Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Monday Movies: Tintin, Buranku, Margin Call, Hanna

I watched quite a variety this past two weeks. I managed to watch 6 movies but I only reviewed 4 movies here because the other two are being be reviewed separately. All these 4 movies are from 2011, quite a rarity as I often watched movies from different years.

Within 2 weeks, I have watched an animated movie of one of my favorite graphic novels I used to read when I was younger; a comic-like action movie; a drama I didn’t quite understand but still enjoy it; and another action that received good review everywhere.

Let’s just cut the introduction and moves to the mini review straight away:)

The Adventure of Tintin

Director: Steven Spielberg
Screenplay: Steven Moffat, Edgar Wright, Joe Cornish
Staring: Jamie Bell, Andy Serkis, Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Daniel Craig
Rating:

Story: The adventure of Tintin was based on The Crab With Golden Claws, The Secret of Unicorn and The Treasure of Red Rackham. The story was changed quite a lot. Tintin met Captain Haddock for the first time whereas in the book, they have been friend for quite sometimes. The basic story is still the same. Tintin bought a model ship called Unicorn. Buying that ship made Tintin trapped in a revenge that had passed through generations. Ivan Sakharine tried everything to get the paper inside the ship so that he could find his ancestor’s treasure and had his revenge toward Sir Francis Haddock descendent. The adventure led them to Morocco. They continued their adventure in Europe.

My Thought:

There isn’t much to tell about the story, it was basically a chasing game between Tintin-Haddock and Sakharine. It was a really fun movie, I had a lot of laugh and enjoy it a lot. It won’t be one of my favorite animations but I truly enjoy it. They way they changed the story is really good, I hate a lot of changes in book adaptation, but Moffat, Wright and Cornish have proved that they are amazing writers because I have no objection at all to how they changed the story.

I am glad Spielberg didn’t do a live action as in using human actors for this movie. I have read in some blogs and articles that there are some who don’t like the motion-capture techniques used in this movie, I stand on the other side. Looking forward to see the 2nd and 3rd movie🙂

Bunraku

Director: Guy Moshe
Screenplay: Guy Moshe
Staring: Josh Hartnett, Woody Harrelson, Gackt, Kevin McKidd, Ron Perlman, Demi Moore
Rating:

Story: In the world where guns were no longer allowed, people were still fighting using their fist and sword. The story took place in the East of The Atlantic where a man named Nicola acted as the ruler of that place. Many people came to challenge him but none succeed. 2 strangers showed up, one was a cowboy without gun while the other was a samurai without sword. Both wanted to avenge their father’s death. A bartender united them to fight together.

My thought:

First of all, I have to admit that I picked this movie out of so many movies in my frequent DVD shop because of this man on the right, Gackt>>

I am not Gackt’s fan, but I do like some of his songs (in fact, I am listening to his songs while writing this.). At that time, I was curious to see him act in an English speaking movie. For a singer, he is quite good in acting. I am not gonna say he is an amazing actor but I admit he was good in Bunraku.

From the moment the movie started, I felt like seeing another version of Scott Pilgrim…not the story but the set. It wasn’t the same like Scott Pilgrim but the feeling was the same. I felt a bit bored here and there, especially when Harnett was on screen.  His character was a macho cowboy thing that I never like…hence came the boredom. The fight scenes are often lingered too long. I am not gonna say that the movie was bad, it wasn’t bad but it wasn’t good either. I enjoy Gackt and Harrelson’s performance, their characters were more real than Harnett’s character.

Bunraku was shot in 2008, showed at TIFF in 2010 and finally released in US in 2011 (still hasn’t been released here in Indonesia, lots of Gackt’s fans are waiting for this).

Margin Call

Director: J.C. Chandor
Screenplay: J.C. Chandor
Staring: Kevin Spacey, Paul Bettany, Jeremy Irons, Zachary Quinto, Penn Badgley, Simon Baker, Mary McDonnell, Demi Moore, Stanley Tucci
Rating:

Story: It’s a bit difficult to write about the story as I don’t know much about broker. It’s a one day kind of movie. A firm was laying off some of their employees, one of them was The head of Risk management, Eric Dale. Eric was in the middle of calculating something important. He passed down his job to Peter Sullivan. He finished the calculation and found out that the firm was on the brink of bankruptcy. Peter reported it to Will whom later set a chain of phone call to the highest authority of that firm. They must take a drastic step in order to save the company.

My thought:

Honestly…it took 2 viewings for me to understand the story because I am blind to this kind of work. What the hell are they talking about was my first reaction. I still haven’t fully understood it yet…but at least I know the whole picture after that 2nd viewing. Despite the fact that I was a bit lost in the whole broker thing, but I really enjoy the acting performance of all the casts. It was an amazing ensemble. I enjoyed all the expressions and the dialogues they were having. The thrill of the movie came from that expressions and dialogues.

I have to admit that Paul Bettany was the main reason for me to watch this movie as he is one of my favorite actors. Jeremy Irons was my second reason. I am glad that I ended up enjoying Margin Call as a whole movie. Nice to see Paul has an interesting character here.

Hanna

Director: Joe Wright
Screenplay: David Farr, Seth Lochhead
Staring: Saoirse Ronan, Eric Bana, Tom Hollander, Olivia Williams, Jason Flemyng, Cate Blanchett
Rating:

Story: I think it’s better for you to read the review in Flixchatter because that review is the reason I watch this movie. I’ll to summarize it here. Hanna is an action movie about a girl who was genetically changed. Hanna lived with her father deep in the forest. Her father trained her to be a strong woman and good assassin in order to kill Marissa Wiegler (played by the amazing Cate Blanchett). The plan didn’t work well and the cat and mouse game began. Hanna then found the truth about her existence

My thought:

Hanna is a quick pace movie. I like how fast it moves. One moment Hanna was trained in a forest full of snow and the next minute she was killing everyone in CIA basement. The script is really good in keeping everything in pace without wasting time. However, there’s nothing special about the story. Although I like it, I don’t think I will remember about it next year.

I really like Cate Blanchett and Saoirse Ronan’s performances. They are the main attraction of this movie. 2 great actresses.

************

That’s all I watched this past 2 weeks. What have you watched lately?

Caroline from All About War Movie is hosting a War Movie Watchalong, if you are interested…come and join by visiting her blog.I think it’s a great idea. I often see book readalong (which is a fun reading activity), this is my first movie watchalong.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

25 comments on “Monday Movies: Tintin, Buranku, Margin Call, Hanna

  1. KatiesCameraBlog
    December 12, 2011

    Great reviews! I loved this line about Margin Call, “took 2 viewings for me to understand the story because I am blind to this kind of work.” I wish none of us knew what this kind of work was.🙂

    • Novroz
      December 13, 2011

      Hahaha…yeah, what is it they do anyway? Just pick up the phone and boom…they got millions of dollars O.o

  2. rtm
    December 12, 2011

    Thanks for the link love, Nov, glad you enjoyed Hanna. Blanchett is always great in anything, including this one, but Saiorse was truly bad ass!!

    I definitely will rent Margin Call, great cast in that one and the story is intriguing. As for Bunraku, not that interested as I can’t stand Josh Hartnett. I can see how the other actors would upstage him in it.

    • Novroz
      December 13, 2011

      Hear hear!!! Blanchett is amazing. I could easily say she is my second favorite actress, you know who is the first😉

      I want to know what you think of Margin Call…as for Bunraku, I don’t advice that movie to anyone unless you’re a fan of one of the actors.

      • rtm
        December 13, 2011

        Y’know I can’t remember who your fave actress is, is it Jennifer Connelly?? I think Blanchett is my fave as she is just AMAZING in practically any role.

        • Novroz
          December 13, 2011

          Ahh… you’ve forgotten already😉
          It’s Sandra Bullock. She is the only female in my list of actors/actress I always watch.
          Cate came later after Sandy,and I am a loyal person, so Sandy stays in number one with Cate followed in second place. I started liking Cate after Elizabeth.

          • rtm
            December 16, 2011

            Oh right, I LOVE Sandy too. That’s why I love Speed as it stars TWO actors I like a lot! Speaking of Keanu, have you seen this Nov? Someone caught this with their iPhone on a subway! http://youtu.be/23UzrLa1xXw

  3. Nekoneko
    December 13, 2011

    I’ve seen two of these, “Bunraku” and “Hanna”…. and you got both of them just about right. I think your viewing experience pretty much mirrors mine.

    I wanted to like “Bunraku” more, but even though it had an interesting look… more storybook than real… I just couldn’t seem to enjoy it as much as I would have liked. It had too much the feeling of being like a comic book story come to life and reminded me of “Sin City” with it’s exaggerated sets and cardboard characters… but it didn’t really work as a Martial Art kind of film….

    I liked “Hanna” a little bit more… but I would have enjoyed things more if she had been able to become more attached to the people she encountered and find more of a connection to the life of being a little girl that she never got to have growing up. For me, the part where she escapes from the secret army base was the best part…. kind of like a “Jason Bourne” kind of vibe. I wish they could have kept that up through the rest of the movie, but all in all I liked it too.

    • Novroz
      December 13, 2011

      I try to like Bunraku too…but only the appearance of Gackt make me like the movie. I hope he’ll be in more English speaking movies in the future. exaggerated sets and cardboard characters describe Bunraku perfectly. I haven’t watched Sin City yet,but I want to. All in good time.

      Hanna is really fun…while watching it. You’re right, that part is the best and the most thrilling part. The way she was confused with TV and other electrical appliances is also fun to watch.

  4. Castor
    December 13, 2011

    Wow you got to see Tintin already!😀 Glad you liked it Novia. As for Hannah, I agree. Nothing really special or all that memorable but solid little thriller.

    • Novroz
      December 13, 2011

      US is really late for Tintin,maybe because Tintin isn’t that famous in your country…but at least you will get a chance to see The Hobbit teaser😉
      Yup,it’s fun while watching it…and the actresses are fun to watch

  5. Caroline
    December 13, 2011

    I think I would like to see the last two. The first two do not interest me that much. I have never read Tintin, so I have no special feelings for it.
    Did you not see Michael Douglas’ Wall Street? That’s a great movie as far as brokers go.
    I’m a Kevin Spacey and Jeremy Irons fan, so will certainly watch Margin Call.
    Yeah, it’s weird, one never really knows what they do.

    • Novroz
      December 13, 2011

      I thought Tintin was famous in Europe.It surprises me that you haven’t read the book yet. I don’t know if it will attract people of the over 20 because I read it when i was still in elementary.

      No, I haven’t watched wall Street…I am not really into broker movies because I really don’t understand what they are doing there.

      • Caroline
        December 14, 2011

        Yes, Tintin is very famous but I liked Asterix.

        • Novroz
          December 14, 2011

          I like Asterix too🙂
          I think the reason I never into superhero comic because these European comics are my first read.

  6. Bikram
    December 13, 2011

    Hi .. I seem to miss your articles always here..

    I have seen tintin and i liked it , he was one of my favourite childhood comic books so cant wait for the 2nd 3rd and so on movies ..

    the last one hanna I will watch for sure

    • Novroz
      December 14, 2011

      No problem Bikram🙂 you showing up all the time in my turtles’ blog is already so kind.

      Yaay…another Tintin Fans🙂 I hope the 2nd and 3rd one will be as fun as this one.

  7. scarletsp1der
    December 14, 2011

    Dear friend!

    Perhaps I missed something you posted earlier, but I was surprised…and glad for you…to see that you were able to see Tintin. I know that cinema in your country has been stifled lately and Tintin hasn’t even come out here in the US here! Glad you got to see it. I know you are a tintin fan!

    Love all the mini-reviews! You’ve been busy. I share the same thoughts as you when it comes to Hanna…prob won’t remember much about it in a year from now.

    Nice post!

    • Novroz
      December 14, 2011

      Hi T…
      Well the cinema has come back to normal again in the past two months…well almost normal. There are still not as many movies as before but at least much better than when the stupid tax thing became the main problem. I wonder why Tintin is so late in US. It is after all a Hollywood movie, not some foreign movie.

      Yup, Hanna is good movie but not memorable.
      Thank you for stopping by T🙂

  8. Andina
    December 14, 2011

    Tintin does have a great animation. I just read an article yesterday about one of the main animators is from Indonesia! Isn’t that great? Feel so proud.
    I saw Hanna in the middle of the year, I remember I was so impressed by Saoirse Ronan. But I guess it wasn’t memorable, like you said.

    • Novroz
      December 14, 2011

      Thank you for giving me the link earlier today Andine🙂 much appreciated.
      It was an amazing news. i always feel happy when an Indonesian make it in other country and to be working with Spielberg…wow.
      Saoirse Ronan was great there, I want to see her more. She could have great career…yeaa for the Irish😉

  9. purisuka
    December 15, 2011

    dari semua film itu baru nonton Hanna aja, dan mayan suka filmnya. penasaran sama Tin Tin nih.
    eeh Gackt maen di Bunraku? *tiba2 berharap pasangannya Hyde maen film Hollywood jg*

    • Novroz
      December 15, 2011

      Hahaha…sayangnya Hyde ga bagus actingnya😉
      Loh belum nntn Tintin? kayaknya dah turun dr bioskop deh.

  10. Dan
    December 18, 2011

    Glad you enjoyed Tin Tin Novroz….it is on my list of to-see films.

    • Novroz
      December 23, 2011

      Hope you like it too Dan🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2011 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads