Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Red On White : A Prequel Short Story

It’s been a while since I feel inspired by Writing Prompt at Creative Writing Ink. Lately, the images they chose were rather boring…I couldn’t come up with anything. This week is quite interesting.

At first, I wanted to write something about love…a poem…but it didn’t go well. I guess it’s hard for me to write about love when it doesn’t connect to my own life. After looking at the picture for several minute, I remembered my old short story and somehow it can be connected.

I thought, it could be like Memento (an amazing movie by Christopher Nolan)…I can make the story backward.

Here goes my Prequel😉

Red On White

Sari was a bit surprised to see an envelope was attached with sticky tape on her front door. The envelope had no sending address and stamp, there was only two letters on it, dear Sari. Underneath her surprise, there was a thin layer of happiness. She imagined it from someone who admired her. It had the word dear before her name.

Sari took it off and brought it inside. It felt soft on her hand. She could tell that there was more than a letter inside the envelope. She threw her bag on the couch and sat on the floor. She put the envelope on the table and for the first time since she touched it, she could smell a sweet fragrance from it. She couldn’t put a name to it as her mind started drifting to romantic scene. Anonymous envelope that smelled nice could only mean one thing.

She opened it carefully. The sweet smell came rushing out to meet her nose. It was the fragrance of a fresh rose. She blushed when she saw the inside of the envelope. There were so many rose petals inside it. She took some petals out and smell it, endeavored it. She loved romantic movies and every bit of her instinct told her there’s a love letter inside it.

She poured everything inside the enveloped onto the table. It was a wonderful sight. So many rose petals and one unbroken rose. She was delighted. There was a letter amongst those petals. It was a postcard size white paper. She took it and flipped it over, but there was nothing written on it. She felt a bit disappointed.

Few days later, Sari met her best friend, Meeya. She told her about the envelope. Meeya told her to get over it, it was probably just a stupid prank. If it was a love letter, another one will follow she added. They talked about many things as most best friends did when they met.

Oh! I almost forgot! My friend told me that he is going to have a New Year party at his place and he was going to make it as a mask party. I haven’t been to a theme party in years. Do you want to come along? I am allowed to bring a date,” Meeya winked at Sari. She added, “We can hunt for cute men there. It’s better than thinking about that envelope.

Sari agreed.

They went to party with simple mask on their faces. Meeya introduced Sari to her friend and she got caught up in conversation with her friend. Sari spotted a man in Phantom of the Opera costume on her left. He was holding a single rose and was looking at her. She left Meeya and headed to Phantom man.

Hi, nice costume,” Sari said.

Thanks. You too.

Sari was so sure he smiled underneath his mask. She really liked his deep and charismatic voice. Sari liked him straight away even though she hadn’t seen his face. She imagined him as a man with sweet smile that could easily break any girl’s heart. His baby blue eyes were shining when he laughed. He offered her a drink and they left the party to find a better place to talk.

Finding a better place to talk was a grave mistake.

**********************

Why is it a grave mistake? You might have read my previous story before…or maybe you haven’t. Here is why it was a mistake for sari: Which Smile Lies Underneath.

As usual…please give me as many critiques as you can. I still have a lot to learn.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

10 comments on “Red On White : A Prequel Short Story

  1. DEZMOND
    June 29, 2012

    nice story, Novia

  2. Theresa
    June 29, 2012

    I haven’t been much inspired by the recent pics either.. wasn’t really up for writing about ones with people in them. Unfortunately this one doesn’t inspire me much either.. I’m not too fond of the colour red ..😀 Nice story though, fits the picture and I like how you connected it to the previous one!

    • Novroz
      June 29, 2012

      I think a lot of people not that inspired too by those pictures. I only see 2 or 3 people joining in in each photo.

      Thank Theresa, I know it wasn’t as thrilling as I wanted it to be…but I kinda hope I can make the story backward. maybe later I can write about how the killer spotted her.

  3. ruth
    June 30, 2012

    Awesome story! Y’know it’s funny that I thought of Phantom of the Opera too when I saw that photo. Well you know WHO I’d picture in that mask/costume😉 I haven’t had time to post about GB yet but you’ll know it when I do, he..he..

    • Novroz
      June 30, 2012

      Thank you Ruth🙂
      Well…I know who you think but I think differently of the man in that mask😉

      I have your blog on my RSS, I sure will know it😉

  4. Caroline
    July 3, 2012

    Wow, great. It’s very visual and evocative.There are only a few minor problems. It should say fragrance (you used two other words). Then you’d have to say “She blushed” not “was blushed”. And it would be “sight” not scene in “it was a wonderful scene”. I hope you don’t mind these comments.

    • Novroz
      July 3, 2012

      Thank you sooo much for the correction Caroline, I really appreciate it :hug:
      I am going to fix it now🙂

  5. Alice Audrey
    July 4, 2012

    Hey! Two related posts? That counts as a serial! 🙂

  6. Panama
    July 14, 2012

    The first letter came. Sitting on her bed, she ran a graceful finger over the envelope, breaking its seal. She gingerly rummaged around inside the envelope until her fingers touched something soft-rose petals? Pinching the item between her thumb and index finger, she pulled it out of its container, the envelope dilapidating to the ground. She turned the object in her hands, watching silently as a rose petal fell out of place and floated airily on top of its original sealing. As she bent over to pick the fallen petal up, something white inside the envelope caught her eye. Was that…a letter?

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2012 by in Short Story & Others and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads