Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Magical March Challenge

Reading Challenge of 2012 stars now!!

Last year, I didn’t finish a lot of reading challenges. I was daring myself to do some challenges that went through the whole year. It took some tracking to keep up which challenge I managed to complete…didn’t do well tho.

This year, I am changing my challenge plan. I am ONLY going to do challenges that span through several months…from last year’s challenges, I found interesting reviews and met interesting bloggers through short period challenges instead of long period challenges.

My first challenge of 2012 is the one I found through Judith’s blog, it is called Magical March hosted by Roof Beam Reader.

Here are the details:

Purpose: 

To read and review works of Fantasy, Science-Fiction, or Magical Realism (for my literary folks).

Rules regarding reading material:

  1. You must read only “new” books – meaning, no re-reads are allowed.  Books for other challenges can be cross-used for this one, but you must read the book and review it in the month of March (previously completed books for other challenges do not qualify).
  2. You must link up each book review to a separate Mister Linky, which will be available on March 5th (once registrations close).
  3. Challengers must post on their blog an “Announcement” post, indicating they are participating in this challenge and which level they hope to attain. One completer from each “Class” will be randomly selected to win the corresponding prize for that level.
  4. Any Fantasy, Science Fiction, or Magical Realism books will qualify.  This means you can read Young Adult, Dystopian, Steampunk, or Alternative Histories.

 The Levels:

Magician’s Class:              1-2 Books Read & Reviewed       1 Book $10 or Less
Sorcerer’s Class:               3-5 Books Read & Reviewed       1 Book $12 or Less
Wizard’s Class:                  6-7 Books Read & Reviewed       1 Book $15 or Less
Grand Merlin Class:         8+ Books Read & Reviewed         1+  Book(s) $20 or Less

Because I am a slow reader, I will be in Magician’s Class

Both books I have chosen for this challenge are series. I love both first series a lot. I have been meaning to read the next series since months ago but never quite got to it. March  will be the perfect time.

My first book is A Beautiful Melody by Nicholas Jobe

This is the second book of his Fairy Tale Trilogy. The first book was called The Most Wonderful Fairy Tale In The World.

Here’s a glimpse of the first book taken from my previous review:

The story was centered on these three teenagers; Clover Lane, Georgia and Al Turnkey. Clover Lane was born to make other people around her lucky. When she joined gymnastic, all her friends could perform splendidly. Basically, if she was around, even the worst ballerina can perform like professional ballerina. Clover was very cheerful, she always thought that everyone was nice. Clover and Avalon are my most favorite characters in the book. Georgia and Al Turnkey were not as happy as Clover. The Turnkey blamed all their bad luck on Al. Fortunately, ever though they weren’t blood related, Al and Georgia were pretty close. These three teens never imagined that they will get themselves involved in a battle between fairy tales characters.

Looking forward to know what happened to these fairy tale creatures.

Note: A Beautiful Melody has not been printed yet, the cover is something UI did with photoshop. Nick is a nice movie blogger who happens to be a  talented writer. I hope he will get his publishing chance anytime soon.

My second book is Moribito: Guardian of The Darkness by Nahoko Uehashi

This is the second book of Moribito series. The first book was called 精霊の守り人 (Moribito – Guardian of Spirit).

A glimpse from  Moribito – Guardian of The Spirit:

Moribito series centered on the journey of a woman named Balsa. She was a hired guardian. She used short spear. Her ability in protecting someone and her skill in fighting were well known. In Seirei no Moribito (Guardian of the Spirit), Balsa visited New Yogo, a city built around 200 years ago. It was said that the Mikado (the term for Emperor) was Gods descendants. The first Mikado of New Yogo, Torugaru, was admired as the man who slaughtered the water spirit. But legends on Torugaru weren’t correct, as always politic played a big part in altering real history.

In this second book, Balsa had to solve the mystery of his father’s death.

I am so looking forward to read both books and enjoy the challenge🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

11 comments on “Magical March Challenge

  1. Caroline
    February 1, 2012

    It sounds like a tempting challenge but since I want to join Once Upon a Time and RIP it would be too much for me.
    Have fun. I hope you will like your books.

    • Novroz
      February 2, 2012

      I am planning to join Once Upon and Rip too…those are my kind of read, so I have plenty to read for those challenges🙂

      I love both first books, I have confidence that I will like the sequel too.

  2. TBM
    February 1, 2012

    Enjoy the books. They do sound magical!

    • Novroz
      February 2, 2012

      I will🙂 I want to read them now, but I have to wait till March.

  3. Roof Beam Reader
    February 1, 2012

    Hi, There!

    So glad you’re joining us for the Magical March Challenge Event! I haven’t heard of either of these books, so I look forward to reading your reviews and seeing what they’re all about!

    • Novroz
      February 2, 2012

      Thank you for hosting it RBR🙂
      I hope you’ll like my review and end up reading the book as well😉
      I do hope they are as good as the first series

  4. DEZMOND
    February 3, 2012

    sounds like interesting books! I’m also in the magic currently, translating ERAGON for readers in my country🙂

    • Novroz
      February 3, 2012

      Translating Eragon, now? hehe isn’t that a bit too late?
      I have seen my language translated version before the movie was out.
      Well, have fun translating Dezz🙂

  5. Nick
    February 20, 2012

    Nice! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it. By the way, the first book is called “The Most Wonderful Fairy Tale.”

    • Novroz
      February 20, 2012

      I will let you know when I have reviewed it🙂

      Ah!! I had wonderful in my mind but it seems that my hand typed a different word. I will fix it when I use my computer. Thank you Nick.

  6. Pingback: Indonesia banget #19: Malin Kundang « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2012 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads