Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

13 Favorite Cosplay From Ennichisai (縁日祭) 2012

Last Sunday (June 1, 2012) I went to another Japanese Matsuri, it was 縁日祭 (Ennichisai)I always enjoy Japanese Matsuri because of many things, one of them is the Cosplayers.

For those who don’t know what cosplay is, it’s a Japanese term for people who likes to dress up as anime or manga or game characters. Nowadays, even the western world adopted the term. Japanese are people who like to shorten English terms, such as Convenient Store becomes Kombini. Cosplay originated from Costume Player.

Here are 13 cosplayers that I like so much in no particular order: (To Know more about Ennichisai, please see >>PAGE 2<< )

I admire this man for his shameless cosplay😉

Those are my favorite 13 cosplayers which I shared at Thirteen Thursday. I know it is supposed to be only 13, but I can’t leave this one behind…so let’s called it 13+😉

See more Thirteen Thursday here.

Don’t forget to read about Ennichisai on PAGE 2🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

34 comments on “13 Favorite Cosplay From Ennichisai (縁日祭) 2012

  1. withu
    July 5, 2012

    Jiaaahahahahaaa..Hardgay masuk nominasi best looooo..td pas baca link dTwit lo gw mqr,pakah Hadogei akan masuk,tnyata bnrn masuk.. Gw mlh mpe shock pas mnta fto brg ma die,sle gw ga nyangka die akan bpose ky gtu,jd bngung gw kudu pose gmna d… :p

    • Novroz
      July 5, 2012

      Dah pasti dia masuk donk!! hahaha berani banget deh tuh co! TOP!
      Huhahaha mau donk liat foto lo ma dia.

      • withu
        August 27, 2012

        sori ga ngeh reply dr inih…da dFB gw koq, yg album little tokyo ntu. Gw lpa lo dh liat jg kn, dh gw tag jg kye yaaaa… :p

        • Novroz
          August 28, 2012

          eh gw ditag ya? hehehe suka ga ngeh kalo di FB😉
          Ntar gw liat deh

  2. Binky
    July 5, 2012

    I didn’t know what cosplay was! So if I dressed up as Kroten. . .

    • Novroz
      July 5, 2012

      That could be considered as Cosplay too…but I have never heard a wombie dressing as turtle before😉

      • Binky
        July 6, 2012

        A turtle Wombie!

        • Papoe
          July 8, 2012

          we would love to see THAT Bink😉

  3. I did not know that there’s an event like this in Blok M, interesting. Should be great for hunting pictures. Nice!

    • Novroz
      July 7, 2012

      It’s an annual event, maybe you should come next year😉

      Another great place to do a photo hunt of things Japanese will take place on September 30…it’s Jak-Japan Matsuri in Monas, my favorite of all Japanese Matsuri at Jakarta🙂

  4. Mia Celeste
    July 5, 2012

    Oh, wow. I love costumes. Wish I could visit this convention. Thanks for sharing.

    • Novroz
      July 7, 2012

      You are welcome Mia🙂
      I wonder is there this kind of Festival in other country. Is Japanese festival as famous as Chinese festival in your country?

  5. Alice Audrey
    July 6, 2012

    So many excellent costumes. The only time I see ones like that are at the Science Fiction conventions, and Steam Punk has taken over there.

    • Novroz
      July 7, 2012

      It’s not exactly a convention Audrey…It’s a festival, just like Chinese new Year festival. But in Japanese festival, they always include both Modern and Traditional tradition. I shared the traditional ones on Page 2

      • Alice Audrey
        July 8, 2012

        Page 2? Oh! I thought I’d caught that! Off to click.

        • Alice Audrey
          July 8, 2012

          That looks like fun. I haven’t been to anything like a festival in a while.

          • Novroz
            July 9, 2012

            Do you have a Japanese festival there?
            I know you have comic-con and Chinese festival on their new year.

          • Alice Audrey
            July 13, 2012

            I’m in the hinterlands of Montana. The only festival near me that I can think of – besides the county fair or something like that – would be a Renascence Festival a couple hundred miles away. The nearest China Town (where a Chinese festival stands a chance of occurring) is about 600 miles away – three states to the West. The closest thing to a comic-con that I’ve been to would be World Con (Science Fiction convention) which I went to in Chicago when I lived in Wisconsin.

            Mind you, there are a lot of little events in town – concerts and marathons and farmers markets etc. Maybe a couple hundred people will show up. Hardly ever anyone in costume.

          • Novroz
            July 13, 2012

            WOW….all the festivals and cons are so far from you!!

            I got to see these people in costumes at least twice a year as there are 2 major Japanese festivals each year.

          • Alice Audrey
            July 16, 2012

            Yeah. If it weren’t for all the pretty mountains, I’d say I was in the middle of no where. But I’ve been places in USA that were much more “no where” than here. It’s just not very heavily populated. Then again, If I really want to spent the time and money driving I can reach the coast in a single day. I mean the Pacific. My dh did that for a concert a few years back, but the thought of it just makes me tired.

  6. dirtywithclass
    July 6, 2012

    Cool pics. I did a cosplay a while ago here http://sadpanda.us/images/941408-4AGQGH3.jpg I cosplayed as Ganta Igarashi as from Deadman Wonderland, specificly using the outfit he has in this manga cover(he’s on the left) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/4/44/Deadman_Wonderland_-_Title_Image.jpg/230px-Deadman_Wonderland_-_Title_Image.jpg

    Btw, do you count costumes from comic books and other none asian-sources as cosplay?

    • Novroz
      July 8, 2012

      Cool cosplay Julian🙂

      I never did a cosplay in my life…i just love taking pictures. Is there a Japanese Festival too at your city?

      I, myself, don’t think so…for me they are just using costume…but people of the world might think differently. For me, Cosplay is for Manga, anime and game from Japan. I know I am TOO selective here.

  7. These are so cool. Thanks for sharing.

    • Novroz
      July 8, 2012

      You’re welcome Shelley..thank you for visiting🙂

  8. Caroline
    July 8, 2012

    They are amazing. I still remember your post from last year.
    Some of the costumes are really great. I like the girl just after the shameless man. What sort of characater is she, a princess?

    • Novroz
      July 8, 2012

      To be honest…I don’t know what she is😉
      I don’t follow many anime/manga as I used too but still enjoy the cosplayers.

  9. ruth
    July 9, 2012

    This looks like a fun event Nov, kinda like comic-con for Manga readers🙂 Why didn’t you participate in this one? If you were, what would you be dressed as?

    • Novroz
      July 9, 2012

      It’s more than just for Manga Readers Ruth…it’s for people who love all things Japanese like me🙂
      I took their photos and then I was off to the traditional events which I enjoyed more. I only like taking pictures of those cosplayers because I don’t like doing it myself…I rather hunt for Japanese Food, listening to bands and Dancing the Bon-Odori.

      If I ever do a cosplay, which most likely never…but let’s just pretend…I want to be Hyde in a movie called Kagen no Tsuki🙂

  10. Ayuhime Hara
    August 14, 2012

    Gue nemu ini.. Dan a-ada foto gue..
    THAT’S ME AS NOUHIME!! O////O
    OMFG I look so damn ugly there Orz
    I’m glad you considered me as one of your Favorite Cosplays tho❤
    Thankies😀

    • Novroz
      August 15, 2012

      You are more than welcome🙂
      Nouhime? hehehe I honestly don’t know the name of those cosplayer’s characters.

  11. Pingback: 13 Pictures/Videos from Ennichisai (縁日祭) 2015 | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2012 by in Activity and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads