Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Laughing at The Brits : The IT Crowd, Two Smoking Barrels & Burke and Hare.

A hilarious TV Series, a gangster a la Guy Richie and a humorous serial killer… there is only one thing I can say here: The British sure knows how to make people laugh.

…although, one is not that funny😉

The IT Crowd

Episodes: 24 episodes in 4 series (6 episodes per series)
Creator: Graham Linehan
Staring: Chris O’Dowd, Richard Ayoade, Katherine Parkinson, Noel Fielding, Chris Morris, Matt Berry.
Rating:

The last time I was laughing so joyfully when watching a TV Series was when I watched Sherlock and Mr. Bean, those two series are from England…and it seemed that England knows how to make TV Series that are hilarious without forcing things too much.

When my friend knew that I love movies from England, she lent me Spaced (because I like the trio Frost-Pegg-Wright) and The IT Crowd (because she thought I would love it). I couldn’t see Spaced because the file was broken, then I chose to see The IT Crowd…and I LOVE IT!!

Set in the London offices of the fictional Reynholm Industries, the show revolves around the three staff members of its IT department: a geeky genius named Maurice Moss (Richard Ayoade), the workshy Roy Trenneman (Chris O’Dowd), and Jen Barber (Katherine Parkinson), the department head/”Relationship Manager”, who knows nothing about IT. The show also focuses on the bosses of Reynholm Industries: Denholm Reynholm (Chris Morris) and his son Douglas (Matt Berry). (Quoted from wikipedia)

The chemistry between these three people is really great, they rhyme with each other.

The jokes in this sitcom are actually guessable but they way they actors did it was so funny that even though I know what’s going to happen it is still hilarious. My favorite episode is when they went to a gay musical play called Gay…no, they didn’t laugh at gay people. The joke was on Roy and Moss. I watched that episode in the middle of the night because I couldn’t stop watching it even though I knew I had to work the next morning, I couldn’t laugh freely because it would disturb my sleeping father, so I have to suppressed the sound of my laugh and ended up hurting my stomach. That episode is hilarious.

There is another member who was recurring in season 1 and 2 and appeared 1 episode in season 4, he is Richmond Avenal (Noel Fielding). I love his character, he used to be a successful businessman but when he heard Cradle of Filth (a Goth band) he became a gloomy Goth and was sent to the server room. He never left his room behind the red door until Jen let him out. Richmond and his oddity is so fun to watch.

Because of The IT Crowd, I am now craving for more British Sitcom…torrentz here I come!!! And writing this makes me want to watch the series all over again, I miss seeing Roy, Moss, Jen and Richmond.

Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels

Director: Guy Ritchie
Starring: Jason Statham, Dexter Fletcher, Jason Flemyng, Nick Moran, Sting, Vinnie Jones, P.H. Morriarty
Rating:

I watched this movie on January but never had to write the review. I really like Rock n Rolla and been meaning to watch Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels for long. In my opinion, this one is funnier and more entertaining than Rock n Rolla…but I like them both.

Four best friends, Bacon (Jason Statham), Soap (Dexter Fletcher), Tom (Jason Flemyng) and Eddy (Nick Moran) put together £100.000 so that Eddy can play in a card game held by Harry ‘The Hatchet’ Lonsdale. Harry knew about Eddy’s ability in card, to win the game he had to cheat. In the end, Eddy owed him £500.000 and Eddy had to pay him back within a week. It was impossible for them to earn that much money in a week, so they came up with a fast solution which was robbing their neighbor. This action led from one incident to another incident. On the other hand, Harry wanted two antique shotguns that somehow landed on those four guys.

The twist and turn on this movie is really interesting and funny. It’s not the same kind of funny as The IT Crowd I have mentioned earlier, but it is still funny in its own way. After watching this movie, I wanted to watch Snatch despite the fact it has Brad Pitt in it😉

Burke and Hare

Director: John Landis
Staring: Andy Serkis, Simon Pegg, Tom Wilkinson, Isla Fisher, Jessica Hynes
Rating:

Burke and Hare is a British black comedy based on two real murderers named Burke and Hare (they killed 17 people from November 1827 to October 1828). Burke and Hare were two Irishmen trying hard to make a living in Scotland. At that time, medical science needed a lot of bodies to learn more about human anatomy but there weren’t many corpses to be dissected. Burke (Simon Pegg) and Hare (Andy Serkis) heard that Dr. Knox (Tom Wilkinson) was willing to pay large amount of money for a corpse. They brought the corpse of a man died naturally to Dr. Knox. Hare was blinded by that money and wanted to get another corpse no matter what. Burke refused to do so until she met Ginny who had a dream to an all women play of Shakespeare’s Macbeth. Burke wanted to sponsor her play. Then they began their killing spree.

Burke and Hare is not as funny as I expected it to be, it tries hard to be funny but fails. I like a comedy with good flow without trying hard to be funny. However, I am not going to say that the comedy is completely off. Few of the jokes are laughable. What I noticed more in this movie is the fact that Andy Serkis is a much better actor than Simon Pegg, Serkis did a great Irish accent (at least in my Irish-fan ears) while Pegg was accent-less. I did realize they were both Irish until they say it, I though Hare was the only Irish because I recognize the accent straight away.

In short, Burke and Hare is a movie I will only watch once in a lifetime despite the fact I like both actors a lot.

**************************

I leave you with The IT Crowd trailer🙂

Have you watched any of those movies/ TV Series? and can you please recommend me another comedy from England🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

25 comments on “Laughing at The Brits : The IT Crowd, Two Smoking Barrels & Burke and Hare.

  1. TBM
    February 27, 2012

    I requested the It Crowd and I’m excited to see it!

    • Novroz
      February 28, 2012

      Horay…let me know what you think after you have seen it🙂

  2. KatiesCameraBlog
    February 27, 2012

    Oh, thanks for this. I’ve not seen the IT Crowd, so I’ll have to check that one out.🙂

    • Novroz
      February 28, 2012

      Be sure to do that Katie🙂
      I know you will like it…it’s really funny.

  3. Max
    February 27, 2012

    I’m glad they never remade IT Crowd in america. That would’ve been a disaster. I’ve watched like 6 or 7 episodes and I’m a big fan of what I’ve seen. If you want to try another British sitcom I’ll suggest ‘Spaced’

    • Novroz
      February 28, 2012

      I read about that in wikipedia and just like you I am glad it never happened. I wonder why the don’t they just show it in their TVchannel rather than remaking it *shaking my head*

      I have SPACED but the file is corrupted, I need to search new file in torrentz. I am looking forward to see it.

  4. le0pard13
    February 28, 2012

    Oooh, Netflix is streaming The IT Crowd. Thanks for the heads up, Novroz.

    • Novroz
      February 28, 2012

      You are more than welcome, Mike🙂
      I hope you will like it as much as I do. I haven’t had this much fun with sitcom since Friends.

  5. dirtywithclass
    February 28, 2012

    I think i need to give Rock n Rolla a rewatch, as i i was far younger when i saw it. it came off pretentious to me, but my move tastes have diversified since then so i want to give it a chance again

    • Novroz
      February 28, 2012

      I am just like you, I need to give Godfather another change because I saw that movie when I was more into action movies.

      Rock n Rolla is fun but not as fun as Lock Stock…but I still enjoy that movie.

  6. Scott Lawlor
    February 28, 2012

    Novia!!!! I am super happy you enjoy the IT Crowd! Such a brilliant and funny comedy. I love it so much.

    Burke and Hare not so much

    • Novroz
      February 28, 2012

      Ow glad to hear you love that show too Scott😀

      I am glad my friend told me about it, otherwise I might miss such funny show like this. I know I will rewatch it one day.

      Yeah me too…Burke and Hare’s comedy is lost on me.

  7. Caroline
    February 29, 2012

    I like Lock, Stock a lot. And now I really want to watch the IT Crowd. I hadn’t heard of it. It does sound hilarious.

    • Novroz
      March 1, 2012

      Me too…lock stock is so fun to watch. I really enjoy it.

      I hope you can find The IT Crowd…small jokes but hilarious. I love it.

  8. Nick
    February 29, 2012

    I love The IT Crowd! It had been a long time since I laughed so much watching a TV show. I watched it maybe a few months back on Netflix. I actually have a new vocal character that I came up with while trying to do an impression of Richmond. And then I got one of my students hooked on it, too.

    I really dug Lock Stock when I watched it about a year ago. I haven’t seen it since, but I wouldn’t mind to. It was a lot of fun.

    • Novroz
      March 1, 2012

      Yaii…another IT Crowd fans🙂
      I didn’t know the show has so much fans, I never heard of it till my friend told me about it…and I really surprised me of how funny it was. Just like you, I haven’t laugh like that for a long time.

      I think I will see Lock Stock again one day, but before that I want to see Snatch first

  9. Dan
    March 8, 2012

    It is a shame Burke and Hare wasn’t more enjoyable for you. I did enjoy it but I can understand your reaction to it. For John Landis, who hasn’t made a good film in a very long time, it was a welcome return to some kind of form. I liked it because I like him as a director but the film isn’t without its flaws. I reviewed it here: http://www.top10films.co.uk/archives/8227

    • Novroz
      March 8, 2012

      I honestly expected to like B&H because I love both actors…but it went flat.

      I am glad you like it more than I did, Dan. Thank you for the link, I will read it now🙂

  10. purisuka
    March 10, 2012

    aaah dari dulu penasaran sama The IT Crowd (sejak nonton The Big Bang Theory jadi tertarik sama film/serial yang berbau geek), cuma karena selalu mendahulukan dorama jadi sampe sekarang belum pernah kesampaian buat nyari dan nonton serial ini😀
    Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels udah punya filmnya dari setahun yang lalu kayaknya, tapi sampe sekarang belum ditonton juga. setelah baca reviewnya jadi tumbuh minat buat nyoba nonton😀

    • Novroz
      March 11, 2012

      Wah kl sy justru kebalikannya, gara2 nntn The IT Crowd jadi pgn nntn the big bang theory.

      Ayo ayo di tntn Lock Stocknya…seru loh. Awal2 mgkn trasa garing tp lama2 makin seru dah kocak. emang sih klucuannya bukan kayak lucunya sitcom…beda tipe tp ttp lucu

  11. Pingback: Black Books – another fun British Sit-Com « Polychrome Interest

  12. Pingback: Never Mind The Buzzcocks – Prepare to laugh!!! « Polychrome Interest

  13. Pingback: Introducing The Hilarious Noel Fielding (My Newest Obsession) « Polychrome Interest

  14. Pingback: Richard Ayoade’s Connection: The Watch & Bunny and The Bull. « Polychrome Interest

  15. Pingback: Happy Birthday Mr. Noel Fielding :) | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads