Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Waiting For The Blood and Ice Cream Trilogy a.k.a The Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy

Some of you might never hear of this trilogy or should I say the upcoming trilogy is. The trilogy is going to be completed in 2013. The first time I heard about this trilogy was when I watched the first movie, at that time I was told that the last in the trilogy called The World’s End is going to be released in 2012, kinda related to the prophecy which said that the world will come to an end in 2012. Then, for reasons I didn’t know, The World’s End was postponed to 2013.

Ups…I talk too far ahead, I should have told you first about the trilogy😉

The Blood and Ice Cream Trilogy (I found out its other name from wikipedia, it is The Three Flavoured Cornetto Trilogy…but I am used with the former one so I will keep using that one instead of the later) is not like other trilogy ever produced in movie industry. None of the movie in the trilogy is connected to each other, the only thing connected each other are the presence of blood, Cornetto and the amazing hilarious trio from England, Simon Pegg, Nick Frost and Edgar Wright.

Pegg, Frost and Wright…have you got the clues already? 😉

Yup! The Blood and Ice Cream Trilogy are the 2004 film Shaun of The Dead, the 2007 film Hot Fuzz and the upcoming 2013 film The World’s End. All three movies are directed by Edgar Wright, written by Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg and starring Simon Pegg and Nick Frost.

Why Blood and Ice Cream?

Have you seen Shaun and Hot Fuzz? Both movies showed a lot of gore, though Hot Fuzz didn’t contain as much gore as Shaun. We will be expecting blood to spill in the upcoming The World’s end😉

In both movies, Nick Frost’s characters always eat Cornetto ice cream with different flavor. In Shaun of The Dead, it was red strawberry flavoured Cornetto to show how gory the movie was. In Hot fuzz, it was blue original Cornetto to show the element of police. In the world’s End, it will be green mint choc-chip flavour to show sci-fi elements. However, based on Screen-Rant.com, Wright said:

[It’s true that Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream will appear in the movie] but I said that basically to have some kind of answer when people would ask me about it. […] There are only three flavors of Cornetto. So if we do it again, there is no other option.

Let’s look back at the previous two movies before we look at the last movie in the trilogy (although we never know that it will be the last, they can always turn it into more than a trilogy😉 )

I have never written a proper review (meaning 1 post per movie) for Shaun of The Dead and Hot Fuzz…but both movies were mentioned so many times in my blog.

Shaun Of the Dead

The story was about Shaun and his friends who were trying to survive from the Zombies. Shaun and his best friend, eddy, tried to find the best place to hide till the zombie situation is finally over. They tried to take his mother and step father, and his ex-girlfriend along with her friends to a place that they thought very save, the place was their favorite pub.

Sounds simple and not interesting, doesn’t it?

In truth, it’s not that simple and very interesting. It was freaking hilarious and scary at the same time. Even simple things like finding a weapon to kill the zombies were funny.

Quoted from my Shaun of The Dead Vs Zombieland post.

Hot Fuzz

The story is about a dedicated police officer named Nicholas Angel. He is transferred to a small village by the name of Sandford. Sandford is a peaceful country with almost no crime. Nicholas soon realizes that there are so many deaths and everyone keeps on saying that all of those deaths are just accident. Nicholas meets an unusual constable, Danny Butterman. Their relationship becomes stronger day by day. Nick and Danny find out that there’s a conspiracy going on in Sandford. Both of them, along with the other officers, work together to put a stop on it.

Quoted from my British Invasion post.

.

The World’s End

Based on imdb.com, the story will be:

20 years after attempting an epic pub crawl, five childhood friends reunite when one of them becomes hell bent on trying the drinking marathon again. They are convinced to stage an encore by mate Gary King, a 40-year old man trapped at the cigarette end of his teens, who drags his reluctant pals to their home town and once again attempts to reach the fabled pub, The World’s End. As they attempt to reconcile the past and present, they realize the real struggle is for the future, not just theirs but humankind’s. Reaching The World’s End is the least of their worries.

Simon Pegg will play Gary King and Nick Frost will play Andy Knight.

I have seen Shaun of The Dead countless time but it still hasn’t made me bored yet. I have only seen Hot Fuss three times and each time I see it, I like it more than before…but still Shaun is by far my favorite out of two movie. Looking forward to seeing The World’s End🙂

After feeling a bit disappointed with Paul (Pegg wrote it without Wright ), I really hope that The World’s End will pay off the disappointment. I love seeing Simon Pegg and Nick Frost playing together.

The World’s End will be released in 9 August 2013 (UK) and will start shooting this fall.

My one and only hope now is that it will be played in my country’s cinema (sad but true, the cinema rarely played British movie😦 )

Are you as excited as I am toward the final movie in this trilogy?🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

21 comments on “Waiting For The Blood and Ice Cream Trilogy a.k.a The Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy

  1. TBM
    August 7, 2012

    I haven’t seen the first two, but I’m excited for you. I hope that the movie will be played in your theater. Is there a reason why they don’t show many British films?

    • Novroz
      August 8, 2012

      You haven’t seen Shaun and Hot Fuzz? ah you have to see it one day, they are hilarious.

      I don’t know why for sure, but I think it’s because they think that Hollywood movies are more profitable.

  2. Dan
    August 7, 2012

    Can’t wait for this too. Everything these guys touch turns into comedy gold, especially when the trio are working together.

    • Novroz
      August 8, 2012

      Yup…the trio is unbeatable in comedy.

  3. Caroline
    August 8, 2012

    Something to look forward to that’s for sure.
    I need to re-watch shaun of the dead. It’s so hilarious.

    • Novroz
      August 8, 2012

      Hear hear!
      It’s still hilarious even after watching it so many times🙂

  4. le0pard13
    August 9, 2012

    I always enjoy reading your post, Novroz. BTW my friend, I’ve nominated you and your blogging for a Liebster Award. If you’re up for it, great! Otherwise, no worries. Thanks.

    • Novroz
      August 10, 2012

      Thank you Mike🙂
      and thank you for the nomination, I will do it somewhere this month🙂

  5. Tim The Film Guy
    August 10, 2012

    The worlds end is going to be amazing😀
    Nice site i am following😀

    • Novroz
      August 10, 2012

      I hope so…so far the three haven’t disappointed me yet😉
      Thank you for following Tim…I have subscribed your blog through RSS🙂

  6. Alice Audrey
    August 10, 2012

    “Even simple things like finding a weapon to kill the zombies were funny.” LOL, suddenly I’m flashing back to the woman zombie in the backyard.

    I liked Sean of the Dead better than Hot Fuzz, but my dh is the exact opposite. Can’t wait to see The World’s End.

    • Novroz
      August 11, 2012

      Hahaha that was the first funniest moment in the movie. I like that part when they selected the disc before they threw it at the zombies😉

      I also like Shaun more…but still enjoy Hot Fuzz. Hope The World’s End will be as good as the previous two🙂

      • Alice Audrey
        August 12, 2012

        I liked the ending where they play video games in the shed.

        • Novroz
          August 12, 2012

          I think that was one of the sweetest endings ever made in a movie🙂

  7. Androgoth
    August 11, 2012

    Well I will have a double helping of the ice cream
    with a few of Fraz’s pancakes thrown in for good
    measure🙂 I have not seen these films before but
    your description and eagerness to view the third
    helping proves that it must be a worthy film🙂

    Have a lovely day today Miss. Novia🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    • Novroz
      August 11, 2012

      I am surprised you haven’t seen them knowing how bloody your blog is😉
      Do see it Andro!! Shaun is a fun zombie movie and Hot Fuzz is quite gory.
      As and Englishman, you should watch these two great movies from your country😉

      Have a nice weekend Andro🙂

      • Androgoth
        August 12, 2012

        Yes I will have to take a look at those Miss. Novia and thank you for letting me know🙂 I hope you are having a nice weekend🙂

        Androgoth XXx

        • Novroz
          August 12, 2012

          I hope you will like it as much as I do Andro🙂

  8. gold price
    August 27, 2012

    You’ve probably seen the first 2/3’s of The Three Flavors Cornetto Trilogy, even if you didn’t know that’s what it was. The comedy team of Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost first came to fame with their cult favorite television series “Spaced,” but when the time came to branch out into features, their first two films together – Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz – had one thing in common: the tasty ice cream treat cornettos. The films in the Three Flavors trilogy (named after Krzysztof Kieslowski’s classic Three Colours Trilogy: Blue, White and Red) are each denoted by the specific flavor of Cornetto that is devoured in each one. Shaun of the Dead featured strawberry, Hot Fuzz featured classic blue, and The World’s End is expected to feature the consumption of green mint chocolate chip.

  9. Pingback: My Top-5 Most Favorite British Entertainers « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads