Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Short Reviews: 3 TV Series and 2 Movies : Moribito, Birdsong, Zenkai Garu, The Prestige, and Thor.

In April and May, I watched quite a lot but I had no time to write reviews because of all the hype on The Most Expected Concert in my life, L’Arc~en~Ciel Concert. However, I thought they are all worth to be mentioned here. It’ll take time to write each of them one by one…that’s why I write this short review.

Let’s start from The TV Series.

Senrei No Moribito (Moribito – Guardian Of The Spirit)

Origin: Japan
Type: Anime
Seiyuu: Mabuki Andou, Naoto Adachi, Kôji Tsujitani
Episodes: 26
Rating:

I watched this anime because I was planning to include it on my Once Upon A Time Challenge. I have read the book last year and really liked it and even though there were some additional scenes in the anime series, it didn’t change the whole story and I can say that I also really like the anime version of that great book.

The story was about a female guard named Balsa who had to protect a young prince named Chagum with the help of her friend, Tanda. Balsa had to protect Chagum from his father’s assassin and from Rarunga, a spirit whose sole purpose was to kill the egg spirit inside Chagum. You can read its full story in my Book Review>> here.

I love the graphic and the fight in this anime. The score music is also stunning. The characters are strongly built just like in the book. I can see their connection and their emotion clearly. The only lack of this anime is the dubbing…I couldn’t find the Japanese one and it disappointed me real bad because I dislike sub-dub.

The opening song of Moribito is sung by L’Arc~en~Ciel, as always Hyde has made lyric that represents the anime really well.

I want to shine on you and always like that dazzling sun.
I will defend you from all the darkness.
This is truth from my heart.

If Only our hearts could connect, I could get you to believe me.
Even if you can’t see it now, don’t lose it.
Your kindness won’t be in vain.
You’ll be carried aloft in the wind to somewhere that isn’t here.
You’ll cross the sea and cross the time and I know you’ll blossom one day.
Whatever the day, I’ll be there for you.
I hope I can watch over you like the sun all the time.

Birdsong

Origin: England
Type: War Miniseries
Cast: Clémence Poésy, Eddie Redmayne
Episodes: 2
Rating:

I knew about this miniseries from Caroline’s All About War Movie blog. I was quite intrigued by it and started downloading the series…unfortunately I didn’t like it as much as she did. You can read a better review for this series at All About War Movies, Episode 1 and Episode 2.

The story is about a man named Stephen Wraysford who was having an affair with a married with children woman, Isabelle Azaire. He was then left for war. We got to see his affair through his memory during the war. I honestly love the war time moment but dislike the romance in it because it is about infidelity and leaving children for another man.

I know I shouldn’t use my emotion when watching movies but still leaving children for another man is something I can never take. I guess that’s why when I saw the woman live in agony I didn’t feel sorry for her at all.

 Zenkai Garu (全開ガール) – Full Throttle Girl

Origin: Japan
Type: Romantic Comedy Dorama
Cast: Nishikido Ryo, Yui Aragaki
Episodes: 11
Rating: 

I love Nishikido Ryo, he was once in my top 5 men to drool on (got kicked away this year)…He was the one reason why I bought Zenkai Garu DVD.

The story is about a woman named Wakaba who wanted to be a rich career woman and made it into Phobes. She wanted to be a lawyer in a famous lawyer company. She got the job but the probation was to baby sit the owner’s daughter. From her baby sitting job, which she did in between her lawyer job, she met Pitaru’s father, Shota. The meeting developed from the felling of hate to acceptable and ended up in falling in love.

I could easily say that it was a fun watch although not the kind I want to see again. I really love how well Ryo was acting as a single father, he himself is not married yet. An of course, his smile melted me all the time😉. It’s also fun seeing different character acted by Yui Aragaki She was a thoughtful girl in My Boss My Hero and in Zenkai Garu, she became a noisy and determined girl who talked all the time.

Let’s Move on to Movies

The Prestige

Director: Christopher Nolan
Cast: Hugh Jackman, Christian Bale, Michael Caine, Scarlett Johansson, David Bowie,  Piper Perabo, Andy Serkis, Rebecca Hall
Rating:

At first, I wanted to review this movie in one post…but as I said before I got caught up in the concert hype…and The Prestige, although I give high score is not the kind of movie I want to rewatch so soon, I will make a full review once I watch it again somewhere in the near future.

The story was about two magicians, Alfred Borden and Robert Angier who competed against each other in world of magic. Angier blamed Borden for the death of his wife. Each tried to be better than the other by making new tricks. But the competition soon changed into unhealthy tricks.

The Prestige was AMAZING!! It left me speechless (just like when I watched Memento). I always love a movie where I can’t guess where it’s heading. The ending was unpredictable and very strong. I could guess the ending almost at the end, not from the beginning, but it still left me speechless when it ended with their explanation of their tricks.

I honestly think that Nolan should make more movies like this; Memento, Inception and now The Prestige were amazing movies. He should stop his superhero movies and got back to this kind of movies.

Thor

Director: Kenneth Branagh
Cast: Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston, Stellan Skarsgård, Colm Feore, Ray Stevenson, Idris Elba, Kat Dennings, Rene Russo, Anthony Hopkins
Rating:

As I get older, superhero movies seem to lose their super-power on me. Despite all the good critics on this movie, I never have any smallest intention to ever walk to the cinema to see it…and will wait for it in TV. Then, my brother bought the DVD and I was in the mood to watch something without using my brain to think. So I watched Thor.

The story was so predictable even though I never read the comic. Thor was the son of Odin who was so arrogant. His arrogance brought big mistake to his realm and he was thrown into earth by his father. A woman helped him and of course ended up being the one who could change him. Meanwhile, his brother, Loki, realized that he was adopted and planned to take over the kingdom. And you can guess the rest😉

I am not gonna say I dislike the movie nor I like it, it was simply a nice movie to fill in the time. It’s not something memorable. But…I have to agree with everyone who ends up liking Hiddleton, he was more impressive than Hemsworth.

Well…that all folk😉

I tried to write all the series or movies I watch throughout this year…even though only short reviews.

Have you watched the series and movies I had watched? What do you think of them? And what have you watched recently?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

28 comments on “Short Reviews: 3 TV Series and 2 Movies : Moribito, Birdsong, Zenkai Garu, The Prestige, and Thor.

  1. ruth
    July 11, 2012

    I’m quite intrigued by Birdsong, might rent that one if it’s available on iTunes.
    The Prestige is excellent indeed! Believe it or not I wasn’t wowed by it the first time around but then I rewatched it and I liked it ten times better. Bale and Jackman are both fantastic, plus there’s David Bowie!!

    I see what you mean about Thor, I guess if you’re not into superhero movies I could see how you might not enjoy it. I like it enough that I bought the Blu-ray. Glad you like Hiddleston though, as you know I have a crush on him from this. Loki FTW!😀

    • Novroz
      July 11, 2012

      You might like Birdsong Ruth…knowing you like romance😉

      Eh? how could? I love it the minute the movie ends…It will sure be one of few movies I will rewacth in the future. It was brilliant and smart.I am not sure how much more I will like it on second viewing…just hope it won’t be less😉

      I used to love superhero movies…maybe it gets TOO much nowadays and I end up numb with superhero movies. Glad you still enjoy superhero movies, Ruth. Hiddleston has been gaining a lot of fans lately😉 I am not a fan yet, will see more before becoming one😉

      • ruth
        July 11, 2012

        Hiddleston is sooo charming, he’s not drop dead gorgeous but VERY attractive, plus he’s got a great personality in interviews. I usually fall for guys who are confident and funny in interviews, that’s how I fell for GB. Speaking of which, I’ll have my GB special post up today, the one inspired by your Cillian post😀 Hope you’ll check it out!

        • Novroz
          July 11, 2012

          I will be waiting🙂
          Ah…I am not at lost what to write for this month’s Monthly Murphy, he hasn’t done much lately😉

  2. purisuka
    July 11, 2012

    Yay for The Prestige! Aku pun cinta film itu🙂 Btw Zenkai Girl dulu pas masa tayangnya pernah nonton satu episode, tapi belum diterusin lagi. Btw lagi tahun ini Ryo kembali jadi papa (biarpun bukan papa kandung) di dorama “Papa wa Idol/Papadoru”. Di situ dia berperan jadi dirinya sendiri. Baru nonton dua episode tapi sejauh ini cukup suka (dan Ryo-nya kawaii di situ)😄

    • Novroz
      July 11, 2012

      The Prestige kayaknya ga ada yang ga suka ya😉 keren bgt sih!

      Di Zenkai Garu, anak Ryo juga anak angkot kok…lebih tepatnya anak peninggalan istrinya😉
      Wah nntn dimana? mauuuu!!!! semoga dah ada di DVD bajakan😉
      Ryo itu makin tua makin kawaii deh!

      • purisuka
        July 11, 2012

        http://doramax264.com/11227/papa-doru/ ini link-nya kalo tertarik donlot🙂 doramanya baru tamat seminggu yg lalu jadi mungkin dvd bajakannya bakal keluar bentar lg😀

        • Novroz
          July 11, 2012

          Ah…gw nyerah deh kl DL…internet pake quota sih. Nunggu bajakan aja deh😉
          Makasih ya dah dikasih tau🙂

  3. Caroline
    July 11, 2012

    I didn’t like Prestige as much as you did.🙂
    I liked part 2 of Birdsong far better than part 1. I’m not for infidelity but I thought in this case it was understandable. He was an awful man, her husband. And the children were not her children. I think that made a difference as well.
    I realy liked the parts when he is at war . It’s tragic.
    Thanks for the links.

    • Novroz
      July 11, 2012

      They aren’t her children? really? I guess I miss that part because I really didn’t enjoy the memory part that much. The war is indeed great to see.

      You’re welcome🙂

      • Caroline
        July 12, 2012

        No, that was one of the problems they had. He wasn’t able to make love to her and she never got pregnant. The children were from the first wife. That’s why I could understand her, actually she only had one lover.🙂

        • Novroz
          July 12, 2012

          Ah!! I totally missed that! I shouldn’t fast forward too many of that parts. But really, that memory part bored me and all I want to see is the war part.

  4. Alice Audrey
    July 12, 2012

    It seems to me that you SHOULD bring your emotions to the theater. What’s the point of watching a movie without them? As to a mother abandoning her children – there would have to be some really compelling reasons for me to like the character that did it.

    • Novroz
      July 12, 2012

      I guess you’re right😉
      Emotion is needed when watching movies. Ah it turns out the woman has a reason, my friend Caroline explained it on the comment above your comment. I did a lot of fast forwarding and somehow missed the situation. But still I won’t go for second viewing just to find which part i was missing😉

      • Alice Audrey
        July 13, 2012

        Ah, I see. I’ll admit that I think that’s certainly a fair reason, but it’s not the kind of movie I favor anyway.

  5. Alice Audrey
    July 12, 2012

    ps. Dang! I missed Thor. I’ll have to go back and pick it up on DVD.

  6. fitri
    July 12, 2012

    the prestige cm nonton 20menit,dah ngantuk..mb why u always passionate?bagi dikit energy nya please..bner2 dueh mommy ne papoe ni..smangat. .mb g minat k dunia politik?

    • Novroz
      July 12, 2012

      huahahaha sya SAMA SEKALI GA MINAT sama politik!! nntn berita berbau politik aja langsung tak ganti.

  7. fitri
    July 12, 2012

    the prestige cm nonton 20menit,dah ngantuk..mb why u always so passionate?bagi dikit energy nya please..biar ktularan minat ma film2 yg g popcorn hehe

    • Novroz
      July 12, 2012

      Wah kok bisa?? Memang beda selera kayaknya😉
      Saya suka film2 yang mengajak penonton untuk mikir sebenarnya mau kemana nih arah film. Film2 yang dah jelas jalan ceritanya dr 10 menit pertamalah yang malah bikin saya bosan dan ngantuk.

      Hahaha sy passionate ya? mungkin karena saya emang orang yang senang menikmati hidup dari semua hobi yang saya miliki, baik film, buku dan music. Untuk suka film2 yang ga ‘popcorn’ harus ada pemicunya dulu. Saya juga dulu sukanya sama action tapi makin kesini makin malas apalagi setelah liat film2 Cillian Murphy yang selalu mengutamakan kekuatan akting drpd efek.

  8. Genki Jason
    July 13, 2012

    I prefer Christopher Nolan’s mysteries a lot more than his comic-book films but I turned into a fanboy when I watched the trailer for The Dark Knight Rises. Moribito has been on my to-watch list for the longest time. I should take the plunge and watch it.

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2012

      I am still not that hype over dark knight rises yet…will read the reviews first before deciding to watch in cinema or in dvd.

      Ah!! do watch Moribito🙂
      you might like it and it’s only 26 episodes.

      Thank you for stopping by Jason.

  9. impsndcnma
    July 13, 2012

    Didn’t really care for Moribito. I think I watched 12 episodes of it and I didn’t like how the pace was crawling. Episode 3 was the highlight of the series for me. Glad to see you made to the end and enjoyed it though.

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2012

      It’s easy for me to enjoy Moribito because I have read the book first, Max😉

      It was one of the most fun fantasy books I read recently. The second book is even better. The anime, as usual, add some unnecessary scenes but it was okay.

  10. dhitzunako
    July 13, 2012

    I haven’t watched all that you’ve mentioned above. Would love to watch The Prestige though, since it’s intriguing
    Oh ya, cewek yang maen di Zenkai Garu adalah Aragaki Yui. Ngomong-ngomong soal dia, akhirnya dapet juga DVD dorama ori pertamaku (hehehe): My Boss My Hero. I think I’m going to watch that first (nostalgila sama Makky!).😉

    • Novroz
      July 14, 2012

      Ah…I forgot to write her name😉 Thank you for reminding me.
      Where did you find it? I want to buy it too…but I have to buy Sherlock first.

      I think you would love The Prestige!! Awesome!!

      • dhitzunako
        July 21, 2012

        belinya di gramed semanggi. menemukannya di balik susunan kotak dvd-dvd yang laen, hehe.
        Tp packagingnya nyebelin, soalnya, sampulnya kotak karton, bukan yg diselipin di balik plastik kotak dvdnya. Mesti disarungin lg pke plastik kalo ga mau kotor.😦

        • Novroz
          July 21, 2012

          Kalo ga salah emang DVD2 dorama pake kotak karton. Tapi kan lumayan lah dah ada…iya kan😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads