Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Cillian “Antagonist” Murphy

Click this button to read more about Cillian Murphy

I know that it’s TOO fast to do another Monthly Murphy, I should have posted this later near the end of this month…but, with Olympic taking all of my time (I am pretty much preoccupied by it) and my last post was 6 days ago…I can only think (and write) about the actor I love the most.

This post comes with a poll😉 This is my third poll on Cillian Murphy. The first was titled “Mirror mirror on the wall – who’s the prettiest Cillian Murphy of them all” where I created a poll to choose Cillian’s prettiest character. The second was last month’s Monthly Murphy titled “Cillian Murphy with glasses” where the poll is about his most gorgeous role with eye glasses.

As I have shared it last month, Cillian is now interested in doing small film and TV series:

He explained to the Chicago Tribune: “I have lots of friends that live in Los Angeles, and they love it. I just feel like I’m European, and I want to do theatre, and I want to do TV, and I want to do smaller films, and I love the big studio pictures, but I want to be near my family. It’s just a priority.”

After several years of being his biggest fan, I have learned that he is a man of his words, he always did whatever he said to the media. After Inception he said he wanted to do theatre again and he did Misterman last year. When he said he didn’t want to do any Villain role again for the next five year and as we all know, his latest villain role was in 2005 (Red Eye)…and his next villain role will be in 2013, 8 years apart.

This is his latest news taken from Deadline.com

Cillian Murphy has been set to star as Tommy, the most ruthless brother in a family of gangsters in the six-part BBC Two drama Peaky Blinders. Created by Steven Knight, who wrote David Cronenberg’s Eastern Promises and was Oscar nominated for Stephen Frears’ Dirty Pretty Things, the series is set in 1919 Birmingham where Tommy’s family rules the lawless post-war slum neighborhoods as returning soldiers, revolutionaries and criminals fight for survival. The family is known as the “Peaky Blinders” based on their practice of sewing razor blades into the peaks of their caps.

Because of that news and the fact that Red Eye is on TV tonight…I decided to do this post and poll. The Antagonist Cillian Murphy!!

At first, I wanted to do The Villain Cillian Murphy…but he has only done 2 villain roles so far, however there was a character that couldn’t be considered as Villain but still as an antagonist…So, instead of Villain Murphy I came up with Antagonist Murphy.

Here are the characters:

Dr. Jonathan Crane/Scarecrow (Batman Begins – 2005)

Cillian’s first role as a villain had taken people by surprise. He gained more fans after playing this role. This role came to him as a given role by Nolan. His first intention was to be Batman despite the fact he didn’t have the right body shape to be Batman. But Nolan liked him so much and gave him Scarecrow.

His appearance as Scarecrow was the first time I saw him. I saw Batman because of Bale but Cillian took all my attention away from Bale. “Oh my…who is this cute man” was my first reaction when I saw him on the screen. His performance as an annoying man was perfect.

Jackson Rippner (Red Eye – 2005)

“Wow” is the only word I can say toward his performance as Jackson Rippner. He first showed up as a very nice and gentle handsome man…very charming. But then he showed his true color. He was incredible scary as Jackson Rippner. Although I like the chemistry between Cillian and McAdams, but I didn’t like the movie that much because it has terrible ending, however his acting in Red Eye in in my top-5 Cillian’s movies based on his acting/performance.

Raymond Leon (In Time – 2011)

Gyaaaaa” was the first word that came out from my mouth when he showed up looking so incredibly handsome in that black leather jacket. He took my breath away for a few second. He was the ONLY reason I saw In Time, the movie sucks.

Raymond Leon was not a villain, he was a policeman (well, sort of)…but he was not the good guy in the movie, he is not a bad cop either.  He was actually a good cop…too good that he dismissed all pity from his heart and all he wanted to do was to catch the time thief.

*********************

Now…here comes the most difficult poll I ever made. My previous two polls were easy to choose, at least for me…this one is so confusing.

I love Crane because he is so cute. I love Rippner because he is so scary. I love Leon because he is too damn handsome. Based on acting, Rippner is the winner; based on face, Crane is the winner; based on appearance, Leon is the winner.

…aaaarrrrgggghhhh….so confusing!!!

If you are not as confuse as I am…do put your vote on this poll below🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

23 comments on “Cillian “Antagonist” Murphy

  1. Alice Audrey
    August 12, 2012

    Seems like all the actors I like best are consistent in their choice of roles. By that I don’t mean they always do the same thing – like always hero or always theater. I mean they give you the sense they know what they want and are good at getting it.

    • Novroz
      August 13, 2012

      What I know for Cillian, he always knows what he wants or which direction he wants to take. I love the way he is so serious with his job instead of trying to so famous.

      • Alice Audrey
        August 17, 2012

        I remember when I first learned that Johnny Depp tended to take strange roles that bigger actors avoided. I gained a lot of respect for him for that. Cillian I’m only now coming to know through you.

        • Novroz
          August 18, 2012

          I also have respect on Depp’s unusual choice of characters, tho I sometimes came across people who dislike him😦

          I am glad I can introduce you to Cillian🙂

  2. Caroline
    August 12, 2012

    I cannot vote. I haven’t seen either of these movies. I have never seen him as a bad guy with the exception of Cold Mountain.

    • Novroz
      August 13, 2012

      You should see Red Eye then…he was brilliant there, very creepy…although the movie’s ending is not good but the first 2/3 of the movie was great.

  3. ruth
    August 13, 2012

    He’s awesome as Scarecrow though I got lost in his gorgeous eyes behind those thick-rimmed glasses. He’s sooo darn creepy as Jackson Rippner too, but man if I sit next to someone THAT good looking I’d probably just surrender to him, ahah.

    • Novroz
      August 13, 2012

      Huahahaha you are voicing my thought Ruth!
      I would say do whatever you like sir😉 and if I was chased by a timekeeper looking like him, I would give all my time to him😉

  4. Castor
    August 13, 2012

    Gotta go with Jackson Rippner. We really get some time to go into his mind because he has so much time to talk with Rachel McAdams before and on the plane😀

    • Novroz
      August 13, 2012

      I like their interaction and chemistry a lot…I think they should play together again one day.

  5. TBM
    August 13, 2012

    I only saw the first too and I wasn’t a fan of the Red Eye ending. It was really good until then. I think I’ll skip In Line though🙂

    • Novroz
      August 13, 2012

      Yup!! the ending terribly bad. I wish they could make it better so that I can rewatch the movie more often.

      I was a bit confused when I read In Line…I assume you meant In Time😉 … yeah skip it, not worth a watch unless you are a fan of one of the actors…like me.

      • Mae
        August 15, 2012

        Haha! Good times, indeed!🙂

  6. Mae
    August 15, 2012

    He looked amazing in “in time”, but scarecrow is the best villain.

    • Novroz
      August 15, 2012

      Yeah…really amazing!!! I want to see it again just for him. I am planning to edit the movie to show ONLY cillian scenes, but haven’t got the proper cutter software yet.

      Thank you Nolan for casting him as Scarecrow 😉

  7. sunshinedany
    August 15, 2012

    Rippner is my favorite villain so it was a easy pick, but I love all 3 characters

    • Novroz
      August 15, 2012

      So nice to have an easy pick like that…I still couldn’t decide which one I like more, the three of them have something special in each character.

  8. The Focused Filmographer
    August 22, 2012

    I voted for Scarecrow!!!! So awesome

    • The Focused Filmographer
      August 22, 2012

      love the fact that you added a poll btw

      • Novroz
        August 22, 2012

        Scarecrow is winning without real competition there😉

        Well…this is my third Cillian’s poll. I might do another one later this year. Thank you T

  9. Nostra
    August 23, 2012

    Novroz, will start my Many Faces posts next week again, starting with Murphy, so if you are interested in writing for it you can send your text to myfilmviews@gmail.com🙂

    • Novroz
      August 23, 2012

      Hehehe…I was just kidding, if I too write something that special about Cillian, I want it to be in my blog😉
      Thank you anyway.

      But I look forward to what you write on my favorite actor🙂

  10. Pingback: Cillian’s Upcoming Mini-Series : Peaky Blinders « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2012 by in Cillian Murphy and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads