Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Prometheus is My best 2012 movie – So Far

The last time a movie left me breathless as the light in the cinema was turned on was Inception and it took 2 years to finally feel the same sensation again…Prometheus took my breath away. Thank you Ridley Scott.

There are only 2 movies I am dying to see this year (I am excluding Cillian’s Murphy’s 2 next movies because I want to see those 2 movies because of him not because of the story), those movies Prometheus and The Hobbit. I am so happy that Prometheus lived up to my expectation…I love every minute of it!!

I saw a review with not so satisfying title on one of movie bloggers I know of, I didn’t read it because I never read any review on my most anticipated movies even though the review is praising the movie, just by reading the title I had this bit of doubt that the movie would be as great as I hope when I saw the trailer…but as the movie starts, the doubt shattered little by little. I don’t like sequel or reboot that much, but this is the first movie I so badly want to see its sequel. (I am excluding Lord of the rings, and The Hobbit, because the sequels were things that have to be done due to the book thickness).

Some said that this is the prequel of Alien, in my opinion it isn’t 100% Alien prequel. We get to see how Alien is born but that is not the real essence of the movie. Alien birth is part of it but not the center of Prometheus. If there is a sequel (I am sure there will be because the movie left us with some unanswered questions) I believe it will head to the giant man whereabouts.

Dr. Holloway (Logan Marshall-Green) and Dr. Shaw (Noomi Rapace) were searching for the beginning of human race. They found drawings from the primitive age that kept showing a man pointing to a star constellation unseen with naked eyes from earth. Few years later, they managed to find a company that would fund their finding of the star. They found a planet in that constellation.

Prometheus is the name of the ship in which a group of people consisted of scientists, an android robot, the company representative, a millionaire and the ship crew headed to the new found planet. Charlie and Liz wanted to ask their creator why they created them. They found the remnants of civilization and a dead corpse of giant man with similar DNA to human. But David, the robot, found something else…he found a strange black liquid. He tested it on one of the people. His test would soon move too uncontrollable direction.

Simply said, what they wanted to know from their creator whom they called ‘the engineers’ was not the kind of answer they wanted to hear.

I saw the 3D version and I think it was done much better than Alice in Wonderland. The 3D illusion works quite well and I really enjoy it. However, I really want to see it again in 2D cinema…but I am not sure the movie will still be around next week😦 Jakarta’s cinemas are so fast in taking this movie out of circulation just because Madagascar showed up.

Prometheus has a nice pace of story, it starts slowly but gain speed at the end and what I like the most about the story is the fact that I can’t guess where the story is heading to. How I miss this kind of movie so much!! With all the superhero movies out there with stories I can easily predict, Prometheus is indeed a wonderful change.

I love the cinematography, the action, the thrill, the story and of course the cast. Everything about Prometheus is loveable. There were some moments when I couldn’t stop gripping the side of my seat because of the thrill. Unfortunately, the scoring is not memorable at all.

Now let’s talk about the great cast involved in Prometheus. I gladly say that Noomi Rapace is the new Ripley!! She was great here (hardly unrecognizable from her performance in Girl With Dragon Tatoo). Her character, Elizabeth Shaw is not a weak woman waiting to be saved but she is also not the masculine type, she is a strong woman in the way she knows how to be strong. Michael Fassbender as the android David, although has no emotion but from time to time he has shown human-like expression. Although I am still not a fan yet but there is a possibility I might be one one day. The beautiful Charlize Theron as the bitch from the company name Vicker is not an essential character here but her existence gives value to the movie. I didn’t expect to see Guy Pearce looking so old😉 The rest of the casts are also fun to see.

Prometheus is 100% my kind of movie…do make more movies like this🙂

I have decided to make this movie as part of my World Cinema Series (Hosted by Caroline @ Beauty Is a Sleeping Cat) from United State because lately I am getting bored with US action movies and Prometheus had pulled me back in…hope to see more action movie like this comes from nowadays Hollywood.

Movie Detail:

Director: Ridley Scott
Producers: Ridley Scott, David Giler, Walter Hill
Writter : Jon Spaihts, Damon Lindelof
Starring : Noomi Rapace, Michael Fassbender, Guy Pearce, Idris Elba, Logan Marshall-Green, Charlize Theron
Music : Marc Streitenfeld
Cinematography : Dariusz Wolski
Rating:

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

35 comments on “Prometheus is My best 2012 movie – So Far

  1. Caroline
    June 15, 2012

    I’m glad this lived up to your expectations. I’m looking forward to it as well. I saw the trailer and thought I really want to watch it.
    I didn’t like Fassbender before but I must admit he grows on you. I saw him in Jane Eyre te other week and now I really look forward to seeing him.
    I always like seeing Charlize Theron. She is so beautiful.
    Thanks for a great review.

    • Novroz
      June 15, 2012

      I hope you can see it soon Caroline…I am curious with what you think because the movie creates split reaction and it doesn’t have high rating in Rotten Tomatoes.

      So far, Trailer hasn’t failed me much. When I saw Prometheus trailer, I knew I would like it.

      You don’t like Fassbender, how come? Many people seem to like him.

      Thank you Caroline🙂

  2. Sheilla (Tachikoma)
    June 15, 2012

    Is the movie really good?? I’m confused because my brother’s friend told me it was strange or maybe he didn’t understand the story. So, I was confused, should I watched it or not…?

    • Novroz
      June 15, 2012

      Well it depends on your movie preference, do you like Alien, the one with Sigourney Weaver? if you do then you will like Prometheus.

      • Sheilla (Tachikoma)
        June 15, 2012

        Ahh, I don’t think I watched that movie. T^T…My genre is more to action, if there’re war and shooting involved, the better..hehehee..

        • Novroz
          June 16, 2012

          This is also an action movie but a sci-fi action. I like Sci-fi more than simply action.
          My favorite all time movies are almost ALL sci-fi, such as The Matrix, Inception, Terminator, Alien, D-9, etc.

  3. dirtywithclass
    June 15, 2012

    Yeah, i really liked it too though i i think crowning it best movie of the year is a bit…premature.Its nothing against you Novroz, but i get annoyed when people start declaring what the best movies of the year are when the year isn’t close to finishing. Just a pet peeve of mine

    • Novroz
      June 15, 2012

      Ah!! I should have mentioned SO FAR…but still it’s only contender is The Hobbit.
      In my years as movie lover I have never ended saying best movie toward movies that are not the ones I am dying to see. I don’t know why, it just happened to be like that.

      anyway, I Am glad you also like it because this movie creates split reaction.

  4. Nekoneko
    June 15, 2012

    I went to see this one last week and….. ummmm… errrr…. Well. I didn’t absolutely hate it, but I really didn’t like it much either.

    It just had too many really glaring plot holes for me…. Things like the way trained professionals would never act like any of these characters…. taking their helmets off on an alien planet without at least the simplest of atmospheric tests for unknown pathogens…. the way they split up and made no efforts to keep tabs on each others movements… not to mention the captain failing to mention the footage of the alien massacre to either his science team or the corporation official in charge of the ship even once the bio-weapon affects one of the crew.

    What about the engineers themselves? Why manufacture a bio-weapon like that at all? To exterminate the humans on earth? According to their carbon dating this all happened 2000 years ago…. you don’t need something like this to wipe out the barbaric inhabitants of earth circa 100AD, you just whip out your ray-guns and shoot them all considering they were already there… being worshiped as gods. Why did our surviving engineer try to complete his mission? It’s been 2000 years…. if the engineers wanted earth destroyed, how does this guy not expect that it hasn’t already happened… or that his people might have changed their minds.

    I did like Noomi Rapace…. and I found Michael Fassbinder’s android intriguing but not enough to really pull this one together as anything more than a merely pretty bit of CGI inspired eye candy film-making.

    But…. I really am glad you enjoyed it Novia….. (Just don’t be mad at me for not liking it too….. )😉

    • Novroz
      June 15, 2012

      hahahaha don’t worry Miyuki…I never hate people’s opinion when it comes to preference, it is afterall depending on someone’s taste. Just like this movie I saw last week, everyone kept saying that THOR is really good, but I end up saying not bad/it’s okay.

      There are explanations to some of your plot holes, at least for me. About the engineers, I do believe it is all kept for the sequels. They took off their helmet is a bit confusing but their reading did say the air is breathable and cleaner than the earth. They didnt contact or keep tab of each other is also simple to explain, the others were to excited with what they had just found and let’s face it that they didn’t actualy have strong bonding, they just met (unlike the movie called Sunshine where the crew live together for 6months).

  5. Alice Audrey
    June 15, 2012

    My dh and I are planning on seeing this as soon as we get the chance. So glad you give it a thumbs up.

    • Novroz
      June 16, 2012

      I give it thumbs up because it’s so my kind of movie🙂

      • Alice Audrey
        June 18, 2012

        It was great! But now I’m looking for the sequel to this prequel, and I think the C-section scene went on waaaaaay too long.

        • Novroz
          June 23, 2012

          Me too!! I can’t wait for the sequel!!
          I agree with you, that part is a bit too long but fortunately the whole movie is still great.
          Glad to hear you like it too Audrey🙂

          • Alice Audrey
            July 22, 2012

            I missed the first five minutes because my dh and ds wanted snacks and I’d volunteered to get them before I realized how close to start time we were. It’s driving me nuts trying to find just that part of the movie.

          • Novroz
            July 22, 2012

            Have you tried searching it in youtube?
            I think the first part can be something essential to the sequel.

  6. TBM
    June 15, 2012

    I loved the movie Inception. I haven’t heard too much about this film but after reading your review I am adding it to my list. It has been a long time since an American action film has really piqued my curiosity.

    • Novroz
      June 16, 2012

      I should remind you that it’s not like Inception😉
      It’s sci-fi but of different subgenre to Inception. I like Alien a lot and it’s easy for me to like Prometheus.
      Same with me…I am so tired of seeing one superhero movie after another, I want another kind of action movie that involves good story.

  7. DEZMOND
    June 15, 2012

    yep, I’ve also noticed lots of mixed reviews, mostly bad ones, but there are good ones too. I’m not a fan of the ALIEN nor of the director so I will watch it for Charlize and Fassy. I am, though, quite glad that MADAGASCAR with my penguins, kicked PROMETHEUS at the box office last weekend🙂

    • Novroz
      June 16, 2012

      Ah…you need more sci-fi in your life Dezz😉

      I think I have said it so many times, digital animation rarely intrigued me…I am still into traditional animation. In fact, i still haven’t seen Madagascar 2 yet😉

  8. Castor
    June 16, 2012

    Glad you liked this Novia. I’m going to write up my review tonight but I had some issues with the movie despite the fact that it was quite entertaining and had some interesting ideas.

    • Novroz
      June 16, 2012

      I’ll be waiting for your review Cas😉
      I know I will come across reviews which didn’t like Prometheus but it’s still my favorite of this year…so far.

  9. ruth
    June 18, 2012

    I’m glad you liked it that much, Nov. I finally saw it last night and though I think it works as a sci-fi thriller, it fails in answering all the big questions it raised, it’s like the plot is just too big for the filmmaker to tackle. Still it’s not a disappointment, I just don’t think it’s the BEST film of the year for me.

    • Novroz
      June 18, 2012

      I still believe that the questions are going to be answered on the sequel.
      I think the main reason why I like it a lot because I finally can see another great sci-fi from Hollywood. lately I felt bored with whatever Hollywood had offered

  10. sanclementejedi
    June 23, 2012

    While I agree that Prometheus is a good film and should certainly be seen in IMAX 3D if possible for the spectacle. I had alot of problems with the enourmous plot holes and the decision to use crew stupidity as a plot device, repeatedly. My brother may have summed it up best when he described the crew of the Prometheus as the outer space equivalent of McHale’s Navy.

    • Novroz
      June 23, 2012

      I agree with you that the crew is a bit careless…but such crew could exist, especially when the crew didn’t come from military background. I can accept it as the plot.
      Thank you for sharing your thought Jedi🙂

      • sanclementejedi
        June 23, 2012

        Yeah I don’t think I am as forgiving as you, from taking off helmets, getting lost after you map a complex with a gps unit on your arm, treating cobra like alien life forms like kittens, opening hatches with a zombie outside and numerous other instances of lunacy, I just didn’t buy it. My local McDonalds has stricter addherence to safety protocols.

  11. adityahadi
    June 23, 2012

    This film is REALLY AWESOME !!

    i also watch the 3D version of this movie, and the film is really lived up. The philosophy is awakening, and the graphic is without mistake. I regret some people in indonesia think bad about the concept of this film, they said that this film is an illuminati’s campaign,etc … IMO, Islam never said that there is no other creation beside human, and how. What a great science fiction.

    • Novroz
      June 23, 2012

      Horay!! more fans of Prometheus🙂
      I have been reading many reviews which seemed to dislike the movie and always happy to meet another person who also love it🙂
      I never heard of such notion before…I don’t think it’s Illuminati at all. I know! I don’t believe that alien is human’s creator but I still have believe that there is possibility that another being is out there in the universe…Qoran never said we are the only ecosystem in the universe.

  12. I also loved Rapace’s performance. In fact I dedicated one post for her character. Surprisingly, Prometheus is also my best 2012 movie so far (didn’t expect that). Such a great movie.

    • Novroz
      June 23, 2012

      *high five*🙂
      I have been admiring Rapace since The Girl With Dragon tattoo…so nice to see her with different character. I can accept her as the new Ripley.

  13. Radu Ştefan RS
    July 21, 2012

    Certainly among my favorite movies of this year! The artwork by Giger is my favorite part! Also, unlike other origin stories, it’s actually as good as the original movie(s). I haven’t seen ”The Dark Knight Rises” yet, but I’m sure it will be no. 1 in my book🙂

    • Novroz
      July 21, 2012

      The original movies meaning alien?
      I think it’s different to Alien, it mentioned a bit about Alien but they are not the main issue, in my opinion.

      I haven’t seen TDKR but I don’t think it will be my number one as I don’t really like superhero movies…I am still waiting for The Hobbit to blow my mind😉

  14. Stan
    February 4, 2013

    I thought that Promethues was predictable and very disappointing when I first watched it. However since subsequent viewing it has grown on me as one of the best films of 2012 (just as blade runner grew on me – remember it was panned by critics initially). Promethues has so many symbolisms to it and it is essentially a modern day christmas story:

    1) They arrive on the planet LV-223 on the 25th of December (remember the captain decorating the Christmas tree)

    2) Shaw states she can not have children yet she miraculously has birth to a alien hybrid similar to that of Mary with Jesus.

    3) LV-223 = Leviticus 22:3 in the bible–
    “For the generations to come, if any of your descendants is
    ceremonially unclean and yet comes near the sacred offerings… that
    person must be cut off from my presence. I am the Lord.”

    This is only one of several interpretations. You also have the Greek Promethues metaphor in the film as well and many other variations and double narratives. You can watch this video if you are interested in more analysis: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u94wR0NfewE

    • Novroz
      February 4, 2013

      Hi Stan🙂
      Thank you for the explanation. I have no idea the movie has such connection. I simply enjoy it because of the story.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads