Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

A Poem for Kame – Happy Gotcha Day

Dear Kame…
They told me turtles are creepy
They told me turtles have no emotion
They told me turtles are lousy pets

Dear Kame…
If I had listened to them, I wouldn’t know how beautiful turtles are
If I had listened to them, I wouldn’t know how caring turtles can be
If I had listened to them, I wouldn’t know how amazing pet turtles can be

Dear Kame
They told me I am weird
They told me I am crazy
They told me I am silly

Dear Kame
Loving you is not a weird thing
Caring you is the sanest thing
Raising you is far from silly

Dear Kame
Sorry for feeding you wrongly
Sorry for housing you incorrectly
Sorry for handling you too much

Dear Kame
Now I know what best for you
Now I can help other people
Now I know the different between you and other turtles

Dear Kame
Thank you for your unconditional love
Thank you for you eagerness to welcome me home
Thank you for being my lovely baby pet.

Happy 5th gotcha day my sweet sweet Kamechan

How I love my turtles SOOOO MUCH. I hope they will outlive me.It would break my heart to see them die before me. Kame is now 5 years old, she still have at least 25 years to keep me company 🙂

Kame shared her photos and videos when she was baby till she grows as big as she  is now in her own blog. Please go and take  a look at her photos 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

30 comments on “A Poem for Kame – Happy Gotcha Day

  1. Pingback: Happy Gotcha Day To Me | Kame & Kroten Blog

  2. Castor
    October 26, 2011

    Happy Gotcha Day Novia and Kame!!

    • Novroz
      October 26, 2011

      Thank you Castor 🙂
      It’s the month of great joy because I met Kame.

  3. Binky
    October 26, 2011

    RES live for about 30 years? That’s quite long. Some tortoises are among the oldest living animals.

    • Novroz
      October 26, 2011

      RES is one of the shortest among testudines. Some Tortoises and Sea turtles can live around 150 years.

  4. KatiesCameraBlog
    October 26, 2011

    What a wonderful tribute to both you and Kame, Novia. It is just beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing! And Happy Gotcha Day!

    • Novroz
      October 26, 2011

      Thank you Katie 🙂
      I thought poem would be a nice tribute for her as I had shared top 5 pictures of hers last year. It’s not rhyming but I am really happy with it.

  5. dirtywithclass
    October 26, 2011

    That was sweet. And personally i don’t think anyone should be judged based on what pets they have, as long ad they can take care of them

    • Novroz
      October 26, 2011

      Hear hear!! I wish everyone thinks like you Julian.
      Even my students sometimes said I have unusual pet…but turtles are great pet if we take good care of them.
      Thank you Julian

  6. Caroline
    October 26, 2011

    I’m glad you didn’t listen!
    Happy Gotcha Day from me, little Kame!

    • Kame
      October 27, 2011

      I am glad she didn’t listen 😉
      Thank you aunt Caroline.

  7. Bellezza
    October 27, 2011

    Sorry…I have to move your comment to Message Board, Belleza.

    Novroz

  8. Tony McGurk
    October 27, 2011

    What a nice poem. Whoever told you turtles are creepy never read Kame & Kroten’s blog

    • Novroz
      October 27, 2011

      Thank you soooo much Tony 🙂
      It was quite a pleasant surprise to see you pop in my blog.I second your comment, they should see Kame & Kroten’s blog to know more how cute turtles can be

      • Tony McGurk
        October 29, 2011

        I have so many blogs & webcomics in my RSS reader to try & keep up with & I don;t like getting too far behind with visiting them all that I really only have time to follow one blog per person. I just love K&K’s blog so they are the ones I follow

        • Novroz
          October 31, 2011

          I understand Tony 🙂
          The fact that you always visit my turtle’s blog already makes my heart warm, you don’t have to visit this blog because I know you have lots of comic fellows to read 🙂

  9. DEZMOND
    October 27, 2011

    they really have emotions? They respond to petting and such things?
    What do they eat? Is it true that they sleep over a part of the year like bears?

    • Novroz
      October 27, 2011

      Ah…Dezzy dear, you should visit their blog once in a while 😉
      They respond to both petting and name. Kame and Kroten can be called to come to me.

      Here’s a video for you:

      Grown turtles eat veggie. Hibernating only happens to turtles in the wild. It rarely happens in captivity or domesticated.

      • DEZMOND
        October 28, 2011

        he he the turtle was so cute when it propped to get onto your hand 🙂
        Do they poop around the house, or do they have place for that like cats? 🙂

        • Novroz
          October 28, 2011

          Yeah…that’s the hardest part to teach 😦
          They poop around the house if I set them free. Fortunately, They rarely pooped outside their tank….only occasionally. And I have to wipe it A.S.A.P as their poop contains a lot of salmonella

      • tokyo5
        October 31, 2011

        >Hibernating only happens to turtles in the wild. It rarely happens in captivity or domesticated.

        My turtle hibernates every winter.

        • Novroz
          October 31, 2011

          Wow that’s amazing!!! mine never hibernate. A fellow turtle owner I met in RES.com also has a turtle that often hibernate.
          How do you make him hibernate?

          • tokyo5
            October 31, 2011

            >How do you make him hibernate?

            Actually, her. 😉
            I didn’t make her hibernate. She eats a lot in the summer and gets a lot of fat…then she begins to eat less and less as the weather gets colder…until it gets cold enough and she just begins to hibernate.
            I have a box full of leaves that she hibernates in.

          • Novroz
            October 31, 2011

            I realize it’s a she when i saw your blog :)…apologize to her.

            Ah that’s right…Japan has 4 seasons. Here, there are only rainy season and dry season,my turtles will never hibernate here.

  10. Val
    October 30, 2011

    I kept tortoises when I was a child, Novroz, so I understand the love for them. 🙂

    • Novroz
      October 31, 2011

      :hug: They are such wonderful pet, aren’t they Val 🙂
      What happened to your tortoise?

      • Val
        November 2, 2011

        I had several tortoises (at different times) when I was a child, sadly they were put into a box to hibernate and died. My dad was probably to blame for that. If we’d had internet back in those days I’m sure we could have got more information about their care, but that just wasn’t available in the 50s and 60s.

        • Novroz
          November 3, 2011

          You are right about the internet!! I didnt know how to house a turtle before and did it wrongly to Kame. Internet showed me the right way to care for them.

          Sorry about your tortoises. Why don’t you have another one now?

          • Val
            November 7, 2011

            I would love to, but here in the UK we now need a licence to own a tortoise. And to be honest, I’m not in favour of forcibly hibernating them but the alternative is to keep them awake all winter and I’m never sure if that’s kind or unkind. I have such mixed feelings about keeping as pets animals that should be wild. I think that keeping rescue animals that wouldn’t otherwise be able to look after themselves in the wild, is one thing, but buying them isn’t – for me, at least. At present, I just make the most of enjoying our wild birds that come to visit us and which probably think they own us!

            Do your turtles like having their necks tickled underneath? My tortoises adored that and would stick their heads out just for that pleasure! 🙂

          • Novroz
            November 9, 2011

            A license for tortoise? wow…we have no such thing in my country.
            Ah I see what you mean. Turtles don’t hibernate here as we only have 2 seasons…no winter at all.

            Both love getting their neck petted, here’s a photo of kame enjoying the touch

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2011 by in Kame&Kroten, Short Story & Others and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads