Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Naked Traveler 3

Finally…after all the craziness over Sherlock that took all the time I have for that amazing miniseries from BBC…I finally have time to write other things😉

Let’s start with a book review🙂

I read so little Indonesian Book last year…well less than little, it was only one thin book. As an Indonesian, I should be ashamed of myself. Therefore, I started this year with an Indonesian Book.

This is the third book by Trinity, a female backpacker form Indonesia. She had been travelling around the world most of her life and this is her third book. She shared all her experience in her blog and then her posts are turned into book. I never read her book because I prefer reading it in a form of book.

In this third book, we could see more about Indonesia and other Asian countries. This book revealed, mostly, about the difficulty of being a traveler who is getting older, the uncomfortable journey in a group tour with other Indonesian people and the bad side of countries she had visited.

She said that the more she visited other countries the more she loved her country, Indonesia. She said that there are a lot of beautiful islands and cities in Indonesia but the problem is the government don’t pay full attention in making those places into tourism place…it is always Bali, and Bali. She wondered why? Most rich Indonesian people also believe that visiting other countries will make them look cooler than just visiting places in their own country…and that is one of the reasons why Indonesian tourism is not as good as Thailand.

Try to love your country is her number one message here. If you live in Jakarta, you often complain about the traffic (I know I am one of the complainer), but try living in Delhi…the traffic is hellish. If we complain about some restrooms that are dirty, try living in mainland China where most people seemed to forget how to use flush. Indonesian isn’t that bad.

She mentioned a lot of beautiful places in Indonesia. I would love to visit those places but since I have other hobbies (I am not an addict traveler), I have to divide the money well😉

I can’t write all about her adventure is, but I can easily said this third book is as fun as her other previous books.

Book Details:

Title: The Naked Traveler
Author: Trinity
Language: Indonesia
Pages: 324 pages
Publisher: Penerbit b-first
Rating:

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

21 comments on “The Naked Traveler 3

  1. TBM
    January 25, 2012

    I agree. The more I travel, the more I appreciate where I came from. It doesn’t mean that I don’t want to travel since I love it, but it opens my eyes and shows me how so many other people in this world live.

    • Novroz
      January 25, 2012

      Ah!! That is exactly what Trinity said.
      You know TBM, I think you should write a book like her😉

      • TBM
        January 25, 2012

        That is an idea…I’ll have to ponder that.

        • Novroz
          January 25, 2012

          You can start like her, writing the event on her blog. You have been sharing the photo,maybe you can add some unique stories behind it.
          She didn’t start with book, a publishing company noticed her blog and decided to publish it.

          • TBM
            January 25, 2012

            That is a really good idea…I’ll have to seriously consider sharing more stories. I have a few. Maybe I should read her book as well as a starting point.

          • Novroz
            January 25, 2012

            Unfortunately,the book hasn’t been translated yet…but here is her blog, also in Indonesian, but the translation by google wasn’t that bad>

            Looking forward to read you stories😉

          • TBM
            February 13, 2012

            I took your advice and I hope to share some of my travel stories on my blog. I posted one today. Thanks!

          • Novroz
            February 13, 2012

            I enjoy reading it TBM. keep it coming🙂

  2. DEZMOND
    January 25, 2012

    so nobody is actually naked?🙂

    • Novroz
      January 25, 2012

      Hahaha…no one is Naked Dezz!!😉
      The Naked Traveler means she delivered everything as it is, both bad and good side of her travels

  3. TBM
    January 25, 2012

    Thanks for her blog!

  4. Andina
    January 26, 2012

    I read this book last year. Her casual, everyday language is cool. A lot of knowledge from other countries is great to read. I find her tips on spending time waiting for delay hours in airport is useful. But some funny stories in it weren’t too funny for me. Nice review, Novroz! She’s something, isn’t she?

    • Novroz
      January 28, 2012

      one of many things that I like from her book is eventhough she speaks casually but she never used gue. I speak using gue everyday but I dont like reading it in a book. It doesn’t sound literally to me.

      yup, she is something!!! I wish I can follow her footsteps

  5. Caroline
    January 27, 2012

    This sounds interesting. Thanks for adding the blog link as well, like TBM, I’m curious. I used to travel a lot but because of my cats it’s difficult. I need someone to look after them and that’s always so complicated.

    • Novroz
      January 28, 2012

      Thank you Caroline and you’re welcome🙂
      i hope the translated version didn’t make you hard to understand…well, we know how google translate ability in translating😉
      I completely understand your feeling…pets are our joy but sometimes they can also put us in difficult position.

  6. Deboshree
    January 28, 2012

    Ah, a travel book. Seems like an interesting series N.

    • Novroz
      January 28, 2012

      It is interesting🙂
      She tells her stories in a fun way

  7. Val
    January 30, 2012

    I suspect a lot of people don’t appreciate their own country – and they don’t think to look around it for its beauty. Myself I like places here where I live (in Wales, UK) and while I know there is beauty in other parts of our planet, I’ve not yet exhausted what’s here. (And I like to be places where there is nature without too many humans!)🙂

    I don’t know if you got my email but I deleted Absurd Old Bird blog and now use my art blog instead (the one linked to my name). Haven’t seen you in a while – hope you’re well.

    • Novroz
      February 1, 2012

      Hi val…long time no see. I am fine, thank you for asking but a lot has been going on. I love your art blog,they are very beautiful.

      I suspect the same too, beside that some people think that able to travel abroad give them a sense of wealthy therefore they chose to go abroad than exploring their own country.

  8. Pingback: My First Lion in the Wild | 50 Year Project

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2012 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads