Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Annual One Piece Reread 2012

Horay!!! \(^^)/
It’s time for me to do another One Piece Marathon
🙂

I never have a set date for rereading One Piece, it just happen when I suddenly feel that ALL the un-read books on my shelf are boring. The minute I finished 20th Century Ghost by Joe Hill (review coming up soon) all I want is only reading my ALL TIME FAVORITE MANGA, One Piece by the great Oda Eiichiro.

Here’s a glimpse of how well accepted One Piece is in the world (From Wikipedia)

One Piece is currently ranked as the best-selling series of all time in manga history. It enjoys a very high readership, with more than 260 million volumes of the series sold by 2011 in Japan. One Piece has received wide critical acclaim from reviewers, primarily for its art, characterization, humor and story.

I tried not to write the same EXACT thing for each my annual reread event….but I would love to share my previous announcement for this event.

It has been 15 years ago since the first Volume of this amazing Manga was released. In Japan, it has reached volume 68, but here in Indonesia it’s only till volume 61 (Volume 62 was released recently, I’ll be visiting book shop soon)

Volume 1 was titled Romance Dawn – 冒険の夜明け (Dawn of adventure) and now 60 volumes later, at Volume 61, the title is back to Romance Dawn – For The New World. It’s a historical moment as Oda makes new kind of journey for Mugiwara Kaizoku at exactly 60 volumes later.

You can see on both cover, their similarity is striking. At first, there were only Luffy (The Captain), Zoro (The Swordman) and Nami (The Navigator)…but now, they had 8 crews (Including Luffy), Usopp (The Snipper), Sanji (The Cook), Chopper (The Doctor), Robin (The Archaeologist), Franky (The Carpenter), and Brooke (The Musician).

One Piece can be considered as dystopia because their world is different to our world. See the image on the right>>

Luffy, Zoro, Nami, Usopp and Sanji came from East Blue. They found a way to get into Grand Line.

In Grand Line, they found new crews; Chopper, Robin, Franky and Brooke. Their enemies were far more powerful than when they were still in East Blue.

Now, they are heading to New World, they will be fighting more dangerous enemies. In the end of New World, they will find the greatest treasure in the world, One Piece.

It seems that we will have another 60 volumes till Luffy becomes The Pirate King 😉

Dear Oda-Sensei…just do your best, you may make as many volumes as you like and I will still read them…you have never bored me so far. Thank you for sharing your creativity with us 🙂

I haven’t written about One Piece in almost a year, but that doesn’t mean I like less than before…I still think One Piece is the best manga/comic/graphic-novel ever made in this planet!!!

I will try to resume my summary of  their journey this year. I have too many I wanted to write and One Piece summary somehow got delayed most of the time 😦 I will do my best to at least write about One Piece once a month (but I can’t promise it)

The adventures they had been through so far:

Now…let’s begin the adventure 🙂
Boken shimashou minna!!!

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

6 comments on “Annual One Piece Reread 2012

  1. Caroline
    July 8, 2012

    You’re enthusiasm is amazing.
    I really need to read at least one of them to find out why you like it so much. I had no idea it was this successful.

    • Novroz
      July 8, 2012

      Thank you Caroline 🙂
      It sold that much in Japan…not counting world wide. There is something about One Piece that appeals to all ages. My Japanese students who are still in primary school love this series too…the series started 15 years ago and still finding young readers every year. Most of the ‘old’ readers are loyal readers…like me.

      One Piece also has haters…it’s not easy to like One Piece just by glimpsing on it, you must at least follow one full story (1 story often consist of several volumes). I remembered the first time I discover One Piece, I saw its anime only 1 episode and dislike it. then on holiday I watched about 5 episodes and completely hooked by it.

  2. fitri
    July 8, 2012

    my favorite manga ttp detektif conan mb..tp emg kl dah favorit mau dibaca brkali2 jg g bosen y..pengen bgt k jepang,ktemu aoyama gosho hehe

    • Novroz
      July 9, 2012

      Ah…sy pengen ke Jepang untuk banyak hal 😉

  3. Alice Audrey
    July 9, 2012

    So far I’ve only read a few chapters. It wasn’t to my taste.

    • Novroz
      July 9, 2012

      Not surprising Audrey 🙂
      One Piece is not something all people can like…plus you need to read a few volumes to really grasp its awesomeness

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2012 by in One Piece and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,555 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads