Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Teaser Tuesday & Book in Life as Meme

Today, I am going to do two book memes at the same time🙂
One is my usual Teaser Tuesday and the  other is Book In Life.

undefined

Teaser Tuesday is a fun bookish meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Everyone can play along, all you have to do is simply take the book you are currently reading. And then share 2 ‘teaser’ sentences from any page in the book. I often share more than 2 sentences ;)

Please avoid SPOILER!!

I  am currently reading a memoir by K’tut Tantri called Revolt in Paradise. K’tut was a British born American citizen who had spent years in Indonesia during the colonialism of Dutch and Japan and live through the struggling of my people to protect our freedom from being taken away by the Dutch with the help of British army.

Her way of telling Indonesian history was more fun than any textbook I have ever read in school.

Here is my teaser from page 207, the event took place after the continuous bombing by the British Army on a defenseless city called Surabaya.

I shall never forget the sights in the villages. One old man sat in the corner of his hovel staring into space. “what is the matter, bapa?” I asked, “What is troubling you?” He gazed at me unseeingly for a time, then rose and led me into a small bedroom.  There, laid out on the floor, were  the bodies of  three young men, ranging in age from about fourteen to seventeen. “My sons,” said  the old man. “They died for Merdeka

Note:

  • Bapa refers to sir in English, so what is the matter, bapa  means what is the matter, sir.
  • Merdeka means Freedom

Let me know your teaser🙂

**************************************

I found this interesting book meme (book meme is quite rare, unlike movie meme) from Michael’s Blog, It Rain…You Get Wet. He got it from his friend over at Pop Culture Nerd .

The rule is quite simple:

For those who wish to take part, all you have to do is finish the sentences PCN has come up with for this year’s edition using the title of books you’ve read this year.

I have done something similar with music last year, it was called Let’s Shuffle The Music, I had great time with that meme…because of that,  I want to try with this one too.

Here are my answers: (you can find all the books I have read this year in here)

  • One time at band/summer camp, I: gained new kind of Antibodies (Kevin J Anderson)
  • My ex was: born in 1984 (George Orwell)
  • My superhero secret identity is: Dr. Slump (Akira Toriyama)
  • You wouldn’t like me when I’m angry because: I have The Lost Symbol (Dan Brown)
  • Loud talkers at the movies should be: put in a Shelter (Nicholas Jobe)

What a fun meme…the answers are often ridiculous.

What do you think of my answers?
Want to give this a try?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

15 comments on “Teaser Tuesday & Book in Life as Meme

  1. dirtywithclass
    September 6, 2011

    Some fun answers here.

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2011

      hehehe for me, they look like stupid answers😉

  2. le0pard13
    September 6, 2011

    I always enjoy Teaser Tuesday, Novroz. Here’s mine (from page 237 in ‘The Sentry’ by Robert Crais):

    “The passing time felt like ants marching through Pike’s veins. Cole spoke once or twice during the time they were waiting, but Pike did not answer. He was thinking about Dru, and why she had called him for help.”

    Those are some great answers to PCN’s book title meme! I especially love your answer to the When I don’t have good books, I: question. Classic!

    Thanks.

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2011

      Hehe thanks Michael….it was a fun meme. that question is also my favorite,i straight away thought of To kill A mockingbird for that one.

      Your teaser is really intriguing.

  3. T.F.Walsh
    September 6, 2011
    • Novroz
      September 8, 2011

      It is sad but it gives such high spirit and makes me appreciate my free country even more.

  4. The Bookish Snob
    September 6, 2011

    You always have such great teasers!

    The Bookish Snob’s Teaser Tuesday

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2011

      Thank you Bookish Snob

  5. Amy
    September 6, 2011

    Great teaser! Another book that I must add to my ever growing TBR pile – thank you for sharing!🙂

    Here’s mine:

    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2011/09/teaser-tuesdays-and-insecure-writers.html

  6. DEZMOND
    September 8, 2011

    speaking of Indonesia, a summit of Non-Aligned countries, celebrating a jubilee of that alliance, is currently being held here in Belgrade, and it’s interesting that the ministers from Indonesia and Brunei came with biggest entourages🙂 Both brought 50 people with them🙂

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2011

      Ow…please don’t remind me of how corrupt my government is😦
      Those people in my government don”t appreciate the struggle of our heroes in the war

  7. lifewith4cats
    September 10, 2011

    those shuffle the music ones are pretty funny. Thats also a pretty cool way to get someone interested in reading more. I took down the name of your american/indoesian book, but I dont know if i will be able to find it in english.

    • Novroz
      September 10, 2011

      The shuffle the music is not for book Sara, it was on music. The book thing is in this post.
      You should do this book or music meme once in awhile…meme is always fun🙂

      • lifewith4cats
        September 10, 2011

        oh silly me. My comment was for the list of sentences with book titles.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2011 by in Bookish Memes, Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads