Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Hollywood Fantasy Draft Is DONE

Yayyy Anomalous Material has started Hollywood Fantasy Draft again, this fourth Hollywood Fantasy Draft has come back to its root again. I have been joining the fun since the first time it was created, but I didn’t join the last one because the system was changed, there was a betting system I am not familiar with. Glad to know it’s back to normal again 🙂

Here’s a a bit about the game (Copied from AM)

How To Play

For those of you who are new to this, playing in the HFL is as easy and simple as it gets. In essence, each participant gets to draft (e.g. select) an actor/director when it is their turn. If you would like to get a simple example of a fantasy draft, visit the first edition of our Hollywood Fantasy Draft.

The team with the highest point total at the end of the year wins. League scoring will be applied via a comprehensive set of rules that will seek to determine how “successful” an actor/director is throughout the season.

The Rules

  • The season will run from January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012
  • The draft is tentatively set for 7 rounds
  • You must pick 1 director and 6 actors
  • You must select 3 actors and 3 actresses
  • Selections are made in the comments
  • Time-limit between picks will be one hour
  • If you miss your pick, you will be skipped but you can make your pick anytime once you return
  • Trading picks or selections is allowed
  • The first round will start on Saturday, November 26th at 2PM CT

There are some scoring rules too…but not a big thing for me, I am only enjoying the game.

In my two previous drafts, Cillian Murphy was always my first choice for the leading role and I did mention that I will always use him in my draft…who would have thought that the day when I don’t picked him finally come 😉
I am letting him to be chosen by someone else as my main character for the upcoming pitch is  a woman…although I know how  good Cillian as a woman but I need a real woman 😉

My draft will be based on characters in one of my short stories, I have some to pick and I had made my choice. I am now discussing the perfect actress for the leading role with my good friend Caroline of Beauty In A Sleeping Cat. Why with her? I’ll let you know in the pitching days.

I am so looking forward to this. So far, Castor has rounded up 21participants. I love the comment people made during draft picking and I love the intensity when someone grabbed my chosen actors/actress before I picked them. All I can say is thank you for doing the old way and let’s have fun 🙂

I have changed the banner, under Castor’s  permission, to actors/actress I have picked before.

*****************

A little looking back to my previous drafts and pitches 🙂

On the first HFD:

Movie: Sunset Mystery (Based on a manga by Chie Watari)
Director: Peter Jackson
Starring: Cillian Murphy, Nakama Yukie, Tom Hank, Nicole Kidman,Kathy Bates, Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor, Naomi Rapace, and Gaspard Ulliel
Genre: Thriller
The pitch can be read here

On the second HFD:

Movie: In The Jungle
Director: Edgar Wright
Starring: Cillian Murphy, Danny DeVito, Hiroshi Abe
Scriptwriter: Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright
Genre: Comedy
The pitch can be read here

**********

Updated every time I pick someone.

My first pick is:

17. Novroz

“I choose Guillermo DelToro. I have seen how good he is in creating dark feeling in his movie. I want that dark atmosphere exist in my movie.”

My Second pick is:

34. Novroz

“For My second Pick, I choose Martin Freeman. I want someone who can play as a gentle and caring cop. Martin has shown that quality in Sherlock-miniseries. Beside that, He has 2 movies in 2012.”

My Third Pick is:

His character didn’t exist in my short story, I have to make him up because for once I am going to choose someone because he has 4 movies coming up in 2012. The rest of my casts still based on the fact they are perfect for my story.

67. Novroz

“For my 3rd pick, I choose Ewan McGregor. He’s a great actor and I like his accent.”

My Fourth Pick is:

84. Novroz

“With Red Lights coming out next year, I think Sigourney Weaver is the perfect actress to play a charismatic chief of police. “

My Fifth Pick is:

117. Novroz

“It’s time to pick the villain. I choose one of the actors I always watch no matter how crappy the movie, Benedict Cumberbatch. He has amazing way to let us know everything just from his body language.”

My Sixth Pick is:

Since my leading actress has no movie coming up nest year, I need an actor that will give me extra score (see the scoring rule here)…and since I don’t really like him, he will only appears for 5 minutes and then Bennedict will kill him 🙂 …such happy ending.

134. Novroz

“To play as one of the victims, I choose Robert Pattinson. He will be my money maker even though he will only appear for few minutes.”

My Seventh Pick is:

167. Novroz

“She is witty, she is beautiful, but she also has a sense of mystery, Jennifer Connelly doesn’t have movie next year but she is the perfect image of my imagination for my Caroline (the name of my character)”

I am going to make another banner with all my chosen actors (minus one) after the seventh round is over 🙂

Here is my new banner 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

29 comments on “Hollywood Fantasy Draft Is DONE

  1. Joel Burman
    November 25, 2011

    Glas that you are back in the draft again. Wasn’t the same without you last time. I think I know who you have in mind for your film. Good call in using your own short story as source by the way.

    • Novroz
      November 25, 2011

      Nice to hear that coming from you Joel 🙂
      I have been waiting for the fourth installment of HFD to show up and happy to see the old way.

      Hope you’ll like the pitch based on one of the cruelest stories I’ve ever written. Aha are you sure you know whom I am going to choose 😉 I am still discussing it.

  2. DEZMOND
    November 26, 2011

    I’ve never heard of Nakama before, but she is soooo pretty.

    • Novroz
      November 26, 2011

      Yes she is 🙂 She is pretty, can acts well and very down to earth (I always love down to earth celebrity).
      I am not surprise if you never heard of her, she isn’t famous outside Japan.

  3. dirtywithclass
    November 26, 2011

    I look forward to your pitch. As for me i will once again use a movie idea i’ve had floating in my head for a while.

    I’ve gone back and forth on whether i will have Deborah as my lead again…still not sure on that one

    • Novroz
      November 26, 2011

      If you are sure she is a talented actress who can do anything…than choose her!!
      I will choose Cillian again if the movie’s leading role is a man, because I know he can do anything, even though not many people aware of that.

  4. rtm
    November 27, 2011

    I look forward to your draft, Nov. Since I’ll be away on holiday until next Wed, I just emailed Castor my first 3 picks. I won’t be doing a detailed pitch this time though, just an overview of the story.

    • Novroz
      November 27, 2011

      My draft won’t be based on actors that will have movie next year 😉
      I am looking for the one who fits the character perfectly.
      Looking forward to see your draft Ruth 🙂

      • rtm
        December 3, 2011

        Hey Nov, I’m with you in regards to choosing actors. It’s great if they have movies coming out next year, etc. but whether they fit the roles I have in mind is more important.

        Guillermo DelToro would be perfect for your dark stories, just don’t make it too gory or I can’t watch it 🙂

        • Novroz
          December 3, 2011

          That’s why my money maker is only used as cameo 😉
          Hmm…I don’t know about, you might not watch my movie…ehm it’s a bit sadist. But I am still confuse how to end the movie,in my short I left it hang unfinished, I let people fill in the blank

  5. Dan
    November 27, 2011

    I remember taking part in the first one. That was a lot of fun. I’ll be interested to see what you come up with Novroz!

    • Novroz
      November 27, 2011

      Yup, that was really fun. The second time was also fun. Hope this one will b fun too.
      I see you have chosen JGL in your draft 😉

  6. Andina
    November 27, 2011

    Even though I read the rules but I’m still confused about how it works. Guess I’ll watch it first

    • Novroz
      November 27, 2011

      It’s really easy…just pick your cast when your turn comes and then create a movie pitch. It’s really fun 🙂

  7. Caroline
    November 27, 2011

    I will not join but am very curious how it will go. 🙂

    • Novroz
      November 27, 2011

      You should join one day Caroline . I bet you’ll make a war movie 😉

  8. Castor
    November 28, 2011

    Wow wow wow Novia, everyone is going to know who you are picking next! They are all on the picture 🙂

    • Novroz
      November 28, 2011

      But Castor…those are actors I had picked before. Not the ones I will pick later 😉

      • Castor
        November 29, 2011

        I love that everyone is skipping their favorites so far (well except for Joel taking Amy Adams) 😀

        • Novroz
          November 29, 2011

          I have to be honest that the temptation is really big. Every now and then I want to choose CM but I hold myself together 😉

        • Joel Burman
          December 7, 2011

          It wouldn’t be good carma if everyone picked out of their comfort zone. Someone needs to keep up the balance. =)

          • Novroz
            December 8, 2011

            That’s a good excuse Joel 😉
            …but, I agree.You ad Castor have kept the Balance of this 4th HFD. It will be bad luck if I don’t pick Cillian in the next HFD 😉

  9. KatiesCameraBlog
    November 29, 2011

    Ooh, how fun! And I love Marin Freeman. 🙂

    • Novroz
      November 30, 2011

      Me too!! well I like him after I saw him in Sherlock. Cute man

  10. Caroline
    December 6, 2011

    I didn’t see this post? Odd.
    Maybe you had more than one in a few days. I really like your choices, very interesting mix.

    • Novroz
      December 6, 2011

      Actually, I only edited the old post called Hollywood Fantasy Draft is about to begin….now that it’s finish, I changed the title and add all my picks.

      Now, I am waiting for Castor to announce the time for pitching our movies 🙂

      Yeah, I always like a mix of actors. But, I didn’t realize it ends up with all-Brit actors and all-American actress.

  11. scarletsp1der
    December 7, 2011

    this was so much fun this time around wasnt it? (It always is!!) can’t wait to see what you do with yours!!

  12. Novroz
    December 7, 2011

    It was really fun…but I miss choosing Cillian as my main role 😉

    Well, I am still waiting for Castor to announce the date for the picth…and I am still having proclem how to end the movie. I wonder what story you have in mind T 😉

  13. Pingback: Movie Pitch #3: Under The Hood « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2011 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads