Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

World Cinema Series #3 : Amazing Grace

World Cinema Series is a movie challenge hosted by Caroline of Beauty is a Sleeping Cat.

The idea is to watch as many movies by countries across the world, not only Hollywood (but I will also include one Hollywood movie that I found very interesting).

My first country was Sweden, my second was Japan.

You can read more reviews in Carolines’s Page.

I also like to thank Ruth at Flixchatter for telling me about this movie🙂

Third Country: England

My movie preference sure had gradually changed. If I had watched Amazing Grace in the year of its released date, I would most likely say it was a boring movie. I am grateful that I discover this movie in 2012 where my preference had changed into a better taste (thank you Cillian for changing my movie preferences, a fellow Cillian Murphy fans also fells the same as I am, her word is here). Amazing Grace is indeed amazing.

It is true, I am not going to deny it, that the reason for seeing this movie in the first place was because I am a Cumberbitch, I am Benedict Cumberbatch’s fan…however, as I have already said so many times whenever I reviewed Cillian Murphy’s movies, I never ended up liking a movie because of the actors. Amazing Grace had delivered fantastic acting performances and strong characters to be loved and adored. The movie is considered as biopic of William Wilberforce, a man I had never heard before. I didn’t even know that the movie is based on true story and of an issue which is so dear to me, slavery.

Humans are equal, God never created any race to be far more superior as others. We are all the same flesh and blood. In the eyes of The God, what makes people better is how well they serve and obey God. Because I believe in that notion so badly, I despise any kind of discrimination…and slavery is the worst kind of discrimination. William Wilberforce was trying his best to abolish the slave trade.

I wish I could remember all their names.
My 20,000 ghosts, they all had names, beautiful African names.
We’d call them with just grunts, noises. We were apes, they were human.
John Newton

I had to see the movie twice to completely grasp the whole story, there were too much political talk that I don’t understand, second viewing made me understand the matter more…and second viewing also made me love the movie more.

William Wilberforce (Ioan Gruffudd) was retreating out of London to cure his disease. He was a member of British parliament with a great ability to deliver arguments. His friend William Pitt (Benedict Cumberbatch) wanted him in his government when he finally became Prime Minister. William Pitt did become a Prime Minister at a very young age, 24 years of age) and he completely supported Wilberforce’s effort to abolish slave trade.  Wilberforce’s effort was voted down as France became more threatening to Britain.

William Wilberforce: No one of our age has ever taken power.
William Pitt: Which is why we’re too young to realize certain things are impossible. Which is why we will do them anyway

In his retreat, he met a fascinating woman who soon became his wife. She, somehow, influenced him to fight back what he had started. He and his fellow fighters decided to use a new strategy to achieve their goal. They asked Pitt to help them with their plan. However, their Abolition Slave Trade Act was finally approved after Pitt had died.

William Pitt: As your Prime Minister, I urge you caution
William Wilberforce: And as my friend?
William Pitt: To hell with caution.

In later years, Wilberforce supported the campaign for the complete abolition of slavery, and continued his involvement after 1826, when he resigned from Parliament because of his failing health. That campaign led to the Slavery Abolition Act 1833, which abolished slavery in most of the British Empire; Wilberforce died just three days after hearing that the passage of the Act through Parliament was assured. He was buried in Westminster Abbey, close to his friend William Pitt.

The movie was closed with this wonderful quote by Lord Charles Fox:

When people speak of great men, they think of men like Napoleon – men of violence. Rarely do they think of peaceful men. But contrast the reception they will receive when they return home from their battles. Napoleon will arrive in pomp and in power, a man who’s achieved the very summit of earthly ambition. And yet his dreams will be haunted by the oppressions of war. William Wilberforce, however, will return to his family, lay his head on his pillow and remember: the slave trade is no more.

[Wilberforce receives a standing ovation from the entire House and the Gallery]

What I love the most about this movie is how great all the actors were, each had shown great performance in presenting strong characters, especially performance by Ioan Gruffudd and Benedict Cumberbatch. We can see clearly fire inside Wilberforce that slowly being extinguished by war against France and by his weakening health…but they the fire lit up again. And in Pitt, we can see the transformation of a young ambitious man into a calmer older man. The make up was also great, they had to changed Wilberforce and Pitt from 2 young men into 2 middle-aged men, they didn’t overdo the make up. The flow of the story is also enjoyable, not a trace of boredom to be found. I really like this movie and will see it again in the future.

Movie Detail

Title: Amazing Grace
Director: Michael Apted
Producer: Terrence Malick, Patricia Heaton, David Hunt, Edward R. Pressman, Ken Wales
Staring: Ioan Gruffudd, Benedict Cumberbatch, Romola Garai , Albert Finney, Michael Gambon
Screenplay: Steven Knight
Released: 16 September 2006 (Toronto), 23 February 2007 (US wide), 23 March 2007 (UK)
Rating: 

Even though I did not focus my review on Benedict…but it is still his movie and I couldn’t help not to share this Benedict special in this post. (Sorry Gruffudd…I like the supporting actor more😉 )

My Introduction post and Movies I will watch and had watched can be found here.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

24 comments on “World Cinema Series #3 : Amazing Grace

  1. DEZMOND
    February 13, 2012

    I think I should watch this one, you know I love period flicks🙂 and I’m always in the mood for some Ioan🙂

    • Novroz
      February 13, 2012

      I think you should Dezz. The movie is beautiful with good message.
      This my first time seeing Ioan.

  2. TBM
    February 13, 2012

    I’ll have to add this one to my list. I think I’ll like it!

    • Novroz
      February 13, 2012

      Let me know if you had watched it. It is a lovely movie.

  3. kelly
    February 13, 2012

    Soooo love that quote😉

    • Novroz
      February 13, 2012

      Which quote is that, Kel?
      I put 4 quotes there, I love all four of them.
      The first shows that Africans are no different than the whites.
      The second shows how young men could also be as good as the old ones.
      The third shows that friends will always support you.
      and the last one shows that man of heart should be remembered more than man of war.

      • kelly
        February 14, 2012

        This one😀 “When people speak of great men, they think of men like Napoleon – men of violence. Rarely do they think of peaceful men. But contrast the reception they will receive when they return home from their battles. Napoleon will arrive in pomp and in power, a man who’s achieved the very summit of earthly ambition. And yet his dreams will be haunted by the oppressions of war. William Wilberforce, however, will return to his family, lay his head on his pillow and remember: the slave trade is no more.” I just love it. It’s one I keep thinking about you know?

        • Novroz
          February 14, 2012

          that one is indeed the best…I also love it. I wish there are more people like Wilberforce

  4. rtm
    February 14, 2012

    Yay, I’m glad you saw this movie, Nov. It’s such a well-done period drama, the cast is fantastic and it’s such an inspiring story. I think for me, the one that stood out the most is Albert Finney as John Newton. Amazing Grace is my favorite Christian hymn, too, I love that they use that as the title here. Glad you include the quotes, this film is so full of them!

    • Novroz
      February 14, 2012

      Thank you for telling me about this movie Ruth. I love it, the acting and the story are so well done.

      I also like his performance, him and Gambon. In fact, everyone delivered great performance…even the minor one such as the butler.
      I agree, the movie is full of wonderful quotes.

  5. Caroline
    February 14, 2012

    I really want to watch this. So many great actors. I didn’t know Youssou N’Dour was also an actor, I thought he was only a singer. Thanks a lot for this review.

    • Novroz
      February 14, 2012

      So many great actors that deliver great performances. I enjoy it a lot, love to know what you think of this movie.

      I didn’t know he is a singer…well, I never heard of him till I watched Amazing Grace.

      • Caroline
        February 15, 2012
        • Caroline
          February 15, 2012

          Oops-I attached another version. The original is better. Just delete it.

          • Novroz
            February 15, 2012

            I will delete it once I have seen it…and I have to do that when I turn on my PC (I am using my mobilephone now)

  6. Scott Lawlor
    February 14, 2012

    Not really my bag this type of film, but nice to see your man in there!!

    Great write up as ever Novia

    • Novroz
      February 14, 2012

      hahaha my man…he is my current affair😉
      Thank you Scott.

      • Ronan
        February 15, 2012

        Are you cheating on Cillian Novia?😉

        • Novroz
          February 16, 2012

          Yes I am😉
          it’s so hard not to be tempted by that sexy Britishman with unusual name. But Cillian is still number one in my heart😉

  7. Ronan
    February 15, 2012

    I gave my little sister a copy of Amazing Grace for her last birthday though I haven’t seen it myself. Don’t know why but something just makes me not want to watch it. I’m sure I would enjoy if I did see it but it’s just ine of those films that seems to be a stuggle to watch. Why do films like take more of an effort to watch than something like Jurassic Park or Ghostbusters?🙂

  8. Novroz
    February 16, 2012

    Well… I used to be like you Ronan. The more action it has the better it gets, but not anymore now.

    I like seeing great story with great acting now. Action is no longer in my top list but it doesn’t mean I wont watch it anymore.

  9. Pingback: World Cinema Series – Wrap up and Winner Announcement « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

  10. Pingback: Benedict Cumberbatch in Star Trek Into Darkness | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2012 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads