Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

R.eaders I.mbibing P.erils VI

I came  across this wonderful challenge last year. I was a bit late as the challenge was already done for the 5th time…but you know the old saying, better late than never😉

Now, Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings is holding  this fantastic challenge once again for the 6th time…yaaaiii

I always love Horror and Thriller books and movies since I was young. Doing this challenge is not a challenge at all. However, there are some books  that I haven’t been able to read because new books  I bought always looked better than the one on the shelf…therefore, for this R.I.P VI I will read those books that already collecting dust on my shelf.

What is R.I.P Challenge?

It’s a challenge to read books that could be classified as: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy,  Gothic, Horror, and Supernatural.

When is the challenge?

from September 1st through October 31st

Which book will I read?

Blaze by Richard Bachman (a.k.a Stephen King)

Dragon Tears by Dean Koontz

Deeper by Jeff Long

Will think of the other book later

I will try to read a couple of stories from Dark House compiled  by Gary Crew

Just like last year, Carl allowed us to include Movies to our peril. I  will try to watch some movies that fit to this challenge. Unlike books, I can’t plan this ahead, will see what I can find later.

Last year, I managed to read 5 books and 3 Manga. I also watched 6 movies.You can read about it in my Wrap up post.

This year’s review site is here.

Let’s have another fun this year🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

8 comments on “R.eaders I.mbibing P.erils VI

  1. Caroline
    September 2, 2011

    It’s by far the challenge I like the most. I’m not too much of a chalenge personn normally but this is great One Upon a Time was great as well but this maches my reading tastes more. You are aiming high, I’m sure they a re all long books? I might be reading Stephen King, as you have seen. I have only read one Dean Koontz but it was not very good. I know he has written a lot of good ones. I was just not lucky, I guess. I don’t know Jeff Long.

    • Novroz
      September 2, 2011

      Yup me too!! this and Stephen King challenge (of course).

      Yup those novels are more than 400 pages if I’m not mistaken…but I really need to start reading them. It’s not good for a book to collect dust before being read. I have been searching your chosen Stephen king but the paperback edition hasn’t reached my country yet😦 will have to wait for another few months.

      Jeff Long and Dean Koontz will be my new author. I have been curious about Koontz as people keep saying he is as good as SK. As for Jeff long, it was a cheap book (about $1,5) and the blurb sounds interesting.

  2. Leeswammes
    September 2, 2011

    Nice to see that you’re joining in, Novroz! Stephen King and Dean Koontz usually do well with their scary stories (although Duma Key wasn’t very scary for me). Enjoy the challenge!

    • Novroz
      September 3, 2011

      Thank you Judith.
      Well…as a Stephen King fan, it would be impossible not to include his book in this challenge.
      I sure will enjoy this non challenging challege😉

  3. Kelly
    September 2, 2011

    I love Dean Koontz and have read all of his novels (as far as I know). Some are better than others, of course, but overall I much prefer him to Stephen King.

    • Novroz
      September 3, 2011

      Hi Kelly, this is going to be my firts Dean Koontz book, I hope I’ll enjoy this one. As a first, good impression is very important.
      I couldn’t say I prefer Koontz than King as I have been King’s fan for many years. Nice to meet a Koontz fan🙂

  4. Kailana
    September 3, 2011

    Glad you are able to join in this time around. It is a lot fun!

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2011

      Hi Kaliana, I have joined since last year and I know how fun it was, that’s why I join again.
      Thank you for stopping by.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 2, 2011 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads