Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

I Just Want To Jump (A Short Story on Cillian Murphy)

I am not a fan of fanfic (fan fiction), I don’t read one nor write one. Those stories don’t attract me at all.

…but, few days ago I read a review by Caroline at Beauty Is A Sleeping Cat about a book called Dreams of Dreams by Antonio Tabucchi. It was a book about dream of famous people. She gave me idea to write one using my favorite author or actor. I thought it was a great idea.

Here’s a quote from her review:

“Antonio Tabucchi’s Sogni di sogni or Dreams of Dreams is a collection of sketches or short pieces, circling around the life and work of different authors, painters, musicians and other famous people. Arranged in chronological order they all tell of an imaginary dream of the person to whom the story is dedicated”

I didn’t realize that the idea soon changed into an outline after seeing this image from Creative Writing Ink. It was image from last week’s writing prompt.

This story has 2 purposes, for creative writing and for Cillian Murphy Week 🙂

This is his dream…at least how I imagine it to be 😉

Remember…it is supposed to be a dream and dream tends to shift to another direction without any sign before hand.

I Just Want To Jump

Cillian Murphy found himself lost in a dark place, so dark he couldn’t even see his hand when he waved it in front of his eyes. He rotated his body trying to find a bit of light to guide him. He saw one tiny dot of light the size of a needle far to his left. Murphy thought that it was better than nothing. He walked toward the light. It felt so far.

Without him able to explain it, he was suddenly out of the dark and was surrounded by blinding light. He blinked once and twice to adjust his eyes. His light blue eyes finally able to perceive the image that spread before his eyes. He saw a vast field with no one to be seen. He was completely alone.

The sound of growling cat surprised him but he couldn’t see any cat around him. The sound of a mouse squeaking out of fear was heard afterward and he couldn’t find the mouse. Something hit his head. He looked up and saw an extraordinary view. It was breathtaking and unbelievable. The cat and the mouse were playing catch in the sky. They both had wings. But that was not all, the sky was filled with all many kind of animals and people with wings. No one was standing on the ground like him.

“What the…?” Murphy was mesmerized.

He tried looking at his back and found no wings.

“Poor guy! You don’t have wings to fly” a voice so familiar came out of nowhere .Murphy searched for the sound and found a man with white face and hideous grin spread from one cheek to another. He was flying upside down.

“Heath?” asked Murphy.

“Who? I don’t know anyone by that name!” He then laughed so loud. His face was suddenly right in front of Murphy’s face and whispered “I am Joker!”

“Ah! I see.”

“You don’t seem surprise seeing me?”

“Well I have seen you before.”

“You have?” Joker looked puzzled.

“Why are you here? And why everyone…no everything have wings?” Murphy answered his question with questions.

“Because this is the land of dreamers! This is where everyone who wants to be adored by people around the world. They enjoy being worshiped like Gods. They enjoy having their life shared in public…they are celebrities!” Joker laugh so hard as if he had just made the funniest joke. “You see up there Justin Bieber is trying to fly as high as he can thinking that all girls love him. And look to your right, those are Indonesian celebrities” Joker got close to Murphy and whispered “they wanted the whole country to see their wedding by showing it Live on TV. Pfff…as if they are from royal family who adored by their people.” Joker sneered at them.

Murphy only smiled listening to Joker.

“But…hold on!!” Joker looked at him intently, “You are also a celebrity!! I remember seeing you somewhere!” He squinted at Murphy. “Yes!! You ARE a celebrity! Wonder why you don’t have wings”

“I am not a celebrity”

“Yes you are!!”

“My work is acting and I love acting but I am not a celebrity. I don’t want to be up there in the sky and look down at people. I don’t want the world to know everything about my family. I DON’T WANT TO BE ADORED.” He put emphasize on his last six words.

“huahahahahahaha…..” Joker laughed his guts out. He was rolling in the sky. “Now…who is the Joker here? An actor who doesn’t want to be adored…what a joke!”

“I love the art of acting, that’s all. I only want to do my job as best I can. I am not interested in superstardom. All I want to do is jump from one interesting character to another interesting character. I just want to jump not fly” Murphy followed with words with a satisfied smile on his face.

“You’re a silly actor!!” replied Joker. He then waved his hand and left the silly actor alone.

Murphy looked up and saw many faces he knew well in his line of work…they are who they want to be, thought Murphy, but I don’t belong there.

He saw a fence and decided to jump over it.

His jump took him back to a dark place he came before. He closed his eyes. When he opened his eyes he saw a very familiar place, his own bed room. He saw Yvonne sleeping peacefully next to him. He smiled contentedly knowing he had his family to himself and he can still do his work professionally.  He brushed Yvonne’s hair and went back to sleep.

********************************

This is my first time trying to write about dream, I am not sure it’s a good one…SO, please give me as many critiques and advices as you can…I really need it.

In case you have never seen Yvonne, here is a photo of Cillian and Yvonne. I found the photo through browsing long time ago and couldn’t remember the link anymore, so sorry I can’t give the credit to the rightful owner of this photo.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

22 comments on “I Just Want To Jump (A Short Story on Cillian Murphy)

  1. Pingback: Monthly (Cillian) Murphy Special ~ Broken and Other News « Polychrome Interest

  2. Caroline
    May 21, 2012

    This is amazing, not only is it very well done but it is absolutely in Tabucchi’s spirit, really well done. I like it very much. I think even Cillian Murphy would like it a lot. 🙂

    • Novroz
      May 22, 2012

      Thank you so much, Caroline….coming from someone who had read Tabucci means a lot.
      I honestly thought this isn’t as good as I expected it to be, not surreal enough. It was hard to imagine a dream. But you saying like that really makes me happy, thank you 🙂

      Maybe one day he finds this and smile reading it, I have tried to capture his personality as best I could.

  3. Caroline
    May 21, 2012

    And thanks for the link. My manners…

    • Novroz
      May 22, 2012

      You’re welcome and thank you for the idea 🙂

  4. animewookie
    May 21, 2012

    I love the ending 😀

    • Novroz
      May 22, 2012

      Thank you Kel 🙂
      The ending is the main thing I want to share in the story, I am trying to let everyone knows about Cillian

  5. ruth
    May 22, 2012

    Ooooh, I didn’t know Cillian has a baby, what’s her/his name (can’t tell from that picture). Great short story Nov, that picture could very well be Cillian, too 🙂

    • Novroz
      May 22, 2012

      Actually, he has 2 sons. From last year’s interview, he said they are 4 and 2 year old, so probably now have already become 5 and 3 year old. I forgot the youngest one’s name, it is Aaron or something else very common name. I remember the first one because he has Irish name, it’s Malachy (he pronouced his name MALAKI, but not so sure about the spelling)

      Thank you Ruth 🙂

      • ruth
        May 22, 2012

        He just seems so young to have 2 kids! 😀 But Cillian has one of those faces that don’t seem to age. Nice to hear he’s a family man, Nov.

        • Novroz
          May 23, 2012

          Well…he is going to be 36 soon Ruth 😉
          He is 100% family man, that’s what I like about him, he never let press take advantages of his family, all photos of him and his family are always from paparazzi.
          When he performed misterman at New York, he brought his family along, but no pictures found of him and his family posing for reporters.

  6. Castor
    May 23, 2012

    Nice short story Novia! Love the allegory at play here 😀

    • Novroz
      May 23, 2012

      Thank you Cas.
      You know, I have to search allegory using google to know the meaning 😉

  7. Pingback: Monthly Murphy « Polychrome Interest

  8. Alice Audrey
    May 24, 2012

    It raises interesting questions of celebrity and acting. I like the use of wings and flying as a dream device for attracting attention, and Joker’s comment about the couple getting married acting as if they are royalty.

    • Novroz
      May 24, 2012

      I never interested with actors that are more famous with their personal life than their performance.

      Yeah those Indonesian celebrities were just too over the top, they made me sick. Wedding is supposed to be something personal, not something for the whole world to see.

  9. Pingback: Happy 36th Birthday, Cillian Murphy « Polychrome Interest

  10. si_ulil
    May 28, 2012

    I burst out laughing the second that Indonesian-celebrities part came into view! It was so random, but SO true! LOL!

    It was so creative of you to use wings as a metaphor! And to come up with such a story from a simple picture, too! Job very well done, miss! There were some unnecessary words here and there (IMHO), but what the hell. The same kind of mistakes happen to me a lot 😛
    And you’re right. True artists (specially young ones!) shouldn’t be ‘flying’ because they’d be complacent and lose the eager to learn and grow. The ending touched my heart. It was so sweet. You know I have a soft spot for those things 🙂

    • Novroz
      May 28, 2012

      Well…I just think that wedding Live on TV is extremely silly!! I want to puke seeing it…and that’s why I included it here 😉

      Thank you for the compliments 🙂
      I wonder which ones are the unnecessary words? I can’t filter it by myself (I guess that’s why authors need editors 😉 )…will you share it with me?

      Hear hear!! May all those young artist be as humble as the older ones.

  11. nurul
    May 29, 2012

    Hiaa,seleb yg nikahannya ditayangin dtipi,penting bangeeeet hahaha
    A very nice story…he’s not a celebrity but a proper actor 🙂 one thing I respect about him…

    • Novroz
      May 30, 2012

      Agree!!! I think his humbleness added my adoration over him…he is super talented, very kind and humble

  12. Pingback: Happy 38th Birthday Cillian Murphy | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2012 by in Cillian Murphy, Short Story & Others and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,524 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads