Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

My MOST anticipated movie of 2012: The Hobbit

Out of all the news about movies that are going to be released in 2012, The Hobbit lies on my number 1 list of my most anticipated movie.

Before 2001, I have never been interested with The Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit.  I have seen some animations of LOTR or Hobbits but those animations didn’t appeal me. When The Fellowship of the Rings  was released, I was thrilled and awed by it….and then started looking for the book. The book fascinated me even more than the movies. The Lord of The Rings series is by far the best a fantasy book I have ever read. I have, so far, reread it 4 times and I can see myself reading it again in the future. The movie is something I considered as one of the best adaptation movie ever created in the cinema history.

In 2003, all the fun finally came to an end. I kept crossing my fingers that one day they will turn The Hobbit into a movie.

My wish will soon come true🙂

I will reread The Hobbit when the movie is about to be released, it will refreshed all the details of the story. I have read it 3 times and it is only fair to read it 4 times like LOTR.

Summary:

The Hobbit tells the story of young Bilbo Baggins. He was asked to join a dangerous journey to Lonely Mountain by 13 dwarves. They were there to reclaim the lost kingdom and kill the last dragon, Smaug. (I will do a proper review of the book next year)

The movie will be divided into 2 parts: An Unexpected Journey and There and Back Again. I am glad that Peter Jackson is still the man behind the camera, I was a bit worried when Del Toro was  signed  as the director.

Here are the characters:

Bilbo Baggins : Martin Freeman

I first saw Martin Freeman in Sherlock as Dr. John Watson.

Despite the various rumors and speculation surrounding this role, there has only ever been one Bilbo Baggins for us. There are a few times in your career when you come across an actor who you know was born to play a role, but that was the case as soon as I met Martin Freeman. He is intelligent, funny, surprising and brave—exactly like Bilbo and I feel incredibly proud to be able to announce that he is our Hobbit.” ~Peter Jackson

I am glad he chose him🙂 so far Jackson had chose the perfect actors for LOTR.

Bilbo is a hobbit, the smallest creature in middle earth. Hobbit is not a traveling creature, but tricked by Gandalf and 13 Dwarves, Bilbo is doing a journey like no other hobbits have done before (it is soon followed by Frodo, Sam, Pippin and Merry in LOTR). This journey explains how he has the One Ring.

Thorin Oakenshield : Richard Armitage

Borrowed from Hollywood Spy

Richard is one of the most exciting and dynamic actors working on screen today and we know he is going to make an amazing Thorin Oakenshield. We cannot wait to start this adventure with him and feel very lucky that one of the most beloved characters in Middle Earth is in such good hands.” ~ Peter Jackson

Thorin is the leader of the Company of Dwarves who aims to reclaim the Lonely Mountain from Smaug the dragon, and was the son of Thráin II, the King of Durin’s Folk in their exile from Erebor, and the grandson of King Thrór.

Balin and Dwalin : Ken Stott and Graham McTavish

.

Fran and I have long been fans of Ken’s work and are excited he will be joining us on this journey.“~ Peter Jackson

Balin is the second dwarf who comes into Bilbo’s house. Balin is the second eldest dwarf in the company.

We see Balin’s tomb in The Lord of  The Rings under the Misty Mountain. This writing is on his tomb: Balin Fundinul Uzbad Khazad-Dumu (Balin, son of Fundin, Lord of Moria).

Dwalin is the fist to come in Bag End. he is Balin’s younger brother. After the battle in Lonely Mountain, Dwalin takes  Thorin’s place in The Blue Mountain.

.

Fili and Kili : Dean O’Gorman and Aidan Turner

.

Dean’s a terrific Kiwi actor, who I am thrilled to be working with.” ~ Peter Jackson

Aidan is a wonderfully gifted young actor who hails from Ireland. I’m sure he will bring enormous heart and humor to the role of Kili.” ~ peter Jackson

Fili and Kili are the youngest dwarves in the company,they are Thorin’s nephew.

.

.

Óin and Glóin : John Callen and Peter Hambleton

.

Óin and Glóin are brothers. They are are distant cousins of Thorin Oakenshield

Óin was one of the dwarves that accompany Balin to Moria.

Glóin is the father of the famous Gimli (The member of The Fellowship of the rings)

.

.

.

Bombur, Bofur and Bifur : Stephen Hunter, James Nesbitt and William Kircher

James’s charm, warmth and wit are legendary as is his range as an actor in both comedic and dramatic roles. We feel very lucky to be able to welcome him as one of our cast.” ~ Peter Jackson

Bombur and Bofur  are brothers, Bifur is their cousin.

Bombur becomes so fat later after the journey.

Not much I can say about these three.

.

Nori, Ori and Dori : Jed Brophy, Adam Brown and Mark Hadlow

.

Nori, Ori and Dori are brothers.

Dori has a ‘close’ relation ship with Bilbo, he is the one who drops Bilbo, carries Bilbo to the tree and when the Eagles comes, Bilbo  is hanging on Dori’s leg.

Ori is one of  the Dwarves that goes with Balin to Moria.

.

.

.

Other  than the Dwarves  and one Hobbit, we get a chance to see Frodo as the one who opens the story, Gandalf, Gollum Galadriel, and even Legolas.

Another cast that makes me excited is Martin freeman’s partner in Sherlock…the Sherlock himself…my talented Benedict Cumberbatch🙂

You can see more casts in Hollywood Spy’s latest post on the Hobbit.

I hope we will have another blast with this epic🙂

The Lord of  The Rings has brought so much satisfaction as they didn’t change the story too much… I hope they will do the same with The Hobbit.

I am so excited with this movie, are you as excited as I am?

All the Dwarves, edited by Phoebe.

Related Posts:

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

31 comments on “My MOST anticipated movie of 2012: The Hobbit

  1. DEZMOND
    August 27, 2011

    we can more CATS in my post???😛
    Thanks for the mention, Novia, loved your post, and since I had a huge success with my post on the film, I know how much people love this film and can’t wait to watch it.

    Dean O’Gorman looks much better as a real guy than as a dwarf🙂 Didn’t know there was a dashing fella hiding under that mask🙂

    • Novroz
      August 27, 2011

      Hehehe excuse the typo, Dezz😉 I also see other mistake there, I forgot to write who Ori, Nori and Dori are. Will fix it later.

      Those two young Dwarves are really handsome underneath their make up. They could easily become Elves.

      Btw, although I was planning to use all pictures, in the end I only use one…these Dwarves really take a lot of space.

      A year feels like eternity when it comes to waiting for this movie.

  2. Caroline
    August 27, 2011

    I am certainly looking forward to watch this. I just hope all our expectations are too high and will spoil watching it. You know how it goes….

  3. Caroline
    August 27, 2011

    Are not too high, I meant…

    • Novroz
      August 27, 2011

      I don’t know if my expectation can be considered as too high or not…but I do expect it to be like The Lord of The Rings. I don’t expect it to be better than LOTR, equally good is enough for me🙂

      That’s why I am happy when Peter Jackson acts as the director instead of Del Toro. Del Toro is a good director but he might change the movie too much or too dark…I like to see it not far different from LOTR.

  4. dhitzunako
    August 27, 2011

    Belom baca The Hobbit and LOTR trilogi sii (habis nyari di Gramed sekarang ini kok ga ada ya? telat banget T.T)…. tapi, seperti halnya dengan movie LOTR, sy mah nungguin nih film. Walo ga mesti maksa nonton midnight. ^^

    Asik, asik, asik. ::lompat-lompat::

    • Novroz
      August 27, 2011

      Ah masa sih? minggu lalu saya ke Gramedia masih ada tuh, ada yg disatu paketin ada juga yg satu-satu. Tapi karena sy tau dirimu bs bhs Inggris…sebaiknya JANGAN baca terjemahan karena bahasanya terlalu indah untuk diterjemahkan. Bahasa Inggrisnya ga semudah amrik tapi juga ga sesuah Shakespear…pokoknya bgs deh.

      Semoga aja di thn 2012 masalah bioskop kita dah beres dan Hobbit bs masuk ditonton tepat waktu🙂

      • dhitzunako
        August 27, 2011

        Gramed mana, gramed mana? Matraman-kah? Minggu kemaren gue ke Gramed Plangi, nyari di Imported Books ga ada. Adanya Twilight series doang. Salah tempat ya? *maklum ga liat katalog, tehehe

        • Novroz
          August 27, 2011

          Gyaaa…kalo nyari imported books mah JANGAN di Gramed, mereka mah lengkap cuma di buku terjemahannya tp di imported bener2 payah.

          Cari imported di Periplus atau Times, itu 2 toko lumayan lengkap. Di Kinokuniya jg lumayan lengkap tp ga enaknya mereka suka nempel stiker harga di bukunya bukan di plastiknya.

  5. Asop
    August 27, 2011

    Film yang mau saya tonton ada banyaaaaak, banyak trailer-nya di sini.😀

    • Novroz
      August 27, 2011

      Di thn 2012 yg mau sy tntn belum banyak2 bgt tapi adalah beberapa…nah The Hobbit ini ada di urutan plg atas yg pgn sy tntn🙂

  6. TBM
    August 27, 2011

    I loved this novel since I was a child and I am so looking forward to seeing the movie. Thanks for sharing the photos! So exciting!

    • Novroz
      August 27, 2011

      You’re welcome TBM.
      The book is much lighter than LOTR…I hope the movie will also be fun. Hurry come December 2012🙂

  7. Gnoe
    August 28, 2011

    LOL I can see why you’re so excited!!!🙂

    I’m not specifically looking forward to The Hobbit… Confession: I didn’t even watch The Lord of the Rings trilogy! Read the books though, loved ’em — and that’s enough for me.

    The movie I’m most anticipating in 2012 is Cloud Atlas by Tom Tykwer. Not because of its actors (Tom Hanks – mwah, Halle Berry, mwah, Susan Sarandon, okay!) but because the author of the book is David Mitchell: my favourite writer of all times. And I also like Tom Tykwer, the director. It will be released in the US at the end of the year so I’ll probably have to wait till 2013 for the film to come out in NL.

    • Novroz
      August 28, 2011

      What??? you haven’t watched LOTR?? you’re missing one of the best adaptation movies ever made. Go and watch it now Gnoe!!!😉

      I have heard of the making of Cloud Atlas but forgot when the release date is, so it’s 2012.

      I have heard so much of David Mitchell but haven’t got the pleasure of reading his works yet. Will have to read his one of these days.

  8. Phoebe
    August 28, 2011

    I’d have to agree–you’d have to be a downright fantasy hater to not be looking forward to the Hobbit. Thanks for linking my wallpaper!

    • Novroz
      August 28, 2011

      You’re welcome Phoebe🙂
      That was a great editing job…you must have spent a lot of time on that.

      Hmmm…I wonder is there a fantasy hater out there? I am a romance book hater😉

  9. lifewith4cats
    August 28, 2011

    This is awesome good news! Im so excited! I didnt know they were going to do this. The hobbit has always been my favorite. This will be one movie I wont miss when it comes out in theaters. I love all the dwarves.

    The actor for kili looks way too sexy to be a dwarf, thats how I picture elves to look. But as he is so good looking, I can get over it.😉

    • Novroz
      August 29, 2011

      The plan of making The Hobit has been around from a couple of years but there was so many problem. The director, at first, was not Peter Jackson…glad they changed that.

      If it’s made according to the book, it’s going to be funnier that Lord of The Rings…looking forward to see those dwarves do something funny. Those 2 young dwarves are handsome. As for Kili, Irishmen are cute…aren’t they😉

  10. Castor
    August 29, 2011

    Definitely one of my most anticipated movie of next year as well! I hope this at least up to Lord of the Rings level of epic entertainment!

    • Novroz
      August 29, 2011

      I hope so too, Cas. Although the first movie probably won’t be as epic as Lord of the Rings. As I can remember, the Battle was most likely going to be put in second part of the movie.
      I am curioud where Jackson will cut the story…probably the moment they arrived at the mountain.

  11. S. Le
    August 29, 2011

    Art Major can hardly wait! He’s gone back and re-read The Hobbit as well as the annotated version of it. He talks about it all the time. I can hardly wait for the film so he will stop! Actually, I’m anxious to see it as well and I love Martin Freeman.

    • Novroz
      August 29, 2011

      Hahaha…unfortunately It won’t be released anytime soon, we still have 1 year to wait.

      To tell you the truth, I am having difficulty to control myself from picking up the book and start rereading it. I have to remind myself to wait till next year to read it.

  12. le0pard13
    August 30, 2011

    Yep, this is certainly one of my most anticipated films for 2012, Novroz. Of course, now that I’ve read this, I’m even more antsy to see it. Fine post. Thanks, my friend.

    • Novroz
      August 30, 2011

      Thank you for reading and stopping by, Mike🙂
      Writing this post also makes me want to reread the book as soon as possible eventhough I am planning to reread it near the released date.

  13. rtm
    September 3, 2011

    Wahoo!! Oh you bet this is in my top 5 of my most-anticipated movie. The cast is nothing short of amazing, man I’d work for free on the set if Peter Jackson would let me, ahah. I’m most excited to see Richard Armitage, hopefully this is just the start of his Hollywood career, I’d LOVE to see more of him get roles that are now given to people like Bradley Cooper, Channing Tatum, etc. Btw, that Dean O’Gorman looks just like a young Billy Baldwin!

    Great post, Nov, we definitely share our enthusiasm for this film😀

    • Novroz
      September 3, 2011

      Aha…same with me!! I’d love to be on the set, maybe he needs more hobbits role in Shire😉

      I honestly haven’t seen Richard Armitage (or I have but I didn’t notice him), he must be really good to have captured your attention.

      Thank you Ruth, who wouldn’t be enthusiastic with this movie, I wonder

  14. Pingback: Midieval Imagining. Videos to kill all your Dragons by. « The Midaeval Maiden

  15. Andy
    February 5, 2012

    This is a really good trailer. It seems they have followed on from Lord of the Rings and are making the hobbit seem epic… Some good casting, can’t wait to see what Smaug looks like, hope they have blown the cgi budget!

    • Novroz
      February 5, 2012

      Hi Andy, Ah…you remind me that I haven’t put the trailer here yet…it’s because it was written way before the trailer showed up. I will put it in my most anticipated movies later.

      Yup I agree…the casting was great and I hope PJ stick to the story as much as possible. Hehehe one thing for sure, Smaug will have a super sexy voice😉
      Thank you for sharing your thought here Andy.

  16. Pingback: The Hobbit – The Adventure of a Big Hearted Little Creature « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads