Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Movie Confessions Blogathon

My fellow movie blogger, Andina @ Inspired Ground sent me an email about a blogathon heosted by Nostra @ My Film Review. It’s been a while since my last movie blogathon and the questions are also interesting, so I decided to jump in the train 😉

The idea of this blogathon is really simple…just answer the questions given below…it’s all about confessions toward things related to movies.

 

Here are my answers 🙂

Which classic movie don’t you like/can’t enjoy and why?

Gone With The Wind. I can’t exactly say why…it has been rerun in TV for more than 5 times and each time I can only manage to see it for about15 minutes and then started to get bored and switched the channel.

Which ten classic movies haven’t you seen yet? 

So many…it could be more than 100. I have never seen black and white movies except for Charlie Chaplin movies.

Have you ever sneaked into another movie at the cinema?

NEVER, not that I didn’t want to but because I couldn’t.
Indonesian cinema isn’t like US cinema. Indonesian cinema has ticket with number of studio, time, and seat…you can’t get out and move to another studio as you please because on every studio, there is a person in charge of checking your ticket.

Which actor/actress do you think is overrated?

I have written 5 actors I don’t find the appeal for last year (here). I only mentioned 2 of them here: Brad Pitt and George Clooney. Those two have never made me awed with their acting yet no matter how many people had praised them. As for Pitt, not only I think he is overrated, I also tend to dislike him.

From which big director have you never seen any movie (and why)?  

I don’t really pay much attention to Director…I only remembers ones I like.

Which movie do you love, but is generally hated?

The most recent: Prometheus. I read a lot of not so good review on the movie but I love it so much.

Have you ever been “one of those annoying people” at the cinema?

I don’t think so. The only time I play with my mobile phone was when seeing In Time and there was no one behind and around me. There were less than 10 people in the cinema.

Did you ever watch a movie, which you knew in advance would be bad, just because of a specific actor/actress was in it? Which one and why?

Ha…this question makes me laugh. I guess anyone knows I will watch any movies by Cillian Murphy no matter how horrible the movie is. One that I dislike the moment I read the synopsis and so sure it was going to be suck after seeing the trailer…but I still went to the cinema to watch it…the movie was In Time. I won’t even take a peek of In Time if Cillian isn’t in it…a very predictable bad story and I don’t like the main cast (Timberlake and Seyfried). Let’s just make it simple, predictable story sucks!

Did you ever not watch a specific movie because it had subtitles?   

I prefer subtitles to any dubbing and remake. I am not a native English speaker; I have been watching movies with subtitles ever since I can read. So the answer is NEVER.

Are there any movies in your collection that you have had for more than five years and never watched?

Not that I remember of. I only buy DVD when I know I am going to like it.

Which are the worst movies in your collection and why do you still own them?

In Time. Because it has Cillian Murphy in it.

Fine looking leader!

Do you have any confessions about your movie watching setup at home?

Thank you for the explanation Nostra 🙂
Unlike most movie bloggers I know, I still don’t have Blu-ray player. I watch my movie in computer if it’s a downloaded file (some movies aren’t easy to find here, I have to download them) and in DVD…fortunately I have a free region DVD.

Any other confessions you want to make?

Hmmm…I have some confessions

  • I REALLY hate it when people are saying no wonder you like that movie because Cillian Murphy or Benedict Cumberbatch (or other actors I always watch) is in it. I hate it because it’s true that I watch it because of them but to like a movie is NOT because they are in it.
  • I saw uncensored terminator at the very young age and it shaped my movie preference. Most girls I know would shun away from movies with a lot of shattered blood…but not me, I like it. But the shattered blood has to be from a fight, somehow I don’t like slasher movies.
  • Pure romantic movie where the couples have to go through many ups and downs bored me. I will choose romantic comedy to that kind of movie anytime.
  • I often left movies unfinished when it gets terribly boring.
  • I avoid movies by actors/actresses I don’t like unless the movie is really really really great.
  • I don’t watch my own country’s movies as much as Japanese/European/Hollywood movies.

**********************************

It has been fun writing my answers…looking forward to reading other blogger’s answer. You can see their link at My Film Review.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

28 comments on “Movie Confessions Blogathon

  1. Alice Audrey
    July 22, 2012

    Prometheus got panned? Harrumph!

    I saw Terminator when it came out. I was already a dyed-in-the-wool SF fan, so I don’t know how much that affected my interest in messy movies. I don’t like slashers at all, which I tend to find misogynistic, but gore doesn’t bother me much.

    • Novroz
      July 22, 2012

      Well…not really panned…but a lot say that it was not that good. I actually think it’s one of the best this year.

      Me too!!! Honestly, even after so many good reviews on SAW, I still haven’t seen it because slasher movies just don’t make sense to me. I watched The House of wax in TV years ago and was like bored with that useless killing. On the other hand, despite its terrible story, I really enjoy Ninja assassin’s blood effect. For me gore has to come from something that has meaning

      • Alice Audrey
        July 26, 2012

        I don’t got for horror much, but I love the silly ones, like Sean of the Dead or Zombieland. It’s not the zombies I get into, it’s the humor.

        • Novroz
          July 27, 2012

          Me too!!! I love Shaun of The Dead. I am planning to write about it, waiting for a perfect time to do it.

          • Alice Audrey
            July 29, 2012

            Maybe in October? Or in comparison to another movie?

          • Novroz
            July 30, 2012

            I will try writing it on September, it’s about the trilogy.
            I have written a comparisson between Shaun and Zombieland last year.

          • Alice Audrey
            August 10, 2012

            lol, and then you ended up doing it in August. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Movie Confessions Blogathon « My Filmviews

  3. Nostra
    July 22, 2012

    Thanks for joining in Novroz! I understand your dislike for Gone With the Wind, it’s such a long movie which also goes quite slow.

    You should check out some black and white movies. Try Sherlock Jr. for example, which is very funny but also creatively very original.

    Wow, Pitt and Clooney are surprising choices. I think Clooney is a great actor and it seems that every year there is a movie of his that will end up in my top 10.

    Prometheus isn’t hated by everyone, personally I really loved it 🙂

    In Time was a movie I didn’t enjoy either, the concept was good, but the execution could have been better.

    The question about your movie watching setup at home is about how you watch your movies, for example do you watch them on your computer or do you have a very bad television but still watch them. My confession was that I don’t have a Blu Ray player and use my 360 to play DVDs.

    • Novroz
      July 22, 2012

      Thanks for hosting it Nostra…and for explaining about the last question.

      I never know how LONG GWTW is because I couldn’t watch it more than 15mins.

      For me, tho I haven’t seen all Clooney’s movies, I always see Clooney in every character he plays. I like an actor that can be someone completely different and almost can’t be recognized…someone like Bale.

  4. Bikramjit Singh Mann
    July 22, 2012

    You bought the movie in time, omg…

    Complete waste of money and time for me that one…

    • Novroz
      July 22, 2012

      I KNOW!!! I didn’t even want to see the movie let along owning it…but I am a sucker for everything by Cillian Murphy.

      I haven’t seen the movie again, and if I do finally see it, it will be full of fast-forwarding. I only want to see scenes with Cillian Murphy in it.

  5. Thanks for the mention, Novroz! Surprised me that some others also hated Gone With The Wind. I thought it was good, but yes it’s very very long for a romance movie.

    I think many people loved Prometheus, including me!

    I’m with you on downloaded movies. with the options we have, it’s no surprise. I’m going to put that to on my post, and hope people won’t hate me for it.

    • Novroz
      July 22, 2012

      Thank you for letting me know about this blogathon 🙂

      Prometheus is loved by many is true, but I often came across people who dislike it 😦

      YOu know, I am surprised that many haven’t watched Gone With The Wind…I thought I am the only one 😉

      Yeah…living in Indonesia is troublesome for movie lovers. Despite the high price, I still want to own original DVDs of the actors I loved and the movie I enjoyed….unfortunately, they aren’t avaiable here 😦

  6. Caroline
    July 23, 2012

    That was great, I’ll have to try and tghink about the answres for myself.
    I had to laugh about your overrated actors. I couldn’t agree more!

    • Novroz
      July 23, 2012

      I would love to know your answer Caroline 🙂
      Will you do the blogathon or maybe just share it here in the comment form 🙂
      I know watch a lot of movies too.

  7. ruth
    July 23, 2012

    Ha..ha.. I love how many Cillian mentions on this post 🙂 I don’t blame you for buying In Time, I mean it’s an interesting concept despite its sub-par execution, but Cillian is great in a Matrix-like costume, ahah. I’d borrow it from you so I can also stare at Gregory’s grandson Ethan who looks just like his grandpa.

    High five on your choices for overrated actors, Nov. In fact, I refuse to watch movies w/ Pitt in it (Clooney I can still stand) as I know I probably won’t enjoy it. Yep, I prefer subtitles to any dubbing any day, there’s just an annoying disconnect in a dubbed movie, especially the accent, there’s no way they could ever get the accent of the original actors properly.

    • Novroz
      July 23, 2012

      aaahhh…he was amazing in that costume!!! I really want to see it again but still need to strengthen my heart to see the whole movie which I still can’t do it yet. I will pay more attention to Ethan when I watch it again 😉

      Same with you, I still can stand Clooney but not Pitt. I like Se7en very much but that’s the only one I like. I think one of the reasons I couldn’t finish Fight Club is because of Pitt.

      So true on dubbing!! even the one dubbed by famous actors/actresses, such as on Ghibli’s movies, are still not as good as the original. I was very happy when Princess Mononoke that I got from Marc has both dubbed and original version. I watched the original with subtitle for sure.

  8. Nekoneko
    July 23, 2012

    Hahaha!! I agree with your view of “Gone With The Wind”. I’ve never been able to stand it either!

    … and you aren’t the only movie blogger without a Blu-ray player either. They are useless without a High Definition TV to go with them and most Blu-ray players aren’t Region Free so I’d have trouble watching all the odd foreign discs I can seen in my good ol’ DVD player. Nope…. I can’t see a good reason to change over to one.

    • Novroz
      July 23, 2012

      I think it would be ages till I finally use Blu-ray. The disc is TOOOOOO expensive, even the rental ones are expensive. I am already pleased with my DVD plaver 🙂

      You know, I am a bit surprised knowing many don’t enjoy that classic movie too…it makes me feel better 😉

  9. Stephanie
    July 23, 2012

    This is my first time visiting you — I really like your blog. I can understand why you can’t get into Gone With the Wind. I am not crazy about it either, and I am from the Southern United States. 🙂

    • Novroz
      July 23, 2012

      Hi Stephanie 🙂
      Thank you for dropping by…I see that you are both book-worm and movie buff like me 🙂
      I guess I am not crazy over many romance movies, not just Gone With the Wind.

  10. The Focused Filmographer
    July 23, 2012

    Yes! Major High-Five for Gone With The Wind!

    It’s funny to see that on so many lists! I knew that In TIme would somehow be on your list! Bravo. All because of CM! ha.

    a fun list here Novia. 🙂

    • Novroz
      July 23, 2012

      To be honest, i hate his decision to play in In Time … well at least he looks great there 😉

      Only Cillian, Keanu and Bennedict can make me watch terrible movies…especially Cillian, of course 😉 … Fortunately Cillian’s acting was never disappointing.

  11. VictorsMovieReviews
    July 23, 2012

    I understand you love for Cillian Murphy; he makes an appearance in “The Dark Night Rises”.

    • Novroz
      July 23, 2012

      Thanks 🙂
      I know…I will see it on Wednesday.
      His appearance in TDKR is also the base of my monthly post for this month….I have a monthly post special for Cillian 😉

  12. sungin
    July 25, 2012

    I can understand you about ‘gone with the wind’, in high school my friends were making a big fuss about film and book but I couldn’t like it. Even though I liked ‘casablanca’ but that friends couldn’t watch it, maybe there is another classic for you, and one they if you find it share with us 🙂 …
    I agree with you on ‘Brad Pit’ even in his young times he wasn’t that appealing I think. But there are some good films in Clooney’s filmography. The first film that affected me was ‘The Peacemaker’ > one of Clooney film. It was made in 1997. I watched it 2000 when I was 10 and I still remember films emotions…
    But I think these good actors too should consider retiring…

    • Novroz
      July 27, 2012

      I really want to watch Seven Samurai, it’s a classic samurai movie. I love samurai movie.

      Pitt is never appealing to me since the first time I saw him. I love se7en so much but it’s not because of Pitt at all…the plot is amazing and the other cast are brilliant. As for Clooney, i still enjoy his movies…it’s just I never been awed by his acting. He is him in every movie he plays, IMO.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 22, 2012 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads