Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

It’s June…Time to List My Books

It’s June, the 6th month in a year, we can consider it as the middle of the year. I have too much sadness and excitement this past half year and those two emotions had made me too busy to read…I better get back on track now.

When I look at my bookshelf this afternoon, I realize that I have quite a few books I haven’t read yet and books I haven’t finished yet. Since it is in the middle of the year, maybe this month is the perfect month to do a little cataloging 😉

Here are the books I have read and haven’t finished … yet.

The Wordsworth Collection of Irish Ghost Stories. I haven’t finished it yet because I am taking my time to read each story on its own time. When I bought it, I knew it’ll be a book I will finish in years

Captives in Time by Malcolm Bosse.  The book is not boring, it’s not that exciting either…but the book my friend lent me a couple of weeks ago really intrigued me and made me drop this book for a while. I am still at page 50.

Hearts in Atlantis by Stephen King. I just remember that I haven’t read the last 3 short stories in this book because the second novella was too boring (my review is here). I better get back to this book before reading another King’s book.

Walking Dead by Peter Dickinson. Boriiiiiiing. I am at page 122 and I still haven’t felt that “horrifying fascinating” like the blurb said.

Dragon Tears by Dean Koontz. I heard so much good praise on this author…but this book, I drop it after 34 pages. Maybe I should try his other book or at least try to pass page 100. One day I will try continuing this book.

Dark House compiled by Gary Crew. So sorry for all the Australian authors in this book, I still haven’t finished it even after 3 years. I guess I never could read collection of shorts from many authors. It got too confusing as each author has their own style. I promise I will read at least one story after one book I have just finished and hoping to finally read them all this year.

Deeper by Jeff Long. It actually has good story base but to get to the exciting part takes too much time. I left the book at page 181. I might continue it one day.

Stained Glass Elegy by Shusaku Endo. I am not sure I want to finish this. The shorts here are too boring for me.

The Decay of The Angel by Yukio Mishima. Well this is my stupidity. I bought it without knowing that the book is the fourth book of a series book. I read few pages and got lost.

Here are the books waiting to be read.

Red Earth and Pouring Rain by Vikram Chandra. I bought this because it was on sale, I know nothing about the book. Goodreads rating: 3.78

20th Century Ghost by Joe Hill. It’s Joe Hill!! Enough said. No Goodreads rating needed.

Latitude Zero by Windsor Chorlton. I don’t anything about this book but the blurb looks okay. Goodreads rating: 3.55

Road Rage by Ruth Rendell. I bought this because of Caroline’s review. It’s a different book but same author. I am curious but haven’t started reading it yet. Goodreads rating: 3.64.

The Devil In The White City by Erik Larson. The blurb said Winner of The Edgar Award Best Fact Crime…sounds good enough for me to buy it. Goodreads rating: 3.93

Pintu Teralarang (Forbidden Door) by Sekar Ayu Asamara. It’s an Indonesian book that has been made to movie. I decided to buy it because I hacen’t seen the movie yet. Goodreads rating: 3.44

Perempuan Keumala by Endang Moerdopo. Another Indonesian book which I bought because I want to read it for August. Goodreads rating: 3.06

Firestarter by Stephen King. Do I have to say something about why I bought this book? 😉 . No Goodreads rating needed.

One Flew Over Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey. I bought this because I saw the movie ages ago. I have forgotten the story so it’ll be pretty new when I start reading this book. Goodreads rating : 4.13

The Wishing Game by Patrick Redmond. I remembered reading this review somewhere and the premise sounded good…so I bought it when I saw it. Goodreads rating: 3.91

Judge 2 by Yoshiki Tonogai. I need to find Judge 1 before I start reading this manga. I enjoyed Doubt by Tonogai sensei and curious about this one.

This is part of my long forgotten bookish meme: W.W.W Wednesday

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

What are you currently reading?

I am currently reading: Clouds of Sparrow by Takashi Matsuoka

What did you recently finish reading?

I have just finished: Blaze by Richard Bachman a.k.a Stephen King

What do you think you’ll read next?

any of the books I haven’t read yet which I have shared above 😉

So…what’s your WWW?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

51 comments on “It’s June…Time to List My Books

  1. Ellen M
    June 6, 2012

    I’d love to know what you think about the Irish ghost stories when you are done! I am enrolled in an Irish Lit class for the fall semester and I’m sure we’ll cover stories like those! Great choices 🙂

    Here’s mine for the week: http://canireadeverything.blogspot.com/2012/06/www-wednesday.html

    Happy Wednesday!

  2. le0pard13
    June 6, 2012

    Of the books I’ve by author Dean Koontz (not necessarily a lot since he’s very prolific), it’s a mixed bag. When he’s good, he’s great. When he’s not so good, he’s formulaic and I’ve abandoned what I started. My favorites of his are ‘Intensity’ (it lives up to its name), Tick Tock (something 180° from Intensity), Icebound, Hideaway, and Lightning. The Odd Thomas series are interesting, too (though, I never went beyond the third book).

    Ah, Firestarter. An interesting and unexpected novel from Stephen King from way back. It’s a good one. So, too, is one of my favorite true crime books, The Devil In The White City by Erik Larson. That one is quite chilling because it happened (I heard Johnny Depp and Leonardo DiCaprio at one time talked about in the serial murderer’s role for the film adaptation of the book). I’d be interested to learn your reaction once you’ve read these, Novroz.

    Fine post. Thanks.

    • Novroz
      June 6, 2012

      Thank you for your great inputs Mike. I will look for those books by Dean Koontz. I really want to like his books because he is said to be another great horror author…and I really need more horror writers other than the King dynasty (Stephen King and Joe Hill).

      I have seen Firestarter but haven’t read it yet, I am looking to reading it 🙂
      Yaiii…so good to hear that the book I randomly bought is one of your favorites…I sure hope I will like it as much as you. You made me want to read it soon….maybe it should be my next read after Clouds of Sparrow 😉

      Thank you Mike :hug:

  3. Valentina
    June 6, 2012

    Blaze is really cool , hope you’re enjoying it 🙂

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/06/www-wednesday.html

    • Novroz
      June 7, 2012

      I love Blaze 🙂
      He is a fun character.

  4. ruth
    June 7, 2012

    Wow, quite ambitious you are Nov. I couldn’t even finish ONE darn book, Anna Karenina. I sort of gave up on it, but I’m hoping to start reading The Great Gatsby soon, hopefully that’ll be easier to digest.

    • Novroz
      June 7, 2012

      Hahaha…don’t feel bad about it Ruth, many can’t finish Anna Karenina because the book is TOO scarily thick.
      I want to read The Great Gatsby too but not sure when…maybe I’ll check the movie first before reading it 😉

      • ruth
        June 7, 2012

        Well I got it on my Kindle so I wasn’t intimidated by its volume, but the language and the super long Russian names are really hard to discern, so many characters and too much going on. I also find the parallel story kind of distracting, I just want to read what happens to Anna and Vronsky, ahah. Anyway, maybe Tolstoy just too smart for my little brain.

        • Novroz
          June 7, 2012

          Some people I know said that it was too boring. It certainly is not my kind of book…so I might never end up reading it 😉
          Hahaha that makes the two of us…those classics are too smart for my little adventurous brain. I like a book with thrill in it

  5. Chris
    June 7, 2012

    I listened to Dragon Tears on audio book. I thought it was decent.

    Here’s my WWW Wednesday.

    • Novroz
      June 7, 2012

      Maybe if I can pass over 100pages I could appreciate it more. Thank you for sharing your thought on the book Chris 🙂

  6. The Well Read Fish
    June 7, 2012

    Devil in the White City is great. I love when non-fiction reads like fiction. I like your taste in books.
    http://wellreadfish.blogspot.com/2012/06/www-wednesday.html

    • Novroz
      June 7, 2012

      Thank you for more good recommendation on that book Fishy 🙂
      I am now certain that I will read that book after my current book

  7. I haven’t heard of any of these books, but I hope you enjoy them all!

    You can find my WWW post here http://www.peekabook.it/2012/06/www-wednesdays-june-06.html

    Happy reading! 🙂

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it/

    • Novroz
      June 7, 2012

      I know at least two of them I will enjoy as I am a big fan of Stephen King 🙂
      I hope you enjoy your reads too, Valentina

  8. Alice Audrey
    June 7, 2012

    I’ve only got three books going right now, one of which I think I probably won’t finish. Even the author said in the forward that it was a mess.

    • Novroz
      June 7, 2012

      A book where the author said it was a mess?
      What book is that Audrey?

      • Alice Audrey
        June 11, 2012

        The Nirvana Blues by John Nichols. I mentioned it on my blog a while back, did a teaser from it. In the forward he talked about how hard it was to do a second book and how things didn’t go as he’d expected and turned into a mess. I thought he meant the rough draft was a mess, but I’m up to page 44, and can’t decide if it’s interesting enough to keep going or not. Sometimes books like this will catch hold of me and get easier to read later on. So far this one has not.

        • Novroz
          June 11, 2012

          Wow…if he thinks it was a mess…why did he even bother publishing it? It made me curious.
          I remember Blaze by King, he mentioned that the book was sort of abandon for years till he published it…It wasn’t his best but still it was a fun book.

          I found a lot of books like your Nirvana Blues…but usually it was my fault, I was the one who got bored not the author’s fault 😉

          • Alice Audrey
            June 15, 2012

            I used to think it was my fault, but I’ve come back to the same book years later and found it still just as boring. There was one book I put down when I was almost three quarters of the way through – just gave up and walked away. Turns out my mother stopped on exactly the same page of the same book. It was because of a particularly nasty plot turn and the feeling that things would never get better.

  9. Theresa
    June 7, 2012

    Ahh Ghost Stories, I’m quite fascinated in ghost stories myself. When I was a small child I used to have bad dreams of ghosts, never saw them, just felt them. In waking life, when we used to visit my mother’s parents house (in Ireland, actually!), I used to be terrified of the upstairs landing, and I never knew why. But it was the same feeling that I had in my ghost dreams. I used to be so scared of going upstairs and I had to run across the landing into the room! And that’s my little “ghostly” story, I’ve never experienced ghosts directly, only this strange “feeling”. I might look for this Irish Ghost Stories book you have there!

    • Novroz
      June 8, 2012

      I also have that strange feeling too, Theresa. My brother often sees them but I can only feel them, Thank God for that.
      I always love ghost stories, in fact I feel that I need to write more ghost stories in my won story 😉

      Ah!1 I didn’t know you are an Irish…I have a fascination over Ireland and Irish

      • Theresa
        June 10, 2012

        I’m also glad I can’t see them! I haven’t had the feeling in a long time.. must not be in any haunted areas much!
        I’m actually half Irish, half British.. born in England 🙂 Ireland is a lovely place though! Visited many times, with a lot of family over there.

        • Novroz
          June 10, 2012

          The feeling came to me not only in haunted area. I like telling ghost stories to my students…when I did that, something always came and listened to my stories too. I can feel the present of that something as clear as new student joining the story party.

          Oh…You come from 2 countries I’d love to visit one day 🙂 (not sure when that day comes), I started liking Ireland after I admire Cillian Murphy and I always admire England.

          • Theresa
            June 21, 2012

            That’s interesting with the story telling 😀 Yes England is a nice place too, well the countryside is at least! Where are you from?

          • Novroz
            June 22, 2012

            I am from Indonesia 🙂

  10. Caroline
    June 7, 2012

    I like the books you are planning on reading much better that those you started. I don’t like Koontz at all.
    I’ve read Ken Kesey, very tragic.
    I hope you like the Ruth Rendell. I’ll read another of her books very soon. I really like her.

    • Novroz
      June 9, 2012

      Why don’t you like Koontz?
      I am trying to like him and John Saul as people keep on saying they are also good horror authors and I need more horror authors in my life 😉
      I hope so too…but I am not sure when I am going to read it. I have made up my mind to read The Devil next.

      • Caroline
        June 9, 2012

        I found him really boring.

        • Novroz
          June 9, 2012

          Which one have you read? I will avoid that one.

          • Caroline
            June 9, 2012

            Darkest Evening of the Year.

          • Novroz
            June 9, 2012

            Thanks…I will keep this title in mind.

  11. TBM
    June 7, 2012

    I read Devil in the White City years ago and loved it. I liked the author’s approach and I love history and he shared a lot of tidbits that I didn’t know. I hope you like it. Good luck with the next batch of books.

    • Novroz
      June 9, 2012

      Thank you for more positive respond on Devil in The White City 🙂
      I am not positive to read the book after Clouds of Sparrow…I almost finish the book and eager to read Devil. Hoping I will like it like everyone else.

  12. DEZMOND
    June 7, 2012

    I’m not reading anything, since I’m busy translating Mitch Winehouse’s biography of his daughter Amy Winehouse 🙂 It will be out worldwide later this summer

    • Novroz
      June 8, 2012

      Good luck with the translation job Dezz 🙂
      I am not a biography reader but I bet her fans are waiting for the book

  13. Androgoth
    June 8, 2012

    This is a fine collection of books Miss. Novia
    and I see that Stephen King is amongst your
    choices too so how wickedly enjoyable a read
    these are going to be 🙂

    Have a funtastic friday and a superb weekend 😉

    Androgoth XXx

    • Novroz
      June 9, 2012

      Thank you so much Mr. Andro 🙂
      Stephen King is always amongst my read…I love his works so much and he is my number one favorite author. I also have one by his son in my to be read list.

      Have a nice weekend to you too Andro 🙂

  14. widala09
    June 9, 2012

    Have you read any book by Neil Gaiman? He’s one of my favorite write. Just finished American Gods, interesting story…

    • Novroz
      June 9, 2012

      No I haven’t read any by him even though I have heard his name so often.
      What is American Gods about?

      • widala09
        June 11, 2012

        People came to america since thousands of years ago, and they brought with them their ancient gods, mythical creatures because they believe in them, they worshipped them. But, these gods are getting weaker, because people no longer remember them, let alone whorshipped them. They were slowly replaced by modern gods: electricity, media,internet, etc. And as much as the ancient gods don’t
        like the modern gods the feelings
        are mutual. A war is starting behind
        the curtain, and a man named Shadow is .stuck in the middle of it because of his past…

        • Novroz
          June 11, 2012

          Sounds interesting! Is this a non-fiction or fiction? it sounds like a non-fiction tho

          • widala09
            June 12, 2012

            It is a fiction alright…and one thing I like about Gaiman is his sense of humour…
            I’ve never read anything by Joe Hill, is he any good? You seem to like his work…
            Anyway, I found Blaze at an import book sale! Sooo lucky,since I’ve been wanting to read this book but can’t seem to find anywhere…

          • Novroz
            June 12, 2012

            Oh…I should try finding his work then. Thank you for the recommendation 🙂

            i have only read 1 book by him, now reading the second one. I thought II will read Devil in white city because everyone who commented here said it was good but when I saw the letters are soooo small, I changed my mind and read 20th Century Ghost by Hill. The book won an award, so it must be good. At first, my interest on him is because he is the son of my number one favorite actor, Stephen King…fortunately he is a good writer too.

            I also bought Blaze on sale 😉

  15. Castor
    June 10, 2012

    Damn, you read a lot! I should get back into reading but I just have so little time 😦

    • Novroz
      June 11, 2012

      Not THAT a lot…I can only manage 20 to 30 books a year. I read on the bus, Cas…other than that, just like you I have no time either.
      Work really takes my reading time away…but I try reading one page at a time 😉
      Try finding time to read Cas 🙂

  16. sundryandco
    June 11, 2012

    Irish literature! Hooray!

    I love short story books too. I love to to have a few different types to hand, so that there is a story to suit every day, depending on what type of mood I am in 🙂

    At the moment, I am reading Cranford and watching the box set of Lark Rise to Candleford. I am half way through Wuthering Heights but I keep putting it down and reading other books, as it is such a dark tale! I started it last year. It’s excellent though. I visited the Bronte Parsonage recently and it was amazing to see. Do you read the Brontes, Jane Austen or Gaskella?

    • Novroz
      June 11, 2012

      Hi Roisin…long time no see 🙂
      I miss your present here :hug:

      When I saw the book, I immediately bought it…it combines two things I like, Ghost and Ireland.

      Thank you for sharing what you are reading…I haven’t read those books. Ah I know for sure I will never be able to finish Wuthering Heights…just not my type of read.

      This is the first time I heard Brontes and Gaskella, what are their genre?
      Jane Austen’s books are not the kind I usually read…I never have patience to read romance..sorry.

  17. Dan
    June 13, 2012

    King’s Hearts in Atlantis has never really appealed. I might get round to reading it one day but your brief comments don’t exactly thrill me! 🙂

    • Novroz
      June 14, 2012

      There are 5 stories in Heart in Atlantis, Dan.
      The first one is great, I really like it..but the second one is terribly boring.
      The first story is the base for the movie

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads