Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

3 Perilous Movies: The Machinist, Insidious, and The Grey

I have been pretty busy for R.I.P Challenge. I have 3 movies to share now…although they were actually being watched before I published my post about joining R.I.P challenge. These three movies are for my Peril On Screen. You can see more reviews at the Review Site.

 

These three movies have different kind of suspense. Two are psychological thriller and one is supernatural thriller. The two psychological thrillers are also different one another, one deals with a man no one had ever seen and the other one deals with beat in the wild.

Let’s just move on to the movie 🙂

The Machinist (2004)

Director : Brad Anderson
Writer : Scott Kosar
Starring : Christian Bale, Jennifer Jason Leigh, John Sharian, Aitana Sánchez-Gijón, Michael Ironside.
Rating:
Story: Trevor Reznik (Christian Bale) hadn’t been sleeping for a year and lost weight to a scary degree. He was working as a machinist. One day, he met a man named Ivan who claimed to be as one of the replacement in the factory where Trevor works. The meeting led to a dreadful accident. Trevor was haunted by Ivan.

The Machinist is an amazing movie!! I can’t say much about the story because if you know just the slightest idea of how it is and then you can guess it out from my review…then it won’t be good anymore. The machinist’s greatness lies on the ending and how unpredictable it was. Although I could figure out who Ivan might be but I couldn’t figure out why Ivan showed up. I always enjoy movies where everything was revealed at the end. I give big applause to Scott Kosar for coming up with such story.

Bale was brilliant here!! He made himself as thin as a paper…it was scary seeing how thin he was. His protruding bones made me shiver. He was such a dedicated actor up to the point of destructive. To be that thin needs extra work. Not only his physic that awed me, his acting was, as always, really good. We could feel his emotion and his pain through the way he talked and moved. In my eyes, although the other actors/actresses are also great…but Bale alone is the one who stands up and make it as an amazing movie.

Insidious (2011)

Director : James Wan
Writer : Leigh Whannell
Starring: Patrick Wilson, Rose Byrne, Ty Simpkins, Barbara Hershey, Lin Shaye, Andrew Astor, Leigh Whannell
Rating:
Story : Renai and Josh Lambert (Rose Byrne and Patrick Wilson) have recently moved into a new house with their three children. When their son, Dalton, fell down the ladder and causing him to sleep in inexplicable coma, Renai started seeing and hearing ghost in their new house. So sure that the house was haunted, Renai forced Josh to move to a new house…but the haunting continues. Josh’s mother contacted Elise Reiner, a psychic. The cause of the haunting was something they never had expected.

What I like the most about insidious is how the ghosts showed up…they showed up in the most casual way that easily scared me is it happens around me. Can you imagine getting out of the room with your gramophone playing a song you like and suddenly changed to another song you never heard of and someone was running through your house halls? That’s just damn creepy!! They didn’t overdo the appearance of the ghosts like most horror movies. Simple appearance is the one that makes a good horror movie. I also like the ending…remember that I hate forced happy ending especially in horror movies…Insidious doesn’t have that kind of ending. However, I can only give it 3 stars because something is missing from this movie…I can’t quite say what it is, it just doesn’t awe me much.

The Grey (2012)

Director: Joe Carnahan
Screenplay: Joe Carnahan, Ian MacKenzie Jeffers
Based on: Ghost Walker by Ian MacKenzie Jeffers
Starring: Liam Neeson, Frank Grillo, Dermot Mulroney, Dallas Roberts, Joe Anderson, Nonso Anozie, James Badge Dale
Rating: 
Story: John Ottway (Liam Neeson) works in Alaska killing the wolves that threaten an oil drilling team. On his last day on the job, Ottway writes a letter to his wife Ana (Anne Openshaw) that he plans to commit suicide. While holding the barrel of a rifle in his mouth, Ottway hears the howl of a wolf, and pulls the trigger, but the gun doesn’t fire. Upon completing the job, the team and Ottway head home on a plane that crashes in a blizzard. The remaining people (they who survived the crash) had to defend themselves against a pack of grey wolves.

For a thriller movie…The Grey was utterly boring!! I was sleepy and almost turned it off before it was over. The story dragged too much and there was no up and down emotion in their survival game. Obviously the writers were trying to create conflict between the survivors that can intrigue people’s feeling…but not me! The conflict felt flat. The only thing that kept me going was because I wanted to know how it ends (confession: I ignored the movie several times to play with my nephew because it was TOO boring)…the ending was so so. To be honest, if there is no Liam Neeson, I would have fast forwarded the movie to reach the ending part.

******************************

Those are the movies I watched recently, have you watched those movies? What do you think of them?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

30 comments on “3 Perilous Movies: The Machinist, Insidious, and The Grey

  1. Pingback: R.I.P VII – Let’s Start The Peril « Polychrome Interest

  2. le0pard13
    September 24, 2012

    Well, the only one here we agree upon, rating-wise, was ‘Insidious’. I enjoyed ‘The Machinist’ less than you (3.5 stars), and think way, way more for ‘The Grey’. Given the number of positive reactions of other bloggers I follow, who were admittedly male, we may chalk it up to the fact ‘The Grey’ is very much a ‘guy’ movie. It registers on a number of levels, at least for me. Thanks, Novroz.

    • le0pard13
      September 24, 2012

      BTW, I very much respect your opinion of the films you’ve covered. My comment in no way was meant as anything but my expression and viewpoint toward this unique set of movies. Thank you.

      • Novroz
        September 24, 2012

        Aw Mike…you don’t need to say that. Movie, book, and music are 3 very objective things…everyone has their own opinion because it relates to preference or taste. I appreciate any comment regarding my review…it gives broader meaning to know what other people think.

        Feel free to share your point of view anytime, Mike 🙂
        Thank you for sharing them too.

    • Novroz
      September 24, 2012

      Hi Mike, I am curious why you like The Machinist less than me? what didn’t work for you from the movie?
      As for me, I always enjoy movies that surprised me.

      Ah…I guess that might be it! The Grey is just too much ‘guy’ movie for me (although I rarely watch woman movie too). The conversation is not interesting at all…the only exciting part is when the wolves show up.

  3. dirtywithclass
    September 24, 2012

    I pretty much agree with you ratings on Insidious and the Machinist.Regarding the Grey, personally loved that movie. I think the conversations that bored you intrigued me

    • Novroz
      September 26, 2012

      Intrigued you? in what way? I really am feeling bored with it…now I am wondering what can make other liking it.
      I understand why many like The Dark Knight Rises so much but I don’t, now I want to try to understand The Grey too.

      • dirtywithclass
        September 26, 2012

        I felt it made you get closer to the characters. I think overall the movie felt more thoughtful than i expected

        • Novroz
          September 27, 2012

          Ah I see!!
          Thank you Julian

  4. TBM
    September 24, 2012

    You’ve piqued my curiosity about the Machinist. I’m adding it to my list. I’m pretty sure I’ll skip The Grey 😉

    • Novroz
      September 26, 2012

      I hope you have a chance to see The Machinist and tell me what you think about it coz it seems that the movie gives mix review.

  5. Caroline
    September 24, 2012

    I’m very curious about The Machinist now. I have feeling it was the same year Bale played in one of the most horrible war – or rather Prisoner of War – movies I’ve ever seen for which he needed to be super thin as well. He’s a great actor but not one I like much.
    I think I might like no 2 as well. Too bad something is missing.

    • Novroz
      September 26, 2012

      Bale as prisoner of war and it was bad? What makes it bad?

      I like Bale but I don’t follow his carrer…he is a great actor, no doubt about it, but not one that attracts me.

      There are a lot of independent movies that have that ‘missing’ thing…Some are brilliant, some are something that end up by saying ‘ah, no wonder it’s indie movie’. Insidious is the later.

  6. DEZMOND
    September 25, 2012

    I loved Bale’s performance in MACHINIST, but I thought that the movie didn’t deserve such a great actor, since the direction was so pointless and the whole film filled with flaws. It is sad when an actor changes himself drastically in a physical way and the director is an amateur 😦

    • Novroz
      September 26, 2012

      It seems that The Machinist had created 2 different opinion here.

      Mike also didn’t like it as much as I do. As far as I can remember, there was nothing wrong with the way the movie was directed…then again, maybe I wasn’t paying much attention to it because I like Bale’s performance and the story a lot.

  7. ruth
    September 25, 2012

    Ok I HAVE to watch The Machinist pronto! I can’t believe it took me so long to get to it. I am less and less inclined to see The Grey, even with Liam in it. I’ll just watch Taken 2 🙂

    • Novroz
      September 26, 2012

      Please…do watch The Machinisth, Ruth. I am curious with what you think because it has resulted in 2 different opinions. Julian and I seem to think the same while Dezzy and Mike thought otherwise. This mix reception makes me more curious with what others think.

      • ruth
        September 26, 2012

        Will do, Nov. I LOVE Bale and this movie has eluded me for so long. I feel like you need to be in a certain mood to watch it though, seems so depressing.

        • Novroz
          September 27, 2012

          You’re right! It is depressing…but still brilliant.

  8. Chinoiseries
    September 26, 2012

    The Machinist set my heart rate pumping so high that I could not finish it. Yes, I enjoy psychological thrillers and horror stories in books, but I am such a wimp when it comes to movies :s Insidious sounds promising though, too bad that it was missing something, according to you?
    I think I’ve heard of The Grey, but I’ll skip it after reading your thoughts on it…

    You are doing really well with the Peril on the Screen challenge 🙂

    • Novroz
      September 27, 2012

      Eh?? I don’t think The Machinist is THAT thrilling! May I presume you hardly ever watched horror and thriller?
      I like them both in book and movie, to be honest sometimes book is scarier than movie because it lets my mind imagining the worst.

      I don’t know what it is about Insidious is missing…it’s just not perfect.

      Well…movies are easier to complete than book 😉 I think I will have more Peril on Screen than on page.

  9. Alice Audrey
    September 27, 2012

    What a bummer to run into a thriller that puts you to sleep. I’ll skip that one. As to Bale loosing so much weight, I’m really impressed. No way I could do it.

    • Novroz
      September 29, 2012

      It was indeed a bummer! U was expecting to be thrilled but what I got was sleeping pills 😉

      Bale is really insane when it comes to body weight..he can be incredibly skinny in one movie and all buffy in the next one

      • Alice Audrey
        October 4, 2012

        Ironically, I ran across The Grey on Netflix streaming last night. If not for this review, I probably would have tried to watch it. It sounds like it should be good.

        • Novroz
          October 4, 2012

          Sorry to hear that Audrey.
          You should really follow your gut then. I always did that even though I read bad reviews of a movie.

          • Alice Audrey
            October 7, 2012

            No need to be sorry. It’s not like I have a ton of time to be watching movies and such. Not if I want to get anything written.

  10. Genki Jason
    September 30, 2012

    I saw Insidious last year and I thought it was fun as well. The dancing boy in the corner was really creepy! I think the lack of awe comes from the fact that it is a bit derivative.

    • Novroz
      October 1, 2012

      yeah…maybe you’re right. One of the thing it didn’t work well on me is that astral projecting thing. I was very happy with the ending tho.

  11. Ben
    October 24, 2012

    I really liked The Grey. Thought it had the right amount of suspense, action and I really liked the parts between Neeson and the other survivors. Agree with The Machinist, I had no idea where it was going or what was really going on until the great ending.

    • Novroz
      October 24, 2012

      Yaaiii…another person who like The Machinist 🙂
      I always enjoy unpredictable ending or movie which makes us constantly thinking what will happen next

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 24, 2012 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads