Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Sunday Post: Culture – A Competition in Padang

Sony dsc-w120

Those who never been to my turtle’s blog might not know that I enjoy taking photo, of course in that blog most photos are of my baby turtles. My ‘weapon’ is only a simple pocket digital camera…I still don’t have that SLR camera….I want to have it one day but right now it is not possible.

Moving on now…I don’t want to linger with my hope of having SLR camera😉 For the love of photography, I have been joining Wordless Wednesday for months, but of course it is mostly my baby turtles, you can see their Wordless Wednesday collection here. Last Sunday, when I visited TBM’s blog, 50 Year Project, I discover a new photo challenge in Jake Spinter’s SUNDAY POST.

This week’s theme is Culture, a perfect theme for photos I took in Padang last January.

What do you think this picture is?

Let’s take a closer look!

A much closer look

Yup!! Those are Kites!! But they are not small kites, they are big kites.

Those photos were taken when I visited Padang for my mom’s Tagak Batu procession. My dad took me to his brother’s (my uncle) house and on the way there we saw a group of people doing an interesting competition.

The sky was filled with colorful dots, my simple camera couldn’t get great images bout of those distant dots….but I manage to capture what it despite the not so good quality. We got closer to the crowd and saw how huge the kites were. Here in Jakarta, where I live, I have never seen such big kites…there are a lot of small kites but never the big ones. In Padang, these big kites are very common.

The competition they held was to see the kite that flew straight and high. The ones that flew side ways were not the ones to be considered as the winner.

It was so fun watching those kites up in the air when the moon was already shone but the sun hadn’t left us yet.

Here is an edited photo of the kites

See other bloggers’ posts here.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

23 comments on “Sunday Post: Culture – A Competition in Padang

  1. jakesprinter
    April 8, 2012

    What a great Culture you have there my friend , I Love Kite thanks for sharing🙂

    • Novroz
      April 8, 2012

      Thank you for visiting and reading, Jake🙂

  2. Caroline
    April 8, 2012

    I like kites as well. Inever see any here. It’s not very windy.

    • Novroz
      April 9, 2012

      you never seen it where you live??
      is it only where you live or all over Europe? Kite is very famous in Asia

      • Caroline
        April 9, 2012

        No, only in Switzeland I’ve never seen it. I think it exists in other countries.

  3. That is a lovely tradition. Kite flying is beautiful, doesn’t take great athletic skill, and is social for the kite-flyers and the observers of the event. Thanks for the post. I enjoyed it.

    Ronnie

    • Novroz
      April 9, 2012

      Thank you Ronnie🙂
      Here in Jakarta, the competition is to cut down other people’s kite…maybe you would like to know that too😉

      For me, flying a kite need skill…I have tried once and never succed. In this picture they have to keep the straight above their head no matter where the wind blows

  4. Alice Audrey
    April 9, 2012

    That last shot is fantastic! The sky has such depth.

    I had a DSLR for about a year. I looooooooved that camera. Now I’m making do with a little point-and-shoot digital, and finding it very frustrating. I can’t seem to get it to focus decently! Even with a tripod, my close shots are mostly messed up. It’s frustrating.

    • Novroz
      April 9, 2012

      Ah…the last shot was edited with photoshop a bit😉 my camera couldn’t capture such depth from a great distance.

      I dont much about DSLR, but a friend told me that using macro lens helps a lo lot for close up shot. I bet it’s fun to experiment with DSLR.

      • Alice Audrey
        April 19, 2012

        The thing I miss the most right now is manual focus. I don’t have that on my little digital.

        • Novroz
          April 19, 2012

          My digital camera also doesn’t have manual focus…but I get by with it😉
          I really need to save up and buy DSLR

  5. DEZMOND
    April 9, 2012

    that looks lovely!

  6. viviankirkfield
    April 9, 2012

    Awesome photos!!!! We’ve always loved kites…when my husband and I were first married (over 44 years ago) we used to fly kites every weekend. I’ve also done kite-making with my children when they were young…but none of them came close to these amazing kites you show in your pictures.🙂

    • Novroz
      April 9, 2012

      Thank you Vivian🙂
      Wow…you have married that long!! amazing..I believe my parents would be together that long too if God didn’t separate them. I am always impress with long marriage. Playing kite is fun but I never had the ability to fly one…I don’t know why😦

  7. Pingback: Sunday Post: Culture…What Do Children Really Need? « Positive Parental Participation

  8. Castor
    April 9, 2012

    I’m disappointed… I thought these were aliens spaceships scouting the Earth for the upcoming invasion.

    • Novroz
      April 9, 2012

      You watch too many movies Cas😉

  9. From The Pews
    April 10, 2012

    Awesome! I would love to fly one of those kites!!

  10. Colline
    April 11, 2012

    What an amazing sight to see all those kites in the sky. Certainly unlike the small kite I have flown with my children🙂

    • Novroz
      April 11, 2012

      It was indeed an amazing sight…that was the first time I saw it, I was like more than 1 kilometer from the site but still can see the shape of the kites clearly…when I got closer, it looked much better.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2012 by in Indonesia Banget, Things I Need to Say and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,507 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads