Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

World Cinema Series #1 : Låt den rätte komma in (Let The Right One In)

World Cinema Series is a movie challenge hosted by Caroline of Beauty is a Sleeping Cat.

The idea is to watch as many movies by countries across the world, not only Hollywood (but I will also include one Hollywood movie that I found very interesting).

I was planning to write at least one or two movie review a month but last month belonged to Sherlock and L’Arc~en~Ciel and almost no room for movie review. I will make it up by writing 3 movie reviews this month.

You can read more reviews in Carolines’s Page or Richard’s Foreign Film Festivals.

Let start this fun series🙂

First Country: Sweden

Låt den rätte komma in – let the Right One In

First trip, I visited Sweden to take a look at a movie based on a book with the same title, Låt den rätte komma in . I first heard about it from my friend, she said that there is a remake of this movie and she wanted to see the original. The only good thing about remake is knowing that there is a great movie out there to be discovered. I searched and searched everywhere … and all I could find was the remake, Let Me In. I finally downloaded the movie because I couldn’t find the DVD everywhere.

Låt den rätte komma in tells the story of a boy named Oskar who was always bullied by his school mates, Erik and his friends. Oskar dreamed of paying them back by using knife, but all he did was pretending to fight against them in front of a tree near his house. One day, an old man and a little girl moved nest door to Oskar. They were quite peculiar. The old man was shown killing a man and drained his blood. He was going to give that blood to the little girl.

The girl approached Oskar and introduced herself as Eli. They became close day by day, Oskar even asked her to be his girlfriend, but Eli told him that she is not a girl. She didn’t tell him that she was a vampire. Eli became Oskar’s strength to finally fight against his bullies. Sooner or later, Eli’s identity would be discovered by Oskar and other people, what would Oskar do about it?

A friend twitted about Let Me In by saying that it was the children version of Twilight, I don’t know about Let Me In but I know for sure that Låt den rätte komma in is not even close to Twilight. Låt den rätte komma in gave the sense of chill that usually possessed by vampire movie, no silly romantic thingy attached. We got to see Oskar liking Eli little by little and Eli becoming more and more human after knowing Oskar but trust me it’s not a corny kind of love, it’s a kind of unconditional friendship.

At first, I admit that I was a bit bored because the movie was too slow and too quiet…but as the story evolved, I became more interested and glued to the television set. The quietness and the slowness of the movie gave became the perfect situation for such vampire movie. Both children were great, Kåre Hedebrant played the quirky Oskar brilliantly and Lina Leandersson was perfect as the genderless Eli. Her appearance was neither a girl nor a boy. I would love to see more movies by those kids.

After seeing the movie, I wanted to read the book so bad. There is some missing information in the movie that I am so sure exist in the book. I wonder what kind of atmosphere we can find in the book. Unfortunately, I haven’t seen it in the book store yet😦 but I will keep on looking for it.

Movie Detail

Title: Låt den rätte komma in (Let The Right One In)
Director: Tomas Alfredson
Staring: Kåre Hedebrant, Lina Leandersson, Per Ragnar
Screenplay: John Ajvide Lindqvist
Released Dates: 26 January 2008 (Gothenburg Film Festival), 24 October 2008 (Sweden)
Rating:

My Introduction post and Movies I will watch and had watched can be found here.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

22 comments on “World Cinema Series #1 : Låt den rätte komma in (Let The Right One In)

  1. Pingback: World Cinema Series « Polychrome Interest

  2. Fariz
    February 5, 2012

    Gramedia sells the book, Miss. But in Indonesian.

    • Novroz
      February 5, 2012

      I know…but I if I can manage,I like to read the English translation. Indonesian translators always translated foreign books from the English version which mean the books underwent two translations…and that is not a good thing.

  3. Caroline
    February 6, 2012

    Thanks for a great review, Nov. I thought the movie was very haunting, very different but quite depressing. I’m not tempted to watch the remake that’s for sure. I was also in he mood to read the book. I’ve heard it is very good.
    I really like your idea with the map and the arrow.

    • Novroz
      February 6, 2012

      You are than welcome Caroline, it’s a fun idea you come up with. I have the second review ready to be published…I am enjoying this trips a lot.

      The idea with the map and the arrow came after I realized that I don’t even know where Sweden is on our world map (I am terrible in geography)…So, I figure it’ll be fun to find an empty map and mark where the country is.

      Yup, it’s a depressing movie. The ending is also not a 100% happy one. My cowork had seen both movies and she said that the remake is exactly the same. It might be easier for you to find the book compared to me. I might end up picking up that Indonesian translation if I couldn’t find the English one.

  4. TBM
    February 6, 2012

    I haven’t heard of this one. I like movies that slowly suck me into the plot.

    • Novroz
      February 6, 2012

      You also haven’t heard of the remake?
      That’s a good way to describe the movie, it slowly sucks us. It is honestly boring for the first few minutes but it becomes better bit by bit.

      I hope you will like it too once you’ve seen it

  5. le0pard13
    February 6, 2012

    Fine review of this one. I also enjoyed the American remake (which was a surprise), but the original is so atmospheric and great. Thanks, Novroz.

    • Novroz
      February 6, 2012

      Mad Hatter suggested me to see the remake, but I just don’t feel like any remake at this time. I am glad you enjoy the remake Mike🙂

      Thank you for reading and the compliment Mike.

  6. Scott Lawlor
    February 6, 2012

    Excellent job Novia!!

    I have only seen the remake… but I so want to see this one.. so much it almost hurts!! Maybe this week….thanks

    • Novroz
      February 8, 2012

      Thank you Scott.
      So bad it hurts? Just like me when I was searching for the movie.
      I would love to read your opinion on both original and remake after you see the original, Scott

  7. Castor
    February 7, 2012

    Good movie but I thought the pace was a bit too slow and for a horror-themed movie, it’s not scary at all. Glad you liked it!

    • Novroz
      February 8, 2012

      Yup,the pace is really slow but I think it gives the suspenseful atmosphere more with its slowness.
      Ha!! I never find vampire movies as scary Cas…for me ghost movie is scary, other than that I consider them as thriller and suspense movies.
      Thank you Cas🙂

  8. Bikram
    February 8, 2012

    Nope not seen it at all .. so what country you visiting next then

    • Novroz
      February 8, 2012

      I was just about to answer you but you have seen my next country😉

  9. Pingback: World Cinema Series #2: 十三人の刺客 (13 Assassins) « Polychrome Interest

  10. Gnoe (@graasland)
    February 15, 2012

    Ha! The original ‘Let the Right One In’ is high on my to-watch list (and has been ever since it came out). I recently heard I can borrow it from my Dutch-Danish friend🙂 That’s good news as I want to watch it soon because Mr Gnoe and I started a course on Scandinavian cinema last night! The first two lessons (of 6) are about Sweden: yesterday was completely dedicated to Ingmar Bergman because of his HUGE influence on Scandinavian (and European) cinema. Next time we’ll discuss the people coming after him.

    • Novroz
      February 15, 2012

      I do hope you can see the movie soon.

      A course on Scandinavian Cinema? that sounds fun, I have only seen 2 movies from Sweden so far and I enjoyed both.

      Which countries are considered Scandinavian apart from Sweden?

  11. Richard
    February 19, 2012

    Sorry for the delay in getting over here, Novroz, but I enjoyed your review of this at last. I thought the special effects in this movie were really cheesy, but I loved the performance of the two young actors–completely convincing! I also liked the camerawork and the hints about how depressing it must have been for a country to exist in the shadow of the USSR in that time period. Just saw another film by the same director yesterday–the mainstream Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy–and I thought it was really good: he seems to know how to get the best out of his actors even in wildly different types of films. Anyway, thanks for the post!

  12. Pingback: World Cinema Series – Wrap up and Winner Announcement « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads