Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Irish Ghost stories Part 1

Have you ever had a readers block? Well…I had it these past few weeks. Everything I read made me fall asleep. it was really frustrating.

The solution turned out to be very simple…Read the book  you had enjoyed so much in the past. I choose to reread Death Note, I am still reading it and will review it (as I haven’t reviewed it in English yet) later. Somewhere in between Death Note I find the joy of reading Short Stories…and this is what i want to share now🙂

About a week  ago, My friend, Wulan, and I went to kinokuniya. I was trying to find Battle Royale by Koushun Takami, but they didn’t have that book😦

My eyes caught something else that i thought quite interesting, The Wordsworth Collection of  Irish Ghost stories, a very thick book of 1102 pages.

You know how much I love ghost stories!! Therefore, no doubt the book intrigued me so bad.

And…you know how a certain Irishman has made me curious to know more about Ireland.

Those 2 reasons made me pick the book and bring it home.

I was so happy to see SO MANY stories in that book, you can read all the titles in that book here (I make separate post because I want to note down all I have read). I decided to read them randomly because if I read them in order I was afraid I might get another reader’s block.

I will write all the shorts I have read in my blog,but they will never be written as 1 short 1 post, always minimum 2 stories.

In between Death Note, I read this 2 stories:

Courage by Forrest Reid (Page 786-792)

I have to admit that reading Courage was a new experience tome. I am so used to reading horror in a simple writing style, you know like Stephen King’s books…Courage has a different style of writing, the  kind of writing I often see in literature and old books. I have to read the first 2 pages twice to get a grip on the imagination the writer was trying to create. It was quite a nice  chance,but it doesn’t mean I will stop reading simple writing books.

Here’s an example of the language:

“He stood there while he might have counted a hundred, on the verge of flight, poised between curiosity and fright. At length curiosity, the spirit of adventure triumphed, and he advanced to a closer inspection. “

The story itself wasn’t scary at all! It has its moment of thrilling but not even close to scared me. However, I like the ending a lot. It left something for us to think and guess,the kind of ending I always enjoy. It gave the readers a chance to question what had just happened.

Story: Michael was curious with a  big mansion near his aunt’s house. He found the gate to the mansion and decided to take a closer look of what inside that mansion. What he expected was not what he saw. He saw a clean and well taken care house…or did he?

The Ghost and the Game of Football by Patrick Kennedy (Page 535-537)

The Ghost and the Game of  Football can be considered as a fun and wise ghost story. Somehow, it feels more like a fairy tale rather than ghost story. The story was written in 3 pages. Really short but I could still  enjoy it.

Story: Jack needed a place to spend a night. A farmer gave him choice to stayed in his old castle. Everyone who had stayed there ended up dead the next morning. If Jack can stay alive till the next morning, the farmer will let him marry his daughter.  Jack met three ghosts in that old castle. Those ghosts wanted him to play football with them. Jack did something no other person had done before  and that something saved his life.

Like I said…it was a fun story. Honestly,I was laughing when I imagined him playing football with ghosts. As you can guess, this story is not scary at all.

**************

I am still waiting to be spooked by this book, in other word I am waiting for this (quote from the blurb) to  happen:

Your blood will run cold as the unreal becomes real and the impossible all too possible. Indelible images will possess your imagination and haunt your dreams. Make sure all the lights are on and the doors are bolted.

This is my first review for R.I.P Challenge VI.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

11 comments on “Irish Ghost stories Part 1

  1. Asop
    October 5, 2011

    Saya suka cerita horor.😀

    • Novroz
      October 5, 2011

      Sama🙂
      Senang bgt bisa dapat buku horror setebal ini dengan harga murah

  2. Caroline
    October 6, 2011

    Yeah well… Most ghost stories are not all that spooky. At least not for me. I thought Strangers was. Not while I read it but the ending about Kei…. You know what I mean. I don’t want to spoil it for others.
    The first story sounds good. I’m sure they are evocative and atmospherical. I can’t remember, did you ever read a ghost story that you thought was really creepy?
    I know readers block, when everything I read feels blah. Not so much lately.

    • Novroz
      October 6, 2011

      ah yes, that part with Kei was quite creepy…I can recall it clearly, one of my favorite moments in the book.

      The book that give me a creep a bit was The Shining by Stephen King, the things happening in that hotel raised my hair. I guess that’s why I don’t like Kubrick’s movie, it didn’t creep me at all.

  3. kelly
    October 6, 2011

    Oh Yay!! That should keep your interest for a while😀

    • Novroz
      October 6, 2011

      I hope soo…I hate having readers block. Thank you Kel🙂

  4. mywordlyobsessions
    October 14, 2011

    You are like me. I also get ‘readers block’. I had it quite bad last year and guess what, the short stories saved me🙂

    I realised I had been reading some very difficult, long novels lately and I had totally dried up my brain. It’s good that you enjoyed them. The Irish have some very interesting literature. Having said that the only ghost story that has ever scared me was ‘The Shining’ by Stephen King. It was creepy!

    • Novroz
      October 15, 2011

      Hi Zee🙂 hisashiburi.
      I guess every reader had that moment of readers block in their time. Maybe you’re right too many difficult book can dry up our brain. In my case Manga and Shorts help me back. Now that I have finished Death Note, I am ready for another thick novel. I still read the shorts when I am at home.

      Aha…same with me!! The Shining is really creepy. SK was really good in scaring people and he can also gives an great imagination impact on his readers. When I read The Stand, I started having imagination what will if the person who sneezes in front of me carries the deadly virus.

  5. Pingback: Death Note – an Amazing Mind Battle Between 2 Geniuses « Polychrome Interest

  6. Pingback: The Wordsworth Collection of Irish Ghost stories « Polychrome Interest

  7. Pingback: Stories by Gerald Griffin « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2011 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,507 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads