Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Wordsworth Collection of Irish Ghost stories

Blurb:

With a word of warning to those of nervous a disposition, Wordsworth presents this spellbinding collection of chilling Celtic tales of the macabre, all drawn from the rich and varied literary tradition of a culture long enchanted by things supernatural, ‘a land where ghosts and ghost-seers are so common’. Featuring the imaginative writing of such towering masters of the genre as Sheridan Le Fanu, Bram Stoker, Patrick Kennedy, Thomas Crofton Croker and George Moore, this volume of ghoulish masterpieces from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries is an encapsulation of the arcane lore, magical landscape and fantastic creativity of the Irish. Don’t attempt to read these horrifying tales alone in an empty house. Your blood will run cold as the unreal becomes real and the impossible all too possible. Indelible images will possess your imagination and haunt your dreams. Make sure all the lights are on and the doors are bolted.

If I have reviewed it, I will link it to each title.

Stories (based on authors):

Sheridan Le Fanu

  • Green Tea
  • The Familiar
  • Mr Justice Harbottle
  • The Room In Le Dragon Volant
  • Carmilla
  • Madam Crowl’s Ghost
  • Squire Toby’s Will
  • Dickon The Devil
  • The Child That Went With The Fairies
  • The White Cat Of Drumguinnol
  • An Account Of Some Strange Disturbances In Aungiers Street
  • Ghost Stories Of Chapelizod
  • Wicked Captain Walshawe Of Wauling
  • Sir Dominick’s Bargain
  • Ultor de Lacy
  • The Vision Of Tom Chuff
  • Stories Of Lough Guir
  • The Spectre Lovers
  • The Watcher
  • Passage In The Secret History Of An Irish Countess
  • Strange Event In The Life Of Shalken The Painter
  • The Fortunes Of Sir Robert Ardagh
  • The Dream
  • A Chapter In The History Of A Tyrone Family

D. R. McAnally, Jr.

  • About The Fairies
  • Satan As Sculptor
  • The Defeat Of The Widows
  • The Henpecked Giant
  •  The Leprechaun
  • How The Lakes Were Made
  • Taming The Pooka
  • The Sexton Of Cashel

Traditional & Anonymous

  • Daniel Crowley And The Ghosts
  • John Reardon And The Sister Ghosts
  • The Witch Hare
  • Donald And His Neighbours

Thomas Crofton Crocker

Patrick Kennedy

Jeremiah Curtin

  • The Blood-Drawing Ghos
  • St. Martin’s Eve

Gerald Griffin

Letitia Maclintock

  • Far Darrig In Donegal
  • Jamie Freel And The Young Lady

William Carleton

  • Moll Roe’s Marriage, or The Pudding Bewitched
  • The Three Wishes

Charlotte Riddell

  • Hertford O’Donnell’s Warning
  • The Last Squire Of Ennismore

Michael Banim

  • The Rival Dreamers

William Maginn

  • A Vision Of Purgatory

Shan F. Bullock

  • Th’ Ould Boy

James Berry

  • The Adventures Of Foranan O’Fergus, The Physician

Bram Stoker

Francis Marion Crawford

  • The Dead Smile

Oscar Wilde

  • The Canterville Ghost

Douglas Hyde

  • Teig O’Kane And The Corpse

Daniel Corkery

  • Eyes Of The Dead

A. E. Coppard

  • The Gollan

George Moore

  • A Play-House In The Waste

Rosa Mulholland

  • The Ghost At The Rath

Forrest Reid

Dorothy Macardl

  • The Prisoner

Cecil Francis Alexander

  • The Legend Of Stumpie’s Brae

Hermine Kavenagh

  • Darby O’Gill And The Leprechaun

Joseph Jacobs

  • The Fields Of Boliauns

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

15 comments on “The Wordsworth Collection of Irish Ghost stories

  1. Pingback: Irish Ghost stories Part 1 « Polychrome Interest

  2. DEZMOND
    October 5, 2011

    I wonder what would you do if you found a ghost in your own house?🙂

    • Novroz
      October 5, 2011

      I never seen one…Thank God, but my brother can (believe or not). He saw a big head floating on the ceiling once, but it didn’t spook him as he got used of seeing unusual ‘appearance

  3. le0pard13
    October 5, 2011

    Sounds very interesting. Thanks, Novroz.

    • Novroz
      October 5, 2011

      You’re welcome Mike.
      I have only read 2 stories and both aren’t scary enough…but I still have plenty to explore😉

  4. rtm
    October 5, 2011

    I don’t think I have the guts to read these Nov, I’ll probably have nightmares!😀

    • Novroz
      October 5, 2011

      Hahaha…don’t worry Ruth, so far the 2 stories I have read are not scary at all. maybe later I will find one so scary

  5. Caroline
    October 6, 2011

    We had a ghost cat here. I swear it. Even my cats saw it. They just followed it with their eyes. Strange. Looks like ahuge collection. I know some of the authors but by far not all of them.
    I like the cover a lot.

    • Novroz
      October 6, 2011

      I would love to hear the things the ghost cat did. I once had a ghost on my roof, the door headed to the roof often bang itself but when my mom checked it, the door was locked.

      I only know 2 authors.

      • Caroline
        October 7, 2011

        It didn’t do much, it just passed. A little shadow walking slowly from one room to the other. My boyfriend saw it as well. I don’t know why it disappeared, maybe it sounds weird but I miss it. I had an unfriendly ghost in my apartment once… That was no fun. It left after a night or two. I had a feeling it sucked the air right out of the place. There was also another person present who felt it. I’m sure some people think I’m nuts.

        • Novroz
          October 7, 2011

          well, you are now sharing these stories with me, an Asian and most Asians believe there are supernatural beings among us…so you will not b considered as nuts😉

  6. kelly
    October 6, 2011

    Wow!! That’s a lot of stories😀

    • Novroz
      October 6, 2011

      It sure is a wow😉
      I was surprised when I opened the book and found so many.

  7. Pingback: Stories by Gerald Griffin « Polychrome Interest

  8. Pingback: The Judge’s House by Bram Stoker « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2011 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads