Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

R.I.P VII – Let’s Start The Peril

Can’t believe it’s already September!! That only means one thing…time for another R.I.P Challenge. As usual, the host is Carl V at Stainless Steel Droppings.

R.I.P stands for R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril, this year is the 7th year …it’s the longest challenge I have ever encountered in blogosphere.

What should we do for this challenge?

The purpose of R.I.P is to enjoy books and movies/television that could be classified (by you) as Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror, Supernatural, Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

There are some categories available, you can check it at Stainless Steel Droppings. I am going to do 3 challenges, they are:

Peril the Second:

Read two books of any length that you believe fit within the R.I.P. categories.

I am currently reading Everything’s Eventual by the great Stephen King and will read The Wishing Game by Patrick Redmond. (Click the image to see it in goodreads)

Peril of the Short Story:

Read short stories any time during the challenge. Feel free to do this however you want, but if you review short stories on your site, please link to those reviews on the Review Site.

I still have Irish Ghost Stories Collection to read, I will read few shorts special for R.I.P

Peril on the Screen:

This is for those of us that like to watch suitably scary, eerie, mysterious gothic fare during this time of year. It may be something on the small screen or large or television show.

I know the perfect movie for this😉 I have just watched Red Lights this afternoon, I will definitely write the review for both my Monthly Murphy and R.I.P. Will review it after I see it again for the second time this coming Friday🙂

Maybe I will watch other movies too…I’ll decide later😉

Are joining the challenge too?

****************************

Updated every time I posted and shared my review at the review site:

  1. Red Lights
  2. The Judge’s House by Bram Stoker
  3. The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka
  4. The Wishing Game by Patrick Redmond
  5. The Machinist, Insidious, The Grey
  6. Everything’s Eventual by Stephen King

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

24 comments on “R.I.P VII – Let’s Start The Peril

  1. dirtywithclass
    September 6, 2012

    For me the start of September means my birthday is soon🙂

    Anyways, i am going to do a horror movie streaming marathon on my blog for October. Hopefully i will find some horror films wroth reviewing😉

    • Novroz
      September 6, 2012

      I am afraid I might forget it, so happy early birthday Julian🙂

      That sounds like a great idea, I might try that too as I always share Indonesian ghost every October.

      • dirtywithclass
        September 6, 2012

        Its the 22nd, but thanks for the happy birthday🙂

        And i started it mid October last year(It was the October horror thing). This year i plan to start it earlier, and there’s a non-review but still horror themed post i am thinking of making for it.

        Btw, did the clips in my Deborah post work for you?I wasn’t sure whether you watched them or not,and i think they show Deborahs talent pretty well

        • Novroz
          September 7, 2012

          ah yes I remember. I will try to follow your step and please come and read my Indonesian ghost special post😉

          I have answered your question in your blog.

          • dirtywithclass
            September 7, 2012

            Of course. And i just read your answer. Thanks🙂

  2. Caroline
    September 6, 2012

    Interesting choices. I’m particularly keen on hearing how you like Redmond and Red Lights.

    • Novroz
      September 7, 2012

      So far I am liking Redmond, I dropped my SK’s book for a while because it’s a short stories collection I can pick it up again after finishing The Wishing Game.

      I will review Red Light after my second ‘date’ with Cillian tonight😉

  3. TBM
    September 7, 2012

    I haven’t heard of Redmond so I’m curious to read your review. And Red Lights looks good. Enjoy!

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2012

      I read a review of The Wishing game once and it was quite impressive and so far I am enjoying it🙂

      Ah Red Lights!! not that good but he is still handsome😉

  4. Pingback: Red Lights (2012) – Do You Believe in Psychic? « Polychrome Interest

  5. Chinoiseries
    September 9, 2012

    It’s as if the entire blogosphere is joining this event. Not that I mind, I like the genres that are covered by this challenge🙂 Too bad Red Lights was so-so, do you have any other movies lined up?

    • Novroz
      September 9, 2012

      Out of few bookish blogger friends I have, you included…only 2 are joining this event. This is my third year if I am not mistaken.
      It’s my fav genre🙂

      I am planning to see SADAKO 3D if time allows me…we’ll see later. I also have some horror movies to watch…Hope I am in the mood to see them this next two months

  6. Alice Audrey
    September 9, 2012

    This is a good time of year for it. Where I am, the days are getting shorter and shorter. Definitely gives one a creepy feeling.

    • Novroz
      September 9, 2012

      Will you be joining?? it’s a non-challenging challenge😉

      What days do you mean?? well no one can tell whose days are nearer😉

      • Alice Audrey
        September 14, 2012

        Do you have the seasonal shift from Summer to Winter? Where I am, the days are about 16 hours long in the middle of summer and about nine hours long in the depths of winter. The lack of light in winter can be hard to take.

        • Novroz
          September 14, 2012

          I live in tropical islands…I only have 2 seasons and no seasonal shift.
          You know, I can’t imagine darkness for more than 12 hours like in your country…I always have 50-50% of sun and moon the whole year.

          • Alice Audrey
            September 14, 2012

            The US is enormous. I live in the northernmost edge, not counting Alaska. That means I get a bigger shift than most of the rest of the country. In Texas, which is only about 1,500 miles south of me, the shift is much more moderate; so they get more light in winter and less in summer. I live in a place that is semi-arid, but my family used to drive across Death Valley a couple times a year – and that is pure desert. On the other hand, Wisconsin is usually lush and green in the summer and buried under deep snow in the winter. They are about the same distance to the east of me.

          • Novroz
            September 15, 2012

            Death Valley? what a scary name!

            Countries above the horizon line have such extreem change. I wish I can see/feel such extreem climate change one day…been living in tropical country my whole life.

  7. Pingback: The Judge’s House by Bram Stoker « Polychrome Interest

  8. Pingback: The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka (an Audio book by Benedict Cumberbatch) « Polychrome Interest

  9. Carl V.
    September 15, 2012

    It has been a loooong time since I’ve read any Stephen King short stories. I really should add this one to my list.

    Great to have September finally arrive and great to have you on board for RIP VII! Thanks so much for joining us once again.🙂

    • Novroz
      September 15, 2012

      Hi Carl…so far, I think everything’s eventual isn’t as good as his other short stories collections…maybe it’s just me who think like that.

      Thank you for hosting it once again Carl🙂 I have a lot to share this year, already shared 3 posts for the challenge so far😉

  10. Pingback: The Wishing Game by Patrick Redmond « Polychrome Interest

  11. Pingback: 3 Perilous Movies: The Machinist, Insidious, and The Grey « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2012 by in Excessive Reader, Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads