Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Actor/Actress I Don’t Get The Appeal For

Click this button to see my other top-5 list

It’s time to continue my 15 questions meme…well at least part of that meme. As I have planned since two months ago, I did top 5 Actor/Actress I Will Always Watch No Matter How Crappy back then…tho it expanded to 6 actors and 1 actress, I will now do top 5 actor/actress I don’t get the appeal and tends to avoid unless the movie is REALLY REALLY good.

I only have actors in this list, the ladies appear in the honorable mention.

There are two reasons for me to find certain actor to be not appealing, one is of course the acting talent and the other is the personality through the tube…or simply I just don’t like him (Yup I am shamelessly saying that I judge the book by its cover).

If your favorite actor is on my list…please don’t be offended because it is simply my honest feeling about them…so let’s still get along with our difference taste or preference🙂

#5 George Clooney

They said George Clooney is a great actor, they said he is really handsome…and somehow I don’t see those things in him.

For me, his roles are always the same. I do not avoid his movie, that’s why he is in number 5, but I never find his acting as something great…all are okay to me. None made me start saying ‘wow he is great!!’. He failed so bad as Batman…totally failed.

#4 Justin Timberlake

I don’t like Justin not because of his acting or in other word I am not saying that he is a bad actor, in fact I haven’t seen his movies. I have this great reluctance to see him since his days in his boyband era. Granted that I never like any boyband since the day music become part of my life. His face is really annoying!! That is reason for disliking him. Shallow you might say, so be it!! I couldn’t even stand his 3 minutes appearance in music video let along 2 hours in a movie…and for that, I still haven’t seen social Network and have great reluctance to see the upcoming In Time.

#3 Fujiwara Tatsuya

Aha…for this one…his acting is the problem!!

I have heard so many praises on his acting talent but what I have seen from his 2 movies and 1 TV Drama are SO not convincing. He was really flat in Kiss of Heaven (which is the worst Japanese TV Drama I have ever seen). And then he totally ruined Kira’s role in Death Note. He didn’t show the right emotion to be Kira. When Light (read: Raito) turned into Kira, he had this serious look on his face and then when he was no longer Kira by letting go Ryuku, he had his innocent face back…but Fujiwara failed in doing so. I was so annoyed by it, fortunately Matsuyama Ken’ichi was almost perfect as L…he made me liked the movie version of Death Note a little bit more.

And then he also failed as the main character of my most favorite Japanese Literature, Battle Royale (this book is the main reason I will not read or see Hunger Game). Again, the right emotion wasn’t there.

I avoid him ever since.

#2 Brad Pitt

First of all…I am glad to see him in Joel’s list, at least I have company in not finding his appeal.

How should I say this in the nicest way possible…hmm…his appearance annoyed me, sorry…can’t make it nicer. Every time someone told me he is super handsome and talented, I ended up scratching my head out of confusion and wanted to say ‘really?’. But out of politeness, I never say I hate him in front of his fans. I guess much of my dislike at him is because of the way he acted as if he is all high and mighty, arrogance is pouring out him like puss pouring out of an infected wound. I remembered watching his interview in Oprah because Cate Blanchett was also there…Ow My God, I feel like throwing my shoe at his face. He is so full of it, Will Smith (whom I think has far better acting than Pitt) was much nicer than Pitt and didn’t act as if he was the greatest actor.

And really, I never find his acting all that good. If the movie isn’t really good like se7en, I wouldn’t watch any of his movies. When I watched Troy, the minute Bana died, the movie lost its charm. And The Boring case of Benjamin Button ended up in fast-forward all the time except when Cate shows up. That’s why, no matter how good people are saying about the Tree of Life, I will not watch it in cinema, I will wait for it in DVD so that if I don’t find the movie as interesting as people said, I can just turn it off. Seeing Brad Pitt movies in cinema is a big gamble for me.

Sorry to all Pitt fans…this is how I think of him. Don’t hate me because of this.

#1 Steven Seagal

I don’t not hate Steven Seagal…I just don’t find him interesting to watch as he always do 1 kind of role in ALL his movies. He always acted as a cool man that didn’t talk much and every time he talked, he talked in the same tone.

No matter what the story is, he always did the same act!! I find it VERY BORING. After seeing some of his movies, I decided not to watch anything by him anymore…what’s the point of seeing him act as the same over and over again.

***************

Well…that’s all folk🙂

It took sometimes for me to decide whether to put Pitt or Seagal in number 1. My vote goes to Seagal because at least Pitt has some interesting movies.

Reminded by Wulan,I have forgotten to write my honorable mention…sorry. so, here they are: Tom Cruise and his wife, Katie Holmes, Angelina Jolie, all the cast in Twilight, and some others that I can’t remember their names but I know their faces.

Now, it’s your turn to share your actor/actress you don’t get the appeal. I’d love to know and maybe we share the same dislike😉

And don’t worry!! I won’t take my shotgun and start shooting at you when you mention Cillian Murphy, Benedict Cumberbatch, Sharlto Copley, Tom Hanks, Keanu Reeves, Sandra Bullock or Paul Bettany in your list, as it is your list not mine🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

42 comments on “Actor/Actress I Don’t Get The Appeal For

  1. Nuzul
    September 19, 2011

    I have to disagree with your top two ahahah.

    For me, Brad Pitt is a rare specimen. He has that swag only a few actors have. Try to watch Fight Club, The Inglorious Basterds, Burn After Reading, Ocean’s Trilogy, and Interview With A Vampire, and 12 Monkeys. Se7en = his best performance beside Fight Club and Inglorious Basterds. “What’s in the box?!” one of my favorite all time movie line

    As for Steven Seagal….i always thought martial arts artist can’t be categorize as ‘actors’ i don’t know why. But for me, Seagal were the one that stood out besides the other muscle-naked-shirt-all-sweaty-HOO-HAH-HOO-HAH guys like Van Damme, Norris, etc hahahah. What you see is what you get. In his real life, he’s also very quiet and he doesn’t talk much. But for me, Steven Seagal is the 2nd best martial arts artist. No 1 is of course, Bruce Lee

    As for my list….

    Tom Cruise
    God i hate this guy. I love his earlier works though. But as he gets older his performance are getting stale, and his offscreen antics are really annoying. His cameo on “Tropic Thunder” was cool, but yeah that’s it

    Michael Cera
    Have you seen him play a character other than himself? Didn’t think so.

    • Novroz
      September 19, 2011

      Hi Nuzul…long time no see🙂
      Thanks for participating here.

      Mr. Pitt and Mr. Seagal will be so grateful for your defend🙂 but it didn’t work on me. They will be happy you like them.

      I agree on Cruise, I was going to put him in number5 but Clooney finally got the place. I haven’t seen Cera in movies other than that movie directed by Edgar Right (I suddenly forgot the title)

    • scarletsp1der
      September 20, 2011

      GOOD call on Michael Cera! good call

  2. DEZMOND
    September 19, 2011

    I totally agree on Pitt and Clooney, they often ruined good films with their uncharismatic acting. Cate Blanchett’s stunning performances were two times hijacked by the superficial acting of these two gents – GOOD GERMAN and BENJAMIN BUTTON.
    As you know, I find Timberlake one of the most talented stars ever, but I don’t see the appeal of Tom Hanks🙂 He always gives pathetic perfomances😛

    • Novroz
      September 19, 2011

      Well Dezzy, even though we are different toward Timberlake and Hanks, I am glad we are agreeing in Clooney and Pitt🙂
      Those two gents really need to do something extraordinary for me to start approving they are worthy actors.

      • roisinaobrien
        September 23, 2011

        Tom Hanks has been particularly bad in recent years – I wish he was still stuck far away on the Cast Away island!

  3. quixoticweetzie
    September 20, 2011

    I do actually like George Clooney, I have to admit. Although I do agree with the rest of your list and I would add Tom Cruise. I can’t stand Tom Cruise!

    • Novroz
      September 20, 2011

      Hi Quixoticweetzie🙂
      Well I actually don’t hate Clooney like the way I feel toward the other 4, I still enjoy his movies. Same case with Cruise…I don’t find him appealing but I still watch some of his movies.
      Thank you for sharing your thought Qui

  4. Nekoneko
    September 20, 2011

    OMG!! Yes…. I too so dislike Tom Cruise!! I never watch his movies. I also have the same feeling for Bruce Willis…. just never find him appealing. Don’t really know why…..

    And Justin Timberlake? I don’t even consider him an actor…. ;p

    • Novroz
      September 20, 2011

      For Bruce Willis,I don’t like him nor dislike him, but I like some of his movies.He has good way of choosing his movies. Die Hard and 6th Sense is among my favorites.

      Glad we are in the same side with Timberlake.

  5. Castor
    September 20, 2011

    Agree with you on Justin Timberlake and Steven Seagal. Every time, I see them on screen, I see Justin Timberlake and Steven Seagal. I think George Clooney tends to play very similar characters all the time so I can see what you are saying. I do like Brad Pitt though, he has had a nice variety of roles and he is usually better with the over-the-top ones although he was very, very good in The Tree of Life.

    • Novroz
      September 20, 2011

      I can see you like him Cas…he is after all in your poll😉
      I am intrigued with Tree of Life as I have said it in Joel’s blog…but I’ll wait it in DVD.

      For Steven Seagal, I keep wondering was he the one who chose to be his own-self or the movie producer asked him to do so….always same character, so boring.

  6. scarletsp1der
    September 20, 2011

    hahaha. your list was fun to read! I like most of the actors you listed, but I won’t run to the theaters to see their movies just because they are in it. haha

    and when it comes to good ol’ Steven Seagal…I don’t think he really has ANY appeal nowadays. LOL

    • Novroz
      September 21, 2011

      Aha…the question is, has he ever have a charm before? not in my eyes😉😉

  7. Caroline
    September 20, 2011

    This is pretty amazing, I could have done the same list apart from the Japanese actor whom I didn’t know. Funny that.

    • Novroz
      September 21, 2011

      Really? hahaha fancy that!! so glad that we have same opinion on these not so charming actors🙂 on these not so charming actors🙂

  8. si_ulil
    September 21, 2011

    Errr… Am I the only one trying to find your honorable mentions??😛

    As for the list, all the actors are excellent choices for this category! I couldn’t agree more! Well, apart from the japanese dude, anyway. since i dont know anything about him.

    I mean, Clooney, Pitt, and Seagal?? You took all the “good” ones already! hahahaha…

    • Novroz
      September 21, 2011

      Gyaaaa…I forgot to write it!! I have added it just now🙂

      I knew you would like the choices as we have often talked about how ‘good’ they are for this category. Tho your mom might disagree with you on Clooney😉

      • si_ulil
        September 22, 2011

        Okay, for the honorable mentions, I 98 percent agree with you. I don’t get Katie Holmes and Angelina Jolie at all, but I can still tolerate Cruise, somehow. As for the twilight cast, I can definitely see why you think so. I can catch a glimpse (read: notice but not really see) the appeal for some of the casts, but I personally think the fans HUGELY overrated them. If the fans act normal instead of worship them, I could see the stars’ appeal, somehow. The bottom line for me: the hype that’s created overshadows the stars’ real talent.

        As for my mum, she just likes Clooney for his look. She hates his movies, saying that they are too boring! hahahaha…

        • Novroz
          September 22, 2011

          Cruise is like Clooney to me, I am not going gaga over their acting but I still enjoy some of their movies. Basically I don’t avoid them but I don’t like them either. Do you get what I ma trying to say here?😉

          Katie and Angelina are actress I definitely avoid. Hate seeing Katie in Batman. I have seen that Bella girls in 2 movies or is it 3, I forgot, and none of them shows good talent…sorry. As for the boy, that Cedric guy failed badly potraying Cedric…I am glad he didn’t get pick to play as Cobain, It will be horibble.

  9. Fariz
    September 22, 2011

    Hahaaha I don’t really hate Pitt or Clooney, they have a few of great performances that I sort of like. For me, I’d choose Johnny Depp. He just pick eccentric characters and give the same type of acting. Even though I don’t really love his portrayal of Jack Sparrow in the first Pirates movie, but it was kinda refreshing. But later on, it got really overrated.
    And I have this kinda feeling towards Leonardo DiCaprio too. It doesn’t mean that I think his acting was bad, but I just have a greater standard for him. I dont know why. I always got a bit of a disappointment every time I see him act. It was good, but not as good as I always thought he could be. But maybe it’s because I always see Jack Dawson (Titanic) in him, the character got really attached to Leo IMO lol.

    • Novroz
      September 22, 2011

      Hmmm…few great performances, hehehe in my eyes there are only few great movies….but then again, it’s just my opinion😉

      Johnny Deep? wow that’s a surprise. I know someone who will disagree. As for Leo, my friend Dezzy will join your team for sure.
      Both Deep and Leo are not my favorite actors but they aren’t avoidable too.

      • Fariz
        September 24, 2011

        OOH I forgot one more,miss!! ADAM SANDLER!! Uggh he’s annoying!

  10. roisinaobrien
    September 23, 2011

    Natalie Portman is definitely one of my least favourite actors – Poor quality acting and she makes each character extremely irritating. Her range, in terms of acting is very limited, and I can’t see how she secures such great roles – Black Swan is such a decent film that it would have been ten times better had the casting been better! Jennifer Lopez is a fairly terrible actor. I used to dislike Kevin Costner because he was in so many of the movies during the 90s, but now I quite like him, sometimes just for nostalgic reasons😀 Someone I don’t dislike, but who consistently picks crap movies is Adam Sandler. Oh, and Gerard Butler isn’t very good at acting either – Stilted and also his terrible attempts at the Irish accent and American accent can be pretty distracting!

    • Novroz
      September 23, 2011

      I think Natalie did good in Black Swan…but I haven’t seen her in other movie. Well, I saw her in starwars but the movie itself didn’t appeal me (I like the old series much better)

      I am with you about J-lo and Sandler. I think Sadler has never acted differently…always the same kind of role.
      Gyahaha I am surprise Ruth didn’t say anything about your remark on Gerry😉
      I don’t dislike him, I like some of his movies and he is a hunk.

  11. rtm
    September 23, 2011

    Woo hoo!! We have so much in common, Nov! If I were to do this list in the future I might as well copy the three actors from your list, Pitt, Clooney & Timberlake. I’d add Jeremy Renner on it as well and Scarlett Johansson, whom I used to like in Lost in Translation but went down here from there. Thanks for your honest opinion and glad I’m not the only one in regards to those three who are so loved by many.

    • rtm
      September 23, 2011

      Oh and btw, I love most of the people on your list (Cillian Murphy, Benedict Cumberbatch, Sharlto Copley, Tom Hanks, Keanu Reeves, Sandra Bullock or Paul Bettany) I’m just ok about Bettany but he’s a Brit so I do get his appeal😀

      • Novroz
        September 23, 2011

        Yaiii…high five on Pitt, Clooney and Timberlake. I am glad that many has same opinion with me. I have heard so much praises on them and thinking why am I not liking them? Just glad to see anyone who is on the same page with me.

        I am trying to remember Renner, but couldn’t…will search about him later. As for T’s favorite actress, I haven’t seen enough of her to start choosing side. I am know she made me bored in The Girl with a Pearl Earring.

        Horay…my most appealing actors and actress are not in your not-appealing list. But as I remember, you don’t like Tom Hanks that much, right?

        • rtm
          September 25, 2011

          I think I’m as baffled by media/critics’ fascination with Pitt as their apparent disdain toward Gerry Butler, just look at the rating of Moneyball compared to Machine Gun Preacher this weekend [shakes head]. Ah well, who cares what they think right? I’m so w/ you about Pitt, Nov.

          Oh no, I like Tom Hanks, I don’t know why you think I dislike him? I love a lot of his rom-coms, esp. Sleepless in Seattle. He comes across like a super nice guy in interviews, too, very down to earth.

          • roisinaobrien
            September 25, 2011

            I think my disdain for Gerard Butler increased dramatically upon watching “PS I Love You” – I knew the film would be terrible, but holy moly he brought “terrible” to a whole new level! His Irish accent was appalling – I expected him to, at any moment, dress up as leprechaun and dance a jig around the floorboards.

          • Novroz
            September 26, 2011

            @Roisin I see, accent really is a hard thing to tackle. I can understand you feeling.
            Your expectation me imagining it and laugh at it😉

          • Novroz
            September 26, 2011

            @Ruth Hear hear!! when it comes to actors/musicians that I like or dislike, I tend to ignore all critics…what’s important for me is I like them, people’s opinion don’t matter at all.

            Ah…maybe my memory played trick on me, maybe it wasn’t you who dislike him. Hmm, I wonder who was I thinking about at that time:/

          • roisinaobrien
            September 27, 2011

          • Novroz
            September 28, 2011

            So cute!!!

  12. Nick
    September 28, 2011

    I love Brad Pitt. He’s fantastic. I also like Timberlake, and I think he’s a pretty decent actor. I can give or take Clooney. I’m not drawn to the guy, but he doesn’t put me off, either. And I won’t NOT watch a Seagal film, but I won’t go out of my way to watch one, either.

    …As for Tatsuya… you are dead on right there. Battle Royale is one of my all-time favorite books, and he totally ruined the lead character. He was a little better in Death Note, but those movies were bad enough on their own. Actually, the Battle Royale movie was pretty rough, too, compared to the book. Oh well.

    • Novroz
      September 28, 2011

      Hi Nick🙂 long time no see (or chat). Sorry for haven’t read your book yet,been having hard time to even finish a book😦

      I appreciate your love for Pitt, tho I could never love him. Ah finally,someone who knows Tatsuya!!! everyone else didn’t know him. We really share big love toward Battle Royale, don’t we🙂
      Most people I know have seen the movie but haven’t read the book…so, no one complain about his flat acting. Glad to have someone in the same opinion about him. Battle Royale – the movie was bad and he made it worst. I think he was also terible in Death Note, he *again* ruined my favorite character😦

      Thank you for sharing your thought Nick

  13. dhitzunako
    September 30, 2011

    Dari list lo, gue mau komen soal Fujiwara Tatsuya, ah. Hehe, berhubung gue belum baca BR, saat nonton BR live action (it is one of my first Japanese film, aside of Ringu trilogy), akting si Fujiwara masih ga terlalu ganggu sii… Ya, rada lenje2 gitu, tapi menurut gue si, namanya juga anak SMP, se-tough apa si anak SMP ngeliat temennya bunuh2an?
    Filmnya dia yang kedua adalah Death Note. Gue juga belum baca manganya (abis pas liat animenya, kok kaku yaa… Jadi males juga beli manganya). Masih tolerable lah….
    Tapi, aktingnya mulai gue rasa “berlebihan” pas Death Note kedua. Pas dipenjara itu (yang ingatannya akan Death Note ilang), ga dapet aja feel-nya. “Laah– ni orang lupa ingatan ato lagi bohong si?” Gitu lah kira-kira perasaah gue… hehehe….

    • Novroz
      September 30, 2011

      Hahaha jd sebenarnya lo ini setuju ma pndapat gw ttg Tatsuya apa ga sih?
      Wah syg bgt belum baca BR and DN, tuh 2 buku super keren. Jgn samakan manga n animenya…hehe gw jg bosan abis liat animenya.

      Ah si Tatsuya parah abis di Death Note…benar2 ngerusak image character kesukaan gw, si Kira. Lenje2nya dia di BR bnr2 ga pas…kecewa abis d.

      • dhitzunako
        September 30, 2011

        Hm, kalo ga menarik, dy (plus aktingnya) emang ga menarik si… wehehehe… Mang gitu si, kalo udah ngerusak image. Pernah nonton Ryuga no Gotoku? Gue (ma adek gue yang maen versi gamenya) simpati banget sama karakter utamanya (Kazuma Kiryu). Pas tau ada film live actionnya (n disutradarai Takashi Miike yang kata orang keren kalo bikin film “berdarah-darah”), langsung excited gue (mana review2 bilang bagus)… Eeeeehhh, mananya yang bagus! Udah pemaennya “cemen” ga ada macho2nya, cerita juga amburadul. Gue ketawa aja sepanjang film (blaaah). *eh, kok jadi curhat
        Btw, ada nih sepasang aktor-aktris yang ga menarik sama sekali bagi gue: C**** F**** main casts. LOL. Aktingnya keliatan banget kalo “akting”.😀 (tapi semua sinetron mang gitu yaaa…)

        • Novroz
          October 1, 2011

          Blum pernah tuh…tp emang c, live action itu beresiko bgt c, makanya gw ga prnh pgn ada live action One Piece…PASTI jd jelek.

          gyahahahaha….kenapa pake di sensor sgala?? blg aja Cinta Fitri, emang ada ya sinetron yg bgs aktingnya??? Gw mending nntn ke5 aktor diatas dlm 1 film drpd nntn sinetron.

  14. Pingback: Top 5 of EVERYTHING « Polychrome Interest

  15. Pingback: Death Note – an Amazing Mind Battle Between 2 Geniuses « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 19, 2011 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads