Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Game Of Thrones

Game of Thrones is a miniseries that made me feel like in the middle of a cross-road, I wanted to continue watching it because the story was very intriguing but at the same time I was also tired of seeing the unimportant thing being shown over and over again.

I have read such nice things about this miniseries. At first, I wasn’t that interested as it is something like a story of political intrigue…and political intrigue is not my favorite movie theme. But I kept reading good things about it, somehow it made me interested and thought that I should give it a try too. I bought the DVD in late September.

Let’s start with the story.

The story is indeed about political intrigue between houses on The Seven Kingdoms. The current king of the Westerons was Robert Baratheon (Mark Andy) from the House of Baratheon. Robert married Cersei Lannister (Lena Headey) from the House of Lannister. Ser Jaime Lannister (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau), her twin brother, killed the former King whom they called as The Mad King. The Mad King was from the House of Targaryen. Robert Baratheon hated this house so much because the Mad King caused the dead of a woman he ever loved with all his heart. The woman was the sister of Lord Eddard Stark (Sean Bean), because he could never love other woman, he sort of neglected his Queen. This situation made the Queen had affair with her own twin brother…yup it is what people called as incest!

The King in this land needed a Hand to help him run the country. The last hand was killed and the King asked Lord Stark to be his Hand. Despite his reluctance, Eddard Stark accepted the offer. He was planning to investigate the death of the previous Hand. Meanwhile, his second youngest son, Bran (Isaac Hempstead Wright), witnessed the affair of the Queen and for that he was pushed down from a tower. From that moment on, the story started to show one deception after another.

When the King died, Eddard Stark was arrested from treachery. His oldest son, Robb (Richard Madden) marched with his father’s banner to free his father from the Queen and new incompetent King.

Meanwhile, on the other side of the kingdom …far from those political deceptions, the exiled children of King Targaryen, Vyserys Targaryen (Harry Lloyd) and Daenerys “Dany” Targaryen (Emilia Clarke) were plotting to get back to their land and take the throne back from Baratheon. To do such thing, Vysreys ‘sold’ his sister, Dany, to the Dothraki. She was set to be the wife of Khal Drogo (Jason Momoa), the leader of the Dothraki. Vyserys didn’t get what he expected while Dany turned from a girl into a Queen. Dany is my favorite character of all characters in this miniseries.

The problems of this Seven Kingdoms didn’t come only from the people who were eager to seat on the Iron Throne, a more dangerous threat were lurking from behind the wall.

That’s all I can say about the story…interesting isn’t it?

Now, let’s talk about my reluctance of seeing this miniseries.

You are about to read what I think of the series based on a very Asian woman who still holds the East tradition strongly.
First of all, I am not the kind of person who refuse seeing sexual or nudity content in any sort of movie. When those two things are needed to make the story understandable, I really don’t mind with that…however, Game of Thrones offers sexual and nudity content beyond what’s necessary. GoT is a miniseries played in TV, it was a real shock when I first saw the half naked woman freely showing off her breast….at that moment, I thought wow is TV has gone this open? I wonder how Indonesian Cable handles the censor because such vulgarity is not allowed in this country.

Although I was a bit shocked, I still didn’t mind with it and continue watching. But things got too often and too unnecessary. The sexual content of Dany and Khal Drogo was needed as we need to see the changes in Dany, from a woman scared with her husband to a woman adored by her husband. Her nudity was also understandable….but I really don’t think I needed to see two whores trying to please one another while a man is telling them he loves the Queen. I was like ‘ow please!! We don’t need that!!’. There were so many nudity and sexual content that I found so not important…and that made tired. After 3 episodes, I was in between. I wanted to know what will happen to the Starks and Dany (I don’t care with the King and his wife’s family…Baratheon and Lannister are the most boring part of the series), but at the same time I didn’t want to see more unnecessary nudity and sexual contents. In the end, I finished this 10 episodes miniseries in one month while I only needed 3 days to finish 23 episodes of Lie To me. I sort of wish I had seen the Indonesian CableTV version, the one that had undergone censorship.

Apart from that reluctance…I still enjoy Game of Thrones because of these things:

I love Dany…she was a great character to explore, I half wish I can read the book just to get to know her more. She was the one character that evolved the most. She was once an innocent girl whose dream was only to get back to her land. But then he learned to love her savage husband. She then became a respectful Khaleesi (the Dothraki Queen) whom loved by her people. When I saw how people adored her, I saw how great her character was. And then she had to lose her love one. She turned into a desperate Queen. But at the end, she showed that she was more than just a powerful woman because of her husband, she was indeed powerful. I am so in love with her character. She was the biggest reason I like this series.

Apart from Dany, I also enjoy the movement of Stark’s family. The family was so loyal to one another except for Sansa who was blindedly in love with the silly prince, in truth I was happy seeing her suffering. The children of Stark, even the bastard one, were all full of interest. I want to know what will happen to them.

This image belongs to en-taiho.deviantart.com (click on the picture to see the original one)

Will I watch the second season?

I might…I might not…I honestly don’t know yet. I am so curious with Dany, Robb’s war and the thing beyond the wall…but I can’t ignore my reluctance too.

You have read how I feel about the series. Do share what you think about this series 🙂

 Miniseries detail:

Based on Novel by George R.R.Martin
Director: Tim Van Patten
Scriptwriter: David Benioff, D. B. Weiss, Bryan Cogman, and Jane Espenson
Starring: Sean Bean, Mark Addy, Michelle Fairley, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Lena Headey, Emilia Clarke, Iain Glen, Aidan Gillen, Harry Lloyd, Kit Harington, Richard Madden, Sophie Turner, Jason Momoa and Maisie Williams.
Rating: 

Other Reviews: All about War Movies

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

26 comments on “Game Of Thrones

  1. dirtywithclass
    November 10, 2011

    I’ve been planning to watch this at some point, as i have also heard good things about it. And generally heavy sexual content doesn’t really bother me, but i realize different people have different opinions on that

    • Novroz
      November 10, 2011

      overall, the series was great, I think yo will like it Julian. That past I don’t like is not something important to some people…it’s a lackness in my eyes only.

  2. TBM
    November 10, 2011

    I keep meaning to read and watch this series.

    • Novroz
      November 11, 2011

      hope you enjoy it more than me 🙂

  3. DEZMOND
    November 11, 2011

    It wasn’t a bad show, but as you said not at all great as American audience think it was. They just can’t make a great epic or historical show like the Brits or Kiwis can. GAME OF THRONES had a lot of empty scenes, badly planned episodes and it generally wasn’t epic at all. I think it needed more creative power and a stronger directorial vision. But I did like the nudity 🙂 although it’s true that it was mostly unjustified 🙂
    I loved Harry Lloyd’s, Kit Harington’s, Sean Bean’s and Jason Momoa’s performances.

  4. Novroz
    November 11, 2011

    ah…I thought yo love the series. I can’t say it in details like you have done. I am not sure which parts are the empty scenes you’ve mentioned. I was holding on to how the story goes, otherwise I am not sure I can finish it. But you are right, it’s not as epic as I thought it would be. Far below lord of the rings.

    yaiy for saying that some of the nudity are unjustified. That’s the part that bothered me the most.

    those men are great, that’s why I enjoy watching them and start liking their characters.

    thank you for sharing that much Dezz

  5. Caroline
    November 11, 2011

    I loved it but I undestand what bothered you. I had the same problem with Spartacus. There was gratuitous sex all the time and it annoyed me because I thought they just do it because it sells. It’s a bit like that here. I wonder how the books are. If they included this only for TV?

    • Kimmi
      November 11, 2011

      The books have both more sex and less — it’s more on topic, at any rate. When the messenger shows up to tell Cat and Ned about her sister’s message, Catelyn gets out of bed naked, saying the matter is too important to get dressed, and at any rate Maester Lewin had helped her give birth five times already. (good characterization, no?)
      The Roz character wasn’t in the books at all (though Tyrion still loves his whores).
      And that “funny” Hodor scene was straight out of the books.

      From where I sit, everyone hated the whole “throw in More Sex” thing.

      • Caroline
        November 12, 2011

        Thanks for the answer, Kimmi.

      • Novroz
        November 12, 2011

        thank you for the explanation Kim.

        have you read the whole series?
        yeah I am one of those who hate the whole throw more sex thing.

    • Novroz
      November 12, 2011

      Spartacus contains a lot of sex scenes too?? now I have doubt in buying it. Is there any US TVseries that doesn’t have too much sex in it?

      I know you love it Caroline. I dont want to read the book but I really want to know what will happen to Dany

      • Caroline
        November 13, 2011

        I thought there was much more in Spartacus. At least that’s how I remember it, I only wathed two episodes. It annoyed me. And Rome too, I think.
        Newer US series will always rely heavily on it. At least this type.

        • Novroz
          November 14, 2011

          Wow…this is a big surprise. I mean those series are for TV,poor children if they somehow see it. I miss the era where series were clean of nudity.

          • ianthecool
            November 15, 2011

            To be fair, these are on subscription-based networks, meaning that they are only available if you choose to order the network. This is why they are allowed to push limits with sex, violence and language. If parents don’t want their kids exposed, they do not order the channels.

          • Novroz
            November 15, 2011

            ah…I see. Thank you for explaining it Ian.
            here in Indonesia, we have many subscription network, but all still have to undergo cencorship…or so they say. I never have one, not really interested.

  6. ruth
    November 12, 2011

    Awesome Nov, I’ll read this more thoroughly later. I just want to let you know I provided a link back here from my post today 🙂

    • Novroz
      November 12, 2011

      thank you 🙂 I will check your post now

  7. ianthecool
    November 13, 2011

    Hi, and thanks for the perspective. I would like to agree with you on the particular unnecessary sex scene you’ve mentioned. It didn’t need to be there. In the other scenes, the sex is usually there to establish something of the characters or the world or culture itself, but that particular scene was gratuitous.
    However, if you are worried about continuing to watch because of this sexuality, I would like to point out that often with HBO shows like this, the first season has much more sex and nudity than later seasons. Its almost as if they want to establish the show as one that will push boundaries, but once the viewers are drawn in they ease off later in the series. This happened with Entourage, Rome and The Wire.
    So chances are it will drop off here too, except in the parts which are important as indicated by the books. But even the books ease off with the sex later on.

    • Novroz
      November 13, 2011

      Thank you Ian, I am glad more people in the same page as I am toward the unnecessary sex scenes. This series could receive higher rating for me if they only put the sex part when it relates to the story.

      Ow wow…I didn’t know HBO has gone to nudity in many series, I thought this was the first. I am now missing the old day of TVseries. Now I know 4 TVSeries that show nudity *sigh*.
      I hope that’s true, I really do hope the second season will have less gratuitous sex scenes. I want to know what happen to my favorite characters but I don’t want to read the book and I sure don’t want to see more unimportant sex scenes.

      Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing this Ian.

  8. KatiesCameraBlog
    November 13, 2011

    I really liked the Game of Thrones. It was very sexual, but maybe they wanted to show that it was more part of life and open back then? I do think some of it was a bit gratuitous, and I can understand it making for an uncomfortable experience.I love Sean Bean and he was great in this. 🙂 And didn’t they cancel lie to me. Booooo.

    • Novroz
      November 14, 2011

      I agree!! Sean bean is great in here…too bad we wont see him again in season 2. I don’t mind sex scenes when they are necessary….but you also said that some of them are gratuitous…I wish they don’t have to do that

      I am now watching season 3 of Lie To Me, not as good as season 2,maybe that’s why they cancel it 😦

  9. Yana
    November 22, 2011

    I think it’s typical for HBO’s series, just like True Blood. I agree that the story is very intriguing but I still wonder how it would be if the series was made by British 😀

    • Novroz
      November 22, 2011

      I don’t watch true Blood, so this was quite a big surprise for me.
      It seemed that you watch it too, hehehe please tell me if you have watched the 2nd season…will it have gratuitous sex or not…if there is still too many of that, I better just asked the story to you 😉

  10. adityahadi
    June 24, 2012

    Being disturbed by Sansa? You have to see her character’s development in Season 3 and 4, she become stronger and stronger. 🙂

    FYI, there is so much difference between the Serial and the Books, so, hope you can read them sometimes, hee … maybe in e-books so you don’t have to see the thick book. 😀

    • Novroz
      June 24, 2012

      Good to know that about Sansa…can you tell me about Dany? What have become of her? I like her complicated character the most.

      Hehehe I don’t have ebook plus I dont think I am ready to gamble my time reading thick book not by Stephen King who I know never disappointed me.

  11. Pingback: Peaky Blinder Series 2 – A Review | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2011 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads