Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Sherlock – The Hounds of Baskerville

vlcsnap-2014-01-05-06h33m04s80

This second episode is not as strong as the first one (A Scandal in Belgravia), kinda similar with the first series where The Blind Banker was not as good as A Study in Pink…but The Hounds of Baskerville is still better than The Blind Banker.

The story might not as great as A Scandal in Belgravia but it still has great dialogue. One of the things that I love so much about this series is the dialogue. I have never seen a series with so many interesting dialogues to quote. It’s great how the writers could keep writing such amazing dialogue since the first episode of first series.

I am going to share some interesting dialogues here …but of course it won’t spoil the story 😉

The story began with the memory of Henry Knight who witnessed her father’s death. He remembered that his father was attacked by a beast. Sherlock who was bored with no case to solve and no cigarette to smoke accepted the case just because Henry said something that clicked to his head. Henry claimed that there was a gigantic hound and that hound killed his father 20 years ago.

Sherlock: I’ll take the case.
John: Sorry, what?
Sherlock: Thank you for bringing this to my attention. It’s very promising.
John: No no no. Sorry, what? A minute ago footprints were boring, and now they’re promising?
Sherlock: It has nothing to do with the footprints. As ever, John, you weren’t listening.

Their investigation started from Baskerville, a military base protected with landmine and tight security. But things started to get interesting when Both Sherlock and Henry saw the hound in Dewer’s Hollow. Sherlock doubted himself for seeing such thing…and this is where I stop 🙂

Basically, the story was about solving a 20 year old murder. I actually have the book but haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet…so, I can compare it to the story in the book. But in my memory (I read the translation long time ago), Dr. Mortimer was a male, but here Mortimer was a female.

As usual, it is so fun seeing the annoying and arrogant Sherlock with the normal John teaming up together. Their chemistry is getting better every episode. I always wonder how Benedict was able to memorize very long sentences and delivered it so fast that I often needed second viewing to catch up to everything he said. Apart from his expression and body language, that extra long dialogue is the other thing I admire about Benedict’s version of Sherlock.

This is my favorite scenes in this second episode: (I think this is so sweet)

Then followed with this when John just walked away ignoring Sherlock 😉

Sherlock: John? John! You are amazing, you are fantastic!
Joh: Yes, alright, don’t overdo it.
Sherlock: You’ll never be the most luminous of people, but as a conductor of light, you’re unbeatable!
John: Cheers. What?
Sherlock: Some people who aren’t geniuses have an amazing ability to stimulate it in others.
John: Hang on, you were saying sorry a minute ago, don’t spoil it. Go on, what have I done that’s so bloody stimulating?

It’s so nice to see them together…they seemed like real best friend.

The reason I like A Scandal more than the Hound is because A Scandal has more emotion involved in the story while The Hound is simply about solving the case, fortunately we got to see the two of them getting closer than ever.

The Reinchenbach Fall will be reviewed soon 🙂
Too bad this amazing miniseries only has 3 episodes per series…I WANT MORE!!!!

Miniseries Detail:

Title: A Scandal in Belgravia (#2.2)
Staring: Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, Una Stubbs,  Mark Gatiss, Rupert Graves, Russell Tovey
Writer: Mark Gatiss
Director: Paul McGuigan
Air Date: January 8, 2012
Rating:

I will share 2 trailers here:

Related Posts: 

  1. A Study in Pink
  2. The Blind Banker
  3. The Great Game
  4. A Scandal in Belgravia

See more Screenshots on page 2 (Be Careful!!! Contain Spoilers!!)

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

23 comments on “Sherlock – The Hounds of Baskerville

  1. KatiesCameraBlog
    January 19, 2012

    Oh, I love Sherlock! Great review. I think these series are just so much fun. 🙂

    • Novroz
      January 19, 2012

      Thank you Katie 🙂
      ow…if you love Sherloc, you REALLY have to see this series!! This 21st century Sherlock is amazing.

  2. TBM
    January 19, 2012

    I haven’t seen this yet. I’ll have to check them out!

    • Novroz
      January 19, 2012

      Do check it TBM!! you are after all living in England 😉
      It’s a great show.

  3. Scott Lawlor
    January 19, 2012

    Great write up Novia. I am loving this season. I have the final episode to watch on my planner. But i am saving it for a special night!!

    • Novroz
      January 19, 2012

      Thank you Scott 🙂
      ME TOO!!! I think I like this second series a bit more than the first one.

      ow you would love the last episode! I know I am. But do pay extra attention to it bcause Moffat left a clue there 😉
      My review of The Fall is scheduled 4 days from today.

  4. Castor
    January 20, 2012

    I really need to check out Sherlock. But so little time 😦

    • Novroz
      January 20, 2012

      Find a time Cas 😉
      It worth every second of your time….well at least it is for me

  5. Caroline
    January 20, 2012

    Of the older Sherlock Holmes movies the Hounds of the Baskerville is my favourite. But that story as such isn’t that great it’s more how they filmed it, very eerie.
    I need to start watching soon.

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2012

      I haven’t seen the movie, as far as I can remember, and I will reread the book soon…but I guarantee you it would be different to the old movie. It has no eerieness at all. They made it fit to nowadays science.

      I’d love to know your opinion on Sherlock after you’ve seen it.
      I am now rewatching all episodes to get a good grip to write my last review.

  6. Fariz
    January 21, 2012

    I just started watching this series, Miss, and I already got myself hooked from the very first episode!!! And yess, too bad they only make 3 episodes per series.

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2012

      horay ~(o.o~)(~o.o)~ *dancing* in my opinion, it is impossible Not to get hooked with this series. The way they keep Sherlock as he was in the book and yet manage to make him modernized is really amazing. I am SO GLAD you like it too.

      Because of this series, I have become Benedict fan since last year.

      aha!! that is the only bad thing about this series….not enough episode!! but Moffat said there will be 3rd series 🙂 *impatiently waiting for it*

  7. Dan
    January 22, 2012

    I liked this episode. I loved the on location scenes of the southern British countryside. I missed episode 1 so it is interesting you say you prefer that one. I’ll have to check it out.

    • Novroz
      January 22, 2012

      Ow yes…the location is beautiful in this episode.It was Devon…where Muse came from 😉
      I like the first one because it has more emotion involved. Have you seen the third one Dan?

  8. rtm
    January 22, 2012

    Sounds like another awesome episode, Nov! I totally understand your fascination w/ Sherlock and Benedict, I can’t wait to catch up on this series.

    • Novroz
      January 22, 2012

      I can’t wait to know your opinion on this second series 🙂
      I even postponing my Monthly Murphy due to my love toward Sherlock.

      • rtm
        January 24, 2012

        Well as you can tell, I haven’t been blogging about Gerry for some time now as I’d rather post pics of Gregory 😀 😀

        • Novroz
          January 25, 2012

          fortunately, Ruth, I am still on track with Cillian 😉
          he’ll be here soon

  9. Pingback: The Reichenbach Fall – The final episode of SHERLOCK’s 2nd Series « Polychrome Interest

  10. DEZMOND
    January 23, 2012

    oh, I see Russell Tovey, I love him soooo much! Truly adorkable actor!

    • Novroz
      January 23, 2012

      hahaha…he does look a bit dorky 😉

  11. The Focused Filmographer
    January 25, 2012

    Sherlock is starting to get a lot more attention lately! I better start up on the series!

    • Novroz
      January 25, 2012

      Starting? Fortunately I loved this series since last year. If you want to see the real Sherlock, you have to watch this T.

      They changed the time but they didnt change Sherlock (like a certain movie) and that’s why I love it.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads