Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Top-5 Books of 2011

Click this button to see my other top-5 list

You have seen my top-5 movies of 2011 few days ago….now, it’s time for my top-5 books I read in 2011🙂

My reading record in 2011 was not as good as 2010, I read less books in 2011, but I promise to have a better reading year in 2012. You can see the entire book I have read in 2011 in HERE.

Without further introduction, here are my top-5 books of 2011: (I am excluding Manga)

#5 1984 by George Orwell

A book I read because of Muse. I have heard so much about this book but Muse’s song United State of Eurasia was the one that made me finally decided to read the book. The idea of this book is insane!! It’s amazing how Orwell managed to create such world into something we really believe it could happen.

Summary: 1984 is a dystopia book where people no longer had the privilege to feel. The government controlled everything. The government slogan was WAR IS PEACE, FREEDOM IS SLAVERY, IGNORANCE IS STRENGTH

From my review:

When I read the first few pages, I instantly understood why the book drawn Bellamy so much. It was so full of frontal conspiracy. The way the Superstate controlled the citizens was so based upon distrust and brainstorming. The people hardly have any friend because they were afraid their ‘friend’ will turn them to Though Police, even the children report their parents to Thought Police.

#4 Different Seasons by Stephen King

Different Seasons showed Stephen King’s other side. This book consist of 4 novellas with 2 novellas that have no horror or thriller at all and I could easily say that those were one of his best works.

Summary: Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption (a great story of the power of determination), Apt Pupil (a disturbing story of how a person’s mind could easily be corrupted with stories), The Body (a  deep story of friendship and what comes between them), The Breathing Method (a bizarre story of mother’s love)

From my review:

Different Seasons consists of 4 novellas with a wide range of stories. This book shows the writing ability owned by one of the best writers in the world,Mr. Stephen King. You might think that I am a bit bias here for saying he is one of the best author in the world because I love his works…well, I should say the notion goes the other way around, I love his works because I think he is one of the best authors I have ever read.

#3 Shelter by Nicholas Jobe

The book hasn’t been published yet but Nicholas Jobe’s style of writing and story have surpassed many authors I read in 2011. I read 3 books by him last year and will read another this year. Shelter is simply AMAZING, it made wonder why it hasn’t been published yet while books like Twilight is out there!

Summary: blood-soaked girl shows up at a police station requesting to speak with a specific detective—who doesn’t even know who she is—and he must figure out what happened to her and her family. They were supposedly trapped in an old bomb shelter by a demon, but was it really supernatural forces, or was it something more logical hiding behind the curtain? (Borrowed from the author’s own words)

From My Review:

Even though it was written in flashback, Nick managed to keep the thrill going on. I was glued and eager to know what happened to Aidyn and at the same time I was also curious about Paul. Both stories were carefully written so that we won’t get bored in one of the stories. I couldn’t remember the title anymore, but I once read similar book (a flashback story) that made me bored when the story was focusing on certain time because it wasn’t as engaging as the other story. The reason why I found it difficult to stop reading is because both stories are equally interesting. The way it inter-crosses each other is also written in a natural way, I don’t feel like reading a forced link.

Nick is the owner of a blog called Random Ramblings of a Demented Doorknob.

#2 Full Dark No Stars by Stephan King

The second book by SK that made it into my top-5 list. Full Dark No Stars is a book of 4 novellas that centered on how people dealt with guilt and anger. All four of them were brilliantly crafted. Although my favorite was Good Marriage but I also love the other three stories.

Summary:  1922 (Was killing someone solve the problem?), Big Driver (Will you report that you have been rape when your career might be jeopardize by it?), Fair Extension (Will you let your friend that you envy the most suffer to no end?), Good Marriage (Will you tell the police that your husband is a serial killer?)

From my review:

I have just finished Full Dark no Stars and it is AMAZING!! I love all the stories in the book. Don’t expect monsters and ghosts in this book, although there is one ghost and one representative of devil, but the main idea of each story is human heart and how human deals with specific situation.

It’s one of the books that I find hard to put down. It’s brilliant and intriguing. It’s gruesome and yet understandable. Simply said, I love the book. Keep it coming Mr. King.

#1 Battle Royale by Koushun Takami

I couldn’t believe that just like 2010, my number one book of 2011 was a reread book. I guess that’s why I read those books again. Although I wrote the review few days ago, but I have finished the book on late December. I adore this book because of its powerful story that involve 42 students with different personalities

Summary: In an alternative future Japan, junior high students are forced to fight to the death! L to R (Western Style). Koushun Takami’s notorious high-octane thriller is based on an irresistible premise: a class of junior high school students is taken to a deserted island where, as part of a ruthless authoritarian program, they are provided arms and forced to kill one another until only one survivor is left standing (from the book’sblurb)

From my review:

But now that I have read it for the second time, I realized more how Koushun Takami had brilliantly created a class full of students with different personalities. He managed to let us know all 42 students even though they only appeared in one chapter. He didn’t let any even 1 student died unnoticed or personality unknown. He made sure that we know what kind of person that student was and how tragic or silly his/her death was. I felt like I was running around in that island with those 42 students, none of the student was forgotten.

*************************

I never thought that will be, somehow similar to 2010. 2 Stephen King’s books and a reread as number 1. Last year was The Two Towers & The Return of The King.

What have you read in 2011? And do tell me your top-5😉

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

31 comments on “Top-5 Books of 2011

  1. Bikram
    January 8, 2012

    firstttttttttttt🙂

    • Bikram
      January 8, 2012

      I will be reading the stephen king books soon, have bought them just havenot started to read🙂

      • Novroz
        January 9, 2012

        Congratulation for being the first Bik🙂

        My advice,if you want suspense, go fro Full Dark,if you want heart warming story, go for Different Seasons🙂

  2. le0pard13
    January 8, 2012

    What a fine list, Novroz. I’m so glad to see the King’s classic collection, ‘Different Seasons’, on this. I still have that book in my library (and reminds me I’ve got to pick up ‘Full Dark No Stars’). I’ve promised myself to read ‘Battle Royale’ by Koushun Takami long time ago, and I should get on with that. Thanks.

    • Novroz
      January 9, 2012

      Thank you Mike🙂
      For Stephen King,I read both classic and new works…I want to read all. A lot of people like Full Dark,I hope you’ll enjoy it too.Do tell me if you finally read Battle Royale. I wonder if BR is available in audiobook, I know you like audio book.

  3. bluebookbelle
    January 9, 2012

    Interesting list! I have only read “1984” off here so i will look into the others! If you’re interested, i have actually composed my own list of best books i read in 2011, click the link to see them http://aworldofrandomness.wordpress.com/2011/12/22/looking-back-at-2011/

    • Novroz
      January 9, 2012

      Thank you Belle. I like your list,quite different to mine but I am curious with the millennium trilogy.

  4. Caroline
    January 9, 2012

    I’m pleased to see Full Dark, No Stars made the Top 5. I hope I will finally get to it. It’s great as well that someone withouth a contract made it. I read 1984 when I was still in school, so quite a while. It is very good but I liked Brave New World better. I read them one after the other.
    Battle Royale, of course. I should have known. But did you not re-read The Lord of the Rings this year? I thought that would make the list.

    • Novroz
      January 9, 2012

      I would have put Full Dark in number one if I didn’t reread Battle Royale. I honestly wish Nick would get a contract one day, Shelter is really great…it’s already in my list of future reread. I wish I could come up with something as suspenseful as his book one day.

      I reviewed Return of The King on January but I have finished reading it on December (just like Battle Royale),both Two Towers and Return of The King were my number one in 2010. I read Fellowship of The Ring in 2009. The plan was to read one book per year but after The Two Towers, I couldn’t wait till next year to read Return of The King🙂

  5. DEZMOND
    January 9, 2012

    Orwell is one of the classic writers who wrote amazing satyres on human society. His ANIMAL FARM is also amazing especially since it depicts what later on happened in Romania in real life.
    The rest of the books are not my genre🙂

    • Novroz
      January 10, 2012

      I plan to read Animal Farm this year🙂
      I hope I like it as much as 1984…or maybe more.
      I wonder,what is your genre Dezz?😉

  6. KatiesCameraBlog
    January 9, 2012

    Nicholas Jobe sounds interesting. Thanks, Novroz. Great post!

    • Novroz
      January 10, 2012

      He is an interesting writer. Hope he gets his contract soon

  7. JoV
    January 9, 2012

    I am happy to find 1984 on top of the list, now you must read 1Q84! I have been wanting to read and watch Battle Royale but it is said there is too much violence (like Lord of the flies) and all that, and I’m a bit put off by it. What do you think?

    • Novroz
      January 10, 2012

      I want to read 1Q84 but I haven’t seen the book here yet. I hope to see it in the library anytime soon.
      Well,it depends…if you don’t like violence I am afraid you won’t like Battle Royale.Some said there is similarity between Battle Royale and Lord of The Flies (that’s why I want to read it this year), so if you are put off with Lord of the Flies, I am not sure you will enjoy Battle Royale. But even though there are some violence, the characters are really interesting to explore…that I can guarantee you😉

  8. Scott Lawlor
    January 9, 2012

    Thanks for this Novia.

    As you know I am looking to read more, and this will help point me in the right direction

    Thanks

    • Novroz
      January 10, 2012

      You’re welcome Scott.
      Maybe I can read a book review in front room cinema one day😉

  9. TBM
    January 9, 2012

    I haven’t read any of them. I’ll have to add them to my list!

    • Novroz
      January 10, 2012

      I don’t know if you can read number 3, but I hope you’ll enjoy the rest

  10. Deboshree
    January 9, 2012

    Wow Novroz… that’s an excellent list. I haven’t read even one of them. The synopsis you have written for several is really alluring and I have a good mind to go book shopping soon. Thanks!

    • Novroz
      January 10, 2012

      Thank you Debo🙂
      I hope you buy one of those books Debo. I enjoy all of them a lot. Each has something special to remember.

  11. Nick
    January 10, 2012

    Wow… thank you for such kind words! Putting me on a list with Orwell, King, and Battle Royale (one of my all-time favorite books) is unbelievable.

    • Novroz
      January 10, 2012

      Shelter is also as unbelievable as the other book, Nick. Thank you for letting me read it🙂
      Battle Royale is also my all time favorite. I love reading it over and over again, it still hasn’t bored me yet and will soon read it again.

  12. Andina
    January 10, 2012

    Not much book to read in 2011. But I did read ‘Never Let Me Go’ and ‘The help’ and it makes me want to read more amazing books. Your #1 seems great though.

    • Novroz
      January 10, 2012

      My number 1 is one of my all time favorite books. You read 2 books in 2011? It’s better than none. For me, books are as important as movies.
      Thank you Andina

  13. JAMES E PARSONS
    January 11, 2012

    Certainly 1984 is a huge legend book, but often criticised for the political themes. Classic though, as was Orwell. And the STEPHEN KING new ones still, as ever, deserve our attention. Such a master of fiction, even with his known flaws there is always a great read there.

    • Novroz
      January 12, 2012

      1984 was the most political book I have ever read…fortunately I ended up liking it🙂
      Stephen King was often looked with one eye by many people but for me,his new or old works are still one of the most enjoyable books I read through the years. He knows how to tell great story.
      Thank you for stopping by James.

  14. Parlor of Horror
    January 20, 2012

    I loved “Full Dark, No Stars” also, which I reviewed on my blog. “Shelter” sounds really good, I’ll have to check that out.

    • Novroz
      January 20, 2012

      I would love to read you review, will be there in a second🙂

      Glad Shelter intrigued you, unfortunately you have to wait till that book got reviewed.

  15. daveackackattack
    January 24, 2012

    Wow 1984 is my favorite book as depressing and prophetic as it is. It should be no surprise the Terry Gilliam’s Brazil is my favorite movie.

    Have you ever seen Battle Royale staring the gritty Japanese actor Takeshi Kitano? I remember seeing a bootlegged copy on VHS like 12 years ago. I never did read the book. I will have to check it out. I’ve heard the story line has a lot in common with The Hunger Games.

    • Novroz
      January 25, 2012

      yes, I have seen the movie after I read the book the first time, the movie DID NOT stand up for the book. I believe I only rated the movie with 2stars, which is just okay, while the book with 5stars, amazing.

      Yup, Hunger Game is similar with Battle Royale, I haven’t read it yet and have no intention to ever read it.

      Thank you for visiting Dave

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads