not for challenge…I don’t care if other book lover look me down for my reading list as long as I have fun with what I read

      • JoV
        September 30, 2012

        That’s the spirit Novroz! Keep it up! 😀

  11. Caroline
    September 29, 2012

    That comment made you think. 🙂
    maybe I’m more of a gambler when it comes to books than you.
    I was puzzled to see so many names I didn’t know but I have never read a Manga, so it’s normal.
    I’d like to read more of Murakami as well.
    A great idea for a list. I will have to borrow it some day. 😉

    • Novroz
      September 30, 2012

      As a gambler…maybe you should try Miyuki Miyabe…I really like her books even though I have only read 2 books and 1 manga (the manga was made by 2 people, she wrote the story but since she isn’t a manga artist, someone else drew it). Here’s my favorite of hers, so far, https://bokunosekai.wordpress.com/2009/12/23/crossfire/

      Feel free to borrow the idea 😉

  12. Fariz
    September 29, 2012

    Ah, Chie Watari! I also love her works 🙂 I used to buy ‘Serial Misteri’ comics when I was a kid, and most of my favorites were hers. It’s a nice surprise you included her too in this list, Miss 🙂

    • Novroz
      September 30, 2012

      She is brilliant!! I love her horror manga very much because they are really well done. They aren’t just silly horrors, her stories always has complexity.

      I wonder why there aren’t more books by her in the market 😦

      • Fariz
        September 30, 2012

        I think I saw the repackaged ‘Serial Misteri’ comics in Gramedia a few weeks ago but I forgot were there any Chie Watari’s among them. Comic’s price is too expensive nowadays anyway 😦 Btw, I once bought dozens of second-hand ‘Serial Misteri’ books in a very low price from Kaskus, Miss. The conditions were not perfect, but still okay. If you want to, just try hunting them in Kaskus 🙂

        • Novroz
          September 30, 2012

          I am talking about her new manga, not the old ones 😉
          I have read all her old manga, my best friend collects them and I can borrow it anytime I want.

  13. Genki Jason
    September 30, 2012

    Nice list. I’ve never heard of Chie Watari. I’ll have to look into her work. Speaking of horror manga, ever read Junji Ito?

    • Novroz
      October 1, 2012

      Thank you, Jason.
      I don’t know whether Chie Watari’s manga has been translated to English or not…but I think you can find it online.

      I never heard of Ito before, as far as I know I haven’t seen her/his books being translated into Indonesian. I will look for Ito and maybe I will hike hir/her too 🙂

      • Genki Jason
        October 2, 2012

        Junji Ito’s work has been translated into English. His stories have been subject to live-action film adaptations and one anime. They are really spine-chilling!

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads