Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Aqeela and Me

I have been missing in writing world for few weeks because I couldn’t find any ideas swimming in my mind. About two days ago, it finally hit me. I will do another Flash Fiction, but this time, the story will be connected from 3 pictures and I am planning to continue it to next week photo.

The old photo of a girl holding a lantern is from Writing Prompt on October 24th , the figure mowing a big lawn is from November 1st, and the castle is from November 7th.

Here goes my first fantasy series….I have no idea when this story going to finish…I am going to continue the story based on whatever image the creative ink provided.

This  series is inspired by my good friend, Dhitzunako, who wrote an interesting series on girl named Latte, a fun sci-fi story.

Aqeela and Me

October 29, 2011

We finally moved to a new bigger house, daddy got his promotion. I finally have a room of my own. But I don’t want to talk about my new room. I found an old photo lying on the floor. I couldn’t take my eyes off of it, I am now seeing it while writing this. The girl with the lantern is the one that drawn my attention. There is something about her I can’t quite understand.

October 30, 2011

I am still looking at the photo. I don’t know why.

November 1, 2011

Something weird happened last night, it was Halloween night. I was alone in the house while the other went for Halloween costume party. The girl holding the lantern suddenly turned her head toward me, she looked me in the eyes and said “Finally, you’re alone.” She smiled at me but it was a gentle smile. She knew I was curious about her.

She said her name is Aqeela and she is a gate-keeper. “A gate to where?” I asked her. “A gate to a magical land, I’ll take you there if you want to,” she replied.

Here I am now in her magical land. It is so beautiful, I am glad she took me here. I am at her house now she went out to find food few minutes ago. The sky is amazing; the cloud is dark blue and almost covers the sun. But in some area, the sun manages to peek through and leaving beautiful scenery. I wish I had taken my camera along, not just my diary.

She will introduce me to someone later today.

November 2, 2011

I have just found out that there is no night in this land, the cloud shifts but the sun stays still. Aqeela is sleeping now, when I asked is it night already she said “night?” I explained her about night and the moon. She only smiled and said there is only the great sun in her land, they sleep when they feel like sleeping.

How am I going to continue this diary?

Entry 1

I have decided to call it as entry instead of date or day because I have lost track of time. We have been walking for days (I think), Aqeela won’t tell me where she’s taking me.

I wrote now because we are now in hiding. We saw a hole-keeper back then. Aqeela guides her human into her land while the hole keeper guides horrible beings that live under the ground. Aqeela won’t tell me about the beings, she said he will let me know…whoever he is. We have to hide and wait till the hole keeper disappear.

Honestly, I feel tired of her secretive behavior, but I want to know more about this strange land.

I almost forgot. The hole keeper looks like a hooded monk. He is holding something like a stick and focuses his attention on the ground as if waiting for something to jump out of the ground. I don’t know how long we have to keep hiding like this.

Entry 2

Been walking with high speed for ….why did I leave my watch!!! Me and my forgetful brain!!

Aqeela rushed me the moment the hole keeper disappeared. When I said disappear, I mean he really was disappear into thin air…zip! Just like that.

Entry 3

I am soooo tired!! I don’t feel like writing but Aqeela told me how to tell time through the cloud movements, a bit too difficult for me to understand. She said we have been walking for 4 cloud strides, whatever that means.

Entry 4

We are under the waterfall…it is so beautiful!!! Again, I regret forgetting my camera. The water splash near where we are sitting right now. The way the water divided into big and small stream is perfect. The wall rock behind the waterfall looks so strong and the pattern seems like a painting made with water brush. It is the most beautiful waterfall I have ever seen.

There is a castle next to the river, right before it turns into waterfall, and that’s the castle of this man I supposed to meet. Aqeela told me that he is really kind and he will tell me everything I wanted to know. And trust me, I have a lot of questions to ask.

*************************

To be continued 🙂

As always…do criticize me!!! I need all the critiques I can get 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

19 comments on “Aqeela and Me

  1. Wanda
    November 12, 2011

    It seems we both saw the beauty in the first place. You are so romantic. Thanks, Novroz, for the lovely story.

    • Novroz
      November 13, 2011

      Thank you for reading Wanda 🙂
      Me? romantic? hehehe you are the first to say such thing 😉

  2. Aswin Jose
    November 12, 2011

    very interesting take on the prompts. I am really curious to know what happens next!

    • Novroz
      November 13, 2011

      Well…Aswin, that makes the two of us 😉 I too don’t know what will happen next.
      Thank you for reading Aswin.

  3. dhitzunako
    November 13, 2011

    Yay, a fantasy series! True, nice idea Nov! Writing based on on pictures is great to help you focus on what idea you want to write. I guess the real challenge comes when the next pictures doesn’t resemble any fantasy world at all: will you dare to move the story based on that? It will be interesting.
    I’m curious with the story, it is a good opening, though I can’t learn much about Aqeela personality, but there is another part right? I’ll be waiting patiently. 🙂
    PS: You know, I’m not cut out to be scifi novelist XD So I end up pending the Latte’s story and writing something new (but not going to give up completely), with songs prompt to help me focus… Haha, galau XD

    • Novroz
      November 13, 2011

      Yup…I am daring myself to write a fantasy…this is my first (excluding my turtle’s story). Hahaha, that is my main concern. I hope writing ink will continue giving fantasy material pictures. I hope the story will not go astray. I had in my main the basic idea but it might change based on the picture…or maybe one day I will finish it without following the pictures.

      Aqeela is still a mystery, she can’t write much about her…yet. Aqeela isn’t supposed to say anything until the man castle talks to ‘me‘.

      What??? ow come on!! So far, the story is great.i am really curious about her. Continue the story Girl!!! 😉

  4. Theresa
    November 13, 2011

    I like the idea of taking the story towards wherever the photos lead it 😀 Looking forward to the next installment, curious as to who the man in the castle is!

    • Novroz
      November 13, 2011

      Thank you Theresa, I hope I can create good ending to this story…I mean, it will all depend on the pictures from writing ink 😉

  5. Fitri
    November 15, 2011

    Interesting and full of mistery..say my hi to kamekroten

    • Novroz
      November 15, 2011

      Thank you Fitri. I hope it will have good ending.

  6. Caroline
    November 15, 2011

    I’m curious to go on reading. I like it a lot so far. It’s eerie, I thought.

    • Novroz
      November 15, 2011

      Thank you Caroline. too bad this week photo can’t be connected to this story.
      To tell you the truth, I am also curious about the hole keeper. Is it possible for a writer to be curious with her own made up character?

  7. KatiesCameraBlog
    November 17, 2011

    Oh, this is wonderful, Novros! I love the tone you’ve set in the writing and the images are wonderful too. I can’t wait to read more! And smooches to Kame and Kroten!

    • Novroz
      November 17, 2011

      Thank you Katie 🙂
      I already have the idea for the next story but will wait for another picture before writing about it.

  8. si_ulil
    November 22, 2011

    Okay, this is creepy! We have the same idea in our head for combining the pics in one story!!! How freaky is that??

    I liked this piece. It’s interesting how this person still writes on his/her diary even though she/he is thrown into this magical land. If it were me, I wouldn’t even bother 😛

    I was kinda hoping for a deeper explanation about the hole-keeper, but I guess you intended to leave it hang in the air, eh? And Aqeela is an interesting character. I personally think that she would be a great character to develop, more than any other character in this particular story. The question now is: will you develop it? 😉

    • Novroz
      November 23, 2011

      That person is sort like me 🙂 if I was thrown into such place, if possible,I would blog about that place everyday.

      hahahaha….stop copying me Girl!! 😉 it’s weird isn’t it.we often think the same thing, SCARY.

      Well, Aqeela hasn’t told her anything yet, so she couldn’t write more about the hole keeper.i actually already have the idea for the next chapter from the picture you used for EVE (will read your story later or tonight) but this week’s picture is sooo not related, I’ll wait for next week”s before writing it down.

  9. CBCondez
    November 26, 2011

    This is really good! Can’t wait for the next installment. 🙂

    • Novroz
      November 26, 2011

      Thank you CB 🙂
      I have it in my mind but still waiting for next week’s picture, hope it’ll connect (or at least I can find a way to connect it)

  10. Pingback: Short Story: Michael « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2011 by in Short Story & Others and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads